Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Article Title
Author

Protecting Canada's Boreal Forests and Northern Ecosystems: Developing Biological Methods to Assess and Preserve Canada’s Soil Environments of the North

By:  Biological Methods Section and S&T Liaison

Download PDF (341 kB) | download free reader

The Problem

Canada’s northern forests and ecosystems are sensitive environmental areas, rich in natural resources. How can Canadian science and technology meet the challenge to protect northern regions from soil contamination while promoting the sustainable development of northern resources?

Industrial activities such as oil and gas exploration and production, mineral extraction and processing, forest products, and hydroelectric generation sometimes lead to contamination of surface and subsurface soils. Soil contamination degrades the land and places significant stress on ecologically sensitive biota and flora.

Standardized biological test methods are currently used nationwide to assess contaminated soils, prioritize sites for clean-up, develop contaminant standards, and monitor the effectiveness of remedial activities. Efforts like these to protect northern regions from soil contamination are not as effective as they could be because Canada’s current suite of soil toxicity tests do not use species representative of the upland and wetland boreal forest ecosystems of northern Canada - species sensitive to contamination from petroleum hydrocarbon releases, salt brine spills from pipeline breaks, and drilling operations or metals deposition from smelter emissions.

Seeking Solutions through S&T

Figure 1. Canadian terrestrial and marine ecosystems | Credit: Environment Canada and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (from: A National Ecological Framework for Canada, 1995.)Environment Canada’s Biological Methods Section is a primary source of scientific and technical support and analysis to Canadian governments and industrial sectors on the development, validation and standardization of methods to assess and test the impact of contaminants on natural soil systems. By developing tests to examine soil microbial communities and terrestrial plant and soil invertebrate species, scientists can assess the risks associated with individual toxic substances and/or contaminant mixtures that may be present in soils.

Environment Canada’s S&T Integration Division provides expert advice and guidance on the environment to Natural Resources Canada’s Program of Energy Research and Development (PERD). Environment Canada’s Biological Methods Section is currently working with PERD's Soil and Groundwater Remediation sub-program, and other public and private industry environmental research institutions, to develop and standardize a new suite of soil toxicity test methods. Unlike earlier methods, these tests use species ecologically relevant to Canada’s northern ecozones, including the boreal forest and the subarctic northern region, known as the taiga ecozone (Figure 1). Wetland and peatland regions within those areas are also of particular interest in this method development effort.

Development of new test methods specific to Canada’s northern regions, combined with the existing standardized soil test methods, will provide Canadian scientists with a suite of biological assessment tools that can assess the toxicity of surface and subsurface soils over 65 percent of Canada’s land mass.

Transforming Knowledge into Action

Who can use these results?

Sampling of hydrocarbon impacted soils | Photo: EcoDynamics Consulting Ltd.Over 90 percent of Canada’s boreal forest and associated northern ecozones is publicly owned, making governments the primary land use decision makers. Governments need standardized methods to help develop effective risk assessment and risk management decisions and policies, as well as to carry out enforcement activities in potential legal cases against polluters. To be effective, government policies, regulations and practices must integrate the scientific knowledge required to preserve the environmental integrity of these lands into strategies and programs for sustainable development of Canada’s rich resources in the region.

Industry sectors need testing methodologies to provide a consistent means of measuring the effectiveness of remediation efforts at contaminated sites and to monitor progress in complying with environmental policies and regulations.

The particularly sensitive environment in Canada’s boreal forest and northern regions requires government and industry to have consistent methods for evaluating risks that could lead to critical loss of ecological value. The biological soil toxicity test methods being developed by Environment Canada scientists will deliver this consistency, helping to reduce risk by providing policy makers with effective tools to help shape their decisions.

Benefits to Canadians

Addition of earthworms to a soil toxicity test | Photo: Biological Methods Section, Environment CanadaCanada’s boreal region accounts for approximately 15 percent of Canada’s resource-related employment, predominantly in mining, forestry, fisheries and agriculture, and contributes over $28 billion to the economy. The boreal regions account for over 50 percent of Canada’s land mass, and is home to two-thirds of the 140 000 species of plants, animals and micro-organisms found in Canada. The boreal forest worldwide, of which one-third resides in Canada, is one of the few remaining relatively intact ecosystems on our planet. Canadians will obviously benefit from environmental tools and technologies that can protect the boreal region while promoting sustainable economic development.

With the right biological and chemical measurement tools to evaluate contaminated sites, risk management decisions will be based on the best scientific data, leading to better use and protection of our soil ecosystems and safeguarding of the natural resources of Canada’s most vulnerable region, the North.

Soils contribute significantly to the overall biodiversity within Canada, our national productivity and the quality of life. Soil, which consists of inorganic material, decaying organic matter, air, water, and many microbial and larger organisms, contains most of the nutrients and biological mass that our forests, wetlands and other lands depend upon. It is important to maintain the ecological integrity of soil systems and to restore historically contaminated or otherwise degraded soils, to ensure a sustainable and healthy environment for future generations.

Until 2004, there were no Canadian-derived biological testing methods available to assess and evaluate soil ecosystems in Canada.

Environment Canada’s biological test methods complement federal, provincial and territorial regulations and guidelines, including the Canada-Wide Standards for Petroleum Hydrocarbons in Soil supported by the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment, and soil quality guidelines for the protection of environmental and human health.

The Program of Energy Research and Development is a federal, interdepartmental program operated by Natural Resources Canada that funds energy-related research and development in Canada.

For more information:

Environment Canada’s biological test methods for earthworms, terrestrial plants and springtails (EPS 1/RM/43, EPS 1/RM45 and EPS 1/RM/47) 

Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) Canadian Soil Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Environmental and Human Health   

Römbke, J., S. Jänsch and R. Scroggins. 2006. Identification of potential organisms of relevance to Canadian boreal forest and northern lands for testing of contaminated soils. Environ. Rev. 14(2): 137-167.

Saskatchewan Research Council. 2003. Boreal forest plant species for testing of contaminated soil. SRC Publication No. 11627-2E03. 49 p.

S&T Liaison | Tel 905 315 5228 | Fax 905 336 4420
© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Environment, 2009.
Catalogue No. En En164-15/13-2009E-PDF; ISBN 978-1-100-14014-8

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Titre d'article
Auteur

Protection des écosystèmes du Nord et des forêts boréales du Canada : Élaboration de méthodes biologiques pour évaluer et préserver les milieux terrestres du Nord canadien

Par:  Méthodes biologiques et Liaison en S-T

Télécharger le PDF (321 kB) | télécharger : lecteur gratuit

Le problème

Les forêts et les écosystèmes du Nord canadien sont des zones environnementales sensibles qui regorgent de ressources naturelles. Comment les services des sciences et de la technologie du Canada pourraient-ils s’y prendre pour protèger les sols des régions nordiques de la pollution tout en promouvant le développement durable des ressources du Nord?

Les activités industrielles telles que l’exploration et la production pétrolière et gazière, l’extraction et le traitement du minerai, les produits forestiers et la production hydroélectrique peuvent constituer des sources de contamination des sols de surface et de subsurface. La contamination du sol détériore les terres et induit un stress important sur le biote et la flore écosensibles.

Des méthodes d’essai biologiques normalisées sont utilisées actuellement à l’échelle nationale pour évaluer les sols contaminés, établir une priorisation des sites contaminés, élaborer des normes de contaminants et surveiller l’efficacité des activités d’assainissement. De tels efforts pour protéger le sol de la pollution dans les régions nordiques ne sont pas aussi efficaces qu’ils le devraient car les tests de toxicité du sol ne sont pas effectués actuellement avec des espèces représentatives des écosystèmes des milieux humides et secs de la forêt boréale du Nord du Canada - des espèces sensibles à la contamination par les hydrocarbures pétroliers, la saumure déversée à la suite d’un bris de pipeline, et les activités de forage ou de dépôt de métaux des fonderies.

À la recherche de solutions au moyen des S et T

Figure 1. Écozones terrestres et marines du Canada | Crédit : Environnement Canada et Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (source : Cadre national écologique pour le Canada, 1995)La Division des méthodes biologiques d'Environnement Canada est une importante source de soutien et d’analyse scientifiques et techniques pour les gouvernements et les secteurs industriels canadiens; elle se compose d’experts spécialisés dans l’élaboration, la validation et la standardisation des méthodes pour évaluer et vérifier l’incidence des contaminants sur les systèmes édaphiques naturels. Les scientifiques ont pour mandat d’élaborer des méthodes de mesure des effets de substances toxiques individuelles ou de mélanges de contaminants présents dans le sol sur les communautés microbiennes du sol, les plantes terrestres et les espèces invertébrées.

La Division de l’intégration scientifique et technologique d’EC offre une expertise et des conseils judicieux sur l'environnement au Programme de recherche et développement énergétiques (PRDE) de Ressources naturelles Canada. La Division des méthodes biologiques d’EC travaille actuellement de concert avec le sous-programme d’assainissement du sol et des eaux souterraines de PRDE et d’autres instituts de recherche environnementale publics et privés afin d'élaborer et de normaliser une nouvelle série de méthodes d'essai de toxicité des sols. Contrairement aux méthodes antérieures, ces essais utilisent des espèces écologiquement pertinentes aux écozones, notamment dans la forêt boréale et la région nordique subarctique, connue sous le nom d'écozone de la taïga (figure 1). Les terres humides et les tourbières à l’intérieur de ces régions présentent également un intérêt particulier dans cet effort d’élaboration de méthodes.

L’élaboration de nouvelles méthodes d’évaluation propres aux régions nordiques du Canada, combinée aux méthodes d’évaluation des sols normalisées actuelles, fournira aux scientifiques canadiens des outils pour évaluer biologiquement la toxicité des sols de surface et de subsurface sur 65 p. 100 de la masse terrestre du Canada.

Mettre les connaissances en application

À qui ces résultats servent-ils?

Échantillon de sols contaminés par les hydrocarbures | Photo : EcoDynamics Consulting Ltd.Plus de 90 p. 100 de la forêt boréale du Canada et des écozones nordiques associées sont constitués de terres publiques, faisant des gouvernements les principaux décisionnaires à l’égard de leur utilisation. Les gouvernements doivent normaliser les méthodes pour faciliter les prises de décision et l’élaboration de politiques d’évaluation et de gestion des risques efficaces, et pour réaliser des mécanismes d'application advenant des poursuites contre des pollueurs. Pour être efficaces, les politiques, les pratiques et les règlements gouvernementaux doivent intégrer les connaissances scientifiques requises pour préserver l'intégrité environnementale de ces terres dans les stratégies et les programmes de développement durable des importantes ressources canadiennes dans la région.

Les secteurs industriels ont besoin de méthodologies d’évaluation pour assurer une mesure uniforme de l’efficacité des stratégies d’assainissement aux sites contaminés et pour surveiller les progrès liés à la conformité aux politiques et règlements environnementaux.

Le milieu particulièrement sensible dans la forêt boréale et les régions nordiques du Canada exige des gouvernements et de l’industrie des méthodes uniformes pour évaluer les risques pouvant provoquer une perte critique de la valeur écologique. Les méthodes d’évaluation biologique de la toxicité des sols élaborées par les scientifiques d’Environnement Canada offriront cette uniformité, et des outils efficaces d’aide à la prise de décision qui permettront de réduire les risques.

Avantages pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes

Addition de vers de terre à un test de toxicité du sol | Photo : Section des méthodes biologiques, Environnement CanadaLa région boréale du Canada compte environ 15 p. 100 des emplois canadiens liés aux ressources, principalement dans l’industrie minière, l’exploitation forestière, la pêche et l’agriculture et injecte plus de 28 milliards de dollars dans l’économie canadienne. Les régions boréales représentent plus de 50 p. 100 de la masse terrestre du Canada, et accueillent les deux tiers des 140 000 espèces végétales, espèces animales et microorganismes répertoriés au Canada. La forêt boréale du Canada représente le tiers de la superficie forestière boréale mondiale et constitue l’un des derniers écosystèmes encore relativement intacts sur la planète. Les outils et les technologies de l’environnement qui peuvent allier la protection de la région boréale et le développement économique durable profiteront évidemment à toute la population canadienne.

Des outils de mesure biologique et chimique appropriés aux sites contaminés permettront une gestion efficace des risques fondée sur de meilleures données scientifiques, ce qui optimisera l’utilisation et la protection de nos écosystèmes édaphiques et protégera les ressources naturelles de la région la plus vulnérable du Canada : le Nord.

Les sols contribuent grandement à la biodiversité générale du Canada, à la productivité nationale et à la qualité de vie. Le sol est constitué de matière inorganique, de matière organique en décomposition, d’air, d’eau et de plusieurs organismes et microorganismes et comprend la plupart des nutriments et la masse biologique dont dépendent les forêts, les terres humides et autres terres indigènes. Il est important de maintenir l’intégrité écologique des systèmes du sol et de rétablir les sols historiquement contaminés ou autrement détériorés afin d’assurer un environnement durable et sain pour les générations futures.

Jusqu’en 2004, il n'existait aucune méthode canadienne d’essai biologique pour évaluer les écosystèmes édaphiques au Canada.

Les méthodes d’évaluation d’Environnement Canada complètent les directives et les règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, y compris les Standards pancanadiens relatifs aux hydrocarbures pétroliers dans le sol soutenus par le Conseil canadien des ministres de l’environnement, et les recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des sols : Environnement et santé humaine.

Le Programme de recherche et de développement énergétiques (PRDE) est un programme fédéral interministériel administré par Ressources naturelles Canada qui apporte une aide financière à la recherche-développement conçue pour assurer un avenir énergétique durable au Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Les méthodes d’essai biologique pour les vers de terre, les plantes terrestres et les collemboles d’Environnement Canada (SPE 1/RM/43, SPE 1/RM45 et SPE 1/RM/47).

Les Recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité des sols : environnement et santé humaine du Conseil canadien des ministres de l’environnement (CCME)

Römbke, J., S. Jänsch et R. Scroggins. 2006. « Identification of potential organisms of relevance to Canadian boreal forest and northern lands for testing of contaminated soils ». Environ. Rev. 14(2).

Saskatchewan Research Council. 2003. « Boreal forest plant species for testing of contaminated soil ». Publication SRC nº 11627-2E03. 49 p.

Division de la liaison en S-T | Tél 905 315 5228 | Télécopieur 905 336 4420
© Sa majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de l'environnement, 2009.
No. de catalogue En164-15/13-2009F-PDF; ISBN 978-1-100-92878-4