Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Canadian Tropical Cyclone Season Summary for 1954

1954 Storm Tracks Image
1954 Storm Tracks Image

Hurricane Carol (August 25 to September 1, 1954)

Hurricane Carol formed near the northeastern Bahamas Islands. It then began an accelerating north-northeast movement and passed very near Cape Hatteras. It crashed across the New England states diminishing as it swept into Canada. Carol was a Category 2 hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson scale.

Hurricane Dolly (August 31 to September 4, 1954)

This was a very small hurricane that moved very rapidly northward and northeastward. By the afternoon of September 2, it was east of Nova Scotia and had reduced in force. It was quickly becoming extratropical. This hurricane remained at sea and no damage was reported.

Hurricane Edna (September 2 to September 15, 1954)

Hurricane Edna formed in an easterly wave on the afternoon of September 6. The Bahamas were hit the first few days of the storm before it began to move northward on the 10th, where its winds were felt on the North Carolina Capes. Thereafter, it moved rapidly northeastward and passed over Cape Cod on September 11, and moved into eastern Maine, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick that night, where it caused great damage and some loss of life.

Hurricane Hazel (October 6 to October 15, 1954)

In Canada, the most remembered hurricane was Hurricane Hazel in 1954 that re-intensified unexpectedly and rapidly, resulting in 81 deaths and over $100 million in damage in Southern Ontario. Most of the destruction was a result of flooding from over 200 millimetres of rain in less than 24 hours.

Hurricane Hazel developed at 12° North, 61.2° West on October 5, 1954. The hurricane passed near of the island of Grenada in the Windward Islands and into the Caribbean Sea. It continued on a west to northwest course until the night of October 9 when it curved northward. Here it reached its highest winds of 213 kilometres per hour (115 knots). In the 12 hours after Hazel struck the Carolina coast, it traveled with extreme speed on a north-northwest track. It passed through the western suburbs of Washington, D.C. and spun across Pennsylvania and New York into Ontario maintaining its intensity all the way. In the United States, it is estimated that Hazel caused $1.5 billion in damages and killed 100 people. The Toronto weather office only issued a weather advisory about the storm so residents of Toronto carried on with their lives as usual. During the night of October 18, Hurricane Hazel pelted Toronto with rain and killed 81 people. On one street alone, Raymore Drive, 35 neighbours were drowned.

For more information check out: Environment Canada's Hurricane Hazel web site

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Résumés des saisons de cyclones tropicaux au Canada de 1954

Image de trajectoires de tempêtes en 1954
Image de trajectoires de tempêtes en 1954

L'ouragan Carol(25 août - 1er septembre 1954)

L'ouragan Carol s'est formé au nord-est des Bahamas. Il s'est dirigé vers le nord-nord-est en prenant de la vitesse, passant très près du cap Hatteras. Il a frappé les états de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, puis a diminué d'intensité au-dessus du Canada. Carol est un ouragan de catégorie 2 sur l'échelle de Saffir-Simpson.

L'ouragan Dolly(31 août - 4 septembre 1954)

Cet ouragan de très petite taille s'est déplacé très rapidement en direction nord et nord-est. L'après-midi du 2 septembre 1954, il se trouvait à l'est de la Nouvelle-Écosse et avait perdu de l'intensité; il devenait rapidement tempête extratropicale. L'ouragan Dolly est toujours resté en mer et n'a pas fait de dégâts matériels.

L'ouragan Edna(2 - 15 septembre 1954)

L'ouragan Edna est né d'une onde de l'est dans l'après-midi du 6 septembre 1954. Au cours des jours suivants, Edna a frappé les Bahamas avant de se diriger vers le nord le 10 septembre, tandis que les vents qui l'accompagnaient soufflaient sur les caps de la Caroline du Nord. Edna s'est ensuite déplacé rapidement en direction nord-est, passant au-dessus du cap Cod le 11 septembre 1954; durant la nuit, l'ouragan a traversé le Maine, la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Nouveau-Brunswick, où il a fait d'importants dégâts et quelques victimes.

L'ouragan Hazel(6 - 15 octobre 1954)

Au Canada, l'ouragan le plus mémorable est l'ouragan Hazel qui, en 1954, après un regain d'intensité rapide et inattendu, a fait 81 morts et des dégâts matériels évalués à plus de 100 millions de dollars dans le sud de l'Ontario. La plus grande partie des dégâts a été causée par des inondations attribuables à une chute de 200 millimètres de pluie en moins de 24 heures.

L'ouragan Hazel s'est développé par 12° de latitude nord et 61,2° de longitude ouest, le 5 octobre 1954. Hazel est passée près de l'île de Grenade dans les Îles du Vent avant de gagner la mer des Antilles, puis a ensuite continué sa course vers l'ouest - nord-ouest jusque dans la nuit du 9 au 10 octobre. Sa trajectoire s'est alors incurvée vers le nord. À ce point, le vent a atteint sa plus grande vitesse : 213 kilomètres à l'heure (115 nœuds). Pendant douze heures après avoir frappé les côtes des Caroline, Hazel s'est déplacée extrêmement vite sur une trajectoire nord-nord-ouest. Elle a traversé les banlieues ouest de Washington, D.C., est passée à vive allure sur la Pennsylvanie et l'état de New York, puis il a envahi l'Ontario sans perdre d'intensité. On estime qu'Hazel a fait 1,5 milliard de dollars et 100 victimes aux États-Unis. Les services météorologiques de Toronto n'ayant diffusé qu'un avis d'ouragan, les Torontois n'ont rien fait de particulier. Pourtant, dans la nuit du 18 octobre, des pluies torrentielles se sont déversées sur Toronto, faisant 81 morts. Dans une rue, Raymond Drive, trente-cinq résidents sont morts noyés.

Liens intéressants : Environnement Canada - l'ouragan Hazel

Date de modification :