This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Structure and Motion

The structure of tropical cyclones is determined by the latent-heat release mechanism that forms them. The graphic here does a better job than words in describing what these storms look like up close.

Features of a tropical cyclone

Eye – The eye is the centre of the storm and is where the lowest pressure is found. The eye is roughly circular and is an area of warm subsiding air that is generally free of clouds and weather, although the sea surface will generally be an area of chaotic seas coming in from all directions toward the centre. The eye can become obscured and filled with cloud if the storm is embedded within a strong atmospheric flow. Higher up in the storm the eye can be 10°C warmer than the surrounding air. A hurricane eye averages 30-60 km in diameter but can be less than 10 km or as much as 200 km across.

This illustration depicts the features of a tropical cyclone and shows how the air moves and rises during a tropical cyclone (see text for more information on eye, eyewall and rainbands). © Environment Canada, 2009
This illustration depicts the features of a tropical cyclone and shows how the air moves and rises
during a tropical cyclone (see text for more information on eye, eyewall and rainbands).
© Environment Canada, 2009

Eyewall – The eyewall is the ring of deep convection surrounding the eye. This is where the highest surface winds are found. There are strong updrafts and downdrafts in the eyewall, but  overall the updrafts are stronger and more frequent.

Spiral rain bands – The convection in tropical cyclones organizes itself into long, narrow rain bands which spiral in towards the centre of the storm. The rain bands are oriented in the same direction as the horizontal wind.

Surface winds – In the Northern Hemisphere, the surface winds of a tropical cyclone rotate in a counter-clockwise direction. As shown in the diagram, the winds are zero at the centre of the eye, increase dramatically in the eyewall, then decrease gradually farther away from the storm. Any location over which the eye of a hurricane passes experiences the strongest winds twice, on each side of the eyewall. The first exposure to eyewall winds comes through a gradual building of the winds until the peak winds are experienced. Winds then drop to calm in the eye. When the eyewall at the other side of the storm arrives, the winds increase almost instantaneously to their maximum value, and from the opposite direction.

Tropical cyclone wind profile graph. Wind speeds are strongest near the cyclone centre.
Tropical cyclone wind profile graph. Wind speeds are strongest
near the cyclone centre

Winds in the storm – Wind speeds increase the higher you move from the earth’s surface. In the eyewall, winds reach a maximum strength about 450-600 m (~1500-2000 feet) above the surface. Depending on the underlying stability of the air near the surface, the increase in wind between the surface and this maximum can be so sharp that the wind at the top of a high-rise office building could be one Saffir-Simpson category higher than the wind near the surface. Above the maximum wind, the winds then decrease with height.

This profile of wind speed vs. height in a hurricane is an average of values obtained from dropsonde data (dropsondes are instruments that are ejected into the storm during air reconnaissance). The vertical scale is measured in feet. The horizontal scale is measured as a percentage of wind speeds measured by air reconnaissance that typically flies near the 10 000-feet level in the hurricane. The data have been plotted this way because of a long-standing practice of estimating surface winds based on flight-level winds (which was necessary before dropsondes were introduced in 1998).

Mean eyewall profile graph. Wind speeds are most intense at around 1500 feet. Photo: NHC
Mean eyewall profile graph. Wind speeds are most intense
at around 1500 feet. Photo: NHC

Winds above the storm – If a hurricane is well-developed, the winds at the top rotate clockwise--the opposite direction of the surface winds. This is because a hurricane is supported by an area of high pressure aloft that helps to vent the rising air and serve as a “chimney” to evacuate the air before it piles up and collapses on itself. Evidence of this upper-level high is seen by the clockwise rotation on animated satellite imagery and tells forecasters that the cyclone is well-developed.

Size, shape and beauty of a tropical cyclone

Tropical cyclones are generally measured by the reach of their gale-force winds. These storms can be very small, measuring less than 100 km across, or they can be monsters spanning over 1000 km. Category 4 hurricanes Andrew (1992) and Floyd (1999), shown below, clearly demonstrate that size and intensity are not related.

Satellite images of Hurricane Floyd and Hurricane Andrew. Photo: NOAA
Satellite images of Hurricane Floyd and Hurricane Andrew. Photo: NOAA

This 1998 infrared satellite image shows four different hurricanes that existed at the same time in the Atlantic and Gulf of Mexico (Georges, Jeanne, Karl, and Ivan). The size and shape of each one make it clear that they don’t come in a uniform shape or size.

Infrared image of four different hurricanes simultaneously occurring in 1998. Photo: NOAA
Infrared image of four different hurricanes simultaneously occurring in 1998. Photo: NOAA

The danger posed by hurricanes does not steal from their beauty--beauty that stems from both the simple and the complex. This satellite image of Category 5 Hurricane Isabel (2003) shows the eye to be filled with a series of smaller vortices that revolved around the larger centre of the storm. This particular image proved to be an important verification of a structure that had been theorized in a paper by Kossin and Schubert in 2001.

Satellite image of Hurricane Isabel’s pinwheel-shaped eye. Photo: NOAA
Satellite image of Hurricane Isabel’s pinwheel-shaped eye. Photo: NOAA

High-resolution satellite images of the top of a hurricane, such as this image of Category 5 Hurricane Wilma (2005), show the sloping nature of the top of the vortex. This phenomenon, known as the “stadium effect,” is like the sloping walls of Rome’s Colliseum. A U.S. research aircraft flew into Hurricane Katrina in 2005, and one of the crew snapped a shot near the top of the storm, capturing a close-up view of the “stadium-effect.”

Top of vortex of hurricane Wilma. Photo: NASA
Top of vortex of hurricane Wilma. Photo: NASA
Hurricane Katrina stadium effect. Photo: LCDR Michael J. Silah, NOAA
Hurricane Katrina stadium effect. Photo: LCDR Michael J. Silah, NOAA

Tropical cyclone motion

We live at the bottom of an ocean of air above us, and that ocean is filled with many currents that move the weather around the globe. Tropical cyclones simply move with the currents in which they are embedded. Because tropical cyclones extends 25 000-35 000 feet through the atmosphere, they generally move in the direction and with the average speed of the deep air current layer. If these wind currents are very weak then other forces start to dominate the motion, however, that is never the case by the time tropical cyclones reach Canadian waters because our air currents are never that weak.

As tropical cyclones move into mid-latitudes and become “involved with” the atmosphere, they slow down with respect to the wind currents and eventually move at only half the speed of the deep layer average wind. However, with respect to the ground, the storm systems actually speed up because the wind currents aloft can be 3-6 times faster than their tropical counterparts. See extratropical transition.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Structure et déplacement

La structure des cyclones tropicaux est déterminée par le mécanisme de dégagement de la chaleur latente dont ils sont constitués. Le graphique ci-dessous montre clairement comment sont constituées ces tempêtes.

Caractéristiques d’un cyclone tropical

Oeil – L’oeil est le centre de la tempête, où règne la pression la plus basse. L’oeil est plus ou moins circulaire. Il contient de l’air chaud subsident généralement sans nuage ni mauvais temps, bien que la surface de l’eau est chaotique où la mer s’engouffre de toutes les directions vers le centre. L’oeil pour devenir obscur et nébuleux si la tempête est prisonnière d'un fort courant atmosphérique. Plus haut dans la tempête, l’oeil peut atteindre 10 °C de plus que l’air ambiant. Le diamètre moyen d'un oeil d'ouragan fait entre 30 et 60 km; mais il peut être de 10 km ou de 200 km.

Cette illustration montre les caractéristiques d’un cyclone tropical et explique comment l'air se déplace et monte (pour plus de détails, lire le texte sur l'oeil, le mur de l'oeil et les bandes pluvieuses). © Environnement Canada, 2009
Cette illustration montre les caractéristiques d’un cyclone tropical et explique comment l'air se
déplace et monte (pour plus de détails, lire le texte sur l'oeil, le mur de l'oeil et les
bandes pluvieuses). © Environnement Canada, 2009

Mur de l’oeil – Le mur de l’oeil est un anneau de convection profonde qui encercle l’oeil de la tempête. C’est à cet endroit que se trouvent les vents de surface les plus forts. De forts courants ascendants et descendants règnent dans le mur de l’œil, mais surtout des courants ascendants qui y sont plus puissants et plus fréquents.

Bandes spirales de pluie– Dans les cyclones tropicaux, la convection crée des bandes de pluie longues et étroites qui s’enroulent autour du centre de la tempête. Les bandes de pluie tournent dans la même direction que le vent horizontal.

Vents de surface – Dans l’hémisphère nord, les vents de surface des cyclones tropicaux tournent dans le sens contraire des aiguilles d’une montre. Comme le montre le schéma, les vents sont nuls au centre de l'œil, mais augmentent considérablement dans le mur de l'oeil, puis graduellement en s'éloignant de la tempête. Là où passe l'œil de l'ouragan, les vents les plus puissants se trouvent sur les deux côtés du mur de l'œil. Les vents du mur de l’œil augmentent graduellement à l’approche de la tempête jusqu’à atteindre leur maximum. Puis, les vents se calment à l’intérieur de l’œil. Mais quand arrive l’autre côté du mur de l'oeil, les vents augmentent presque instantanément jusqu’à leur maximum, dans le sens contraire au premier passage du mur.

Profil des vents d'un cyclone tropical. Les plus grandes vitesses de vent se trouvent près du centre du cyclone.
Profil des vents d'un cyclone tropical. Les plus grandes vitesses de vent se
trouvent près du centre du cyclone

Vents au cœur de la tempête– La vitesse des vents augmente vers la surface. Dans le mur de l’œil, les vents atteignent leur puissance maximale entre 450 et 600 mètres (1500 et 2 000 pieds) de la surface. Selon la stabilité sous-jacente de l'air près de la surface, l’augmentation de la vitesse du vent entre la surface et son maximum peut augmenter si vite sa vitesse au sommet d’un gratte-ciel peut être d’une catégorie Saffir-Simpson supérieure à celle au sol. Au-dessus du vent maximal, les vitesses diminuent avec l’altitude.

Dans un ouragan, le profil de la vitesse du vent par rapport à l’altitude est une moyenne des valeurs enregistrées par les catasondes. Les catasondes sont des instruments parachutés dans les tempêtes par les aéronefs de reconnaissance aérienne. L'échelle verticale est en pieds. L’échelle horizontale donne des pourcentages de vitesses du vent mesurées par les aéronefs de reconnaissance aérienne qui traversent généralement les ouragans à près de 10 000 pieds d'altitude. Cette façon de représenter les données date d'il y a longtemps. On estime les vents de surface d'après les vents enregistrés en vol. Cette méthode était la seule valable avant la mise au point des catasondes en 1998.

Profil moyen du mur de l’oeil. Les vitesses de vent sont supérieures à environ 1 500 pieds. Photo: NHC
Profil moyen du mur de l’oeil. Les vitesses de vent sont
supérieures à environ 1 500 pieds. Photo: NHC

Vents au-dessus de la tempête– Une fois l’ouragan bien développé, les vents au sommet tournent dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre, dans la direction opposée aux vents de surface. C’est parce que l’ouragan est soutenu par une zone de haute pression en altitude qui permet l’évacuation de l’air ascendant et sert de cheminée d’évacuation de l’air avant qu’il ne s’accumule suffisamment pour s’écraser. On peut observer le phénomène sur l'imagerie satellitaire animée qui montre la rotation dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre et qui révèle aux prévisionnistes que le cyclone est à maturité.

Taille, forme et beauté d’un cyclone tropical

Les cyclones tropicaux se mesurent généralement par la force de leurs coups de vent. Ils peuvent être très restreints (envergure de moins de 100 km) ou de véritables monstres qui s'étendent sur plus de 1 000 km. Les ouragans de catégorie 4 Andrew (1992) et Floyd (1999) (sur les images ci-dessous) démontrent clairement qu’il n’existe aucun rapport entre la taille et l’intensité.

Images satellite des ouragans Floyd et Andrew. Photo : NOAA
Images satellite des ouragans Floyd et Andrew. Photo : NOAA

Cette image infrarouge satellite de 1998 montre quatre différents ouragans simultanés dans l'Atlantique et le golfe du Mexique (Georges, Jeanne, Karl, et Ivan). La taille et la forme de chacun d’eux démontrent clairement que celles-ci peuvent varier énormément.

Image infrarouge de 4 ouragans simultanés en 1998. Photo : NOAA
Image infrarouge de 4 ouragans simultanés en 1998. Photo : NOAA

Le danger que présentent les ouragans n’enlève rien à leur beauté qui réside à la fois dans leur simplicité et dans leur complexité. L’image satellite de l’ouragan de catégorie 5 Isabel (2003) montre l’œil rempli de petits tourbillons fixes (ou remous) qui tournent autour du plus grand centre de la tempête. Cette image particulière est une preuve importante d'une structure dont la théorie avait déjà été élaborée par Kossin et Schubert en 2001.

Image satellite de l’oeil en forme de roue de l’ouragan Isabel. Photo : NOAA
Image satellite de l’oeil en forme de roue de l’ouragan Isabel. Photo : NOAA

Les images satellite haute résolution du sommet d’un ouragan, comme cette image de l’ouragan de catégorie 5 Wilma (2005), montrent la déclive du sommet du vortex. Ce phénomène, appelé « effet de stade », est comme les murs inclinés du Colisée de Rome. Un avion-laboratoire américain a traversé l'ouragan Katrina en 2005 et un membre d'équipage a pris une photo près du sommet de la tempête, réussissant un plan rapproché de « l’effet de stade ».

Sommet du vortex de l’ouragan Wilma. Photo: NASA
Sommet du vortex de l’ouragan Wilma. Photo: NASA

Effet de stade dans l’ouragan Katrina. Photo : LCDR Michael J. Silah, NOAA
Effet de stade dans l’ouragan Katrina. Photo : LCDR Michael J. Silah, NOAA

Déplacement des cyclones tropicaux

Nous vivons tout en bas d’un océan d’air, et cet océan est animé de nombreux courants qui déplacent les conditions météorologiques à la surface du globe. Les cyclones tropicaux suivent tout simplement les courants dont ils sont captifs. Étant donné que les cyclones tropicaux s’étalent en hauteur de 25 000 à 35 000 pieds, ils suivent généralement le mouvement de la couche d’air plus épaisse, à sa vitesse moyenne. Si ces courants du vent sont très faibles, d’autres forces peuvent influer sur le déplacement, mais ce n’est jamais le cas quand les cyclones tropicaux atteignent les eaux canadiennes parce que nous courants d’air ne sont jamais si faibles.

Quand le cyclone tropical atteint les latitudes moyennes et s’intègre à l’atmosphère, il ralentit avec les courants d’air et finit par se déplacer à une vitesse à peine la moitié du vent moyen dans la couche plus épaisse. Toutefois, par rapport au sol, les tempêtes accélèrent, car les courants du vent en altitude sont de 3 à 6 fois plus rapides que ces mêmes courants sous les tropiques. Voir Transition extratropicale.

Date de modification :