Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Canada's Top Ten Weather Stories for 2011


A Year in Review - 2011 Weather Stories

From floods to fire, melting Arctic seas, heat waves, blizzards, hurricanes and tornados - 2011 was a weather year to remember. Canadians from coast to coast to coast were affected by this year's weather extremes and their insurance companies reported the second most expensive year for weather losses. Read the full story

The Top Ten

1. Historic Flood Fights in the West

Cleaning debris from a bridge on Turtle River in Ste. Rose Du Lac, Manitoba.  April 2011. © Wendy Erlenson.  

Known as the flood that would never end and the spring flood that became the summer flood; the 2011 Prairie flooding featured the highest water levels and flows in modern history across parts of Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Read the full story.
- Prairies

2. Slave Lake Burning

Heavy black smoke resulting from a fire storm that struck Slave Lake Alberta in May 2011. © Alberta Environment.

Perfect fire conditions were in place last May, so when a fire started, the blaze, aided by 100 km/h winds, spread quickly. One-third of the homes and businesses in Slave Lake (about 400 structures) were incinerated in the 1000°C heat –  reduced to burnt concrete, twisted steel and blackened rubble. Read the full story.
- Slave Lake, Alberta

3. Richelieu Flooding…Quebec’s Longest-Lived Disaster

© Environment Canada.  Houses and streets flooded along Richelieu River in Quebec, spring of 2011.

The Richelieu flood was arguably the worst overland flooding in southern Quebec this century. Hundreds of roads were damaged, parts of the shoreline were swept away, and thousands of hectares of farmland were submerged. Fish swam where grain should have been growing. Read the full story.
- Southern Quebec

4. Down on the Farm: Doom to Boom

© Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.  Flooded farmland near Weyburn, Saskatchewan in April.

Farmers across the country faced prolonged flooding; but weather fortunes changed for many late in the season. In the end, wavering weather created a multitude of outcomes ranging from doom to boom depending on the crop and location. Read the full story.
-Across Canada

5. Tornado Goderich in a Wild Week of Weather

© Environment Canada. Damage to Goderich Ontario, after a Fujita Scale 3 tornado with winds between 250 and 320 km/h struck the town in July 2011.

After a relatively quiet summer, a wild week of weather hit Ontario, starting with Goderich on August 21st.  In less than two minutes, a tornado ripped through the picturesque community, with unbelievable damage; killing one person and injuring forty others.  Only three days later, dark clouds and lightning rolled in and another three tornados occurred across Ontario. Read the full story.
- Ontario

6. Good Night, Irene...and, Katia, Maria and Ophelia

© Photos.com. View of rough waters off the Atlantic coast.

From Arlene to Sean, 19 tropical storms formed in the Atlantic basin – well above the long-term average of 11. Only six became full-blown hurricanes, with three logged as major at Category 3 or higher: Irene, Katia and Ophelia. The busy storm season reflected a continuation of above-normal activity that began in 1995. Read the full story.
- Atlantic

7. Summer: Hummer or Bummer?

© Photos.com Group of children playing in water. Many areas of Canada experienced very high temperatures in July.

On the first day of summer, temperatures were on the rise from Saskatchewan to Quebec, blanketing millions of Canadians in warmth and sunshine. But, for those on the west and east coasts it was a different story altogether as they endured cool temperatures, endless rain and overcast or foggy skies. Read the full story.
- Across Canada

8. Arctic Sea Ice near Record Low

© Environment Canada. Ship moving through open Arctic water.

According to Environment Canada and the National Snow and Ice Data Center in Colorado, sea ice covering the Arctic Ocean declined to its second-lowest extent on record in September 2011. The near-record ice melt was surprising owing to the absence of the unusual warm weather and oceanic conditions that contributed to the super melt in 2007. Read the full story.
- Arctic

9. Groundhog Day Storm: Snowmageddon or Snowbigdeal?

© Photos.com. Trucks buried in snow.  February storm recorded heavy snowfall in Quebec and Atlantic Canada.

During the last week of January, meteorologists warned of a storm that could affect 100 million people from New Mexico to Newfoundland. For portions of southern Ontario the storm had more bark than bite. But, blizzard conditions did take hold from Lake Huron to Niagara, and; over Quebec and the Maritimes, the storm lasted two days depositing between 20 and 50 cm of snow. Read the full story.
- Ontario, Quebec, Maritimes

10. Wicked Winds from the West

© Photos.com. View of Calgary skyline.

Southern Alberta is one of the windiest regions in Canada. During the last week of November, some of the most powerful winds ever recorded in the area ripped across southern Alberta, including Calgary, inflicting millions of dollars in property damages. Read the full story.
- Southern Alberta

 

Runner-Up Weather Stories

 

Regional Highlights

Atlantic Canada

  • January Nor’easters Pound the Atlantic Provinces
  • Another Winter Storm
  • MonctonBuried in Snow
  • Pre-Halloween Storm Scares Atlantic Canada
  • Record Wet October in Halifax
  • Winter’s First Big Storm
  • Atlantic Weather Bomb
  • Read the full story.

Quebec

  • One Wet March
  • April Showers Bring Spring Flooding
  • An Active Summer Storm Season
  • September Microbursts
  • Read the full story.

Ontario

  • Record Wet March and High Water Levels
  • Essex-Lambton Tornado
  • Four Tornadoes in One Day
  • Windsor Sets Annual Precipitation Record
  • Could Have Been Snow
  • Read the full story.

Prairie Provinces

  • Super-Sized Snows in Alberta
  • Spring Snowstorm
  • Edmonton Swarmed; Winnipeg Skeeter-Free
  • Four Alberta Tornadoes
  • Calgary’s Severe Summer Weather
  • Read the full story.

British Columbia

  • Avalanches
  • Winter’s Two-Week Blast
  • Dull Spring in Vancouver
  • Spring and Summer Flooding
  • September Flooding
  • Read the full story.

The North

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Les dix événements météorologiques les plus marquants au Canada en 2011


Bilan de l’année

Inondations, feux, fonte des glaces de mer de l'Arctique, vagues de chaleur, blizzards, ouragans et tornades : on peut dire que 2011 sera une année mémorable pour ce qui est des conditions météorologiques. Les Canadiens d'un océan à l'autre ont été touchés par des phénomènes climatiques extrêmes cette année et les sociétés d’assurance ont connu leur deuxième année la plus coûteuse pour ce qui est des pertes liées aux catastrophes météorologiques. Lire l'article complet.

Les dix événements

1. Luttes historiques contre les inondations dans l'Ouest

© Wendy Erlenson.  Nettoyant les débris à partir d’un pont sur la rivière Turtle, à Ste. Rose Du Lac (Manitoba). Avril 2011.

Surnommée l'inondation sans fin ou l'inondation printanière devenue estivale, l'inondation dans les Prairies en 2011 est caractérisée par les niveaux et les débits d'eau les plus élevés de l'histoire moderne dans certaines régions du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan. Lire l'article complet.
– Prairies

2. Slave Lake en feu

© Ministère de l'Environnement de l'Alberta. Épaisse fumée noire provenant d'un feu de tempête qui a frappé Slave Lake (Alberta), en mai.

Les conditions de feu étaient idéales au mois de mai dernier. Ainsi, lorsqu'un incendie s'est déclaré, le brasier, aidé par des vents de 100 km/h, s'est propagé rapidement. Le tiers des maisons et des entreprises de Slave Lake (soit environ 400 bâtiments) ont été incinérées par une chaleur de 1 000 oC et réduites en un amas de béton brûlé, d'acier tordu et de gravats noircis. Lire l'article complet.
– Slave Lake, Alberta

3. Inondations du Richelieu : la plus longue catastrophe au Québec

© Environnement Canada.  Maisons et rues inondées le long de la rivière Richelieu au Québec, au printemps 2011.

La crue de la rivière Richelieu est sans doute la pire inondation terrestre que le sud du Québec ait connue au cours de ce siècle. Des centaines de routes ont subi des dégâts importants, des parties du rivage ont été emportées et des milliers d'hectares de terres agricoles ont été submergés. Des poissons nageaient là où des céréales étaient censées pousser. Lire l'article complet.
– Sud du Québec

4. Agriculture :du mauvais sort à l'essor

© Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada  Terres agricoles inondées près de Weyburn (Saskatchewan) en avril.

Des agriculteurs dans l'ensemble du pays ont dû composer avec des inondations prolongées, mais ils ont vécu un retournement de situation plus tard dans la saison pour ce qui est des conditions météorologiques. En fin de compte, les conditions météorologiques changeantes ont créé une multitude de conséquences, allant du mauvais sort à l'essor, selon les cultures et leur emplacement. Lire l'article complet.
– Dans l'ensemble du Canada

5. Tornade à Goderich lors d'une semaine de météo déchaînée

© Environnement Canada. Dommages causés à Goderich (Ontario), après qu'une tornade de catégorie 3 à l'échelle Fujita, produisant des vents de 250 à 320 km/h, s'est abattue sur la ville en août 2011.

Après un été relativement calme, une semaine de conditions météorologiques exceptionnelles s'est abattue sur l'Ontario, en commençant par Goderich, le 21 août. En moins de deux minutes, la tornade a balayé cette collectivité pittoresque en provoquant des dégâts incroyables, tuant une personne et en blessant quarante autres. Seulement trois jours plus tard, des nuages sombres et de la foudre se sont amenés et trois autres tornades ont eu lieu en Ontario. Lire l'article complet.
– Ontario

6. Au revoir Irene, Katia, Maria et Ophelia

© Photos.com. Vue des eaux agitées au large de la côte de l'Atlantique.

D'Arlene à Sean, 19 tempêtes tropicales se sont formées dans le bassin de l'Atlantique, un chiffre bien supérieur à la moyenne de 11. Seulement six de ces tempêtes se sont muées en ouragans dont trois ont été classés comme majeurs, soit de catégorie 3 ou plus : Irene, Katia et Ophelia. Cette saison de tempêtes active faisait suite à une activité supérieure à la normale ayant commencé en 1995. Lire l'article complet.
– Québec et Atlantique

7. Un été décevant ou sans fin?

© Photos.com. Groupe d'enfants jouant dans l'eau. De nombreuses régions du Canada ont connu des températures très élevées en juillet.

Le premier jour de l'été, les températures étaient à la hausse de la Saskatchewan au Québec, recouvrant des millions de Canadiens de chaleur et de soleil. Toutefois, pour les habitants des côtes est et ouest, l'histoire a été bien différente, car ils ont eu droit à des températures fraîches, à des pluies continues et à un temps couvert ou brumeux. Lire l'article complet.
– Dans l'ensemble du Canada

8. Les glaces de mer de l’Arctique près de leur plus bas niveau

© Service canadien des glaces. Navire se déplaçant dans les eaux libres de l'Arctique.

D'après Environnement Canada et le National Snow and Ice Data Center, qui se trouve au Colorado, la couverture de glace de mer de l'océan Arctique a diminué à son deuxième niveau le plus bas en septembre 2011. Cette fonte des glaces presque record a surpris en raison de l'absence des conditions météorologiques et océaniques inhabituellement chaudes qui avaient entraîné une fonte très importante en 2007. Lire l'article complet.
– Arctique

9. Blizzard du jour de la marmotte : tempête historique ou dans un verre d'eau ?

© Photos.com. Camions ensevelis sous la neige.  Tempête de février produisant des chutes de neige abondantes sur le Québec et le Canada atlantique.

Au cours de la dernière semaine du mois de janvier, les météorologues ont émis un avertissement de tempête pouvant toucher 100 millions de personnes, du Nouveau-Mexique à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Pour certaines parties du sud de l'Ontario, la tempête a été moins méchante qu'elle n'y paraissait. Toutefois, des conditions de blizzard sont survenues, s'étendant du lac Huron jusqu'à Niagara et du Québec jusqu'aux Maritimes. La tempête a duré deux jours et a laissé tomber entre 20 et 50 cm de neige. Lire l'article complet.
– Ontario, Québec et Maritimes

10. Vents violents de l’Ouest

© Photos.com. Vue d'horizon de Calgary.

Le sud de l'Alberta est l'une des régions les plus venteuses du Canada. Au cours de la dernière semaine de novembre, certains des vents les plus puissants jamais enregistrés dans la région ont balayé le sud de l'Alberta, y compris Calgary, causant des dommages matériels s'élevant à quelques millions de dollars. Lire l'article complet.
– Sud de l'Alberta

 

Finalistes des événements marquants de 2011

 

Faits Saillants Régionaux

Canada atlantique

  • Les tempêtes du nord-est de janvier s'abattent sur les provinces de l'Atlantique
  • Une autre tempête hivernale
  • La ville de Moncton ensevelie sous la neige
  • La tempête précédant l'Halloween fait peur au Canada atlantique
  • Mois d'octobre exceptionnellement humide à Halifax
  • La première grosse tempête hivernale
  • Bombe météorologique sur la région Atlantique
  • Lire l'article complet.

Québec

  • Un mois de mars plutôt humide
  • Les averses d'avril entraînent l'inondation du printemps
  • Une saison active de tempêtes estivales
  • Microrafales de septembre
  • Lire l'article complet.

Ontario

  • Mois de mars humide et niveaux d'eau élevés records
  • Tornade à Essex et Lambton
  • Quatre tornades en un jour
  • Windsor établit un record de précipitations annuelles
  • Cela aurait pu être de la neige
  • Lire l'article complet.

Provinces des Prairies

  • Des chutes de neige colossales en Alberta
  • Tempête de neige printanière
  • Edmonton envahi; Winnipeg sans moustique
  • Quatre tornades en Alberta
  • Temps violent estival à Calgary
  • Lire l'article complet.

Colombie-Britannique

  • Avalanches
  • Période hivernale de deux semaines
  • Printemps monotone à Vancouver
  • Inondations printanières et estivales
  • Inondations en septembre
  • Lire l'article complet.

Le Nord

  • La douceur arctique de janvier
  • Trou dans la couche d’ozone de l’Arctique en pleine croissance
  • Lire l'article complet.