Global Greenhouse Gas Emissions

Access PDF (450 KB)

Canada's greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in 2012 accounted for 1.6% of global GHG emissions. Canada's share of global emissions, like that of other developed countries, is anticipated to continue to decline with the expected rapid increase in emissions from developing and emerging countries, particularly China, India, Brazil and Indonesia. Overall, between 1990 and 2012, global emissions of GHGs have increased by 47%.

Global greenhouse gas emissions for selected countries,Footnote [1] 1990, 2005 and 2012

Column chart

Long description

The column chart provides a breakdown of greenhouse gas emissions for the top 10 emitting countries or regions as well as Canada for the years 1990, 2005 and 2012. The vertical axis is absolute emissions of greenhouse gases in megatonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent. Total global greenhouse gas emissions in 2012 (as reported by the World Resources Institute) is 44 816 megatonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent and the percent share of global greenhouse gas emissions for the top 10 global emitters and Canada in 2012 is as follows: China (24.5%); United States (13.9%); European Union (9.8%); India (6.7%); Russian Federation (5.2%); Japan (3.0%); Brazil (2.3%); Indonesia (1.7%); Mexico (1.6%); Iran (1.6%) and Canada (1.6%).

Data for this chart
Global greenhouse gas emissions for selected countries, 1990, 2005 and 2012
Countries1990 GHG emissions
(megatonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent)
2005 GHG emissions
(megatonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent)
2012 GHG emissions
(megatonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent)
World30 42438 78244 816
China3321734510 975
United States593768416235
European Union (28)Footnote [A]523549534399
India123920823014
Russian Federation277721412322
Japan119013371345
Brazil5658401013
Indonesia392627761
Mexico435657724
Iran263579715
Canada569723714
Rest of the WorldFootnote [B]850010 65712 599

 

Global greenhouse gas emissions distribution for selected countries, 1990, 2005 and 2012
CountriesShare of GHG emissions in 1990
(percent)
Share of GHG emissions in 2005
(percent)
Share of GHG emissions in 2012
(percent)
1990–2012 percent change2005–2012 percent change
World1001001004716
China10.918.924.523049
United States19.517.613.95-9
European Union (28)Footnote [A]17.212.89.8-16-11
India4.15.46.714345
Russian Federation9.15.55.2-168
Japan3.93.43.0131
Brazil1.92.22.37921
Indonesia1.31.61.79421
Mexico1.41.71.66610
Iran0.91.51.617123
Canada1.91.91.626-1
Rest of the WorldFootnote [B]27.927.528.14818

Download data file (Excel/CSV; 2.39 KB)

How this indicator was calculated

Note: Greenhouse gas emissions for each country presented in this comparison were calculated by the World Resources Institute. For certain countries, including Canada, these values differ from the latest official estimate of GHG emissions submitted to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). As such Canada's emissions under this indicator differ from the Greenhouse Gas Emissions indicator, which is based on Canada's official National Inventory Report submitted to the UNFCCC.
Source: World Resources Institute (2015) CAIT Climate Data Explorer.

Related indicators

Other information

Access PDF (450 KB)

Date modified:

Émissions de gaz à effet de serre à l'échelle mondiale

Accéder au PDF (468 Ko)

Les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) du Canada en 2012 ont constitué 1,6 % des émissions de GES à l'échelle mondiale. La contribution du Canada aux émissions mondiales, comme celle d'autres pays développés, devrait continuer à baisser, puisqu'on s'attend à une croissance rapide des émissions de pays en développement et émergents, en particulier la Chine, l'Inde, le Brésil et l'Indonésie. Dans l'ensemble, entre 1990 et 2012, les émissions mondiales de GES ont augmenté de 47 %.

Émissions de gaz à effet de serre à l'échelle mondiale pour les pays sélectionnés,Note de bas de page [1] 1990, 2005 et 2012

Graphique à colonnes

Description longue

Le graphique à colonnes indique la répartition des émissions de gaz à effet de serre des 10 pays ou régions ayant émis le plus ainsi que le Canada pour les années 1990, 2005 et 2012. L'axe vertical est celui des émissions absolues de gaz à effet de serre en mégatonnes d'équivalent en dioxyde de carbone. Les émissions totales de gaz à effet de serre à l'échelle mondiale en 2012 (tel que rapporté par le World Resources Institute) sont de 44 816 mégatonnes d'équivalent en dioxyde de carbone et la part des émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour les 10 principaux émetteurs et le Canada en 2012 est la suivante : la Chine (24,5 %); les États-Unis (13,9 %); l'Union européenne (9,8 %); l'Inde (6,7 %); la Fédération de Russie (5,2 %); le Japon (3,0 %); le Brésil (2,3 %); l'Indonésie (1,7 %); le Mexique (1,6 %); l'Iran (1,6 %) et le Canada (1,6 %).

Données du graphique
Émissions de gaz à effet de serre à l'échelle mondiale pour les pays sélectionnés, 1990, 2005 et 2012
PaysÉmissions de GES en 1990
(mégatonnes d'équivalent en dioxyde de carbone)
Émissions de GES en 2005
(mégatonnes d'équivalent en dioxyde de carbone)
Émissions de GES en 2012
(mégatonnes d'équivalent en dioxyde de carbone)
Monde30 42438 78244 816
Chine3 3217 34510 975
États-Unis5 9376 8416 235
Union européenne (28)Footnote [A]5 2354 9534 399
Inde1 2392 0823 014
Fédération de Russie2 7772 1412 322
Japon1 1901 3371 345
Brésil5658401 013
Indonésie392627761
Mexique435657724
Iran263579715
Canada569723714
Reste du mondeFootnote [B]8 50010 65712 599

 

Répartition des émissions de gaz à effet de serre à l'échelle mondiale pour les pays sélectionnés, 1990, 2005 et 2012
PaysRépartition de 1990
(pourcentage)
Répartition de 2005
(pourcentage)
Répartition de 2012
(pourcentage)
Changement 2012–1990
(pourcentage)
Changement 2012–2005
(pourcentage)
Monde1001001004716
Chine10,918,924,523049
États-Unis19,517,613,95-9
Union européenne (28)Footnote [A]17,212,89,8-16-11
Inde4,15,46,714345
Fédération de Russie9,15,55,2-168
Japon3,93,43,0131
Brésil1,92,22,37921
Indonésie1,31,61,79421
Mexique1,41,71,66610
Iran0,91,51,617123
Canada1,91,91,626-1
Reste du mondeFootnote [B]27,927,528,14818

Télécharger le fichier de données (Excel/CSV; 2,67 Ko)

Comment cet indicateur est calculé

Note : Les émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour chaque pays présenté dans cette comparaison ont été calculées par le World Resources Institute. Pour certains pays, dont le Canada, ces valeurs diffèrent des dernières estimations officielles des émissions de GES soumises à la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC). Les émissions rapportées pour le Canada diffèrent de celles rapportées dans l'indicateur sur Émissions de gaz à effet de serre, qui est basé sur le Rapport d'inventaire national officiel du Canada soumis à la CCNUCC.
Source : World Resources Institute (2015) CAIT Climate Data Explorer.

Indicateurs connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Accéder au PDF (468 Ko)

Date de modification :