Summary of Public Comments received on Aviation Fuels Draft Screening Assessment Report for Stream 3 of the Petroleum Sector Stream Approach

(PDF Format - 16 KB)

Comments on the draft Screening Assessment Report for aviation fuels under the Chemicals Management Plan’s Petroleum Sector Stream Approach (PSSA).

A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic:

Summary of comments and responses
TopicCommentResponse
Persistence and BioaccumulationEven though components of these substances meet the persistence and bioaccumulation criteria, they are at worst marginally persistent or bioaccumulative.The persistence and bioaccumulation properties of substance components are used in a weight of evidence approach for determining risk.
Risk Assessment ConclusionAlthough the conclusions of the Assessment Reports are based on conservative and stringent scientific assumptions, they are supported as they are balanced and representative of the hazard information.Noted.
Risk ManagementThe addition of aviation fuels to the Environmental Emergency Regulations is supportedif they meet the criteria.The addition of aviation fuels to the Environmental Emergency Regulations is being considered and will be subject to further consultations.

Date modified:

Résumé des commentaires reçus du public à propos de l'ébauche du rapport d'évaluation préalable des carburants aviation pour le groupe 3 de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier

(Format PDF - 32 Ko)

Les commentaires sur l'ébauche du rapport d'évaluation préalable des carburants aviation dans le cadre de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques.

Vous trouverez aux présentes un résumé des réponses et des commentaires reçus, structuré selon les sujets suivants :

Résumé des réponses et des commentaires
SujetCommentaireRéponse
Persistance et bioaccumulationMême si les composants de ces substances répondent aux critères de persistance et de bioaccumulation, ils sont au pire légèrement persistants ou bioaccumulables.Les propriétés de persistance et de bioaccumulation des composants des substances sont utilisées dans une méthode du poids de la preuve pour déterminer le risque.
Conclusion de l'évaluation des risquesBien que les conclusions des rapports d'évaluation soient basées sur des hypothèses scientifiques prudentes et rigoureuses, elles sont cautionnées, car elles sont pesées et représentatives des renseignements sur les risques.Noté.
Gestion des risquesL'ajout des carburants aviation au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales est avalisési ces substances répondent aux critères.L'ajout des carburants aviation au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales est en cours d'étude et sera sujet à d'autres consultations.

Date de modification :