Summary of Public Comments received on the Draft Screening Assessment for 19 Substances on the Domestic Substances List Associated with Pesticidal Uses

(PDF Format - 309 KB)

Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Numbers:

Comments on the draft screening assessment for 19 substances associated with pesticidal uses, to be addressed as part of the Chemicals Management Plan, were provided by the Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association, Consumer Specialty Products Association, CropLife Canada, Nippon Soda Co. Ltd., S.C. Johnson & Son, and Scotts Canada Ltd.

A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic:

Comments on the draft screening assessment for 19 substances associated with pesticidal uses
TopicCommentResponse
Risk assessmentIt is agreed that the 19 substances are not "toxic" as defined under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA).Noted.
Risk managementThe 19 substances should continue to be managed under the Pest Control Products Act.Pesticidal use of these substances is  assessed and regulated through the Pest Management Regulatory Agency under the Pest Control Products Act. New non-pesticidal applications of these substances may be subject to the Significant New Activity (SNAc) provisions under CEPA.
Risk managementThe 19 pesticide substances should be subject to SNAc provisions under CEPA.The Government of Canada is planning to propose to apply the SNAc provisions to the 19 substances.
Risk managementThe 19 pesticide substances should not be subject to ongoing future Domestic Substances List Inventory Update (DSL IU) surveys.The Government of Canada is currently considering amending the Domestic Substances List to indicate that the significant new activities provisions apply as the primary mechanism for monitoring future changes in the use profiles of the 19 pesticide substances.
Stakeholder consultationA stakeholder offered to provide feedback and consultation on proposed SNAc wording.Noted.
CommunicationsRevise communications related to the 19 pesticide substances in the final screening assessment to provide relevant information without raising unnecessary concerns.This recommendation is considered in the final screening assessment.
Date modified:

Résumé des commentaires du public reçus sur l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable de dix-neuf substances inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances et associées à l'utilisation de pesticides

( Format PDF - 356 Ko)

Numéro de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service :

Les commentaires sur l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable de 19 substances associées à l'utilisation de pesticides, qui seront examinés dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques, ont été formulés par l'Association canadienne de produits de consommation spécialisés, la Consumer Specialty Products Association, CropLife Canada, Nippon Soda Co. Ltd., S.C. Johnson & Son, et Scotts Canada Ltée.

Un résumé des commentaires et des réponses par sujet est présenté ci-après :

Les commentaires sur l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable de 19 substances associées à l'utilisation de pesticides
SujetCommentaireRéponse
Évaluation des risquesIl est convenu que les 19 substances ne sont pas toxiques au sens de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE).Noté.
Gestion des risquesLes 19 substances devraient continuer d'être régies en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires.L'utilisation de ces substances à des fins de pesticides est évaluée et régie par l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires. Les nouvelles utilisations de ces substances autres qu'à des fins de pesticides pourraient être visées par les dispositions de la LCPE relatives à une nouvelle activité (NAc).
Gestion des risquesLes 19 substances pesticides devraient être visées par les dispositions de la LCPE relatives à une NAc.Le gouvernement du Canada envisage de proposer que les substances soient visées par les dispositions relatives à une NAc.
Gestion des risquesLes 19 substances pesticides ne devraient pas faire l'objet de futures enquêtes continues pour la mise à jour de l'Inventaire de la Liste intérieure des substances (MJ LIS).Le gouvernement du Canada envisage modifier la Liste intérieure pour indiquer que les dispositions de nouvelles activités s'appliquent comme principal mécanisme de suivi des futurs changements aux profils d'utilisation des 19 substances pesticides.
Consultation des intervenantsUn intervenant a indiqué pouvoir être consulté et fournir des commentaires sur la formulation proposée des nouvelles activités.Noté.
CommunicationsIl faudrait revoir les communications concernant les 19 substances pesticides dans l'évaluation préalable finale afin de fournir des renseignements pertinents sans susciter de préoccupations inutiles.Cette recommandation est prise en compte dans l'évaluation préalable finale.
Date de modification :