Summary of Public Comments Received on Fuel Oil No. 2 Draft Screening Assessment Report and Proposed Risk Management Scope for Stream 3 of the Petroleum Sector Stream Approach

(PDF Format - 16 KB)

Comments were received on the draft Screening Assessment and proposed risk management scope for Fuel Oil No. 2 to be addressed as part of the Chemicals Management Plan’s Petroleum Sector Stream Approach (PSSA).

A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic:

Topic Risk Assessment

Comment

It was noted that benzene was considered in the assessment of the bulk storage evaporative emissions scenario. Benzene content in Fuel Oil No. 2 is at or below detectable levels, if existent at all.

Response

Health Canada considered the presence of several constituents in Fuel Oil No. 2 and other related gas oil substances. Benzene was included due to its presence both in other gas oils and in measured emissions from gas oil bulk storage tanks.

Topic Risk Management

Comment

It is not apparent that the addition of Fuel Oil No. 2 to the Environmental Emergency Regulations under CEPA 1999 will reduce the risks identified in the draft Screening Assessment (i.e., small spills).

Response

The draft Screening Assessment identified spills as harmful to freshwater, marine and terrestrial organisms. Spill statistics reflected a pattern of repeated small quantities of Fuel Oil No. 2 released to the environment, with occasional large spills.

The addition of Fuel Oil No. 2 to the Environmental Emergency Regulations will help to address the larger spills. The Government will also explore options for reducing the occurrence of small spills associated with residential storage tanks for Fuel Oil No. 2, in consultation with provinces/territories and stakeholders. Other measures may also be considered.


Date modified:

Résumé des commentaires reçus du public à propos de l'ébauche du rapport d'évaluation préalable du fuel-oil n° 2 pour le groupe 3 de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier

(Format PDF - 35 Ko)

Les commentaires reçus dans le cadre de l'ébauche du rapport d'évaluation préalable et du cadre de gestion des risques proposé du fuel-oil n° 2 sont à traiter dans le cadre de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques.

Vous trouverez aux présentes un résumé des réponses et des commentaires reçus, structuré selon les sujets suivants :

Sujet Évaluation des risques

Commentaire

Il a été mentionné que le benzène avait été pris en compte dans l'évaluation du scénario des émissions par évaporation issues du stockage en vrac. Le benzène est présent dans le fuel-oil n° 2 à de faibles concentrations ou en dessous des limites de détection lorsqu'il est présent.

Réponse

Santé Canada a pris en compte la présence de plusieurs composants dans le fuel-oil n° 2 et d'autres gazoles connexes. Le benzène en fait partie en raison de sa présence à la fois dans d'autres gazoles et dans des émissions mesurées dans des réservoirs de stockage en vrac de gazole.

Sujet Gestion des risques

Commentaire

Il n'est pas évident que l'ajout de fuel-oil n° 2 au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales en vertu de la LCPE (1999) permettra de réduire les risques déterminés dans l’ébauche d'évaluation préalable (c.-à-d. les petits déversements).

Réponse

L'ébauche du rapport d'évaluation préalable a déterminé que les déversements étaient nocifs pour les organismes d'eau douce, marins et terrestres. Les statistiques sur les déversements reflètent une tendance aux petites quantités répétées de rejet de fuel-oil n° 2 dans l'environnement, et occasionnellement des déversements importants.

L'ajout du fuel-oil n° 2 au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales permettra de gérer les déversements plus importants. Le gouvernement va aussi explorer des options afin de réduire la fréquence des déversements de moindre importance associés avec les réservoirs de stockage résidentiels de fuel-oil n° 2, en consultation avec les provinces et territoires ainsi qu’avec les parties intéressés. D'autres mesures peuvent également être envisagées.


Date de modification :