This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Summary of Public Comments received on the Challenge substance Pigment Red 3 (CAS RN 2425-85-6) Proposed Risk Management Approach document for Batch 3


(PDF Version - 23 KB)

Comments on the Proposed Risk Management Approach document for Pigment Red 3 to be addressed as part of the Chemicals Management Plan Challenge were provided by Clariant Produkte, Canadian Vehicle Manufacturing Association, Colour Pigment Manufacturers Association, Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba, and the Canadian Environmental Law Association. The table contains a condensed version of each comment and a response in non-technical terms.

A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic:

A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic: Alternatives, Risk management, Vulnerable populations and Occupational health and safety
TopicCommentResponse
AlternativesIt will be difficult for users to seek and use alternatives to Pigment Red 3. Suppliers of alternatives should be sought out and engaged to minimize effects of risk management such as the need to find and use alternatives for Pigment Red 3.The participation of stakeholders is helpful in assisting the Government to develop strong and effective risk management actions. Where available and relevant, information on the availability and cost of alternatives for a substance used in Canada , including the economic, social and environmental implications, will be considered in the development of risk management tools. Information on these impacts may be generated from a number of sources, including direct engagement with stakeholders.
Government- approved alternatives to Pigment Red 3 for anti-fouling industrial paints should be used.Pigments are stabilized in dry paint, minimizing exposure risks in the general population. Under the Pest Control Products Act, anti-fouling paints containing Pigment Red 3 are subject to health and environmental assessments, and are registered as pest control products. The Risk Management Approach document identifies two anti-fouling paints that are currently registered. They both contain low amounts of Pigment Red 3 (<1.0%).
Risk managementTo protect human health, Pigment Red 3 should be prohibited.The proposed human health objective for Pigment Red 3 is to protect human health by reducing exposure. The Assessment Report has identified that there is negligible exposure and risk once Pigment Red 3 is bound within plastic, dry paint, dry ink or coating resins. As a result, the Government of Canada plans to implement Significant New Activity provisions under CEPA 1999 to Pigment Red 3. This would require that any proposed new manufacture, import or use be subject to further assessment, and would determine if the new activity requires further risk management consideration.
Pigment Red 3 is not used in cosmetics in Canada. It is mostly used in commercial formulations. Since Pigment Red 3 is almost completely insoluble and is stabilized in plastic or dry paint, ink, or coating resins, exposure is negligible. Given the low risk of exposure and the requirement to report new uses under Canadian regulation the risk management of Pigment Red 3 is fair, reasonable and effective.The Screening Assessment Report has identified that there is negligible exposure and risk once Pigment Red 3 is bound within plastic, dry paint, dry ink or coating resins. The Government of Canada plans to implement Significant New Activity provisions under CEPA 1999 to Pigment Red 3. This would require that any proposed new manufacture, import or use be subject to further assessment, and would determine if the new activity requires further risk management consideration.
Vulnerable populationsThe presence of this chemical in children’s cosmetic products requires action to ensure that similar imported products are prohibited for use or sale in Canada. This requires a regulation to ensure that Pigment Red 3 is not present in products imported into Canada.The Government of Canada recently proposed the addition of Pigment Red 3 to the Cosmetic Ingredient Hotlist, which is an administrative tool that provides guidance as to which substances are subject to the cosmetic safety provisions of Section 16 of the Food and Drugs Act.
Occupational health and safetyWorkplace exposures to Pigment Red 3 and other harmful chemicals create health risks that require full consideration.The scope of assessment reports under CEPA 1999 are focused on the potential risks to the general Canadian public, occupational exposures are considered with respect to the potential health effects associated with a substance. Detailed scientific information within the assessment report is made available to occupational health and safety representatives to inform precautionary actions in the workplace.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Résumé des observations du public sur l’Approche de gestion des risques proposée pour la substance du troisième  lot du Défi Pigment Red 3 (CAS RN 2425-85-6


(Version PDF - 24 Ko)

Des observations sur l’Approche de gestion des risques proposée pour le Pigment Red 3 à examiner dans le cadre du Défi du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques ont été présentées par Clariant Produkte, l’Association canadienne des constructeurs de véhicules, la Colour Pigment Manufacturers Association, Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba et l’Association canadienne du droit de l’environnement Le tableau présente une version synthétisée de chaque observation et une réponse de nature non technique.

Les observations et les réponses sont résumées ci-dessous, par thème:

Les observations et les réponses sont résumées ci-dessous, par thème: Produits de remplacement, Gestion des risques, Populations vulnérables et Santé et sécurité au travail
ThèmesObservationsRéponses
Produits de remplacementIl sera difficile pour les utilisateurs de trouver et d’utiliser des solutions de rechange à Pigment Red 3. Il faudrait trouver et faire participer les fournisseurs de solutions de rechange pour atténuer les effets de la gestion des risques, comme la nécessité de trouver et d’utiliser ces solutions.La participation des parties intéressées aide le gouvernement à mettre au point des mesures de gestion des risques valables et efficaces. S’il y a lieu, l’information sur la disponibilité et le coût des solutions de rechange à une substance utilisée au Canada, y compris leurs implications économiques, sociales et environnementales, sera examinée dans l’élaboration d’outils de gestion des risques. L’information sur ces répercussions peut provenir de différentes sources, y compris la participation directe des parties intéressées.
Il faudrait utiliser les solutions de rechange approuvées par le gouvernement du Canada pour remplacer le Pigment Red 3 dans les peintures antisalissures industrielles.Dans la peinture sèche, les pigments sont stabilisés, ce qui réduit les risques d’exposition pour la population en général. En vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires, les peintures antisalissures contenant du Pigment Red 3 sont assujetties à des évaluations sanitaires et environnementales et sont enregistrées comme produits antiparasitaires. L’Approche de gestion des risques indique que deux de ces peintures sont actuellement enregistrées et contiennent de faibles quantités de Pigment Red 3 (<1,0 %).
Gestion des risquesLe Pigment Red 3 devrait être interdit, afin de protéger la santé humaine.L’objectif proposé relatif à la santé humaine pour le Pigment Red 3 est de protéger la santé humaine en réduisant l’exposition à ce produit. Le Rapport d’évaluation a établi que l’exposition et le risque sont faibles lorsque le Pigment Red 3 est lié à du plastique, à de la peinture ou à de l’encre sèches ou à des résines de revêtement. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada prévoit appliquer au Pigment Red 3 les dispositions de la LCPE 1999 sur les nouvelles activités. Cette mesure ferait que les nouvelles activités proposées de fabrication, d’importation ou d’utilisation seraient soumises à une évaluation plus approfondie et déterminerait si la nouvelle activité requiert un examen plus attentif quant à la gestion des risques.
Le Pigment Red 3 n’est pas utilisé dans les produits cosmétiques au Canada, où il est surtout utilisé dans les formulations commerciales. Étant donné que le Pigment Red 3 est presque entièrement insoluble et qu’il est stabilisé dans le plastique, la peinture ou l’encre sèches et les résines de revêtement, l’exposition au produit est négligeable. Compte tenu du faible risque d’exposition au produit et de l’exigence d’en déclarer les nouvelles utilisations en vertu de la réglementation canadienne, la gestion des risques du Pigment Red 3 est équitable, raisonnable et efficace.Le Rapport d’évaluation préalable a établi que le niveau d’exposition et le risque associés au Pigment Red 3 stabilisé dans le plastique, la peinture ou l’encre sèches et les résines de revêtement sont négligeables. Le gouvernement du Canada prévoit appliquer au Pigment Red 3 les dispositions de la LCPE 1999 relatives aux nouvelles activités. Cette mesure ferait que les nouvelles activités proposées de fabrication, d’importation ou d’utilisation seraient soumises à une évaluation plus approfondie et déterminerait si la nouvelle activité requiert un examen plus attentif quant à la gestion des risques.
Populations vulnérablesCompte tenu de la présence de cette substance chimique dans des produits cosmétiques pour enfants, des mesures doivent être prises pour interdire que des produits similaires importés puissent être utilisés ou vendus au Canada. Ces mesures nécessitent un règlement garantissant que les produits importés au Canada ne contiennent pas de Pigment Red 3.Le gouvernement du Canada a proposé récemment l’ajout du Pigment Red 3 à la Liste critique des ingrédients des cosmétiques, outil administratif qui aide les fabricants à savoir quelles substances sont soumises aux dispositions de l’article 16 sur la sécurité des produits cosmétiques de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues.
Santé et sécurité au travailL’exposition au Pigment Red 3 et à d’autres substances chimiques nocives dans le milieu de travail entraîne des risques sanitaires qui exigent un examen complet.Les risques potentiels pour le public canadien sont inclus dans la portée des rapports d’évaluation produits en application de la LCPE 1999. L’exposition en milieu de travail y est considérée au regard des effets potentiels d’une substance sur la santé. L’information scientifique détaillée incluse dans le rapport d’évaluation peut être consultée par les représentants en matière de santé et de sécurité pour orienter l’adoption de mesures de précaution dans le milieu de travail.

Date de modification :