Summary of Public Comments received on Fuel Oil No. 4, Fuel Oil No. 6, and Residual Fuel Oil Draft Screening Assessment Report for Stream 3 of the Petroleum Sector Stream Approach

(PDF Format - 17 KB)

Comments on the draft Screening Assessment Report for Fuel Oil No. 4, Fuel Oil No. 6 and Residual Fuel Oil under the Chemicals Management Plan’s Petroleum Sector Stream Approach (PSSA) were provided by Nova Chemicals and the Canadian Fuels Association (CFA).

A summary of comments and responses is included below, organized by topic:

Summary of comments and responses
TopicCommentResponse
Persistence and BioaccumulationEven though components of these substances meet the persistence and bioaccumulation criteria, they are at worst marginally persistent or bioaccumulative. The persistence and bioaccumulation properties of substance components are used in a weight of evidence approach for determining risk.
Risk Assessment ConclusionAlthough the conclusions of the Assessment Reports are based on conservative and stringent scientific assumptions, they are supported as they are balanced and representative of the hazard information.Noted.
Risk ManagementThe addition of Fuel Oil No. 4, Fuel Oil No. 6, and Residual Fuel Oil to the Environmental Emergency Regulations is supported if these substances meet the criteria.The addition of Fuel Oil No. 4, Fuel Oil No. 6, and Residual Fuel Oil to the Environmental Emergency Regulations is being considered and will be subject to further consultations.

Uses

 

The fuel oil Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Numbers (CAS RNs) and blends can be used interchangeably.This interchange and blending of heavy fuel oils is recognized and considered in the Screening Assessment Report.
ReferencesThe reference to NOVA Chemicals’ 2007 MSDS is out of date and incorrect.The reference has been updated.

Date modified:

Résumé des commentaires reçus du public à propos de l'ébauche du rapport d'évaluation préalable du fuel-oil n° 4, du fuel-oil n° 6 et du fuel-oil résiduel pour le groupe 3 de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier

(Format PDF - 34 Ko)

Les commentaires sur l'ébauche du rapport d'évaluation préalable du fuel-oil n° 4, du fuel-oil n° 6 et du fuel-oil résiduel dans le cadre de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques ont été fournis par NOVA Chemicals et l'Association canadienne des carburants.

Vous trouverez aux présentes un résumé des réponses et des commentaires reçus, structuré selon les sujets suivants :

Résumé des réponses et des commentaires
SujetCommentaireRéponse
Persistance et bioaccumulationMême si les composants de ces substances répondent aux critères de persistance et de bioaccumulation, ils sont au pire légèrement persistants ou bioaccumulables.Les propriétés de persistance et de bioaccumulation des composants des substances sont utilisées dans une méthode du poids de la preuve pour déterminer le risque.
Conclusion de l'évaluation des risquesBien que les conclusions des rapports d'évaluation soient basées sur des hypothèses scientifiques prudentes et rigoureuses, elles sont cautionnées, car elles sont pesées et représentatives des renseignements sur les risques.Noté.
Gestion des risquesL'ajout du fuel-oil n° 4, du fuel-oil n° 6 et du fuel-oil résiduel au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales est avalisé si ces substances répondent aux critères.L'ajout du fuel-oil n° 4, du fuel-oil n° 6 et du fuel-oil résiduel au Règlement sur les urgences environnementales est en cours d'étude et sera sujet à d'autres consultations.
UtilisationsLes numéros Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) et mélanges de fuel-oils peuvent être utilisés de façon interchangeable.Cette interchangeabilité et ce mélange des fuel-oils lourds sont reconnus et pris en compte dans le rapport d'évaluation préalable.
RéférencesLa référence à la fiche signalétique de 2007 de NOVA Chemicals est obsolète et incorrecte.La référence a été mise à jour.

Date de modification :