Waste / Used Crankcase Oils (UCOs)


Listed on the First Priority Substances List (PSL1). Follow-up Assessment concludes that used crankcase oils are considered to be CEPA toxic.

Used crankcase oils (UCOs) is one of the 44 substances placed on the First Priority Substances List (PSL1) to determine whether the substance posed a significant risk to the health of Canadians or to the environment.

Assessment Status and Conclusion

Environment Canada and Health Canada completed the ecological and human health assessment of UCOs and published the final PSL1assessment report in 1994. There was insufficient information to conclude whether UCOs constituted a danger to the environment under paragraph 11(a) of CEPA.

A follow-up to the PSL1 assessment was conducted by Environment Canada. Based on the findings of the analysis of data published on the exposure and effect of UCOs to aquatic ecosystems, it is concluded that UCOs are entering the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity. It is concluded that UCOs be considered "toxic" under paragraph 64(a) of The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999).

Publications

Date modified:

Huiles moteur usées


Inscrite sur la première liste de substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP1). Le rapport de suivi conclut que les HMU sont considérées comme étant toxiques au sens de la LCPE (1999).

Les HMU font partie des 44 substances ou groupes de substances que l’on a inscrites sur la première liste de substances d’intérêt prioritaire (LSIP1) dans le but de déterminer si elles posent un risque important pour la santé des Canadiens ou pour l’environnement.

État de l'évaluation et conclusion

Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont publié le rapport final d’évaluation de la LSIP1 en 1994, mais les données étaient insuffisantes pour conclure si la substance constituait un danger pour l'environnement au sens de l’alinéa 11a) de la LCPE.

Un suivi de l’évaluation de la LSIP1 a été fait par Environnement Canada. À la lumière des résultats de l’analyse des données au sujet de l’exposition aux HMU et de leurs effets sur les écosystèmes aquatiques, on conclut que les HMU pénètrent dans l’environnement en une quantité ou concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l’environnement ou sur la diversité biologique. En conséquence, les HMU sont considérées « toxiques » au sens de l’alinéa 64a) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement de (1999)[LCPE 1999)].

Publications

Date de modification :