Wildlife and Habitat Monitoring

The Canadian Wildlife Service "Acid Rain" Biomonitoring Program - "Integrated Wildlife, Food Chain and Aquatic Chemistry Monitoring"

Goal:

To verify that acid rain control programs in Canada and the USA are protecting aquatic ecosystems by assessing both the degree of environmental improvement achieved and the adequacy of control programs.

Approach:

Undertake sufficient regional monitoring so that chemical and biological trends may be resolved from normal variation. Collect long-term ecological data to evaluate (at several spatial and temporal scales) the recovery of acid-sensitive lakes and wetlands that are expected to respond to reduced acid deposition

Brief History of the CWS LRTAP Biomonitoring Program

The Canadian Wildlife Service (Ontario Region; CWS-OR) Long Range Transport of Air Pollutants (LRTAP) Program began in 1980, as part of the overall Environment Canada LRTAP Program. The CWS-OR program has focused on the chemical and biological effects of acidic precipitation on small lakes and wetlands across central and northeastern Ontario, primarily in the boreal ecozone. These types of habitats were chosen for three reasons: a) DFO, as well as provincial agency monitoring, tended to cover the larger, cottage-type lakes, and was more concerned with monitoring effects on fish (particularly sportfish), b) small, boreal lake habitats are particularly sensitive to the effects of acidic deposition (both SO4 and NOx), as well as many other environmental stressors (including UV-B, toxics, climate change, etc.), and c) the smaller water bodies are more productive and important for wildlife, especially waterfowl, which together with other wildlife represent an important socio-economic resource threatened by acidifying emissions. From the outset, the program has taken an integrated, whole ecosystem approach, collecting and analysing data on water chemistry, watershed characteristics, and structure and biodiversity of aquatic food chains, with particular attention paid to organisms at the top of these food chains, notably waterfowl and loons. Research through the 1980s led to the development of the CWS-OR LRTAP Biomonitoring Program in 1987, which continues today. Monitoring studies are targeted in three distinct regions of Ontario that differ in historical effects of and anticipated responses to sulphur and nitrogen acidifying emissions: Algoma (n=230 lakes), Muskoka (n=220 lakes) and Sudbury (n=140 lakes). These sites were chosen specifically to overlap other federal (e.g. Turkey Lakes) and provincial (e.g. Plastic Lake, Sudbury area) monitoring sites, for which accurate atmospheric deposition and calibrated watershed data were available for regional evaluation of critical loads.

Components of the CWS LRTAP Biomonitoring Program

The program is made up of four main components: water chemistry monitoring, waterbird monitoring, aquatic food chain monitoring, and predictive modelling. The first three components are directed at establishing whether there are changes occurring in lake chemistries in response to reduced SO4 deposition (i.e. chemical recovery), and if corresponding changes are occurring in aquatic food chains and top predators (i.e. biological recovery). Using these data, biological models have been developed (fourth component) to predict the response of biota to future emission reduction scenarios.

The CWS-OR LRTAP Biomonitoring Program surveys about 230 lakes in the Algoma region (see Figure 1) in a series of 9 plots. Plot 2, containing 20 lakes, is located around the TLW (Figure 2). All lakes and ponds in the TLWare sampled. Chemical and biological sampling was initiated at the TLW in 1988.

Water chemistry monitoring is conducted once annually (first week of October) at the TLW. Mid-lake surface grab samples (for lakes < 3 m deep) or integrated tube samples (for deeper lakes) are collected by helicopter and filtered and analyzed at the Great Lakes Forest Centre.

Map of Figure 1: Location of CWS-OR LRTAP Biomonitoring Program study sites in Ontario.

Figure 1: Long Description

Location of CWS-OR LRTAP Biomonitoring Program study sites in Ontario. The CWS-OR LRTAP Biomonitoring Program surveys about 230 lakes in the Algoma region in a series of 9 plots.

Map of Figure 2: CWS-OR LRTAP Biomonitoring Program Plot 2, with the outline of the Turkey Lakes Watershed in red

Figure 2: CWS-OR LRTAP Biomonitoring Program Plot 2, with the outline of the Turkey Lakes Watershed in red

Waterbird surveys are conducted by helicopter in May to locate and count indicated breeding pairs of various species, and again in July to locate and count their broods. All lakes that are sampled for water chemistry are also surveyed for waterbirds. The principle waterbird species observed are piscivores: common loon (Gavia immer), common merganser (Mergus merganser); dabbling ducks: mallard (Anas platyrhynchos), American black duck (Anas rubripes), wood duck (Aix sponsa); and diving ducks: hooded merganser (Lophodytes cucullatus), ring-necked duck (Aythya collaris), common goldeneye (Bucephala clangula, the commonest duck observed in the watershed and region – Figure 3).

Picture of A flock of common goldeneyes (Bucephala clangula), the most common duck in the Algoma region.

Figure 3: Long Description

A flock of common goldeneyes (Bucephala clangula). The most common duck in the Algoma region

Food chain sampling is conducted as part of the CWS LRTAP Food Chain Monitoring Program. Principal prey items of local waterbirds (aquatic invertebrates, fish and amphibians) are sampled using standardized protocols from the littoral zones of selected lakes. At the TLW, Upper Batchawana Lake (or Batchawana Lake North, see Figure 4) is sampled, as is another lake just outside the TLW (Lake 7 in Figure 2). Sampling methods include sweeps (primarily for nekton), hoops (for trichopterans), benthic drags (odonates, trichopterans, molluscs), funnel traps (for leeches) and minnow traps (for fish and amphibians, as well as large nekton like belostomatids).

Map of Figure 4: Sample sites in Upper Batchawana Lake for the CWS-OR Food Chain Monitoring Program

Figure 4: Sample sites in Upper Batchawana Lake for the CWS-OR Food Chain Monitoring Program.

Biological modelling takes data accumulated under the various monitoring components and uses this information to develop statistical relationships between physical and chemical characteristics of lakes (notably pH or alkalinity) and the probability of occurrence of various species (e.g. loons) on those lakes, as ameasure of habitat suitability. Once developed, these models are linked to chemical models that predict changes in lake chemistry under emission reduction scenarios, and hence we can predict changes in habitat suitability for various biota as acidifying emissions are reduced.

Date modified:

Programme de Surveillance du Service Canadien

Programme de surveillance du Service Canadien de la Faune sur les pluies acides - "Integrations des données sur la faune, les chaines alimentaires et la chimie aquatique."

But:

Évaluer les améliorations de l'environnement et la pertinence des programmes de contrôles pour s'assurer que les programmes de contrôle des pluies acides canadiens et américains protègent réellement les écosystèmes aquatiques.

Approche:

Entreprendre un nombre suffisant d'observations pour pouvoir séparer les tendances biologiques et chimiques des variations normales qui ont lieu à l'échelle régionale. Saisie de données écologiques à long terme, pour pouvoir évaluer (sur plusieurs échelles de temps et d'espace) le rétablissement des lacs et des terres humides sensibles, et dont on attend un changement lors d'une diminution de l'apport en pluies acides.

Petite histoire du programme de surveillance TADPA du Service Canadien de la Faune

Le service «Transport à Distance des Polluants Atmosphériques» (TADPA) du Service Canadien de la Faune (Région de l'Ontario: SCF-OR) a commencé en 1980 et faisait partie du programme global TADPA d'Environnement Canada. Le programme SCF-OR s'est penché sur les effets chimiques et biologiques des précipitations acides affectant les petits lacs et terres humides situés dans les régions centrale et nord-ouest de l'Ontario, plus particulièrement dans les écozones boréales. Ces types d'habitat ont été choisis pour trois raisons: a) Pêches et Oceans Canada ainsi que d'autre agences provinciales ont tendance à couvrir les lacs plus grands habituellement visités par les vacanciers. On s'y préoccupe plutôt des effects sur les poissons reliés à la pêche sportive, b) Les habitats des petits lacs boreals sont particulièrement sensibles aux dépositions acides (SO4 et NOX), et à de multiples autres stresseurs comme les UV-B, les substances toxiques, les changements climatique, etc., et c) Les petites étendues d'eau sont plus productives et plus importantes pour la faune, spécialement la sauvagine qui, avec d'autre espèces sauvages, constitue une ressource socio-économique menacée par les pluies acides. Depuis son instauration, le programme a pris une approche intégrale de l'écosystème en analysant des données sur la chimie aquatique, les charactéristiques du bassin, et la structure et la biodiversité des chaines alimentaires. On a porté une attention particulière sur les organismes dominant la chaine alimentaire, tels la sauvagine et le huard. La recherche durant les années 1980 a mené, en 1987, au développement du programme de bio-surveillance SCF-OR TADPA qui est présentement en cours. Les études de surveillance ont lieu dans trois régions distinctes de l'Ontario qui diffèrent tant par leur historique de changement suite aux émissions acidifiantes de soufre et d'azote, qu'à leur réactions anticipées. Les régions d'Algoma (n=230 lacs), de Muskoka (n=220 lacs) et de Sudbury (n=140 lacs) ont ainsi été choisies spécifiquement pour chevaucher d'autres régions de surveillance fédérales (tels le Bassin des lacs Turkey, BLT) ou provinciales (lac Plastic, région de Sudbury). Ces régions ont déjà fourni des données précises sur la déposition atmosphérique et l'hydrographie de leur bassin pour l'évaluations régionale des bilans de chargement critiques.

Composantes du programme de surveillance SCF TADPA

Le programme a quatre composantes de surveillance, soit la chimie de l'eau, les oiseaux aquatiques, les chaines alimentaire aquatiques, et la modélisation prédictive. Les trois premières composantes visent à établir si il y a des changements dans la chimie des lacs suite à une réduction de la déposition en SO4 (i.e. le rétablissement chimique) et des changements analogues dans les chaines alimentaires et chez les prédateurs dominants(i.e. rétablissement biologique). Ces données servent à l'élaboration de modèles pour prédire les réactions du biota façe à des scénarios ou les emissions seraient réduites dans le futur.

Le programme de bio-surveillance SCF-TADPA enquête sur près de 230 lacs dans la région d'Algoma (Figure 1), elle même subdivisée en 9 sections. La section 2, comprend 20 lacs et se situe près du Bassin des lacs Turkey (BLT, Figure 2). On échantillonne tous les lacs et étangs du BLT pour les données chimiques et biologiques depuis 1988.

La surveillance de la chimie de l'eau dans le BLT se fait une fois l'an durant la première semaine d'octobre. On prend par hélicoptère des échantillons de l'eau de surface au milieu des lacs peu profonds (< 3m). Pour les autres, on se sert d'un tube intégrateur. L'eau est filtrée et analysée au Centre Great Lakes Forest.

Carte de Figure 1: Position des sites d'étude du programme SCF-TADPA, Le programme de bio-surveillance SCF-TADPA enquête sur près de 230 lacs dans la région d'Algoma elle même subdivisée en 9 sections.

Figure 1: Description longue

Position des sites d'étude du programme SCF-TADPA

Carte de Figure 2: Étendue du programme de bio-surveillance SCF-OR TADPA montrant en rouge le pourtour des lacs Turkey

Figure 2: Étendue du programme de bio-surveillance SCF-OR TADPA montrant en rouge le pourtour des lacs Turkey

Le recensement des oiseaux aquatiques se fait par hélicoptère en mai pour localiser et énumérer les paires d'espèces en traint de couver. On recommence ensuite en juillet pour énumérer les portées. On procède ainsi pour les oiseaux aquatiques de tous les lacs dont on a saisi les données de chimie de l'eau. Parmis les insectivores on observe: le Huard Commun (Gavia immer), le Grand Harle (Mergus merganser); Parmis les canards barboteurs: le Canard Colvert (Anas platyrhynchos), le Canard Noir (Anas rubripes), le canard Branchu (Aix sponsa); Parmis les canards plongeurs: le Harle Couronné (Lophodytes cucullatus), Le Fuligule à Collier (Aythya collaris), et le Garrot à Oeil d'Or (Bucephala clangula, le plus commun des canards observé dans la région, Figure 3).

Image de Une volée de Garrots à Oeil d'Or, le plus commun des canards de la région d'Algoma.

Figure 3: Description longue

Une volée de Garrots à Oeil d'Or, le plus commun des canards de la région d'Algoma

L'Échantillonnage de la chaine alimentaire fait partie du programme de surveillance SCF-TADPA. Les proies les plus importantes qui font partie la diète des oiseaux aquatiques (invertébrés aquatiques, poissons et amphibiens) sont saisis dans les zones du littoral de certains lacs, et selon des protocoles établis. On échantillonne le lac Batchawana supérieur (c'est-à-dire la partie nord du lac Batchawana, voir Figure 4). On fait de même pour un autre lac situé près de la limite du BLT (le lac #7, Figure 2). Les méthodes d'échantillonnage comprennent le balayage (principalement pour le necton), les cerceaux électrifiés (pour les trichoptères), la trainée benthique (poisons, trichoptères, mollusques), les trappes entonnoir (pour sangsues) et les trappes à fretin (pour poissons et amphibiens, ainsi que les gros nectons tels les belostomatides).

Carte de Figure 4: Site d'Échantillonnage au lac Batchawana pour le programme de surveillance des chaines alimentaires SCF-TADPA

Figure 4. Site d'Échantillonnage au lac Batchawana pour le programme de surveillance des chaines alimentaires SCF-TADPA.

La modélisation biologique se sert des donnees obtenues sous plusieurs des composantes de surveillance mentionnées ici. Le but est d'établir des relations statistiques entre les caractéristiques physiques et chimiques des lacs, particulièrement le pH et l'alkalinité. On peut aussi estimer si l'habitat est adéquat en calculant les probabilité de présence sur ces lacs de certaines espèces comme le Huard. Une fois élaborés, ces modèles seront reliés aux modèles qui prédisent les changements chimiques de l'eau selon cetains scénarios de réduction d'émissions. On devrait en fin de compte pouvoir prédire les changements survenant au biota à la suite d'une réduction anticipée des émissions acidifiantes.

Date de modification :