Skip booklet index and go to page content

Unaudited Financial Statements for the period ending March 31, 2013

Statement of Management Responsibility Including Internal Control over Financial Reporting 2012-2013

Responsibility for the integrity and objectivity of the accompanying financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2013, and all information contained in these statements rests with the management of Environment Canada. These financial statements have been prepared by management using the Government’s accounting policies, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Management is responsible for the integrity and objectivity of the information in these financial statements. Some of the information in the financial statements is based on management's best estimates and judgment, and gives due consideration to materiality. To fulfill its accounting and reporting responsibilities, management maintains a set of accounts that provides a centralized record of Environment Canada's financial transactions. Financial information submitted in the preparation of the Public Accounts of Canada, and included in Environment Canada's Departmental Performance Report, is consistent with these financial statements.

Management is also responsible for maintaining an effective system of internal control over financial reporting (ICFR) designed to provide reasonable assurance that financial information is reliable, that assets are safeguarded and that transactions are properly authorized and recorded in accordance with the Financial Administration Act and other applicable legislation, regulations, authorities and policies.

Management seeks to ensure the objectivity and integrity of data in its financial statements through careful selection, training, and development of qualified staff; through organizational arrangements that provide appropriate divisions of responsibility; through communication programs aimed at ensuring that regulations, policies, standards, and managerial authorities are understood throughout Environment Canada and through conducting an annual risk-based assessment of the effectiveness of the system of ICFR.

The system of (ICFR) is designed to mitigate risks to a reasonable level based on an ongoing process to identify key risks, to assess effectiveness of associated key controls, and to make any necessary adjustments.

A risk-based assessment of the system of ICFR for the year ended March 31, 2013 was completed in accordance with the Treasury Board Policy on Internal Control and the results and action plans are summarized in the annex.

The effectiveness and adequacy of Environment Canada's system of internal control is reviewed by the work of internal audit staff, who conduct periodic audits of different areas of Environment Canada's operations, and by the External Audit Advisory Committee, which reviews and provides guidance to the Deputy Minister for maintaining adequate control systems and financial reporting, and which recommends the financial statements to the Deputy Minister of Environment Canada.

The financial statements of Environment Canada have not been audited.

Approved by:

(the original version was signed by)
August 30, 2013

Bob Hamilton
Deputy Minister
Gatineau, Canada
(the original version was signed by)
August 29, 2013

Carol Najm
Chief Financial Officer
Gatineau, Canada
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

États financiers non vérifiés pour la période se terminant le 31 mars 2013

Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction englobant le contrôle interne en matière de rapports financiers pour 2012-2013

La responsabilité de l'intégrité et de l'objectivité des états financiers pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2013 et de tous les renseignements que renferment ces états financiers incombe à la direction d'Environnement Canada. Ces états financiers ont été préparés par la direction conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement, lesquelles sont fondées sur les normes comptables du secteur public canadien.

La direction est responsable de l'intégrité et de l'objectivité des renseignements contenus dans ces états financiers. Certains des renseignements dans les états financiers sont fondés sur les meilleurs jugements et estimations de la direction, et tiennent dûment compte de leur importance relative. Pour s'acquitter de ses responsabilités de comptabilité et de production de rapports, la direction conserve une série de comptes qui représentent un dossier centralisé des transactions financières d'Environnement Canada. L'information financière soumise pour la préparation des comptes publics du Canada, qui est incluse dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement d'Environnement Canada, est compatible avec ces états financiers.

La direction a également la responsabilité de maintenir un système de contrôle interne efficace des rapports financiers visant à fournir l'assurance raisonnable que l'information financière est fiable, que les biens sont protégés et que les transactions sont dûment autorisées et comptabilisées conformément à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et aux autres lois, règlements, autorités et politiques applicables.

La direction cherche à assurer l'objectivité et l'intégrité des données de ses états financiers en choisissant du personnel qualifié, en le formant et en lui offrant du perfectionnement, en prenant les arrangements organisationnels qui s'imposent pour assurer un partage approprié des responsabilités, en élaborant des programmes de communication dont l'objectif est de faire comprendre les règlements, les politiques, les normes et les ordres de la direction à l'échelle d'Environnement Canada, et en procédant annuellement à une évaluation axée sur le risque de l'efficacité du système de contrôle interne des rapports financiers.

Le système de contrôle interne des rapports financiers est conçu pour atténuer les risques et les ramener à un niveau raisonnable en fonction d'un processus continu qui vise à définir les principaux risques, à évaluer l'efficacité des mesures de contrôle connexes clés, et à apporter toute modification nécessaire.

Une évaluation axée sur le risque du système de contrôle interne des rapports financiers pour l'exercice ayant pris fin le 31 mars 2013 a été effectuée conformément à la Politique sur le contrôle interne du Conseil du Trésor. Les résultats et les plans d'action sont résumés dans l'annexe.

L'efficacité et la pertinence du système de contrôle interne d'Environnement Canada sont examinées dans le cadre du travail effectué par le personnel de la vérification interne, qui procède à des vérifications périodiques des différents secteurs opérationnels d'Environnement Canada, et par le Comité consultatif de la vérification externe, qui examine le caractère adéquat des systèmes de contrôle et des rapports financiers, qui donne des conseils au sous-ministre pour le maintien de ce caractère adéquat, et qui fait des recommandations au sous-ministre d'Environnement Canada quant aux états financiers.

Les états financiers d'Environnement Canada n'ont pas été vérifiés.

Approved by:

(la version originale anglaise a été signée par)
30 août 2013


Bob Hamilton
Sous-ministre
Gatineau, Canada
Date
(la version originale anglaise a été signée par)
29 août 2013


Carol Najm
Chef de la direction financière
Gatineau, Canada
Date
Date de modification :