Seminar Information

40th AMOP Technical Seminar on Environmental Contamination and Response

October 3 to 5, 2017
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

The 40th AMOP Technical Seminar on Environmental Contamination and Response will take place from October 3 to 5, 2017. The Seminar provides a forum for professionals working in the field of oil and hazardous materials spills. The forum facilitates the transfer of scientific results and is intended to link research and the operational community. All submitted papers are peer-reviewed by scientific and technical experts.

The Technical Seminar features plenary sessions of 10- or 20-minute presentations on spill-related topics including Chemical, Biological, Radiological, Nuclear, and Explosives (CBRNE). Sessions will begin at 8.30 a.m. each day. Presentations will be followed by a question-and-answer period. Sessions may conclude with one or more Speaker's Corner presentations at which participants without a paper can formally present the most recent results of their research.

Entry to Canada (by air)

Flying to Canada? The entry rules have changed! Find out if you need an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA), how to apply, and what other documentation you will need to come to Canada at the Citizenship and Immigration Canada website.

Accommodations

The AMOP Technical Seminar will be held at the Sheraton Cavalier Hotel in Calgary, Alberta. Attendees are responsible for reserving and paying for their own hotel accommodations. A block of rooms has been reserved for seminar participants at the special rate of $139 per room (single/doubleoccupancy), plus applicable taxes. Mention the group code AMOP Conference October 2017 when making your reservation to receive the reduced rate. Please book by September 15, 2017 as rooms and the special rate may not be available after that date.

Sheraton Cavalier Hotel
2620 32nd Avenue NE
Calgary, Alberta, Canada T1Y 6B8

Telephone: (403) 291-0192
Toll Free: 1 (8800) 325-3535

AMOP Seminar October 2017

Registration

A number of registration rates are available. Reduced rates are available if you register before September 1, 2017. The Complete Package ($475 before September 1/ $575 after September 1) includes admission to the sessions; poster displays and exhibits; coffee breaks and lunches on all 3 days of the Seminar; the Welcome Reception, and a copy of the Proceedings.

To register, please complete and return the Registration Form and send it with your payment in Canadian dollars to the Technical Seminar Coordinator. Participants can pick up their registration package at the Seminar information desk from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. on Monday, October 2. The information desk will open at 7:15 a.m. on the days of the Seminar.

If you wish to be invoiced, you must pay the rate charged after September 1 plus an administrative charge of $15. A full refund will be given for cancellations received by September 1, 2017 and a 50% refund will be given for cancellations received by September 15, 2017. Unfortunately, we cannot provide any refund for cancellations received after Septembery 15, 2017.

When registering, please alert us of any dietary restrictions so we can forward this information on to the hotel catering prior to the seminar.

Speakers' breakfast

Those presenting papers are asked to attend the Speakers' Breakfast at 7:30 a.m. on the day of their presentation. Audiovisual technicians will be available at this time to help load presentations and work out any technical difficulties. Please note that presenters are to attend this breakfast only on the day of their presentation.

Welcome reception

On the evening of Tuesday, September 3, after the final presentation of the day, seminar attendees and exhibitors are invited to enjoy a Welcome Reception. Light Snacks and a cash bar will be available. This social gathering offers seminar attendees the opportunity to meet and talk in a relaxed atmosphere.

Poster sessions and exhibits

Poster sessions will be held each day, at which participants can present their most recent research. Posters should be approximately 1.2 m x 2.4 m (4 ft x 8 ft) in size and will be on display from 8:15 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on the day of the relevant session. We ask that authors be available at the poster display during the morning and afternoon coffee breaks and after lunch on the day of their presentation to meet other participants, present ideas, and answer questions.

A limited number of exhibit spaces, 2.4 m x 3 m (8 ft x 10 ft) in size, are available during the seminar to display equipment used for oil and chemical cleanup and spill-related services. This space can be rented for a fee of $600, which includes the Complete Package for one person. There will be a charge of $150 for each additional exhibit personnel.

Please contact the Technical Seminar Coordinator to rent an exhibit space.

Additional information

For further information or to obtain copies of the Proceedings for this or preceeding years, please contact:

Natalie Jones
Technical Seminar Coordinator
Emergencies Science and Technology Section
Environment and Climate Change Canada
335 River Road
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
K1A 0H3

Telephone: (613) 991-1114
Fax: (613) 991-9485
E-mail: ec.colloquetechniqueamop-amoptechnicalseminar.ec@canada.ca

Date modified:

Renseignements sur le Colloque

40e Colloque technique de l'AMOP - Contamination de l'environnement et intervention

Du 3 au 5 octobre 2017
Calgary (Alberta) Canada

Le 40e Colloque technique de l'AMOP Contamination de l'environnement et intervention qui aura lieu du 3 au 5 octobre 2017, se veut une tribune pour tous ceux qui travaillent dans le domaine des déversements d'hydrocarbures et de produits dangereux. Il permet l'échange de résultats scientifiques et la rencontre entre les professionnels de la recherche et de lintervention. Tous les document présentés auront fait l'objet d'un examen scientifique et technique par des experts.

Le Colloque technique comprend des séances plénières regroupant des présentations de 10 ou 20 minutes sur des sujets en lien avec les déversements dont ceux de produits chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques, nucléaires et explosifs (CBRNE). Les séances débutent tous les matins à 8 h 30. Les présentations sont suivies de périodes de questions. Certains séances se terminent par une Tribune libre où des participants peuvent présenter les tout derniers résultats de leurs recherches même si ceux-ci n'ont pas fait l'objet d'un article.

Entrée au Canada (par transport aérien)

Un vol pour le Canada ? Sachez que les exigences d'entrée ont changé ! Pour verifiez si vous avez besoin d'une autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE), et voyez comment présenter une demande et de quels autres documents aurez besoin pour venir au Canada, visitez le site web de la Citoyenneté et immigration Canada.

Hébergement

Le Colloque technique de l’AMOP se déroulera à l’Hôtel Sheraton Cavalier à Calgary (Alberta). Il incombe aux participants de réserver et de payer leur chambre d’hôtel. Un bloc de chambres a été retenu pour les participants au colloque au tarif spécial de 139 $ la chambre (occupation simple ou double), taxes en sus. Lors de votre réservation, mentionnez le code de groupe AMOP Conference October 2017 pour profiter du tarif réduit. Il est fortement conseillé de réserver avant le 15 septembee 2017 car il n'est pas assuré que les chambres et le tarif spécial disponibles après cette date.

Hôtel Sheraton Cavalier
2620, 32e Avenue NE
Calgary (Alberta) Canada T1Y 6B8

Téléphone : (403) 291-0192
Sans frais : 1 (800) 325-3535

Colloque de l'AMOP october 2017

Inscription

Vous avez le choix entre plusieurs tarifs. Vous devez vous inscrire avant le 1er septembre 2017 pour profiter des tarifs réduits. Le forfait « Tout compris » (475 $ avant le 1er septembre / 575 $ après le 1er septembre) comprend les frais d'admission aux conférences, aux présentations d'affiches et aux expositions, les repas du midi et les collations pour toute la durée du Colloque, la Réception de bienvenue, et une copie des comptes rendus.

Pour vous inscrire, veuillez remplir et retourner à la coordonnatrice du Colloque technique le formulaire d'inscription, accompagné de votre paiement en dollars canadiens. Les participants pourront récupérer leur dossier d'inscription au comptoir d'information du Colloque de 18 h à 21 h le lundi 2 octobre ou à partir de 7 h 15 pendant le Colloque.

Si vous désirez une facture, vous devrez payer le plein tarif qui s'applique après le 1er septembre avec des frais administratifs supplémentaires de 15 $. Un remboursement complet sera effectué en cas d'annulation avant le 1er septembre 2017. Après cette date, le remboursement sera de 50 % en cas d'annulation avant le 15 septembre 2017. Malheureusement, aucun remboursement ne pourra être effectué en cas d'annulation après le 15 septembre 2017.

Lors de l’inscription, veuillez nous avertir de toute restriction alimentaire afin que nous puissions transmettre l’information au service de restauration de l’hôtel avant le séminaire.

Petit-déjeuner des conférenciers

Les conférenciers sont invités à un petit-déjeuner à 7 h 30 le jour de leur présentation. Les techniciens en audiovisuel seront présents à cette occasion pour charger les présentations et régler les problèmes techniques. Notez que les conférenciers sont priés de participer à ce petit-déjeuner seulement le jour de leur présentation.

Réception de bienvenue

Les participants et les exposants sont invités à une réception de bienvenue qui aura lieu le soir du mardi 3 octobre, après la dernière conférence de la journée. Une collation légère sera servie et un bar payant sera à la disposition des participants. Il s'agit d'une bonne occasion de réseautage dans une ambiance décontractée.

Séances de présentation d'affiches et kiosques d'exposition

Des présentations d'affiches auront lieu chaque jour, ce qui donnera l'occasion aux participants de présenter leurs tout derniers travaux. Les affiches doivent mesurer environ 1,2 m x 2,4 m (4 pi x 8 pi). Elles seront affichées de 8 h 15 à 17 h le jour de la séance. Nous demandons aux auteurs d'une affiche de bien vouloir être présents lors des pauses et après le repas du midi afin de rencontrer les autres participants, de présenter leur travail et de répondre aux questions. Les résumés des affiches non liées à un article seront acceptés jusquà la mi-avril.

Des zones de 2,4 m x 3 m (8 pi x 10 pi) pourront être louées afin d'installer un kiosque d'exposition sur les services et l'équipement de nettoyage auxquelles on a recours lors de déversements de produits chimiques et d'hydrocarbures. Le nombre de zones est limité et le coût de location est 600 $, ce qui comprend un forfait d'inscription « Tout compris » au Colloque pour une personne. Des frais supplémentaires de 150 $ seront ajoutés pour chaque exposant additionnel.

Pour louer l'une de ces zones d'exposition, communiquer avec la coordonnatrice du Colloque technique.

Autres renseignements

Pour obtenir plus renseignements ou pour des copies supplémentaires des comptes rendus de cette année ou des années précédentes, communiquer avec :

Natalie Jones
Coordonnatrice du Colloque technique
Section des urgences Science et technologie
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
335, chemin River
Ottawa (Ontario) Canada
K1A 0H3

Téléphone : (613) 991-1114
Télécopieur : (613) 991-9485
Courriel : ec.colloquetechniqueamop-amoptechnicalseminar.ec@canada.ca

Date de modification :