Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Pollution Sources

Many sources of air pollutants and greenhouse gases can be found in our current patterns of energy production and consumption, as well as in our manufacturing industries and in the products we produce and use.

Pollution sources include:

Some of the substances classified as air pollutants are naturally occurring, and come from sources such as conifer forests, forest fires, soil erosion, volcanoes, dust storms, and sea spray. Life as we know it may not have been possible without the presence of these substances on Earth. However, the addition of air pollutants from human sources can significantly change or impact the earth's natural life processes.

Taking Action

We can most effectively reduce pollution that comes from our own behaviours and activities. Canadian governments, along with industry, non-government organizations, and individuals are all taking action and doing their part to reduce emissions of harmful air pollutants from human sources. The challenge is to balance the needs of Canadians for transport, energy, and goods with environmental protection goals.

Significant advancements have been made through the government's 10-year Clean Air Agenda. In addition, the federal government requires many industrial sources of pollution to prepare pollution prevention (P2) plans which outline ways to modify production processes, reformulate and redesign products, introduce substitute materials, improve management and training, install new and cleaner technologies, and increase energy conservation.

Many companies within industries such as petroleum and fossil-fuel based electricity generation, among others, have shifted their portfolio to include a broader range of energy sources (e.g., solar, wind, water, earth, biomass, and waste) as a way to participate in the rapid growth of the renewable energy and renewable low-impact electricity industries. Their efforts recognize and facilitate the many environmental, economic and employment opportunities offered by renewable energy sources. The expected result is that renewable energy will be able to meet a greater share of our energy needs.

To learn more about what the federal government is doing in regards to pollution prevention and energy, visit:

Sources de pollution

De nombreuses sources de polluants atmosphériques et gaz à effet de serre sont attribuables à nos habitudes actuelles de production et de consommation d'énergie, ainsi qu'aux industries manufacturières et aux produits que nous consommons.

Voici quelques sources de pollution:

De nombreuses substances classées parmi les polluants atmosphériques sont d'origine naturelle et proviennent de sources comme les forêts de conifères, les incendies de forêt, l'érosion des sols, les volcans, les tempêtes de sable et les embruns. La vie telle que nous la connaissons aurait été impossible sans la présence sur Terre de ces substances. Le problème, c'est que l'ajout de pollutants issus de l'activité humaines peut modifier de façon significative les processus vitaux et naturels de la Terre.

Passons à l'action

Nous pouvons mener une lutte très efficace contre la pollution engendrée par nos comportements et nos activités. Les gouvernements canadiens, de concert avec l'industrie, les organisations non gouvernementales et les particuliers, passent à l'action et font leur part pour réduire les émissions de polluants atmosphériques dangereux d'origine humaine. Le défi consiste à harmoniser les besoins des Canadiens en transport, en énergie et en produits de consommation avec les objectifs de protection de l'environnement.

Des progrès considérables ont été réalisés grâce au Programme de l'air pur du gouvernement fédéral, qui s'étend sur une période de dix ans. De plus, ce même gouvernement oblige de nombreuses sources industrielles à élaborer des plans de prévention de la pollution qui décrivent comment elles comptent modifier les processus de production, reformuler les produits, introduire des matériaux de remplacement, améliorer la gestion et la formation, installer des technologies nouvelles et plus propres, et augmenter les économies d'énergie. 

De nombreuses entreprises actives dans les secteurs du pétrole et de la production d'électricité à base de combustibles fossiles, entre autres, ont diversifié leurs sources d'énergie (p.ex., solaire, éolien, hydroélectricité, géothermie, biomasse, déchets) pour participer à la croissance rapide de l'industrie des énergies renouvelables et de la production d'électricité au moyen d'énergies renouvelables à faible impact environnemental. Par leurs efforts, ces entreprises reconnaissent que les sources d'énergie renouvelable offrent de nombreuses possibilités pour l'environnement, l'économie et l'emploi, et c'est pourquoi elles favorisent l'exploitation de ces possibilités. On s'attend donc à ce que les énergies renouvelables répondent à une plus grande partie de nos besoins énergétiques.

Pour en savoir davantage sur ce que fait le gouvernement fédéral en matière de prévention de la pollution et d'efficacité énergétique, visitez les sites suivants: