How to get your UV Index

Looking for your Ultraviolet (UV) Index forecast? Is is available in a daily bulletin format, with values ranging from 0 to 11+ being reported for locations across Canada.

If the UV Index forecast indicates that the maximum UV Index value for the day is expected to reach 3 or greater then it is also included in Environment Canada's local daily weather forecast.

Environment Canada issues local weather forecasts three times daily at 5:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. (local time).  Forecasts are amended hourly if there are changes in cloud cover that affect UV values.  Daily local weather forecasts can be retrieved for Canadian locations at weather.gc.ca.

How to get your UV Forecast from the daily weather forecast

When you go to Environment Canada's weather.gc.ca website, choose your location from the “Current Conditions” map or the “Weather” tab on the top left menu.   

On your City Page, you will first see the "Current Conditions" Box, which  contains hourly meteorological observations.  Under the Current Conditions, you will find the "Forecast" Box.  Here you will find the maximum UV forecast for the day in the text description under the word Today (for today's forecast), when the UV forecast is 3 or higher. An example of what this looks like is shown below. The red arrows show you where to look for the daily UV maximum in today's forecast value.

Sample of where to find UV forecast on Weather.gc.ca city page.

In addition, Environment Canada provides a Seasonal UV Outlook that is issued at the beginning of April each year for the late spring and summer seasons. It is during this time period that UV values are at their maximum levels in Canada, and Canadians are at greatest risk from the harmful effects of UV radiation.

Environment Canada also provides a chart of typical summer midday UV values for various Canadian and U.S. locations, and a list of websites where you can check for international UV forecast values if you are planning on travelling.

Comment obtenir l’indice UV de votre localité

Vous cherchez vos prévisions de l'indice ultraviolet (UV)? Elles sont disponibles dans un bulletin quotidien où vous trouverez des valeurs allant de 0 à 11+ (et, en de rares occasions, supérieures) pour différentes villes partout au Canada.

Si l’on prévoit un indice maximal d’UV de 3 ou plus pour une journée donnée, il sera aussi annoncé dans les prévisions locales d’Environnement Canada.

Environnement Canada diffuse des prévisions locales trois fois par jour, soit à 5 h, à 11 h et à 16 h (heure locale). Ces prévisions sont modifiées à toutes les heures s'il y a des changements dans la couverture nuageuse qui affecte la valeur UV. On peut consulter ces prévisions pour des villes canadiennes à www.meteo.gc.ca.

Comment obtenir les prévisions UV quotidiennes de votre localité

Choisissez votre ville à partir de la page d'accueil du site Web meteo.gc.ca d'Environnement Canada.

Sur la page Web de votre ville, vous trouverez la section « Prévisions »  sous la section des « Conditions actuelles » . La prévision quotidienne de l’indice maximal d'UV pour la journée se trouve dans la description du texte sous le mot Aujourd'hui (prévisions pour aujourd'hui), lorsque les prévisions de l'indice UV sont de 3 ou plus. Un exemple vous ait fourni ci-après. Les flèches rouges indiquent où se trouve la prévision de l’indice maximal d'UV pour la journée en question.

Exemple de prévisions no 1 du site du Bureau météorologique)

De plus, Environnement Canada diffuse chaque année des prévisions UV saisonnières pour la fin du printemps et l'été. C'est durant cette période que les valeurs de l'indice UV sont les plus élevées au Canada et que la population est la plus exposée aux effets nuisibles des rayons UV.

Environnement Canada publie également un tableau des valeurs de l'indice UV à la mi-journée, en été pour diverses villes canadiennes et américaines, de même qu'une liste des sites Web qui annoncent les prévisions UV pour les villes dans le monde. Ces sites pourraient vous être utiles si vous voyagez.