Perfluorooctane Sulfonate (PFOS), Its Salts and Its Precursors

Perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS), its salts and its precursors all belong to the larger class of fluorochemicals referred to as perfluorinated alkyl compounds which contain carbon atoms that are completely saturated by fluorine. It is the strength of the carbon-fluorine bonds that contributes to the extreme stability and unique properties of these perfluorochemicals.

PFOS, its salts and its precursors are not manufactured in Canada. Since the voluntary phase-out of the production of these substances by the primary supplier in the United States in 2002, importations have been significantly limited.

On July 1, 2006, the Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health published, in Part I of the Canada Gazette, their final decision on the assessment of PFOS, its salts and certain other compounds. The ecological screening assessment concluded that PFOS, its salts and certain other compounds are or may be entering the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity. The human health assessment concluded that current levels of PFOS exposure are below levels which might affect human health. Based on the conclusions of the assessment of PFOS, an Order was published in Part II of the Canada Gazette adding PFOS, its salts and certain other compounds to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). On December 16, 2006, the proposed Perfluorooctane Sulfonate and Its Salts and Certain Other Compounds Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I. The final Regulations were published in Part II of the Canada Gazette on June 11, 2008.

The purpose of the Perfluorooctane Sulfonate and Its Salts and Certain Other Compounds Regulations is to protect Canada's environment from the use and release of PFOS, its salts and its precursors. Currently, the Regulations prohibit the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale and import of PFOS and products containing PFOS. Exemptions are provided for the use of PFOS-based aqueous film forming foam (AFFF) if the concentration of PFOS is below 0.5 parts per million and the use, sale and offer for sale of products containing PFOS that were manufactured or imported before May 29, 2008 if the product is a manufactured item that was formed into a specific physical shape or design during its manufacture and that has, for its final use, a function or functions dependent in whole or in part on its shape or design, as well as the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of photoresists or anti-reflective coatings for photolithography process and photographic films, papers and printing plates.

On January 13, 2009, the Regulations Adding Perfluorooctane Sulfonate and its Salts to the Virtual Elimination List were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II. The Regulations add PFOS and its salts to the Virtual elimination List compiled under subsection 65(2) of CEPA 1999. The Regulations demonstrate the Government of Canada’s continuing commitment to virtually eliminate PFOS and to meet the requirements of the Perfluorooctane Sulfonate Virtual Elimination Act, that received Royal Assent on April 17, 2008.

The Government's Consultation Document on the Examination of On-going Exemptions for PFOS its salts and certain other compounds was published on January 4, 2013 for a 60-day public comment period. Comments received were considered during the update of the risk management measures for PFOS.

The proposed Regulations Amending the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 include controls for PFOS and was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I on April 4, 2015. The proposed Amendments maintain similar regulatory requirements for PFOS and revise exemptions. The proposed Amendments are subject to a 75-day public comment period from April 4, 2015 – June 18, 2015. Comments received during this period will be considered for the final development of these Regulations. The Perfluorooctane Sulfonate and Its Salts and Certain Other Compounds will be repealed once the proposed Amendments are finalized and come into force.

For more information on this substance, please visit the Chemical Substances website.


Risk Assessment


Source(s)

This substance is entering the environment from the following source(s):


Risk Management Strategy

Click on the following link to view strategies and actions recommended to manage risks associated with the substance:


Risk Management Tool(s)

Tool(s) developed to manage risks associated with the substance:


Consultation

Consultation (past and present) on the substance:


Other Information


Contact

Chemicals Management Division
Environment Canada
351, St-Joseph Boulevard
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3

E-mail: ec.interdiction-prohibition.ec@ec.gc.ca

Sulfonate de perfluorooctane (SPFO), ses sels et ses précurseurs

Le sulfonate de perfluorooctane (SPFO), ses sels et ses précurseurs appartiennent tous à un groupe d'une catégorie plus large de substances chimiques fluorées communément appelées les composés perfluoroalkyliques qui contiennent des atomes de carbone qui sont entièrement saturés de fluor. La stabilité extrême et les propriétés uniques de ces composés perfluorés tiennent à la force des liaisons carbone - fluor (C-F).

Le SPFO, ses sels et ses précurseurs ne sont pas fabriqués au Canada. Depuis l'élimination volontaire de la production de SPFO en 2002 par le principal fournisseur aux États-Unis, les importations de ces substances sont maintenant limitées.

Le 1er juillet 2006, les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé ont publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada leur décision finale sur l'évaluation du SPFO, ses sels et de certains autres composés. L'évaluation préalable environnementale a conclu que le SPFO, ses sels et certains autres composés pénètrent ou peuvent pénétrer dans l'environnement en quantité ou concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou la diversité biologique. L'évaluation du risque à la santé humaine a conclu que les niveaux actuels d'exposition au SPFO sont inférieurs aux seuils d'effet sur la santé humaine. D'après les conclusions de l'évaluation du SPFO, un décret , ajoutant le SPFO, ses sels et certains autres composés à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE] a été publié dans la deuxième partie de la Gazette du Canada. Le Projet de Règlement sur le sulfonate de perfluorooctane et ses sels et certains autres composés a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le 16 décembre 2006. Le règlement final a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada le 11 juin 2008.

L'objectif du Règlement sur le sulfonate de perfluorooctane et ses sels et certains autres composés est de protéger l'environnement canadien contre l'utilisation et le rejet de SPFO, de ses sels et de ses précurseurs. Actuellement, le règlement interdit la fabrication, l'utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l'importation du SPFO ainsi que des produits contenant du SPFO. Le règlement apporte des exemptions pour l'utilisation de mousses à formation de pellicule aqueuse (AFFF) à base de SPFO si la concentration de SPFO est en-dessous de 0,5 ppm et pour l'utilisation, la vente et la mise en vente de produits contenant du SPFO qui ont été importés ou manufacturés avant le 29 mai 2008, si le produit est un article manufacturé doté d’une forme ou de caractéristiques matérielles précises pendant sa fabrication et ayant, pour son utilisation finale, une ou plusieurs fonctions en dépendant en tout ou en partie, ainsi que pour la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente ou l'importation de revêtements photorésistants et anti reflets pour des procédés photolithographiques et des films, papiers et planches d’impression photographiques.

Le 13 janvier 2009, le Règlement inscrivant le sulfonate de perfluorooctane et ses sels sur la Liste de quasi-élimination a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Le Règlement ajoute le sulfonate de perfluorooctane et ses sels à la Liste de quasi-élimination compilée en vertu du paragraphe 65(2) de la LCPE. Le Règlement montre l'engagement soutenu du gouvernement du Canada à vouloir pratiquement éliminer le sulfonate de perfluorooctane et à respecter les exigences de la Loi sur la quasi-élimination du sulfonate de perfluorooctane, laquelle a reçu la sanction royale le 17 avril 2008.

Le document de consultation du gouvernement sur l'examen des exemptions permanentes pour le SPFO, ses sels et certains autres composés a été publié le 4 janvier 2013 pour une période de commentaires du public de 60 jours. Les commentaires reçus ont été pris en considération dans le cadre de la mise à jour des mesures de gestion des risques pour le SPFO.

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) comprend des mesures de contrôle pour le SPFO et a été publié le 5 octobre 2016 dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Les modifications au Règlement maintiennent exigences réglementaires similaires pour le SPFO et modifient certaines exemptions. Le Règlement sur le sulfonate de perfluorooctane et ses sels et certains autres composés est abrogé au moment de l'entrée en vigueur des modifications au Règlement.

En 2009, le SPFO a été ajouté à la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants (POP). Pour plus d'informations sur les engagements internationaux du Canada concernant cette substance, veuillez visiter le site d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada sur la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez visiter le site officiel des substances chimiques.


Évaluation du risque


Source(s)

Cette substance pénètre dans l'environnement à partir de la ou des sources suivantes :


Stratégie de gestion du risque

Cliquez sur le lien qui suit afin de consulter les stratégies et les mesures qui sont recommandées pour gérer les risques associés à la substance :


Outil(s) de gestion du risque

Outil(s) visant à gérer les risques associés à la substance :


Activités de soutien de gestion du risque

Activités de soutien à l’élaboration ou de la mise en oeuvre des outils de gestion du risque :


Consultation

Consultation (passée et présente) sur la substance :


Autres informations


Personne-ressource

Division de la gestion des substances chimiques
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph
Gatineau, Québec
K1A 0H3

Courriel : ec.interdiction-prohibition.ec@canada.ca

Date de modification :