The Toxic Substances Management Process

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) is an Act respecting pollution prevention and the protection of the environment and human health in order to contribute to sustainable development. The Act provides the federal government with new tools to protect the environment and human health, establishes strict timelines for managing toxic substances and requires the virtual elimination of releases to the environment from toxic substances which are bioaccumulative, persistent and result primarily from human activity.

For substances that are found "toxic" under CEPA 1999 and are added to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 of the Act, Environment Canada and Health Canada must propose an instrument to establish preventive or control actions for managing the substance and thereby reducing or eliminating risks to human health and the environment posed by its use and/or release.

Administered by Environment Canada in conjunction with Health Canada, the Toxics Management Process is the approach taken to develop management tools including preventive or control instruments for substances that are added to the List of Toxic Substances under CEPA 1999. Using this process, Environment Canada and Health Canada develop risk management actions in a way that ensures stakeholder consultations are effective and the timelines set out in the Act for managing toxic substances are met.

Date modified:

Le processus de gestion des substances toxiques

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement de 1999 [LCPE (1999)] porte sur la prévention de la pollution et la protection de l’environnement et de la santé humaine, de façon à contribuer au développement durable. La Loi dote l'administration fédérale de nouveaux outils permettant de protéger l’environnement et la santé humaine, elle établit des délais stricts pour la gestion des substances toxiques et d’exiger la quasi-élimination des rejets, dans l’environnement, de substances toxiques biocumulatives, persistantes et résultant principalement de l’activité humaine.

Dans le cas des substances jugées « toxiques » aux termes de la LCPE (1999) et ajoutées à la liste des substances toxiques de l’annexe 1 de la Loi, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada doivent proposer un instrument qui permette d’établir des mesures de prévention et de contrôle pour la gestion de ces substances et, donc, la réduction ou l’élimination des risques que présentent leurs utilisations ou rejets pour la santé humaine et l’environnement.

Administré par Environnement Canada conjointement avec Santé Canada, le processus de gestion des substances toxiques est la démarche à laquelle on a recours pour élaborer des outils de gestion tels que des instruments de prévention et de contrôle destinés aux substances ajoutées à la liste des substances toxiques de la LCPE (1999). À l'aide de ce processus, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada élaborent des mesures de gestion des risques de façon que les consultations avec les intervenants soient efficaces, et que les délais fixés dans la loi pour la gestion des substances toxiques soient respectés.

Date de modification :