Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Toxic Substances Management Policy

Summary

The federal Toxic Substances Management Policy puts forward a preventive and precautionary approach to deal with substances that enter the environment and could harm the environment or human health. The policy is the result of consultations with stakeholders, held from September 1994 to April 1995, after the release of the federal government discussion paper Towards a Toxic Substances Management Policy for Canada and the companion document Criteria for the Selection of Substances for Virtual Elimination.

The policy provides decision makers with direction and sets out a science- based management framework to ensure that federal programs are consistent with its objectives. It also serves as the centrepiece of the federal government's position on the management of toxic substances in discussions with the provinces and territories and negotiations with the world community.

The key management objectives are:

  • virtual elimination from the environment of toxic substances that result predominantly from human activity and that are persistent and bioaccumulative (referred to in the policy as Track 1 substances); and
  • management of other toxic substances and substances of concern, throughout their entire life cycles, to prevent or minimize their release into the environment (referred to in the policy as Track 2 substances).

Management of both Track 1 and Track 2 substances will address, as appropriate, entry into the environment from both domestic and foreign sources, as well as remediation of areas already contaminated by a substance. Virtual elimination from the environment of Track 1 substances will be based on strategies to prevent the measurable release of the substances into the environment. In cases where no measurable release limits cannot be satisfied, generation or use of a substance will not be acceptable.

While socio-economic factors have no bearing in setting the ultimate objective for Track 1 substances (virtual elimination from the environment), such factors will be taken into account when determining interim targets, appropriate management strategies and time lines for implementation. Socio-economic factors will be considered when determining long-term environmental goals, targets, strategies and time lines for Track 2 substances.

Purpose

Many of the goods and services we rely on either use or produce substances that may be harmful to the environment or to human health. We have learned that if we do not manage the risks associated with these substances adequately, we could be faced with problems that are either extremely costly or impossible to correct. Scientific studies show this is particularly true of substances that result from human activity and that are toxic, persistent -- that take a long time to break down -- and bioaccumulative -- that collect in living organisms.

As science cannot always accurately predict the effects that a substance will have on the environment or on human health, managing toxic substances effectively requires taking a proactive, cost-effective approach to prevent pollution, rather than reacting after it has already occurred.

The federal government's Toxic Substances Management Policy puts forward a preventive and precautionary approach to deal with all substances that enter the environment and could harm the environment or human health. It provides decision makers with direction and sets out a framework to ensure that federal programs are consistent with the objectives of the policy.

The federal government already administers a number of programs to reduce or eliminate the risks associated with toxic substances. This policy underscores the need to apply pollution prevention principles to all those programs and to respond to the growing public demand for government action to protect the environment and human health while sustaining jobs and a healthy economy.

The Policy

This policy provides a framework for making science-based decisions on the effective management of toxic substances that are of concern because they are or may be used and released into the environment or because Canadians may be exposed to them through the environment.

Figure 1 shows how toxic substances and other substances of concern are managed under one of two tracks.

Selection of Management Objectives under the Toxic Substances Management Policy

A Candidate Substance is scientifically assessed based on consideration of: 1) CEPA-toxic or equivalent; 2) Predominantly Anthropogenic; 3) Bioaccumilative; and 4) Persistent. If all aspects are met, the substance is deemed for Virtual Elimination from the environment. If the aspects are not all met, Life-cycle management to prevent or minimize release into the environment is initialized.

The policy guides federal regulatory and non-regulatory programs by defining the ultimate management objective for a substance. It applies to areas within federal jurisdiction, taking into account the division of legislative powers between the federal, provincial and territorial governments.

A substance will be considered for systematic assessment if federal, provincial or international programs, or members of the Canadian public, have identified it as potentially harmful to the environment or human health.

A substance is considered toxic if, after rigorous scientific assessment and based on decisions taken under federal programs, it either conforms or is equivalent to "toxic" as defined in the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA).

Other substances that have not been determined to meet the definition of toxic under CEPA or its equivalent may be of concern because of their potential to harm the environment or human health, and may be managed in response to these concerns or to specific obligations. Such substances of concern will be identified through scientific assessments under a variety of existing programs, and could include substances that are subject to specific regulatory provisions (such as new substances controlled under the New Substances Notifications Regulations of CEPA); substances managed under federal-provincial agreements (such as nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds that are managed as smog precursors); and substances managed as a result of international commitments (such as sulphur oxides that contribute to acid precipitation).

The policy recognizes the need to apply a precautionary approach in identifying substances and implementing cost-effective measures to prevent environmental degradation.

Since toxic substances or substances of concern can originate either within Canada or abroad, domestic actions have to be complemented by international measures to protect the Canadian environment. As Canada takes a leadership role in seeking international action, this policy will serve as the centrepiece for the country's position on managing toxic substances in discussions and negotiations with the world community.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Politique de gestion des substances toxiques

Résumé

La Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du gouvernement fédéral met en avant une approche prudente et préventive pour gérer les substances qui pénètrent dans l'environnement et qui pourraient nuire à l'environnement ou à la santé humaine. La politique résulte de consultations auprès des intervenants, tenues entre septembre 1994 et avril 1995, après la publication du document de travail du gouvernement fédéral Pour une politique canadienne de gestion des substances toxiques et du document complémentaire Critères de sélection des substances destinées à l'élimination virtuelle.

Afin que les programmes fédéraux soient conformes à ses objectifs, la politique fournit une orientation aux décideurs et établit un cadre scientifique de gestion. Elle sera également la pièce maîtresse de la position du gouvernement fédéral à l'égard de la gestion des substances toxiques dans les discussions avec les provinces et territoires et dans les négociations avec la communauté mondiale.

Les deux principaux objectifs de gestion sont:

  • l'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement des substances toxiques qui résultent principalement de l'activité humaine et qui sont persistantes et bioaccumulables (désignées substances de la voie 1 dans la politique);
  • la gestion des autres substances toxiques et des substances préoccupantes pendant tout leur cycle de vie afin d'empêcher ou de minimiser leur rejet dans l'environnement (désignées substances de la voie 2 dans la politique).

La gestion des substances des voies 1 et 2 portera, selon qu'il sera approprié, sur la pénétration dans l'environnement à partir de sources nationales ou étrangères ainsi que sur la restauration des zones déjà contaminées par une substance. L'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement des substances de la voie 1 se fondera sur des stratégies visant à prévenir les rejets mesurables de substances dans l'environnement. Dans les cas où la limite de rejet mesurable ne pourra être respectée, la production et l'utilisation de la substance ne seront pas acceptables.

Même si les facteurs socio-économiques n'ont aucune incidence sur l'objectif ultime pour une substance de la voie 1 - son élimination virtuelle de l'environnement -, on les prendra en compte pour déterminer et mettre en oeuvre les mesures de gestion des risques dans le cadre de la politique. Par exemple, ils aideront à préciser les objectifs provisoires, les stratégies de gestion appropriées et les échéanciers. Les facteurs socio-économiques aideront à déterminer les buts environnementaux à long terme, les objectifs, les stratégies et les échéanciers pour les substances de la voie 2.

But

Un grand nombre des biens et services dont nous dépendons impliquent l'utilisation ou le rejet de substances qui peuvent avoir des effets nuisibles sur l'environnement ou la santé humaine. Nous avons constaté que si nous ne gérons pas judicieusement les risques liés à ces substances, nous pourrions devoir faire face à des problèmes très coûteux ou presque impossibles à corriger. Des études scientifiques ont montré que tel était le cas notamment des substances qui résultent de l'activité humaine et qui sont toxiques, persistantes (qui se décomposent lentement) et bioaccumulables (qui s'accumulent dans les organismes vivants).

Comme la science ne permet pas toujours de prévoir de façon précise les effets d'une substance sur l'environnement ou la santé humaine, une gestion plus efficace des substances toxiques exige l'adoption d'une approche proactive et rentable pour prévenir la pollution plutôt que d'y réagir après coup.

La Politique de gestion des substances toxiques du gouvernement fédéral met en avant une approche prudente et préventive pour gérer toutes les substances qui pénètrent dans l'environnement et qui pourraient nuire à l'environnement ou à la santé humaine. Afin que les programmes fédéraux soient conformes à ses objectifs, la politique fournit une orientation aux décideurs et établit un cadre scientifique de gestion.

Le gouvernement fédéral administre déjà plusieurs programmes visant à réduire ou à éliminer la menace posée par les substances toxiques. La présente politique souligne la nécessité d'appliquer les principes de la prévention de la pollution à tous ces programmes et de répondre aux pressions croissantes du public, qui tient à ce que le gouvernement protège l'environnement et la santé humaine tout en créant des emplois et en faisant prospérer l'économie.

La politique

La politique fournit un cadre décisionnel scientifique pour la gestion efficace des substances toxiques qui sont préoccupantes parce qu'elles sont, ou peuvent être, utilisées et rejetées dans l'environnement, ou parce que les Canadiens peuvent y être exposés par l'intermédiaire de l'environnement.

La figure 1montre comment les substances toxiques et les autres substances préoccupantes sont gérées en vertu d'une des deux voies.

Selection d'objectifs de gestion sous la politique de gestion des substances toxiques

Une substance à l'étude est évaluée scientifiquement basée sur la considération de: 1) Toxique selon la LCPE ou équivalent; 2) Principalement anthropique; 3) Bioaccumulable; et 4) Persistante. Si la substance respecte tout ces critères, la substance est destinée à l'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement. Si les critères ne sont pas tous respectés, la gestion intégrale afin d'empêcher ou minimiser le rejet dans l'environnement débute.

La politique oriente les programmes réglementaires et non réglementaires fédéraux en définissant l'ultime objectif de la gestion pour une substance donnée. Elle s'applique aux domaines de compétence fédérale, compte tenu de la répartition des pouvoirs législatifs entre les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux.

On jugera qu'une substance est destinée à une évaluation systématique si des programmes fédéraux, provinciaux ou internationaux ou encore des Canadiens l'ont considérée comme potentiellement nuisible pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine.

Une substance est considérée comme toxique si, après une évaluation scientifique rigoureuse, elle est conforme ou équivalente à la définition de «toxique» de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE).

D'autres substances qui ne correspondent pas à la définition de «toxique selon la LCPE» ou d'«équivalente toxique selon la LCPE» peuvent être préoccupantes à cause de leur potentiel de nuire à l'environnement ou à la santé humaine. Ces substances pourront faire l'objet d'une gestion en réponse à ces préoccupations ou à des obligations particulières. Ces substances préoccupantes seront déterminées au moyen d'évaluations scientifiques. Il pourrait s'agir, par exemple : de substances assujetties à des dispositions réglementaires particulières (comme les substances nouvelles visées par le Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles de la LCPE), de substances gérées en vertu d'accords fédéraux-provinciaux (comme les oxydes d'azote ou les composés organiques volatils qui sont gérés comme des précurseurs du smog), ainsi que de substances gérées conformément à des engagements internationaux (comme les oxydes de soufre qui contribuent aux précipitations acides).

La politique reconnaît la nécessité d'appliquer une approche prudente pour déterminer les substances et appliquer des mesures rentables afin de prévenir la dégradation de l'environnement.

Puisque les substances toxiques ou les substances préoccupantes peuvent provenir du Canada ou de l'étranger, les actions entreprises au Canada doivent être supportées par des mesures internationales pour protéger l'environnement canadien. Le Canada jouant un rôle de chef de file dans la l'élaboration d'activités internationales, la politique sera la pièce maîtresse de sa position à l'égard de la gestion des substances toxiques dans les négociations avec la communauté mondiale.