Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Polychlorinated Naphthalenes

Chlorinated naphthalenes are industrial chemicals that have not been in commercial use in Canada for more than twenty years, but may be produced unintentionally as a by-product of various industrial processes involving chlorine, especially in the presence of heat. There are 75 possible chlorinated naphthalenes, which are divided into eight groups based on the number of chlorine atoms in the molecule (referred to with prefixes mono- to octa-).

Chlorinated naphthalenes were likely never manufactured in Canada but were previously imported from foreign manufacturers for industrial uses including cable insulation, capacitors, gauge and heat exchange fluids, instrument seals and solvents.

Environment Canada has conducted a science-based evaluation of Chlorinated Naphthalenes called a screening assessment. Ecological screening assessments address the potential for harm to the environment. The final screening assessment report, published on July 2, 2011, concluded that chlorinated naphthalenes with 2 to 8 chlorine atoms (herein referred to as Polychlorinated Naphthalenes or PCNs) are entering or may be entering the environment in a quantity or a concentration or under conditions that have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity. Furthermore, the available data regarding these substances’ persistence and bioaccumulation potential indicate that they satisfy the criteria outlined in the Persistence and Bioaccumulation Regulations, under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 1999, and meet all other criteria to implement virtual elimination. However, it is proposed that mono-chlorinated naphthalene is not entering the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to the environment.

The Risk Management Approach for PCNs, published on July 2, 2011, outlines the proposed risk management actions. Proposed in the Risk Management Approach are prohibitions on the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale or import of PCNs and products containing them. It is proposed that these restrictions would be achieved by adding PCNs to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations.

On January 2, 2013, the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, including controls for PCNs.

For more information on this substance, please visit the Chemical Substances website.

CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry number: 70776-03-3


Risk Assessment 


Risk Management

Click on the following link to view strategies and actions recommended to manage risks associated with the substance:


Risk Management Tool(s)

Tool(s) developed to manage risks associated with the substance:


Risk Management Supporting Activities

Activities supporting the development or implementation of the risk management tool(s):

Forms related to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012:


Consultation

Consultation (past and present) on the substance:


Contact

Email : GR-RM@ec.gc.ca
Fax : 819-994-0007
Chemicals Management Division
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Blvd.
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3

Naphtalènes polychlorés

Les naphtalènes chlorés (NPC) sont des produits chimiques industriels. Les naphtalènes chlorés ne servent pas à un usage commercial au Canada depuis plus de vingt ans, mais sont peut-être produits involontairement comme sous-produit de divers processus industriels qui comportent du chlore, particulièrement en présence de chaleur. Il existe 75 possibilités de naphtalènes chlorés qui se divisent en huit groupes selon le nombre d’atomes de chlore dans la molécule (et auxquels on réfère à l'aide de préfixes allant de mono à octa).

Les naphtalènes chlorés n’ont probablement jamais été fabriqués au Canada, mais étaient auparavant importés de fabricants étrangers à des fins industrielles dont les revêtements de câble, les condensateurs, les fluides pour jauges et échange thermique, les joints d’instrument, les solvants.

Environnement Canada a effectué une évaluation scientifique des naphtalènes chlorés qu’on appelle une évaluation préalable. Les évaluations écologiques préalables abordent la question des effets néfastes potentiels pour l’environnement. Le rapport final sur l’évaluation préalable, publié le 2 juillet 2011, a conclu que des naphtalènes polychlorés pénètrent ou pourraient pénétrer dans l’environnement en quantité ou concentration ou sous des conditions qui ont ou pourraient avoir des effets néfastes immédiats ou à long terme sur l'environnement ou sur sa diversité biologique. En outre, les données disponibles concernant la persistance et la bioaccumulation de ces substances indiquent qu’elles répondent aux critères indiqués dans le Règlement sur la persistance et la bioaccumulation en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement 1999 et qu’elles répondent à tous les autres critères pour mettre en œuvre une quasi-élimination. Toutefois, il est proposé que le naphtalène monochloré ne pénètre pas dans l’environnement en quantité ou concentration ou sous des conditions qui ont ou pourraient avoir des effets néfastes immédiats ou à long terme sur l'environnement.

L’approche de gestion des risques pour les NPC, publiée le 2 juillet 2011, indique les mesures de gestion des risques proposées. L’approche propose l’interdiction de la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, l’offre de vente ou l’importation des NPC et des produits contenant les NPC. Les NPC ont été ajoutés au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites(2012). L’approche de gestion du risque indique également que des informations seront recueillies et évaluées pour mieux caractériser les rejets accidentels des NPC dans le but de développer, si nécessaire, des mesures de contrôle additionnelles.

Le 2 janvier 2013, le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012), qui comprend les mesures de contrôle pour les NPC, a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cette substance, visitez le site Web des Substances chimiques.

Numéro de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) pour les naphtalènes polychlorés : 70776-03-3


Évaluation des risques


Gestion des risques

Cliquez sur le lien suivant pour voir les stratégies et les mesures recommandées pour gérer les risques associés à la substance :


Outil(s) de gestion des risques

Le ou les outils développés pour gérer les risques associés à la substance :


Activités de soutien de gestion du risque

Activités de soutien à l'élaboration ou à la mise en œuvre des outils de gestion du risque :

Formulaires relatifs aux Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) :


Consultation

Consultation (antérieure et actuelle) concernant la substance :


Personne-ressource

Courriel : GR-RM@ec.gc.ca
Télécopieur : 819-994-0007
Division de la gestion des substances chimiques
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3