Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Track 1 - Virtual Elimination from the Environment

A substance that meets all four criteria outlined in Table 1, in other words, that is persistent, bioaccumulative, toxic and primarily the result of human activity, will be targeted for virtual elimination from the environment (Track 1 substance). This objective will be achieved by addressing sources of release to the environment or by removing or managing the substance if it is already in the environment.

Table 1 -- Criteria for the Selection of Substances for Track 1
Persistence(1)
Medium
Persistence(1)
Half-life
Bioaccumulation(3)Toxicity(4)Predominantly anthropogenic(5)
Air≥ 2 days(2)BAF ≥ 5,000 orCEPA-toxic or CEPA-toxic EquivalentConcentration in environment largely resulting from human activity
Water≥ 182 daysBCF ≥ 5,000 or  
Sediment≥ 365 dayslog Kow ≥ 5.0  
Soil≥ 182 days   
  ≥ greater than or equal to
  1. A substance is considered persistent when the criterion is met in any one medium.
  2. A substance may be considered as persistent in air if it is shown to be subject to atmospheric transport to remote regions such as the Arctic.
  3. Bioaccumulation Factors (BAF) are preferred over Bioconcentration Factors (BCF); in the absence of BAF or BCF data, the octanol-water partition coefficient (log Kow) may be used.
  4. A substance is considered toxic if it meets or is equivalent to the definition of "toxic" found in the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA), as determined through a systematic, risk-based assessment. CEPA states: "a substance is toxic if it is entering or may enter the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that (a) have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity; (b) constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which life depends; or (c) constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health."
  5. On the basis of expert judgment, the concentration of the substance in any environmental medium is due largely to the quantities of the substance used or released as a result of human activity relative to contributions from natural sources. Elements and naturally occurring inorganic compounds are not candidates for virtual elimination from the environment.

Pollution prevention strategies will be used to prevent the measurable release of a Track 1 substance from domestic sources. A Track 1 substance that cannot be managed successfully throughout its life cycle will be targeted for phase-out of generation and uses. Through bilateral or multilateral agreements, the federal government will work to eliminate Track 1 substances that originate from sources outside the country.

Remediation may be undertaken when a Track 1 substance is already in the environment. For sites under federal jurisdiction that are contaminated by a Track 1 substance, management plans will consider the elimination of that substance, based on an analysis of risks, costs and benefits. Where the benefits to the ecosystem or to human health of removing the substance outweigh clean-up costs -- including the possibility of further environmental degradation -- remediation will be considered. Otherwise, management strategies will focus on minimizing exposure and the site's potential risks.

The federal government will identify Track 1 substances proposed for virtual elimination from the environment. Stakeholders will have an opportunity to comment, with a fixed period of time to present scientific evidence objecting to or supporting a substance's selection, that is, whether it satisfies the criteria. The federal government will render a final, public decision after reviewing all the evidence.

The onus will be on those who generate or use a Track 1 substance to demonstrate that the substance will not be released into the environment in measurable concentrations at any point in its life cycle. Measurable release limits will be developed as appropriate for a Track 1 substance to allow verification that no measurable release has been achieved and to allow enforcement of any regulations that may be developed. Limits will be based on the lowest concentration of a substance that can be accurately detected and quantified using sensitive but routine analytical methods. These limits will be established during the development of management strategies as part of consultations with stakeholders.

The objective of virtual elimination of a Track 1 substance from the environment does not mean chasing down that substance to its last molecule. Common sense will apply as progress toward the substance's elimination is monitored. The ultimate objective of eliminating a Track 1 substance from the environment is set irrespective of socio-economic factors. Nevertheless, management plans such as targets and schedules to achieve that long-term objective will be based on analyses of environmental and human health risks as well as social, economic and technical considerations.

The presence of a Track 1 substance in the environment will be monitored to ensure that management plans are achieving the objective of virtual elimination and to assess the need for additional action.

The persistence and bioaccumulation criteria used to identify Track 1 substances can only be applied to chemical substances. Thus, while a chemical substance produced by organisms through biotechnology processes may be considered for Track 1, the organisms themselves will not.

Where a Track 1 substance results from the degradation or transformation of a parent substance in the environment, the parent substance may also be considered for Track 1.

Naturally occurring substances, elements or radionuclides are not candidates for Track 1. However, when warranted, a natural substance that is used or released as a result of human activity may be targeted for reduction to naturally occurring levels under Track 2.

This policy does not apply to pharmaceuticals when used for purposes for which they were approved under the Food and Drugs Act. It does apply to those pharmaceuticals, their by-products or wastes that are of concern because of their release to the environment.

Voie 1 - Quasi-élimination de l'environnement

Une substance qui répond aux quatre critères figurant au tableau 1 - en d'autres termes, qui est persistante, bioaccumulable, toxique et qui résulte principalement de l'activité humaine - sera désignée pour élimination virtuelle de l'environnement (substances de la voie 1). L'élimination se fera par la gestion des sources de rejet dans l'environnement ou par l'enlèvement ou la gestion de la substance si elle se trouve déjà dans l'environnement.

 Tableau 1 - Critères de sélection des substances pour la voie 1
Persistance(1)
Milieu
Persistance(1)
Demi-vie
Bioaccumulation(3)Toxicité(4)Principalement anthropique(5)
Air≥ 2 jours(2)FBA ≥ 5,000 ouToxique selon la LCPE ou équivalente à toxique selon la LCPEPrésence dans l'environnement largement due à une activité humaine
Eau≥ 182 joursFBC ≥ 5,000 ou  
Sédiment≥ 365 jourslog Koe ≥ 5.0  
Sol≥ 182 jours   
 ≥ plus grand que ou égal à

1. Une substance est considérée comme persistante lorsqu'elle satisfait au critère dans un milieu quelconque.
2. Une substance peut être considérée comme persistante dans l'air s'il est prouvé qu'elle est transportée dans l'atmosphère jusqu'à des régions éloignées, comme l'Arctique.
3. Le facteur de bioaccumulation (FBA) est préféré au facteur de bioconcentration (FBC); en l'absence de données FBA ou FBC, on peut utiliser le coefficient de partage octanol-eau (log Koe).
4. Une substance est jugée toxique si à la suite d’une évaluation scientifique rigoureuse, elle répond ou équivaut à la définition de « toxique » figurant dans la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (LCPE), à savoir : « est toxique toute substance qui pénètre ou peut pénétrer dans l’environnement en une quantité ou une concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à : a) avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l’environnement ou sur la diversité biologique; b) mettre en danger l’environnement essentiel pour la vie; c) constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaines.»
5. Selon les avis d'experts, la présence de la substance dans un milieu est largement due aux quantités de la substance qui sont utilisées ou qui sont rejetées dans le cadre d'une activité humaine relativement aux apports naturels. Les éléments et les composés inorganiques naturels ne sont pas destinés à l'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement.


Des stratégies de prévention de la pollution seront utilisées pour prévenir les rejets mesurables des substances de la voie 1 à partir de sources nationales. Si l'on ne peut gérer une substance de la voie 1 tout au long de son cycle de vie, on empêchera sa production et son utilisation. Au moyen d'accords bilatéraux et multilatéraux, le gouvernement fédéral s'efforcera d'éliminer les substances de la voie 1 qui proviennent de sources situées à l'extérieur du pays.

L'assainissement peut être entrepris lorsqu'une substance de la voie 1 est déjà présente dans l'environnement. Pour les lieux de compétence fédérale qui sont contaminés par une substance de la voie 1, les plans de gestion envisageront l'élimination de cette substance, selon l'analyse des risques, des coûts et des avantages. Lorsque les avantages, pour l'écosystème ou la santé humaine, d'enlever une substance de la voie 1 d'un lieu l'emporteront sur les coûts de la décontamination, compte tenu aussi de la possibilité d'atteintes environnementales accrues, on envisagera l'assainissement. Autrement, les stratégies de gestion tendront à minimiser l'exposition aux risques potentiels du lieu contaminé.

Le gouvernement fédéral désignera les substances de la voie 1 destinées à l'élimination virtuelle. Les intéressés disposeront d'une période fixe pour présenter des preuves scientifiques réfutant ou appuyant le choix d'une substance, c'est-à-dire établissant si la substance répond aux critères. Le gouvernement fédéral rendra alors une décision publique définitive après avoir examiné toutes les preuves.

Il incombera à ceux qui produisent ou utilisent une substance de la voie 1 de démontrer que dans le contexte d'une gestion intégrale, cette substance ne sera pas rejetée dans l'environnement en concentrations mesurables. Des limites de rejet mesurable seront définies au besoin pour les substances de la voie 1, afin de permettre la vérification et l'application. Ces limites se fonderont sur la plus faible concentration d'une substance pouvant être détectée et dosée précisément grâce à des méthodes analytiques précises mais courantes. Elles seront établies pendant l'élaboration des stratégies de gestion, dans le cadre des consultations avec les intéressés.

L'objectif d'élimination virtuelle de l'environnement d'une substance de la voie 1 ne vise pas à poursuivre la dernière molécule de cette substance. On fera preuve de bon sens, et les progrès vers l'élimination seront surveillés. L'objectif ultime d'éliminer de l'environnement les substances de la voie 1 ne tiendra pas compte de facteurs socio-économiques. Toutefois, divers éléments des plans de gestion, comme les buts et les échéanciers menant à l'objectif à long terme, se fonderont sur des analyses des risques pour l'environnement et la santé humaine ainsi que sur des réalités sociales, économiques et techniques.

La présence d'une substance de la voie 1 et ses effets sur l'environnement seront surveillés pour voir à ce que les plans de gestion atteignent l'objectif d'élimination virtuelle et pour déterminer s'il faut prendre d'autres mesures.

Les critères relatifs à la persistance et à la bioaccumulation servant à déterminer les substances de la voie 1 ne peuvent être appliqués qu'aux composés chimiques. Une substance chimique produite par des organismes au moyen de la biotechnologie peut donc être destinée à la voie 1, mais les organismes eux-mêmes ne le seront pas.

Lorsqu'une substance de la voie 1 résulte de la dégradation ou de la transformation d'une substance mère dans l'environnement, la substance mère peut également être considérée comme une substance de la voie 1.

Les substances, éléments et radionucléides naturellement présents dans l'environnement ne sont pas destinés à la voie 1. Toutefois, lorsque cela se justifie, une substance naturelle qui est utilisée ou rejetée par suite d'une activité humaine peut être destinée à être ramenée à des niveaux naturels selon la voie 2.

La politique ne s'applique pas aux produits pharmaceutiques utilisés aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été approuvés en vertu de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues. Elle s'applique toutefois aux produits pharmaceutiques, ainsi qu'à leurs sous-produits ou déchets, qui sont préoccupants à cause de leur rejet dans l'environnement.