Contact Alain Armellin:

Phone & Address

AWARDS / EDUCATION

Head of the Public Service Award for Service Delivery

 

Alain Armellin

Biologist - Aquatic plant and wildlife specialist

CURRENT S&T / RESEARCH - Biomonitoring of water quality using benthic macroinvertebrates in fresh water

  • Quebec coordinator of the national Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network (CABIN) team
  • Monitoring the contamination of fish by heavy metals and emerging substances

PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES / INTERESTS

Fresh water ecology in lenitic and lotic environments

Effects of physical, chemical and biological factors on communities of benthic macroinvertebrates

KEY PUBLICATIONS

Tall, L., G. Méthot, A. Armellin and B. Pinel-Alloul. 2008. Bioassessment of Benthic Macroinvertebrates in Wetland Habitats of Lake Saint-Pierre (St. Lawrence River) (St. Lawrence River). J. Great Lakes Res. (sous presse).

de Lafontaine, Y.,  A. Armellin, F. Marchand, M. Mingelbier, P. Brodeur and J. Morin. 2006. Impacts of Fluctuating Hydrological Regimes on Fish Communities of the St. Lawrence River. In Talbot, A. (Ed) Water Availability Issues for the St. Lawrence River: An Environmental Synthesis. Montréal, Quebec: Environment Canada, 189 p.

Armellin, A. 2006. Impacts of fluctuating water levels on herpetofauna. In Talbot, A. (Ed) Water Availability Issues for the St. Lawrence River: An Environmental Synthesis. Montréal, Quebec: Environment Canada, 189 p.

Armellin, A. and P. Galois. 2005. Inventory of spiny softshell turtle on the property of the Munitions Experimental Test Centre at Nicolet in the spring. Environment Canada - Quebec Region. Environmental Conservation. St. Lawrence Centre. Scientific and Technical report prepared for the Department of National Defence, 34 pages.

Morin, J., O. Champoux, S. Martin, K. Turgeon, M. Mingelbier, P. Brodeur, S. Giguère, D. Rioux, A. Armellin, D. Lehoux, B.Drolet, Y de Lafontaine and J.-L. Desgranges. 2004. Selected performance indicators of the Environment Technical Working Group (Lower St. Lawrence) Technical Report MSC-Hydrology RT-137, Environment Canada (MSC, CWS, CSL) and MRNFP, Ste-Foy, prepared for the Environment Technical Working Group (ETWG) of the International Lake Ontario – St. Lawrence River Study Board (International Joint Commission). 61 paqes.

Armellin, A. and C. Plante. 2004. Abundance and diversity of amphibians and reptiles in the wetlands of the St. Lawrence River. Report prepared for the International Joint Commission. Environment Canada - Quebec Region, Environmental Conservation, St. Lawrence Centre.

Armellin, A. 2003. Strength of age classes of northern pike (Esox lucius L.) and hydrological and climate factors in the St. Lawrence: definition of modeling parameters. Report prepared for the International Joint Commission by Environment Canada - Quebec Region, Environmental Conservation, St. Lawrence Centre. Scientific and Technical Report, 85 pages.

Vachon, N. and A. Armellin. 2003. Development of northern pike (Esox lucius L.) embryos, larvae and fry in the St. Lawrence River, Boucherville Islands. Report prepared for the International Joint Commission by Environment Canada - Quebec Region, Environmental Conservation, St. Lawrence Centre, 57 pages.

Expertise Categories associated with this S&T Expert:

Ecology
     Aquatic Ecosystems
          Fish
Nature & Wildlife
     Ecosystems & Habitats
          Macroinvertebrates
Water
     Limnology
          Herpetofauna
     Monitoring
          Water quality
Date modified:

Armellin_Alain.jpg

Communiquez avec Alain Armellin:

Téléphone et adresse

PRIX / ÉTUDES

Prix du chef de la fonction publique dans la catégorie " Prestation de service "

 

Alain Armellin

Biologiste - Spécialiste Faune et Flore aquatique

RECHERCHE / S-T ACTUELLE - Biomonitoring de la qualité de l'eau à l'aide des macroinvertébrés benthiques d'eau douce

  • Coordonateur du Québec de l'équipe nationale CABIN
  • Surveillance de la contamination du poisson par les métaux lourds et les substances émergeantes

ACTIVITÉS PROFESSIONNELLES / INTÉRÊTS

Écologie des eaux douces des milieux lentiques et lotiques

Influences des facteurs physiques, chimiques et biologiques sur les communautés de macroinvertébrés benthiques

PRINCIPALES PUBLICATIONS

Tall, L., G. Méthot, A. Armellin and B. Pinel-Alloul. 2008. Bioassessment of Benthic Macroinvertebrates in Wetland Habitats of Lake Saint-Pierre (St. Lawrence River) (St. Lawrence River). J. Great Lakes Res. (sous presse).

de Lafontaine, Y.,  A. Armellin, F. Marchand, M. Mingelbier, P. Brodeur et J. Morin. 2006.  Impacts du régime hydrologique sur les communautés de poissons du fleuve Saint-Laurent et leurs habitats dans Talbot, A. (Ed) Enjeux de la disponibilité de l'eau pour le fleuve Saint-Laurent : synthèse environnementale. Montréal, Québec : Environnement Canada, 189 p.

Armellin, A. 2006. Impacts des fluctuations des niveaux d’eau sur l’herpétofaune dans Talbot, A. (Ed) Enjeux de la disponibilité de l'eau pour le fleuve Saint-Laurent : synthèse environnementale. Montréal, Québec : Environnement Canada, 189 p.

Armellin, A. et P. Galois.  2005. Inventaire de la Tortue-molle à épines sur les terres du Centre d’essai et d’expérimentation en munitions à Nicolet au printemps 2005. Environnement Canada - Région du Québec, Conservation de l’environnement, Centre Saint-Laurent. Rapport scientifique et technique réalisé pour le compte du Ministère de la défense nationale, 34 pages.

Morin, J., O. Champoux, S. Martin, K. Turgeon, M. Mingelbier, P. Brodeur, S. Giguère, D. Rioux, A. Armellin, D. Lehoux, B.Drolet, Y de Lafontaine and J.-L. Desgranges. 2004. Selected performance indicators of the Environment Technical Working Group (Lower St. Lawrence) Technical Report MSC-Hydrology RT-137, Environment Canada (MSC, CWS, CSL) and MRNFP, Ste-Foy, prepared for the Environment Technical Working Group (ETWG) of the International Lake Ontario – St. Lawrence River Study Board (International Joint Commission). 61 paqes.

Armellin, A.et C. Plante. 2004. Abondance et diversités des amphibiens et reptiles dans les milieux humides du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Rapport préparé pour le compte de la Commission mixte internationale. Environnement Canada - Région du Québec, Conservation de l’environnement, Centre Saint-Laurent. 90 pages.

Armellin, A. 2003. Forces des classes d’âge du Grand Brochet (Esox lucius L.) et les facteurs hydrologiques et climatiques dans le Saint-Laurent : définition des paramètres de modélisation. Rapport produit pour la Commission Mixte Internationale par Environnement Canada - Région du Québec, Conservation de l’environnement, Centre Saint-Laurent. Rapport scientifique et technique, 85 pages.

Vachon, N. et A. Armellin. 2003. Développement embryonnaire, larvaire et des alevins de brochet (Esox lucius L.) dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, îles de Boucherville. Rapport préparé pour le compte de la Commission mixte internationale. Environnement Canada - Région du Québec, Conservation de l’environnement, Centre Saint-Laurent. 57 pages.

Catégories d'expertises associées à cet expert des sciences et technologies :

Écologie
     Écosystèmes aquatiques
          Poisson
Nature et faune
     Écosystèmes et habitats
          Macro-invertébrés
Eau
     Limnologie
          Herpétofaune
     Surveillance
          Qualité de l'eau