British Columbia

Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis (Victoria, BC)

Canadian Centre for Climate Monitoring and Analysis

© Environment Canada, 2008

Environment Canada’s (EC) Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis (CCCma) is located at the University of Victoria. Its purpose is to develop and apply sophisticated global and regional climate models to make quantitative projections of future climate in Canada and globally, and to improve understanding of climate variability and change. It is also the developer of EC’s Seasonal to Interannual Prediction System which provides climate forecasts over Canada on timescales of months to years.

CCCma is:

  • A centre of expertise that is recognized internationally as a leader in the modelling and analysis of climate variability and change.
  • A substantial contributor to many international climate research assessments and initiatives, including those of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP), and the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO).
  • A partner in a range of climate-related research networks with universities across Canada, which build on its core expertise and infrastructure to improve understanding and projections of climate change.
  • A provider of data widely used to analyze climate change impacts, inform adaptation planning, and support policy decisions. Data and models are available online.

Douglas Jung Building (Vancouver, BC)

Douglas Jung Building

© Environment Canada, 2008

Located in downtown Vancouver, the Douglas Jung Building houses both Environment Canada’s and the Department of Fisheries and Oceans’ offices. The site supports a number of Departmental business lines, the executive offices of the region, and a 24/7 weather operation. Science and technology activities at the site include freshwater quality monitoring and surveillance, marine water quality monitoring, and Canadian Environmental Protection Act Substances Risk Assessment.






Pacific and Yukon Region National Lab for Coastal and Mountain Meteorology (Vancouver, BC)

The National Laboratory for Coastal and Mountain Meteorology was formed in 2004. The lab’s mission is to provide improved scientific understanding and prediction of high-impact weather, primarily focussing on prediction of weather phenomena in coastal and mountainous environments. The lab is co-located with the Environment Canada Storm Prediction Centre in Vancouver. Outputs include applied research to address forecasting issues identified in the Department and facilitation of technology transfer of science results into the operational weather forecasting program.

Pacific Environmental Science Centre (Vancouver, BC)

Pacific Environmental Science Centre

© Environment Canada, 2008

Established in 2005, the Pacific Environmental Science Centre (PESC), located on a 55-acre urban conservation area on Burrard Inlet in the District of North Vancouver, British Columbia, accommodates 50 full-time Environment Canada (EC) engineers, chemists, biologists and supporting technical and administrative staff.

The Pacific Yukon Laboratory for Environmental Testing (PYLET) has specialized laboratory facilities providing chemical, biological, toxicological and toxicogenomic analysis in support of many departmental programs, enabling EC to meet its obligations under the Canada Water Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, and Fisheries Act.

Accredited to ISO 17025 standards, PYLET’s laboratories provide scientific data to support EC freshwater quality monitoring programs and legal laboratory services to support wildlife and environmental enforcement related investigations. PYLET supports emerging priorities through development and application of methods for chemical analysis. 

PYLET’s Toxicology unit, equipped to house both freshwater and marine water organisms and conduct associated bioassays, is EC’s hub for aquatic toxicogenomic activities, including the development of methods for the application of gene expression to deleterious effects in aquatic life. Specialized equipment including quantitative real time polymerase chain reaction (QT-PCR) and DNA sequencing equipment enable DNA identification of botanical and wildlife species in support of wildlife forensic projects.

Environment Canada Marine Water Quality Monitoring staff located at PESC are responsible for coordinating and conducting marine water quality monitoring surveys in British Columbia. Four ISO 17025 microbiology laboratories, including one main laboratory at PESC and three mobile laboratories are used to process samples in support of EC’s mandate under the Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program. Through conduct of comprehensive water quality surveys, monitoring of marine water quality in shellfish harvesting areas, and identification of sources of pollution that can impact harvest areas, recommendations are made to contribute directly to the wellbeing of Canadians by protecting public health.

Pacific Wildlife Research Centre (Delta, BC)

Pacific Wildlife Research Centre

© Environment Canada, 2008

The Pacific Wildlife Research Centre is located on the Alaksen National Wildlife Area (NWA). It is near the shore of the Fraser River, just south of the city of Richmond. The Alaksen NWA provides sanctuary for wintering waterfowl, including lesser snow geese, and for migratory songbirds.

The Alaksen NWA forms part of a network of locally recognized, protected conservation areas that include the British Columbia Wildlife Management Areas, Important Bird Areas, and a Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network site. These special conservation areas were designed to protect and manage the Fraser River Estuary--a unique, threatened landscape on Canada’s rugged west coast. The Estuary is a valued ecological feature of the Fraser River delta, and has a Ramsar site designation as a Wetland of International Importance.

The staff of the Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) and Wildlife and Landscape Science Directorate (WLSD) are housed in the Pacific Wildlife Research Centre. This facility is located on Westham Island, where a number of private farms operate. Both CWS and WLSD assist in managing this working farm landscape for the benefit of wintering wildlife.

Water and Climate Impacts Research Centre (Victoria, BC)

Water and Climate Impacts Research Centre

© Environment Canada, 2014

The Water and Climate Research Centre (W-CIRC) located at the University of Victoria in Victoria, BC, was established in 2002 as the result of a collaborative arrangement between Environment Canada (EC) and the University to enhance research assessing the impacts of climate change/variability on Canadian water resources.

The Centre, including eight EC scientists and technical staff, as well as several post-doctoral fellows and graduate students, operates field and modelling laboratories enabling the measurement and assessment of various hydrologic, hydro-climatic, and ecologic parameters in Canadian rivers and lakes with a focus on the Canadian North. This information enables the development of indicators to climate change/variability and the prediction of trends in aquatic systems sensitive to hydroclimatic extremes and variability.

Results are then used to inform adaptation strategies to help manage systems affected by these changes/variations. Advanced modelling systems enable Centre scientists to demonstrate how climate change/variability affects hydrologic, geochemical and ecological processes at local, regional and international scales. W-CIRC research provides key information in support of EC’s mandate to support environmental sustainability.

Date modified:

Colombie-Britannique

Centre canadien de la modélisation et de l’analyse climatique (Victoria, BC)

Centre canadien de la modélisation et de l’analyse climatique

© Environnement Canada, 2008

Le Centre canadien de la modélisation et de l’analyse climatique (CCmaC) d’Environnement Canada (EC) se trouve à l’Université de Victoria. Il a pour vocation d’élaborer et d’appliquer des modèles sophistiqués des climats à l’échelle mondiale et régionale en vue de faire des projections quantitatives du climat au Canada et ailleurs sur la planète, et d’en savoir davantage sur la variabilité du climat et les changements climatiques. C’est aussi là qu’on y met au point le Système de prévision interannuelle et saisonnière canadien (SPISCan) d’Environnement Canada, lequel génère des prévisions climatiques au-dessus du Canada à des intervalles mensuels à annuels.

Voici ce qu’est le CCmaC :

  • Un centre d’expertise qui s’est acquis une solide réputation internationale en tant que chef de file dans le domaine de la modélisation et de l’analyse de la variabilité du climat et des changements climatiques.
  • Un collaborateur incontournable à maintes évaluations et initiatives internationales en matière de recherche en climatologie, dont celles du Groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat (GIEC), du Programme mondial de recherches sur le climat (PMRC) et de l’Organisation météorologique mondiale (OMM).
  • Un partenaire d’une multitude de réseaux dans le domaine de la recherche en climatologie auxquels participent des universités des quatre coins du Canada et qui tirent parti de son expertise et de ses infrastructures de base pour améliorer la compréhension du phénomène des changements climatiques et les projections à cet égard.
  • Un producteur de données abondamment utilisées pour analyser les impacts des changements climatiques, aider à la planification de mécanismes d’adaptation reposant sur des arguments et justifier les décisions de politiques. Les données et les modèles sont disponibles en ligne.

Édifice Douglas Jung (Vancouver, BC)

Édifice Douglas Jung

© Environnement Canada, 2008

Situé au centre-ville de Vancouver, l’édifice Douglas Jung loge plusieurs activités d’Environnement Canada ainsi que des bureaux du ministère des Pêches et Océans. Le site héberge de nombreux secteurs d’activité ainsi que les bureaux administratifs de la région, et un établissement météorologique fonctionnant 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Trois activités de sciences et de technologie sont tenues au site : le suivi et la surveillance de la qualité de l’eau douce, la surveillance de la qualité des eaux marines et l’évaluation des risques des substances visées par la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement.

 

 

 

 

Laboratoire national de météorologie côtière et montagnarde (Vancouver, BC)

Le Laboratoire national de météorologie côtière et montagnarde a été créé en 2004. Sa mission est d’améliorer la compréhension et la prévision des événements météorologiques à fort impact, en mettant l’accent sur la prévision des phénomènes météorologiques dans les milieux côtiers et montagneux. Le laboratoire partage les locaux du Centre de prévision des intempéries d’Environnement Canada à Vancouver. Il fait notamment de la recherche appliquée pour résoudre les problèmes de prévisions soumis par le ministère et faciliter le transfert de technologies aux programmes de prévision météorologique opérationnelle.

Centre des sciences environnementales du Pacifique (Vancouver, BC)

Pacific Environmental Science Centre

© Environnement Canada, 2008

Établi en 2005 dans une aire de conservation de 55 acres en milieu urbain dans le bras Burrard du district de North Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, le Centre des sciences environnementales du Pacifique (CSEP) accueille 50 ingénieurs, chimistes et biologistes à temps plein d’Environnement Canada (EC) et membres du personnel de soutien technique et administratif.

Le Laboratoire des essais environnementaux du Pacifique et du Yukon (LEEPY) offre des services analytiques spécialisés chimique, biologique, toxicologique et toxicogénomique au soutien des nombreux programmes du Ministère pour aider EC à respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement et la Loi sur les pêches.

Accrédités d’après les normes ISO 17025, les laboratoires du LEEPY offrent des données scientifiques au soutien des programmes de surveillance de la qualité des eaux douces d’EC, ainsi que des services de laboratoire juridique au soutien des enquêtes d’application de la loi sur la faune et l’environnement. Le LEEPY appuie les nouvelles priorités grâce à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de méthodes d’analyse chimique.

L’unité de toxicologie du LEEPY, capable d’analyser les organismes d’eau douce et d’eau marine et d’effectuer les essais biologiques connexes, est le centre des activités toxicogénomiques aquatiques d’EC, y compris de l’élaboration de méthodes pour produire des empreintes d’expression génétiques associées aux effets préjudiciables sur la vie aquatique. L’équipement spécialisé, qui comprend un système quantitatif de réaction en chaîne de la polymérase en temps réel (PCR Temps Réel) et des appareils de séquençage de l’ADN, permettent l’identification des espèces botaniques et fauniques par les empreintes génétiques au soutien de projets d’analyse judiciaire relative aux espèces sauvages

Le personnel du Programme de surveillance de la qualité des eaux marines au CSEP coordonne et mène les enquêtes de surveillance de la qualité des eaux marines en Colombie-Britannique. Quatre laboratoires de microbiologie accrédités ISO 17025, incluant le laboratoire principal du CSEP et trois laboratoires mobiles, traitent les échantillons au soutien du mandat d’EC dans le cadre du Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques. En menant des enquêtes approfondies sur la qualité de l’eau, sur la surveillance de la qualité des eaux marines dans les zones de récolte et sur l’identification des sources de pollution ayant une possible incidence sur les zones de récolte, le Programme formule des recommandations qui contribuent directement au mieux-être des Canadiens en protégeant la santé publique.

Centre de recherche sur la faune du Pacifique (Delta, BC)

Centre de recherche sur la faune du Pacifique

© Environnement Canada, 2008

Le Centre de recherche sur la faune du Pacifique est situé dans la réserve nationale de faune (RNF) d’Alaksen, près du rivage du fleuve Fraser, juste au sud de la ville de Richmond. La RNF d'Alaksen offre un sanctuaire d'hivernage à la sauvagine, comme la Petite Oie des neiges, et aux oiseaux chanteurs migrateurs.

La RNF d'Alaksen fait partie d'un réseau d'aires de conservation protégées et reconnues localement qui comprend des aires de gestion de la faune de la Colombie-Britannique, des zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux et un site du Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage dans l'hémisphère occidental. Ces aires de conservation spéciales ont été créées pour protéger et gérer l'estuaire du fleuve Fraser -- un paysage unique et menacé de la côte ouest du Canada. L'estuaire est une caractéristique écologique importante du delta du fleuve Fraser et a reçu la désignation de site Ramsar comme zone humide d'importance internationale.

Le personnel du Service canadien de la faune (SCF) et de la Direction des sciences de la faune et du paysage (DSFP) travaille au Centre de recherche sur la faune du Pacifique. Cette installation est située sur l'île Westham où l'on retrouve des exploitations agricoles privées. Le SCF et la DSFP participent à la gestion de ce paysage d'exploitation agricole pour le bien-être de la faune hivernante.

Centre de recherche sur les eaux et d'impacts du climat (Victoria, BC)

Centre de recherche sur les eaux et d'impacts du climat

© Environnement Canada, 2014

Le Centre de recherche sur les eaux et d’impacts du climat (CREIC) situé à la University of Victoria à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, a été constitué en 2002 à la suite d’une entente collaborative entre Environnement Canada (EC) et l’université afin d’améliorer la recherche évaluant les impacts des changements et des variabilités climatiques sur les ressources hydrographiques canadiennes.

Le Centre, qui comprend huit scientifiques et techniciens d’EC, ainsi que plusieurs détenteurs d’une bourse de perfectionnement postdoctoral et des diplômés, opèrent les laboratoires sur le terrain et de modélisation permettant les mesures et l’évaluation des divers paramètres hydrologiques, hydroclimatiques et écologiques dans les rivières et les lacs canadiens, tout en plaçant un accent sur le Nord canadien. Ces renseignements permettent l’élaboration d’indicateurs de changements et de variabilités climatiques et de prévision des tendances dans les systèmes aquatiques sensibles aux extrêmes hydroclimatiques et à la variabilité.

Les résultats sont ensuite utilisés afin d’orienter les stratégies d’adaptation pour aider à la gestion des systèmes touchés par ces changements et variations. Les systèmes de modélisation avancés permettent aux scientifiques du Centre de démontrer la manière dont le changement et la variabilité climatiques touchent les processus hydrologiques, géochimiques et écologiques à l’échelle locale, régionale et internationale. La recherche du CREIC fournit des renseignements clés liés au mandat d’EC visant à soutenir la durabilité environnementale.

Date de modification :