New Brunswick

Canadian Wildlife Service Office (Sackville, NB)

Environment Canada’s office in Sackville, New Brunswick, is beside the Tantramar Marshes and close to many productive wildlife habitats such as freshwater and coastal marshes, tidal mudflats, lakes and Acadian Forest woodlands. The region is an important stopover for migratory birds on the Atlantic Flyway, nestled between the Bay of Fundy and Northumberland Strait. Many waterbirds and shorebirds concentrate in EC’s nearby National Wildlife Areas and Migratory Bird Sanctuaries, and gather in the Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network site in the upper reaches of the Bay of Fundy.

The office is adjacent to the educational Sackville Waterfowl Park and serves as a hub for wildlife research and monitoring by EC staff, and partners from Bird Studies Canada, Ducks Unlimited Canada and nearby universities. Ongoing field studies throughout this area include research and monitoring of resident shorebird and northern sandpiper migrants, seabird monitoring at Bay of Fundy colonies and at sea, science support for  habitat wetland conservation at nearby protected areas, waterfowl banding programs using airboats and bait stations, and landbird monitoring and research with a focus on declining populations of swallows and other aerial insectivorous birds.

Learn more about Wildlife and Landscape Science.

Atlantic Environmental Science Centre (Moncton, NB)

Atlantic Environmental Science Centre

© Environment Canada, 2008

The Atlantic Environmental Science Centre (AESC), situated at the Université de Moncton in Moncton, New Brunswick, accommodates 35 Environment Canada (EC) scientific, technical and administrative staff. 

AESC has specialized laboratory facilities which are occupied by EC’s Atlantic Laboratory for Environmental Testing (ALET) which provides ISO 17025 chemical and toxicological analysis to help EC meet its obligations under the Canada Water Act, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, the Fisheries Act and the Migratory Bird Convention Act.

The Laboratory provides analysis of metals, pesticides, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), and oil matching/identification for environmental research and monitoring, as well as for EC Enforcement Officers conducting forensic investigations. ALET supports research into the toxic effects and environmental fate of pesticides used in agriculture, forestry and aquacultures. ALET also measures the harmful effects resulting from exposures to chemical substances for freshwater, estuarine and salt water organisms. Specialized equipment enables studies on the genetic effects of toxicants.

Freshwater quality monitoring and surveillance in Atlantic rivers and lakes are undertaken in cooperation with multiple federal and provincial partners in support of the Canada Water Act.  Real-time automated monitoring instruments and logistical field equipment are deployed to enable collection of water and invertebrate samples primarily in Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick. 

Scientific data collected provides critical information in the development of Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators and to studies in support of the Government of Canada’s Chemicals Management Plan and the Atlantic coastal biomonitoring program based on EC’s Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network (CABIN).   

AESC is home to one of three EC Marine Water Quality Monitoring ISO 17025 accredited microbiology laboratories in the Atlantic region. The laboratory’s primary role is to support EC’s mandate under the Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program (CSSP), delivered jointly with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and the Department of Fisheries and Oceans. EC’s key role in the CSSP is to assess the suitability of shellfish growing areas.

Watershed Science Bioassessment Centre (Fredericton, NB)

Watershed Science Bioassessment Centre

© Environment Canada, 2014

Environment Canada’s Watershed Science Bioassessment Centre (WSBC), located at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, New Brunswick, has developed an interdisciplinary aquatic research team in association with the Canadian Rivers Institute. Five EC staff scientists, 15 post-doctoral research fellows and students focus on the development of analytical tools and predictive models for the assessment of cumulative impacts and risks to aquatic ecosystems, and to improve biomonitoring and ecological risk assessment approaches.

WSBC’s specialized facilities include controlled-environment experimental chambers and an outdoor artificial stream mesocosm system that enable the development of biodiversity monitoring programs for the Canadian Artic, boreal forest wetlands and oil sands regions. State-of-the-art invertebrate and trait-based analytical laboratories provide science support to the Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network (CABIN). DNA “Biomonitoring 2.0” sample processing capabilities have enabled the development of new biomonitoring tools for the Alberta Oils Sands regions as well as cumulative effects approaches for agricultural landscapes including the Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative.

Date modified:

Nouveau-Brunswick

Bureau du Service canadien de la faune (Sackville, NB)

Le bureau d'Environnement Canada à Sackville, au Nouveau-Brunswick, est installé à côté du marais de Tantramar, à proximité de nombreux habitats fauniques productifs comme des marais d'eau douce ou côtiers, des vasières intertidales, des lacs ou des terrains boisés de forêts acadiennes. Nichée entre la baie de Fundy et le détroit de Northumberland, la région est un important site de halte pour les oiseaux qui empruntent la voie migratoire de l'Atlantique. De nombreux oiseaux aquatiques et de rivage se concentrent dans les réserves nationales de faune et les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs d'Environnement Canada avoisinants et se rassemblent dans le site du Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage de l'hémisphère occidental situé dans les cours supérieurs de la baie de Fundy.

Le bureau jouxte le parc pédagogique de Sackville (le Sackville Waterfowl Park) et constitue une véritable plaque tournante pour la recherche sur la faune et la surveillance des espèces par le personnel d'Environnement Canada ainsi que ses partenaires d'Études d'Oiseaux Canada, de Canards Illimités Canada et des universités alentour. Voici certaines des études menées sur le terrain dans la région : recherche et surveillance des populations d'oiseaux de rivage résidentes et des bécasseaux migrateurs du nord, surveillance des oiseaux marins en mer et dans les colonies de la baie de Fundy, appui scientifique à la conservation des terres humides dans les aires protégées voisines, programmes de baguage de la sauvagine à l'aide d'hydroglisseurs et de zones d'appât, recherche et surveillance des oiseaux terrestres, en particulier sur les populations d'hirondelles et d'autres oiseaux insectivores aériens en déclin.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la recherche en matière de faune et la science du paysage.

Centre des sciences de l’environnement de l’Atlantique (Moncton, NB)

Atlantic Environmental Science Centre

© Environnement Canada, 2008

Le Centre des sciences de l’environnement de l’Atlantique (CSEA), situé à l’Université de Moncton, au Nouveau‑Brunswick, accueille 35 membres du personnel scientifique, technique et administratif d’Environnement Canada (EC).   

Le CSEA abrite les laboratoires spécialisés du Laboratoire des essais environnementaux de l’Atlantique (LEEA), qui fournit des analyses chimiques et toxicologiques accréditées ISO 17025 pour aider EC à respecter ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada, de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, la Loi sur les pêches et la Loi sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs.

Le laboratoire fournit des services analytiques des métaux, des pesticides, des hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques (HAP) et de concordance des échantillons d’hydrocarbures pour la recherche et la surveillance de l’environnement ainsi que pour les agents d’application de la loi d’EC effectuant des enquêtes judiciaires. Le LEEA soutient la recherche sur les effets toxiques et le sort environnemental des pesticides utilisés dans les secteurs de l’agriculture, de la foresterie et de l’aquaculture. Le LEEA mesure aussi les effets nocifs sur les organismes d’eau douce, d’eau salée et d’estuaire causés par l’exposition à des substances chimiques. De l’équipement spécialisé permet d’étudier les effets génétiques des substances toxiques.

La Surveillance de la qualité de l’eau douce des rivières et des lacs de la région de l’Atlantique est assurée avec la collaboration de multiples partenaires fédéraux et provinciaux au soutien de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du Canada. Des instruments de surveillance automatisée en temps réel et le matériel logistique mobile servent à recueillir des échantillons d’eau et d’invertébrés principalement sur l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Les données scientifiques recueillies offrent des renseignements essentiels à l’élaboration des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement et aux études qui appuient le Plan de gestion des produits chimiques du gouvernement du Canada et le Programme de biosurveillance des côtes de l’Atlantique basés sur le Réseau canadien de biosurveillance aquatique d’EC.  

Le CSEA abrite l’un des trois laboratoires de microbiologie du programme de Surveillance de la qualité des eaux marines accrédités ISO 17025 dans la région de l’Atlantique. Le rôle principal du laboratoire est de soutenir le mandat d’EC défini dans le Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques (PCCSM), qui est mis en œuvre conjointement par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments et le ministère des Pêches et des Océans. Le rôle principal d’EC dans le PCCSM est d’évaluer la viabilité des zones de croissance des mollusques.

Programme de bioévaluation des sciences des bassins versants (Fredericton, NB)

Programme de bioévaluation des sciences des bassins versants

© Environnement Canada, 2014

Le Programme de bioévaluation des sciences des bassins versants (PBSBV) d’Environnement Canada, situé à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, a mis sur pied une équipe interdisciplinaire sur la recherche aquatique en collaboration avec la Canadian Rivers Institute. Cinq membres du personnel scientifique d’EC, 15 chercheurs postdoctoraux et des étudiants se concentrent sur l’élaboration d’outils d’analyse et de modèles de prévision afin d’évaluer les effets et les risques cumulatifs sur les écosystèmes aquatiques, et d’améliorer les approches de biosurveillance et d’évaluation des risques écologiques.

 Les installations spécialisées du PBSBV comprennent des chambres expérimentales dans un environnement contrôlé et un système de mésocosme composé de bassins artificiels extérieurs qui permettent de concevoir des programmes de surveillance de la biodiversité pour l’Arctique canadien, la forêt boréale et la région des sables bitumineux. Des laboratoires de pointe d’analyse des invertébrés et d’analyses fondées sur les traits caractéristiques fournissent un soutien scientifique au Réseau canadien de biosurveillance aquatique (RCBA). Les capacités de traitement d’échantillons d’ADN de « Biosurveillance 2.0 » ont permis de concevoir de nouveaux outils de biosurveillance pour les régions des sables bitumineux de l’Alberta ainsi que d’élaborer des approches aux effets cumulatifs sur les paysages agricoles, y compris sur l’Initiative du bassin du Lac Winnipeg.