Skip booklet index and go to page content

Environment Canada's Science Strategy 2014-2019

3. Future Directions: Setting Priorities and Implementing the Strategy

To provide leadership on environmental science addressing federal priorities, Environment Canada must identify and communicate its science priorities, maintain the scientific capacity needed to fulfill its mandate, and establish new ways of working to focus the Department’s science on maintaining a clean, safe and sustainable environment for Canadians. The Strategy will guide Environment Canada in selecting science priorities through its existing planning processes by specifying key directions and areas of focus over the next five years, and by putting in place mechanisms to increase collaborative planning.

Ensuring appropriate science capacity is an ongoing focus for the Department; good science requires good science management. Environment Canada will continue to focus on having the right people, facilities, equipment and systems in place to make sure its science is relevant, transparent, responsive, excellent and collaborative. The Strategy aims to strengthen science capacity by focusing on specific mechanisms to improve science infrastructure, by supporting the Department’s workforce and better managing its data.

To stay focused on delivering the science needed to provide a clean, safe and sustainable environment for Canadians, Environment Canada will continue to work to more effectively integrate scientific activities with functions such as policy development, program delivery and service provision.

Below are specific details on how the Department plans to achieve the Strategy’s vision. First are a set of science priorities, followed by science management tools to improve the way the Department performs and supports its science.

Priorities

Over the next five years, Environment Canada will continue to drive its science to focus on environmental issues of significance to the Government of Canada. The complex and protracted nature of some issues such as eutrophication, the global scope and scale of issues such as air pollution, climate change and loss of biodiversity and the increasing need for multidisciplinary approaches require new ways of thinking and doing. This means undertaking many activities in a horizontal, cross-cutting way, devising innovative tools and approaches, and taking the Department’s science in new directions, where needed, to respond to emerging and persistent issues. In selecting issues and priorities to focus on, Environment Canada will strive to:

  • Focus on current and emerging issues of significance to the Government of Canada;
  • Build on the Department’s existing expertise, knowledge, methods, tools and products;
  • Target science that supports effective solutions to pressing environmental problems;
  • Direct efforts toward activities and topics in line with the federal role for science and technology.

The four broad science issues identified below are issues that the Department anticipates may drive much of its work over the next five years. These are priority issues for Environment Canada that will help fulfill the Government of Canada’s environmental agenda. They are issues of national and global importance; finding solutions to key challenges within these areas will become increasingly important for Canadians. These issues are based on Departmental and government-wide priorities, as well as discussions with Environment Canada staff and key partners and stakeholders that focused on articulating the impacts of the Department’s current science activities and identifying emerging environmental issues the Department should pursue. The specific activities needed to address these priorities may change over time as the issues evolve and scientific understanding matures. To account for this, the Department will evaluate these priorities annually and adjust as relevant and necessary. This will help the Department’s science remain relevant and responsive.

Priority area 1

Reducing the impacts of contaminants and other environmental stressors on the natural environment


One focus for Environment Canada’s science will be on understanding and tracking the origin, fate and impact of critical contaminants on the environment. In particular, the Department will focus on limiting the impacts of harmful substances, including chemicals found in air, water, soil and wildlife, and air pollutants and greenhouse gases. These contaminants can interact with each other to produce different and sometimes unexpected results. The impacts of contaminants can also be exacerbated by interactions with other environmental stressors, such as climate change. Environment Canada will also focus on understanding and tracking the cumulative effects of environmental stressors, including climate change, on wildlife and ecosystems of national interest.

This work on contaminants and environmental stressors will support a broad range of policies, regulations, guidelines, evaluations and enforcement activities across the Department. It will also help inform and advance the integrated management of Canada’s aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems, and will provide the science understanding necessary to conserve Canada’s habitat, biodiversity and ecosystem functions.


This priority area is linked to Environment Canada’s programs on Substances and Waste Management (3.1) and Climate Change and Clean Air (3.2).Footnote 1

Priority area 2

Providing early warnings about changing weather, climate and other environmental conditions


In order to improve the Department’s prediction, forecasting and warning capabilities for weather, climate, and air and water quality, Environment Canada will focus its science on developing new monitoring and modelling systems and tools, and improving existing systems. This work will also help provide high quality, science-based tools and services to Canadians, policy-makers and targeted economic sectors.


This priority area is linked to Environment Canada’s programs delivering Weather and Environmental Services for Canadians (2.1) and Weather and Environmental Services for Targeted Users (2.2).

Priority area 3

Climate change mitigation and adaptation


Environment Canada develops and implements regulations and other control measures to address greenhouse gas emissions and improve air quality. In order to support these measures, Environment Canada will focus its science on understanding, tracking and predicting the emissions and atmospheric processes that affect climate change. The Department also provides historical climate data and develops climate models to help Canadians adapt to climatic changes as they occur. Environment Canada will also focus its science on providing the foundational knowledge to understand anticipated climate change to help Canadians plan and adapt to future change. In order to further support adaptive management across Canada, the Department will also focus its science on understanding, tracking and predicting the impacts of climate change on species and ecosystems.


This priority area is linked to Environment Canada’s programs on Climate Change and Clean Air (3.2), and Weather and Environmental Services for Canadians (2.1).

Priority area 4

Strengthening environmental conservation and protection to support responsible resource development


In order to work toward the sustainability of Canada’s natural environment, including preventing biodiversity loss, protecting water resources and sustaining ecosystems over the long term, Environment Canada will focus its science on proactively understanding, tracking and providing information on the environmental impacts of selected resource development projects. The science will look at both primary and cumulative impacts, and will help minimize disturbance of ecosystems and wildlife, inform landscape and habitat management, and support environmental restoration where needed.


This priority area is linked to Environment Canada’s programs on Biodiversity – Wildlife and Habitat (1.1), Water Resources (1.2) and Sustainable Ecosystems (1.3).

Please see Appendix I for a detailed list of specific science activities in each priority area.

Science Management

Putting the Strategy’s vision, mission, and principles into practice will affect how Environment Canada plans, communicates and manages its science. It will impact how we work internally, but also the linkages and partnerships we build to work more effectively and efficiently. It will require using existing governance structures effectively as well as implementing mechanisms to strengthen linkages and communication across the Department, as well as bolster support for key organizational assets such as people and data. Some of these mechanisms are new to this strategy; others will draw on current processes to build on existing capacity.

Governance

In order to successfully implement the Strategy, the Department will bring key science decision-makers together to put the Strategy into practice. A senior group of Assistant Deputy Ministers will meet 1-2 times per year to provide broad strategic direction and report to the Deputy Minister on progress. Environment Canada’s existing Executive Management Committee could be the forum for these tasks. A managerial (Director General-level) committee, supported by a working group, will deal with operational issues, such as assigning responsibility for specific initiatives, developing and maintaining an implementation plan, and monitoring progress.

Mechanisms

Enhancing linkages between science producers, science users and decision-makers

This Science Strategy will facilitate effective, on-going internal dialogue between scientists, policy makers and program managers across Environment Canada to plan science activities together where appropriate. It will also focus on bringing relevant science information to senior decision-makers, such as the Department’s Executive Management Committee, which will help Environment Canada’s policies and priorities respond to new scientific developments.

Improving science infrastructure

Environment Canada maintains important infrastructure and resources to carry out and support its science activities, from its world-class scientific and technical workforce to its wealth of scientific data to the specialized laboratories, facilities and instruments that monitor environmental conditions across the country. This Strategy will help strengthen these resources by improving data management, facilitating greater external access to Departmental science, investing in weather and monitoring instrumentation, and developing tools and policies to support leadership development and quality management across the Department. Environment Canada is committed to maintaining cutting-edge infrastructure to support its world-class science. Partnerships are an important part of this goal. The sharing of our knowledge and data with collaborators and partners helps to advance scientific understanding and increase the impact of our science, thereby enhancing the effectiveness and relevance of our work. In addition, an important part of performing science efficiently and in a responsive manner is working with partners, be it other federal departments, provinces or universities, to maximize world-class infrastructure and resources.

Please see Appendix II for more details on the proposed mechanisms.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Detailed information on Environment Canada’s programs can be found in the Department’s annual Report on Plans and Priorities.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie pour les sciences d’Environnement Canada 2014-2019

3. Orientations futures : Établissement des priorités et mise en œuvre de la stratégie

Pour être un chef de file en matière de sciences de l’environnement répondant aux priorités fédérales, Environnement Canada doit déterminer et communiquer ses priorités scientifiques, maintenir la capacité scientifique nécessaire pour s’acquitter de son mandat et mettre en place de nouvelles méthodes de travail afin de centrer les activités scientifiques du Ministère sur le maintien d’un environnement propre, sécuritaire et durable pour les Canadiens. La Stratégie guidera Environnement Canada dans le choix des priorités scientifiques au moyen des processus de planification ministériels existants en précisant les orientations clés et les domaines d’intérêt particulier pour les cinq prochaines années, et en mettant en place des mécanismes pour accroître la planification horizontale.

Le maintien d’une capacité scientifique appropriée est une préoccupation constante au Ministère; une production scientifique de qualité exige une excellente gestion des activités scientifiques. Environnement Canada continuera à s’assurer d’avoir le personnel approprié et les installations, les équipements et les systèmes nécessaires pour assurer la pertinence, la transparence, la réactivité, l’excellence et la nature de collaboration de ses activités scientifiques. La Stratégie vise à renforcer la capacité scientifique en mettant l’accent sur des mécanismes précis pour améliorer l’infrastructure scientifique en soutenant le personnel du Ministère et en effectuant une meilleure gestion des données.

Pour demeurer axé sur la livraison d’activités scientifiques nécessaires pour fournir aux Canadiens un environnement propre, sécuritaire et durable, Environnement Canada continuera à travailler en vue d’intégrer plus efficacement les activités scientifiques aux fonctions telles que l’élaboration des politiques, l’exécution des programmes et la prestation de services.

Des détails précis sur la façon dont le Ministère prévoit réaliser la vision de la Stratégie sont exposés ci-dessous. Les priorités scientifiques sont d’abord présentées, suivies des outils de gestion des sciences pour améliorer la façon dont le Ministère obtient des résultats et soutient les sciences.

Priorités

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, Environnement Canada continuera à orienter ses activités scientifiques sur les enjeux environnementaux d’importance pour le gouvernement du Canada. La nature complexe et prolongée de certains enjeux, comme l’eutrophisation, la portée mondiale et l’ampleur des problèmes, comme la pollution atmosphérique, les changements climatiques et la perte de la biodiversité, ainsi que la nécessité croissante d’approches multidisciplinaires exigent de nouvelles façons de penser et de faire. Cela signifie qu’il faut réaliser de nombreuses activités de façon horizontale et intersectorielle, concevoir des outils et des approches novateurs et orienter les activités scientifiques du Ministère sur des voies nouvelles, selon les besoins, pour répondre aux questions émergentes et persistantes. Pour le choix des enjeux et des priorités sur lesquels il mettra l’accent, le Ministère s’efforcera de :

  • se concentrer sur les enjeux actuels et émergents qui sont d’importance pour le gouvernement du Canada;
  • mettre à profit les compétences, les connaissances, les méthodes, les outils et les produits existants du Ministère;
  • cibler les activités scientifiques qui soutiennent des solutions efficaces aux problèmes environnementaux pressants;
  • orienter les efforts vers les activités et les sujets s’inscrivant dans le rôle du gouvernement fédéral dans le domaine des sciences et de la technologie.

Les quatre grands secteurs scientifiques présentés ci-dessous sont ceux sur lesquels le Ministère envisage de concentrer une grande partie de ses travaux au cours des cinq prochaines années. Ces enjeux prioritaires pour Environnement Canada aideront à la réalisation du programme environnemental du gouvernement du Canada. Il s’agit de questions d’importance nationale et internationale; la recherche de solutions aux principaux enjeux dans ces secteurs revêtira de plus en plus d’importance pour les Canadiens. Ces enjeux découlent des priorités ministérielles et pangouvernementales, de même que des échanges avec le personnel d’Environnement Canada et avec des partenaires et des intervenants clés, qui ont porté sur la nécessité d’énoncer clairement les impacts des activités scientifiques actuelles du Ministère et de déterminer les questions environnementales nouvelles auxquelles le Ministère devrait s’intéresser. Les activités spécifiques nécessaires pour s’attaquer à ces priorités peuvent changer au fil du temps tandis que les enjeux évoluent et que les connaissances scientifiques s’élargissent. Pour cette raison, Environnement Canada devra évaluer ces priorités annuellement et apporter, au besoin, les modifications pertinentes, ce qui permettra aux activités scientifiques du Ministère de demeurer pertinentes et réactives.

Secteur prioritaire 1

Réduire l’impact des contaminants et autres stresseurs environnementaux sur le milieu naturel 


Les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada viseront à acquérir des connaissances et à effectuer le suivi de l’origine, du devenir et de l’impact des contaminants critiques sur l’environnement. Notamment, le Ministère mettra l’accent sur la limitation des impacts des substances nocives, y compris les produits chimiques présents dans l’air, l’eau, le sol et les espèces sauvages, des polluants atmosphériques et des gaz à effet de serre. Ces contaminants peuvent interagir entre eux pour produire des résultats différents et parfois inattendus. Les impacts des contaminants peuvent aussi être accentués par des interactions avec d’autres stresseurs environnementaux, comme les changements climatiques. Environnement Canada s’efforcera aussi d’acquérir des connaissances et d’effectuer un suivi sur les effets cumulatifs des stresseurs environnementaux, y compris les changements climatiques, sur les espèces sauvages et les écosystèmes d’intérêt national.

Ces travaux sur les contaminants et sur les stresseurs environnementaux soutiendront un large éventail de politiques, règlements, lignes directrices, évaluations et activités d’application de la loi dans l’ensemble du Ministère. Ils contribueront aussi à éclairer et à faire progresser la gestion intégrée des écosystèmes aquatiques et terrestres du Canada, et permettront d’acquérir les connaissances scientifiques nécessaires pour la conservation des fonctions des habitats, de la biodiversité et des écosystèmes du Canada.


Ce secteur prioritaire est lié aux programmes suivants d’Environnement Canada : Gestion des substances et des déchets (3.1) et Changements climatiques et qualité de l’air (3.2)Note de bas de page1.

Secteur prioritaire 2

Fournir des avertissements rapides concernant les conditions météorologiques, climatiques et autres conditions environnementales changeantes


Afin d’améliorer les capacités ministérielles en matière de prévisions et d’avertissements météorologiques, climatiques et sur la qualité de l’air et de l’eau, Environnement Canada axera ses travaux scientifiques sur l’élaboration de nouveaux outils et systèmes de surveillance et de modélisation et sur l’amélioration des systèmes existants. Ces travaux contribueront aussi à fournir des outils et des services scientifiques de grande qualité aux Canadiens, aux décideurs et aux secteurs économiques ciblés.


Ce secteur prioritaire est lié aux programmes suivants d’Environnement Canada : Services météorologiques et environnementaux pour les Canadiens (2.1) et Services météorologiques et environnementaux pour les utilisateurs ciblés (2.2).

Secteur prioritaire 3

Atténuer l’incidence des changements climatiques et s’y adapter


Environnement Canada élabore et applique des règlements et d’autres mesures de contrôle pour lutter contre les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et pour améliorer la qualité de l’air. À l’appui de ces mesures, les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada porteront sur l’acquisition de connaissances, le suivi et les prévisions relativement aux émissions et aux processus atmosphériques qui influent sur les changements climatiques. Le Ministère fournit aussi des données climatiques historiques et conçoit des modèles climatiques pour aider les Canadiens à s’adapter aux changements climatiques à mesure qu’ils se produisent. Environnement Canada axera aussi ses travaux scientifiques sur les connaissances fondamentales permettant de comprendre les changements climatiques anticipés afin d’aider les Canadiens à planifier et à s’adapter aux changements futurs. Afin d’appuyer davantage la gestion adaptative dans tout le Canada, le Ministère axera aussi ses travaux scientifiques sur l’acquisition de connaissances, le suivi et la prévision des impacts des changements climatiques sur les espèces et les écosystèmes.


Ce secteur prioritaire est lié aux programmes suivants d’Environnement Canada : Changements climatiques et qualité de l’air (3.2) et Services météorologiques et environnementaux pour les Canadiens (2.1).

Secteur prioritaire 4

Renforcer la conservation et la protection de l'environnement à l'appui du développement responsable des ressources


Dans le but d’assurer la durabilité de l’environnement naturel du Canada - qui consiste entre autres à prévenir la perte de la diversité biologique, à protéger les ressources en eau et à assurer la durabilité des écosystèmes à long terme - Environnement Canada axera ses travaux scientifiques sur l’acquisition de connaissances, le suivi et la communication de renseignements, de façon proactive, sur les impacts environnementaux de projets de développement des ressources choisis. Les activités scientifiques porteront sur l’étude des impacts, tant primaires que cumulatifs, et contribueront à réduire au minimum la perturbation des écosystèmes et des espèces sauvages, à éclairer la gestion des paysages et des habitats et à soutenir la restauration de l’environnement au besoin.


Ce secteur prioritaire est lié aux programmes suivants d’Environnement Canada : Biodiversité – Espèces sauvages et habitats (1.1), Ressources en eau (1.2) et Écosystèmes durables (1.3).

L’annexe I présente la liste détaillée des activités scientifiques dans chaque secteur prioritaire.

Gestion des sciences

La mise en pratique de la vision, de la mission et des principes de la Stratégie aura une influence sur la façon dont Environnement Canada planifie, communique et gère les activités scientifiques au sein du Ministère. Cette mise en œuvre influera sur notre façon de travailler à l’interne, mais aussi sur les liens et partenariats que nous établissons pour travailler de façon plus efficace et efficiente. Il faudra utiliser efficacement les structures de gouvernance existantes et mettre en œuvre des mécanismes pour renforcer les liens et les communications dans l’ensemble du Ministère, de même que pour accroître le soutien aux éléments organisationnels clés, comme les personnes et les données. Certains de ces mécanismes sont nouveaux dans la présente stratégie; d’autres s’inspireront des processus actuels pour mettre à profit la capacité existante.

Gouvernance

Pour que la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie soit un succès, le Ministère réunira les décideurs scientifiques clés pour la mettre en pratique. Un groupe composé de sous-ministres adjoints se réunira une ou deux fois par an pour fournir une orientation stratégique générale et faire rapport au sous-ministre de l’avancement des travaux. Le Comité exécutif de gestion d’Environnement Canada pourrait se charger de ce travail. Un comité de gestion (au niveau des directeurs généraux), avec l’appui d’un groupe de travail, se chargera des questions opérationnelles, comme attribuer la responsabilité d’initiatives spécifiques, élaborer et maintenir un plan de mise en œuvre et surveiller les progrès.

Mécanismes

Accroître les liens entre les scientifiques, les utilisateurs et les décideurs

La présente Stratégie pour les sciences facilitera un dialogue efficace et continu entre les scientifiques, les décideurs et les gestionnaires de programmes d’Environnement Canada pour la planification conjointe d’activités scientifiques, lorsqu’il y a lieu. Elle mettra aussi l’accent sur la communication des données scientifiques pertinentes aux décideurs supérieurs, comme le Comité exécutif de gestion du Ministère, contribuant ainsi à faire en sorte que les politiques et les priorités d’Environnement Canada fassent écho aux nouvelles réalisations scientifiques.

Améliorer l’infrastructure scientifique

Environnement Canada possède des infrastructures et des ressources scientifiques importantes pour réaliser et soutenir ses activités scientifiques, que ce soit les effectifs scientifiques et techniques de renommée internationale, les volumineuses données scientifiques, de même que les laboratoires spécialisés, les installations et les instruments pour la surveillance des conditions environnementales dans tout le Canada. La stratégie aidera à renforcer ces ressources en améliorant la gestion des données, en facilitant un meilleur accès externe aux travaux scientifiques du Ministère, en investissant dans les instruments météorologiques et de surveillance et en élaborant des outils et des politiques à l’appui du développement du leadership et de la gestion de la qualité dans l’ensemble du Ministère. Environnement Canada s’engage à maintenir une infrastructure à la fine pointe pour soutenir ses réalisations scientifiques de calibre mondial. Les partenariats sont importants pour atteindre ce but. Le partage de nos connaissances et de nos données avec des collaborateurs et des partenaires fait avancer les connaissances scientifiques et augmente l’impact de nos réalisations scientifiques, ce qui améliore ainsi l’efficacité et la pertinence de nos activités. De plus, le travail avec des partenaires est essentiel pour livrer les activités scientifiques de façon efficace et réactive, qu’il s’agisse du travail avec d’autres ministères fédéraux, de provinces ou d’universités, afin de maximiser nos infrastructures et nos ressources de calibre mondial.

L’annexe II présente des informations détaillées sur les mécanismes proposés.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Des informations détaillées sur les programmes d’Environnement Canada se trouvent dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités annuel du Ministère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Date de modification :