Article Title
Date

Binational Red and Assiniboine River Basin Water Quality Modelling

2012-08-30

Map of the Binational Red-Assiniboine SPARROW model with the water quality monitoring stations showing | © National Research Council, W. Jenkinson

Map of the Binational Red-Assiniboine SPARROW model with the water quality monitoring stations showing | © National Research Council, W. Jenkinson

A binational water quality modelling effort of the Red and Assiniboine river basin is the first of its kind to make use of harmonized geospatial datasets and combined water quality datasets from federal, provincial and state jurisdictions. The International Joint Commission (IJC) hosted a second international workshop (July 2012) between Canadian and American scientists in support of this. 

The USGS-developed models Fluxmaster (load estimation) and SPARROW (SPAtially Referenced Regressions On Watershed attributes) are being used for this application. These models will help address critical research questions including allocation of nutrient sources by watershed, jurisdiction and human activity, and the integrity of stream and river monitoring networks, and serve as a future decision-making tool. The workshop focused on achievement of a working binational SPARROW model for the basin that can be used in presentations as a proof-of-concept at upcoming International Red River and Souris River Board meetings. 

The project is led by Dr. Glenn Benoy (Watershed Hydrology and Ecology Research Division) and Dr. Wayne Jenkinson (National Research Council), under the leadership of Mr. Ted Yuzyk (IJC Canadian Section). Strategic collaboration with Jean-Francois Bibeault (Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance) is underway to enhance monitoring and reporting. Key partners include the USGS, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, and the provinces of Manitoba and Saskatchewan. This project also directly supports the broader Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative (2012-2017).

Contacts: Glenn Benoy, 506-452-4825, Glenn.Benoy@ec.gc.ca; Jean-Francois Bibeault, 514-496-2898, Jean-Francois.Bibeault@ec.gc.ca | Water Science and Technology Directorate

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Titre d'article
Date

Projet binational de modélisation de l’information sur la qualité de l’eau du bassin des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine

2012-08-30

Carte du Modèle SPARROW binational Rouge -Assiniboine indiquant les stations de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau | © Conseil national de recherches, W. Jenkinson

Carte du Modèle SPARROW binational Rouge -Assiniboine indiquant les stations de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau | © Conseil national de recherches, W. Jenkinson

Un projet binational de modélisation de l’information sur la qualité de l’eau du bassin des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine est le premier à utiliser des ensembles de données géospatiales harmonisées et des ensembles de données combinées sur la qualité de l’eau provenant des gouvernement fédéral, provinciaux et des états. À ce sujet, la Commission mixte internationale (CMI) a organisé un deuxième atelier international (tenu en juillet 2012) auquel participaient des scientifiques canadiens et américains. 

Cette application utilise les modèles Fluxmaster (estimation des charges) et SPARROW (régressions spatialement référencées des attributs des bassins hydrographiques) élaborés par la USGS. Ces modèles permettront de répondre à des questions critiques notamment l’allocation des sources de nutriments par bassin hydrographique, la compétence administrative et l’activité humaine, et l’intégrité des réseaux de surveillance des ruisseaux et des rivières. Ils constituent des outils pour la prise de décisions futures. Au cours de l’atelier, il a surtout été question de l’élaboration d’un modèle SPARROW binational pour le bassin qui permettra de valider le concept lors des prochaines réunions du Conseil international des rivières Rouge et Souris.

Le projet est piloté par Glenn Benoy, Ph.D. (Division de l’hydrologie des bassins versants et de la recherche écologique), et Wayne Jenkinson, Ph.D. (Conseil national de recherches), sous la direction de Ted Yuzyk (Section canadienne de la CMI). Jean-François Bibeault (Monitoring et surveillance de la qualité de l’eau) apporte une collaboration stratégique pour améliorer les activités de surveillance et la préparation de rapports. Les principaux partenaires de ce projet sont l’Institut d’études géologiques des États-Unis, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et les provinces du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan. Ce projet appuie directement l’Initiative plus large du bassin du lac Winnipeg (2012-2017).

Personnes-ressources : Glenn Benoy, 506-452-4825, Glenn.Benoy@ec.gc.ca; Jean-François Bibeault, 514-496-2898, Jean-Francois.Bibeault@ec.gc.ca | Direction des sciences et de la technologie de l’eau