Article Title
Date

Unusual Circulation Patterns and Inverted Thermocline in Lake Erie

2012-09-05

Photo showing some of the instrumentation used in the research, onboard the CCGS Limnos | © Environment Canada, D. Gilroy

Photo showing some of the instrumentation used in the research, onboard the CCGS Limnos | © Environment Canada, D. Gilroy

High-resolution measurements obtained during the International Field Years on Lake Erie have shown that the layer of rapid temperature change in the lake (thermocline) is deeper offshore than at the coast due to large-scale wind variability and associated water circulation.

Dr. Ram Yerubandi in Environment Canada’s Water Science and Technology Directorate, is part of the binational team that made the discovery of the unusual thermocline and circulation patterns in Lake Erie. This finding describes the mechanism for the observed depressed thermocline, which is responsible for amplifying deep-water summer hypoxia and thus reducing the oxygen available to lake-bottom plants and animals. 

The findings are published in Geophysical Research Letters. Since its publication, this research appeared prominently in newsletters such as American Geophysical Union Editors online spotlights and as an Eos research spotlight. A brief synopsis of this article was also published as notable research in the July issue of EARTH Magazine.

Contact: Ram Yerubandi, 905-336-4785, Ram.Yerubandi@ec.gc.ca, Water Science and Technology Directorate

Titre d'article
Date

Présence de modèles de circulation atypiques et d’une inversion de couche de thermocline dans le lac Érié

2012-09-05

Photo montrant certains des instruments utilisés dans la recherche, à bord du NGCC Limnos | © Environnement Canada, D. Gilroy

Photo montrant certains des instruments utilisés dans la recherche, à bord du NGCC Limnos | © Environnement Canada, D. Gilroy

Des mesures haute résolution obtenues dans le cadre de l’Année internationale d’étude du lac Érié ont révélé que la zone de transition thermique rapide du lac (la thermocline) est plus profonde au large que sur la côte en raison de la variabilité à grande échelle du vent et de la circulation de l’eau qui y est associée.

M. Ram Yerubandi, Ph.D., de la direction de la Science et de la technologie de l’eau à Environnement Canada, est membre de l’équipe binationale qui a découvert les modèles atypiques de thermocline et de circulation dans le lac Érié. Cette conclusion décrit le mécanisme de la thermocline profonde observée qui a pour effet d’amplifier l’hypoxie estivale dans les eaux profondes réduisant ainsi la disponibilité de l’oxygène pour les plantes et les animaux vivant au fond du lac. 

Cette recherche a fait l’objet d’un article dans la revue Geophysical Research Letters. Depuis cette publication, cette recherche a figuré en bonne place dans des bulletins comme les informations en ligne de la Geophysical Union Editors et comme information de recherche dans le journal Eos. Un bref résumé de cet article a aussi été publié en tant que projet de recherche remarquable dans le numéro de juillet de la revue EARTH.

Personne-ressource : Ram Yerubandi, 905-336-4785, Ram.Yerubandi@ec.gc.ca, Direction des sciences et de la technologie de l’eau