Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Article Title
Date

Variation of Mercury and other Trace Elements in Polar Bears Associated with Dietary Sources of Carbon and Lipid

2012-08-21

Polar bear and cub in Scoresby Sound, East Greenland and the Importance of Dietary Sources of Carbon and Lipid to Mercury Exposure | © Environment Canada, R. Letcher

Polar bear and cub in Scoresby Sound, East Greenland and the Importance of Dietary Sources of Carbon and Lipid to Mercury Exposure | © Environment Canada, R. Letcher

An Environment Canada scientist collaborated with Canadian and international researchers to investigate the influence of dietary carbon and lipid sources on regional differences in liver trace element (As, Cd, Cu, total Hg, Mn, Pb, Rb, Se, and Zn) concentrations measured in polar bears. 

Carbon and lipid sources were determined using carbon isotope ratios in muscle tissue and fatty acid profiles in subcutaneous adipose tissue as chemical tracers in polar bears from ten Alaskan, Canadian Arctic and East Greenland subpopulations. Results suggested that polar bears feeding in areas with higher riverine (freshwater) inputs of carbon accumulate more mercury than bears feeding in areas with lower freshwater input. Mercury concentrations were also positively related to the specific fatty acid found in Calanus copepods, a food of polar bear prey. This result raised the hypothesis that Calanus glacialis are an important link in the uptake of mercury in the marine food web, and ultimately in polar bears. Based on these findings it was suggested that dietary carbon and lipid sources for polar bears should be taken into account when assessing spatial and temporal trends of long-range transported trace elements.

Source: Routti, H., R.J. Letcher, E.W. Born, M. Branigan, R. Dietz, T.J. Evans, M.A. McKinney, E. Peacock and C. Sonne. 2012. Influence of carbon and lipid sources on variation of mercury and other trace elements in polar bears (Ursus maritimus). Environ. Toxicol. Chem. Accepted.

Contact: Dr. Robert Letcher, 613-998-6696, Ecotoxicology and Wildlife Health Division

Titre d'article
Date

Variation du taux de mercure et d'autres oligo-éléments chez les ours blancs associée aux sources alimentaires de carbone et de lipides

2012-08-21

Ours blanc femelle et son petit dans le détroit de Scoresby, dans l’est du Groenland, et rôle des sources alimentaires de carbone et de lipides dans l'exposition au mercure | © Environnement Canada, R. Letcher

Ours blanc femelle et son petit dans le détroit de Scoresby, dans l’est du Groenland, et rôle des sources alimentaires de carbone et de lipides dans l'exposition au mercure | © Environnement Canada, R. Letcher

Un scientifique d'Environnement Canada a collaboré avec des chercheurs du Canada et d’autres pays afin d'étudier l'influence des sources alimentaires de carbone et de lipides sur les différences régionales quant aux concentrations d'oligo-éléments (As, Cd, Cu, Hg total, Mn, Pb, Rb, Se et Zn) mesurées dans le foie des ours blancs.

Les sources de carbone et de lipides ont été déterminées à l’aide des rapports isotopiques du carbone dans le tissu musculaire et des profils d'acides gras logés dans le tissu adipeux sous-cutané, qui ont servi de traceurs chimiques chez des ours blancs issus de dix sous-populations de l'Alaska, de l'Arctique canadien et de l'est du Groenland. Les conclusions semblent indiquer que les ours blancs qui se nourrissent dans des régions présentant des apports d'eau douce riche en carbone accumulaient plus de mercure que les ours qui se nourrissent dans des régions caractérisées par des apports d'eau douce plus faibles. Les concentrations de mercure ont également été formellement liées à l'acide gras présent dans les copépodes de l'espèce Calanus, un aliment qui constitue une proie de l'ours polaire. Cette constatation a soulevé l'hypothèse selon laquelle les Calanus glacialis représentent un maillon important de l'accumulation du mercure dans le réseau alimentaire marin et, au bout du compte, dans l'organisme des ours blancs. D'après ces conclusions, on a recommandé que les sources alimentaires de carbone et de lipides des ours blancs soient prises en compte lors de l'évaluation des tendances spatio-temporelles des oligo-éléments transportés sur de longues distances.

Source : Routti, H., Letcher, R.J., Born, E.W., Branigan, M., Dietz, R., Evans, T.J., McKinney, M.A., Peacock, E., Sonne, C. 2012. Influence of carbon and lipid sources on variation of mercury and other trace elements in polar bears (Ursus maritimus). Environ. Toxicol. Chem. Accepté.

Personne-ressource : M. Robert Letcher, 613-998-6696, Division de l'écotoxicologie et de la santé de la faune