Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Article Title
Author

Air Quality Forecasts: The Science-Behind-the-Scenes

By:  Silvina Carou (S&T Liaison)

Download PDF (298 kB) | download free reader

The Problem 

Smog, the hazy noxious mix of air pollutants hanging over many communities in Canada, can contribute to heart and respiratory problems, sometimes leading to premature death.

Skyline of Montreal showing smog | Photo:  photos.comSmog’s main components are particulate matter (PM) and ground-level ozone. PM and gases such as SO2, NOx, VOC and NH3 are emitted into the air from natural and man-made sources. Sources include combustion of fossil fuels (e.g., vehicles, electricity generation, metal smelting), mechanical generation of dust from soil and roads, oceans (salt) and vegetation (VOC, bio-aerosols). Under the right conditions - such as high pollutant concentrations, warm temperatures, humidity and sunlight - these gases and particles react with each other to produce ozone and fine PM (<2.5 µm in diameter). Wind also influences concentrations of air pollutants either by trapping them in one location (stagnant conditions), or by carrying them hundreds of kilometres away from their source to other areas in Canada and the U.S.

Unlike the ozone in the upper atmosphere that protects the planet from UV radiation, ozone at ground level worsens air quality.

Smaller particles are of greatest concern because they remain suspended in the atmosphere longer and can penetrate more deeply into the lungs. Smog is responsible for 9500 premature deaths per year across Ontario (not just in cities or industrial centres), with 1000 occurring during or immediately after periods of increased pollution and the rest likely due to long-term exposure to air pollutants (Ontario Medical Association, 2008). Children, the elderly, asthmatics and people suffering from cardio-respiratory disease are particularly susceptible. Smog also reduces visibility, damages crops, and increases vulnerability to disease for some tree species.

Seeking Solutions through S&T

Environment Canada works with Health Canada and provincial, territorial and municipal governments to inform Canadians about current and future poor air quality conditions and assist them to minimize potential health impacts. This service would not be possible without the science-behind-the-scenes that measures and predicts levels of pollutants in the air.

Environment Canada’s air quality and weather experts generate air quality forecasts using a numerical air quality model, in much the same fashion as weather forecasts are produced. The air quality model simulates the emission, dispersion, physical-chemical processing, transport and deposition of pollutants in the atmosphere. Developing such models has involved decades of research and analysis of observational data.

Using emissions data for PM and smog-producing gases from both Canada and the U.S., the air quality forecast model computes the expected atmospheric concentrations of PM and ozone for the next two days on Environment Canada’s supercomputer in Montréal. This forecast is then checked by weather forecasters with regional expertise and adjusted, if need be, with knowledge derived from the latest observations of weather and air quality.

Tree with smog in background | Photo:  photos.comCurrent air quality conditions are also tracked and reported based on measurements taken by the National Air Pollution Surveillance Network (a federal-provincial-municipal co-operative program), the Canadian Air and Precipitation Monitoring Network (CAPMoN) and at provincial sites. New techniques that use near-real-time data from these networks as well as those from satellite-based instruments are being developed to provide a better definition of current conditions, which the air quality forecast model will use to improve the quality and accuracy of the forecasts.

Transforming Knowledge into Action

Who can use these results?

Current air quality conditions, forecasts and advisories are available to Canadians in all ten provinces. Environment Canada also produces ventilation forecasts for some communities in the Arctic. Air Quality Advisories are issued when either ground-level ozone or fine PM falls into the poor air quality category: that is, when air pollutant levels exceed national standards.

In June 2000, federal and provincial/territorial environment ministers agreed on Canada-wide Standards (CWS) for particulate matter (PM2.5) and ground-levelozone to be achieved by 2010 to address the health and environmental impacts of these substances.

Until now, air quality has been reported using an Air Quality Index (AQI) that ranges from 0–25 (Good), 26–50 (Fair), 51–100 (Poor) to greater than 100 (Very Poor). Although various air pollutants are analyzed and reported, AQI readings reflect the highest measured pollutant or that predicted to be highest within a given hour. Generally speaking, ozone tends to be the dominant pollutant in the summer months, due to weather conditions, while PM dominates in the winter months.

While the AQI is still in use, several communities across Canada are testing a new and improved index called the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) that was developed by Environment Canada and Health Canada in partnership with a number of government and non-government stakeholders. The AQHI improves on the AQI by accounting for the health risks associated with the “mix” of three common pollutants (ozone,PM2.5/PM10 and NO2 ), rather than a single pollutant. It also expresses air quality conditions on a scale linked to health risk categories: 1–3 (Low health risk), 4–6 (Moderate health risk), 7–10 (High health risk), 10+ (Very high health risk). Health messages associated with each risk category are customized for the general and the “at risk” population.

Example of forecast average (6-hour) PM2.5 levels (at 10 m height) over North America (July 2008).  Source:  www.weatheroffice.gc.caAir quality models are used for more than just forecasting future air quality conditions. By putting different possible weather conditions and air pollutant levels into the models, we can do “what if” scenarios that help determine the effectiveness of current and suggested domestic and international air quality policies aimed at improving air quality in Canada.

Similarly, scenarios help determine the most suitable and effective mix of air pollution emissions reductions that will result in maximum benefits to Canadians and their environment. For instance, past trends and predictions of air quality conditions based on different emission reduction scenarios formed the scientific basis for the Canada-U.S. Air Quality Agreement and have also been key to the development of Canada’s Clean Air Regulatory Agenda.

Benefits to Canadians

Heart and respiratory problems can lead to absenteeism from school and work, more hospital admissions, and premature death. Air quality forecasts and tools like the AQHI enable Canadians to plan and minimize impacts on their health and the environment. 

Although there are high costs to cutting down on air pollution, significant economic benefits come from reducing human and ecosystem exposure to it. Reductions in illness and mortality have direct social benefits through decreased health care costs and improved work-place productivity. Preventing further environmental damage as a result of air pollution also benefits forest, agricultural, fish and tourism productivity, all essential industries to Canada.  

Health Canada estimates that a 3% reduction in summertime ground-level ozone levels, combined with an 8% reduction in PM levels would result in approximately 1200 fewer deaths, hundreds of fewer hospital admissions and emergency department visits, and tens of thousands of fewer episodes of asthma and other respiratory symptoms, with social welfare benefits greater than $6 billion (Canada, 2007).

Environment Canada estimates that the ozone component of smog could be costing the agricultural industry over $500 million in lost revenue every year and that poor visibility induced by smog costs the tourist industry in areas like Vancouver up to $7.45 million in lost future revenue per extreme episode (McNeill and Roberge, 2000).

For more information:

Air Quality Health Index

Air Quality Health Index - Weather Office

Air Quality Services

Canada-wide Standards for Particulate Matter (PM) and Ozone

Clean Air Online: Smog

Health Canada Air Quality

Key references:

Canada.  2007.  Regulatory Framework for Air Emissions

McNeill, R., and A. Roberge.  2000.  The impact of visual air quality on tourism revenues in Greater Vancouver and the Lower Fraser Valley.  Prepared for Environment Canada, Georgia Basin Ecosystem Initiative, Vancouver, B.C.

Ontario Medical Association, 2008.

S&T Liaison | Tel 905 315 5228 | Fax 905 336 4420
© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Environment, 2008.
Catalogue No. En164-15/7-2008E-PDF; ISBN 978-1-100-10366-2

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Titre d'article
Auteur

Prévisions de la qualité de l’air : Le rôle de la science

Par:  Silvina Carou (Liaison S-T)

Télécharger le PDF (332 kB) | télécharger : lecteur gratuit

Le problème

Le smog, un mélange nocif et brumeux de polluants atmosphériques stagnant au-dessus de nombreuses collectivités canadiennes, peut être à l’origine de problèmes cardiaques et respiratoires, et entraîne parfois des décès prématurés.

Horizon de Montréal montrant du smog | Photo :  photos.comLes principales composantes du smog sont les matières particulaires (MP) et l’ozone troposphérique. Des sources naturelles et anthropiques émettent des MP et des gaz, notamment les SO2, NOx, COV et NH3. Ces sources incluent la combustion des combustibles fossiles (p. ex., véhicules, production d’électricité, fusion des métaux), la production mécanique de poussière par le sol et les routes, les océans (sel) et la végétation (COV, bioaérosols). Dans les conditions adéquates - concentrations élevées de polluants, températures chaudes, humidité et lumière du soleil - ces gaz et particules interagissent pour produire de l’ozone et de matières particulaires fines (MP) (<2,5 µm de diamètre). Le vent influe aussi sur les concentrations de polluants atmosphériques en les piégeant dans un endroit (air stagnant), ou en les transportant à des centaines de kilomètres de leurs sources dans d’autres régions du Canada et des États-Unis.

Contrairement à l’ozone des couches supérieures de l’atmosphère qui protège la planète des rayons ultraviolets, l’ozone troposphérique nuit à la qualité de l’air.

Les plus petites particules sont une grave source d’inquiétude car elles restent suspendues dans l’atmosphère plus longtemps et pénètrent plus profondément dans les poumons. Le smog est responsable de 9 500 décès prématurés partout en Ontario (pas seulement dans les villes ou les centres industriels). Parmi ces décès, 1 000 se produisent pendant ou immédiatement après des périodes durant lesquelles la pollution a augmenté et les autres décès sont probablement causés par une exposition à long terme aux polluants atmosphériques (Ontario Medical Association, 2008). Les enfants, les personnes âgées, les personnes asthmatiques et les personnes souffrant de maladies cardiorespiratoires sont les plus à risque. De plus, le smog réduit la visibilité, endommage les récoltes et rend certaines espèces d’arbres plus vulnérables aux maladies.

À la recherche de solutions au moyen des S et T

Environnement Canada travaille avec Santé Canada ainsi que les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux afin d’informer les Canadiens de la mauvaise qualité de l’air dans l’immédiat et dans le futur et de l’aider à minimiser les répercussions potentielles sur la santé des Canadiens. Ce service serait impossible sans l’aide de la science qui mesure et prédit les niveaux de polluants atmosphériques.

Les experts d’Environnement Canada, spécialisés dans la qualité de l’air et la météorologie, établissent les prévisions de la qualité de l’air à l’aide d’un modèle numérique de la qualité de l’air, de la même façon ou presque que l’on établit les prévisions météorologiques. Le modèle de la qualité de l’air simule l’émission, la dispersion, le traitement physique et chimique, le transport et le dépôt des polluants dans l’atmosphère. La mise au point de tels modèles a nécessité des décennies de recherche et d’analyse de données d’observation.

Le modèle de prévisions de la qualité de l’air utilise les données sur les émissions de MP et sur les gaz qui produisent du smog pour le Canada et les États-Unis afin de calculer avec le superordinateur d’Environnement Canada, à Montréal, les concentrations atmosphériques prévues de MP et d’ozone pour les deux prochains jours. Les spécialistes des prévisions météorologiques ayant une expertise régionale vérifient ensuite ces prévisions et les ajustent, si nécessaire, en se basant sur les dernières observations météorologiques et de la qualité de l’air.

Arbre avec smog en arrière-plan | Photo :  photos.comLes conditions actuelles de qualité de l'air font aussi l’objet d’un suivi et d’un rapport fondés sur les mesures prises par le Réseau National de Surveillance de la Pollution Atmosphérique (un programme fédéral, provincial et municipal de nature collaboratrice), le Réseau canadien d'échantillonnage des précipitations et de l'air (RCEPA) et des sites provinciaux. De nouvelles techniques qui utilisent des données en temps quasi réel provenant de ces réseaux ainsi que d’instruments satellitaires sont en cours d’élaboration pour fournir une meilleure définition des conditions actuelles de l’air. Le modèle de prévisions de la qualité de l’air utilisera ces techniques afin d’améliorer la qualité et l’exactitude des prévisions.

Mettre les connaissances en application

À qui ces résultats servent-ils?

Les conditions actuelles de qualité de l'air, les prévisions et les avis sont mis à la disposition de la population dans les dix provinces. Environnement Canada établit aussi des prévisions d’indice de ventilation à l’intention de collectivités de l’Arctique. Des avis de qualité de l’air sont émis quand le niveau d’ozone troposphérique ou de matières particulaires dépasse les normes nationales pour passer dans la catégorie mauvais.

Au mois de juin 2000, les ministres de l’Environnement des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont signé les standards pancanadiens relatifs aux particules (PM) et à l’ozone en vertu desquels les gouvernements s’engagent à réduire les MP et l’ozone d’ici 2010 pour faire face aux effets de ces substances sur l’environnement.

Jusqu’à maintenant, on utilisait un indice de la qualité de l’air (IQA) allant de 0 à 25 (bon), 26 à 50 (acceptable), 51 à 100 (mauvais) à plus de 100 (très mauvais) pour signaler la qualité de l’air. Bien que l’on analyse et signale plusieurs polluants atmosphériques, les chiffres mesurant la qualité de l’air reflètent le polluant présentant la concentration la plus élevée ou celui qui devrait être le plus élevé au cours d’une heure donnée. De manière générale, l’ozone a tendance à être le polluant le plus important durant les mois d’été, en raison des conditions climatiques, alors que les MP dominent l’hiver.

Bien que l’on utilise encore l’IQA, plusieurs collectivités canadiennes essaient un nouvel indice amélioré appelé cote air santé (CAS) mis au point par Environnement Canada et Santé Canada, en partenariat avec plusieurs intervenants gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux. La CAS améliore l’IQA en tenant compte des risques pour la santé associés au « mélange » de trois polluants que l’on retrouve fréquemment (ozone, MP2.5/MP10 et NO2), plutôt qu’à un seul polluant. Elle mesure aussi les conditions de qualité de l’air sur une échelle comportant des catégories de risque pour la santé : 1 à 3 (risque faible pour la santé), 4 à 6 (risque modéré pour la santé), 7 à 10 (risque élevé pour la santé), 10+ (risque très élevé pour la santé). Les messages relatifs à la santé associés à chaque catégorie de risque sont destinés au grand public et aux personnes « vulnérables ».

Exemple des niveaux MP2.5 de la moyenne (6-heures) des prévisions (à 10 m de hauteur au-dessus de l’Amérique du Nord (juillet 2008).  Source : www.meteo.gc.ca/canada_f.htmlLes modèles de qualité de l’air ne servent pas seulement à prévoir les conditions de qualité de l’air dans le futur. En incluant différentes conditions météorologiques possibles et différents niveaux de polluants dans les modèles, on peut faire des scénarios qui aident à déterminer l’efficacité des politiques nationales et internationales proposées pour améliorer la qualité de l’air au Canada.

De même, des scénarios aident à déterminer comment réduire le plus efficacement et le plus judicieusement les émissions de polluants atmosphériques afin que la population canadienne et son environnement en tirent le plus d’avantages. Par exemple, les tendances passées et les prévisions de la qualité de l’air basées sur différents scénarios de réduction des émissions ont servi de fondement scientifique à l’Accord Canada-États-Unis sur la qualité de l’air et ont joué un rôle essentiel dans l’élaboration du programme de réglementation de la qualité de l’air canadien.

Avantages pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes

Les problèmes cardiaques et respiratoires peuvent être la cause d’absentéisme à l’école et au travail, d’un nombre accru d’admissions à l’hôpital et de décès prématurés. Les prévisions de la qualité de l’air et les outils comme la CAS permettent aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes de prévoir et minimiser les effets sur leur santé et l’environnement.

Bien que la réduction de la pollution atmosphérique nécessite des coûts élevés, la réduction de l’exposition humaine et de l’écosystème à la pollution représente d’importants avantages économiques. La diminution des maladies et de la mortalité ont des avantages sociaux directs grâce à une diminution des coûts liés aux soins de santé et à une productivité accrue au travail. La prévention d’autres dommages à l’environnement causés par la pollution atmosphérique profitera à la productivité des secteurs forestier, agricole, touristique et de la pêche, lesquels occupent une place essentielle dans l’économie canadienne.

Santé Canada estime qu’une réduction de 3 % des niveaux d’ozone troposphérique en période estivale, combinée à une réduction de 8 % des niveaux de MP, entraînerait une baisse d’environ 1 200 décès liés à la pollution, de centaines d’admissions à l’hôpital et de visites aux urgences, et de dizaines de milliers de crises d’asthme et autres symptômes respiratoires, ce qui entraînerait des bénéfices supérieurs à 6 milliards de dollars pour les programmes de bien-être social (Canada, 2007).

Environnement Canada estime que l’ozone présent dans le smog pourrait se solder chaque année par des pertes de revenus s’élevant à 500 millions de dollars pour le secteur agricole et que la mauvaise visibilité causée par le smog coûte à l’industrie touristique dans des régions comme Vancouver jusqu’à 7,45 millions de dollars en revenus futurs perdus par épisode de smog extrême (McNeill et Roberge, 2000).

Pour de plus amples renseignements:

Cote air santé

Cote air santé - Météo

Services en qualité de l’air

Standards pancanadiens relatifs aux particules (PM) et à l’ozone

Branché sur l'air pur – Le smog

Santé Canada – Qualité de l’air

Principales références :

Canada. 2007. Cadre réglementaire sur les émissions atmosphériques

McNeill, R., et A. Roberge.  2000. L'impact de la qualité de l'air sur le tourisme dans la grand Vancouver et la région du bas Fraser. Rédigé pour le compte d'Environnement Canada, dans le cadre de l’Initiative de l’écosystème du bassin de Georgia, Vancouver, C.-B.

Ontario Medical Association, 2008. (site en anglais)

Division de la liaison en S-T | Tél 905 315 5228 | Télécopieur 905 336 4420
© Sa majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de l'environnement, 2008.
No. de catalogue En164-15/7-2008F-PDF; ISBN 978-0-662-04595-3