Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Article Title
Author

A New Approach to Pesticide Management: Finding Safer Alternatives in Response to Effects on Birds

By:  Courtney Price (S&T Liaison)

Download PDF (4.6 MB) | download free reader

The Problem

The Lower Fraser River Valley is the most productive agricultural area in British Columbia, and one of the most important wintering habitats in Canada for thousands of birds that forage in farm fields during migration. Farmers are under great pressure to stay competitive and productive in the intensive $700 million local agricultural industry, but they also need tools to maintain the ecological integrity of the land they rely on for their livelihood.

Pesticides have long been used to improve crop yields in the Fraser River Valley, but non-target species are frequently exposed to toxic chemicals. Of the nearly 4000 waterbirds, passerines and raptors whose deaths were investigated in the Fraser Delta from 1963 to 1994, 76% were attributed to pesticide poisoning.

Bald eagle with clenched talon, a symptom of anticholinesterase pesticide exposure | Photo: Environment Canada

In the early 1990s, Environment Canada (EC) received several reports of bald eagles and other raptors displaying symptoms and behaviours previously not reported in the region; otherwise healthy-looking birds had clenched talons, foam around the bill, small pupils, and appeared disoriented.

A local veterinarian, EC wildlife toxicologists and other wildlife researchers suspected pesticide poisoning, but the source was a mystery. Oddly, the poisonings occurred in winter; a time of minimal or no pesticide application. The strange timing, bizarre symptoms, and large number of affected birds led researchers to investigate further.

Seeking Solutions through S&T

Waterfowl that died after ingesting granules of anticholinesterase pesticide in Fraser River Valley fields | Photo: Environment CanadaAnti-cholinesterase insecticides have been an easy and affordable tool to kill pests including wireworm, a potato predator. Starting in the 1960s, farmers applied the granular form of these insecticides throughout their fields. In the next 30 years nearly 30% of the 12,600 reported bird mortalities in the province were attributed to these chemicals, with waterbirds and passerines accounting for the majority of species affected.

Working with local wildlife rehabilitators and the farming community in the 1990s, EC scientists collected and tested hundreds of dead and injured raptors from the Valley and determined that anti-cholinesterase poisoning was the leading cause of reported deaths in the first years of the study. Even as manufacturers further refined the selective toxicity of pesticides, and several toxic anti-cholinesterase pesticides were replaced with less harmful ones, the later generations of anti-cholinesterase insecticides were still able to harm or kill non-targeted wildlife even when applied according to directions on pesticide labels.

Bald eagles scavenging on waterfowl | Photo: Environment CanadaResearchers hypothesized that raptors were dying after ingesting waterfowl that foraged in fields treated with the newer and supposedly safer chemicals. They conservatively estimated that over 560 waterfowl were poisoned by anti-cholinesterase pesticides in each year of their study. At less than half of one per cent of local population totals, this was not enough to threaten waterfowl population levels, but did present a significant risk for raptors. Up to 30 raptors can be attracted to one waterfowl carcass, and with raptor populations sensitive to the loss of breeding-age animals, raptor population levels could be affected.

Stomach contents and toxicology testing showed raptors consumed waterfowl with lethal levels of the insecticides phorate, and later, fonofos. These newer forms of less toxic anti-cholinesterase pesticides were introduced to replace the more toxic carbofuran and fensulfothion, which were withdrawn from local markets in the late 1980s for reportedly poisoning non-target wildlife. But EC research now revealed that replacement chemicals were proving to be more toxic than previously thought.

Researchers knew that poisoning in the winter months was an unusual occurrence, as chemicals should have broken down following spring-time applications. Further studies, in partnership with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), found that the high acidity and frequent flooding of Valley soils contributed to slow chemical degradation rates. Chemicals could still be potent up to nine months after application, more than 50% longer than manufacturers’ guidelines. Waterfowl feeding intensively in Delta fields were exposed and poisoned through the normal application of the chemical, and quickly became a source of food for the large number of raptors in the area.

Transforming Knowledge into Action

The granular form of phorate was spread on fields to control pests but was easily ingested by waterfowl foraging in treated fields. Before these studies, phorate was thought to be a safer alternative to earlier anticholinesterase pesticides | Photo: Environment CanadaAs a result of this research, the manufacturer voluntarily withdrew phorate from the local market in 1994, and a Canada-wide ban has been scheduled for 2012. This was the first time that pesticide instructions were changed in Canada solely because of risk to non-target wildlife. However, the only replacement for regional farmers seemed like a poor solution; fonofos was also found to kill birds and, as a result of corporate decision making, was no longer being manufactured.

With options disappearing and pest management problems persisting, the local agricultural industry needed a solution. With the help of EC wildlife researchers, AAFC formed a committee in 1999 to discuss overall pesticide management issues in the Valley and to find a solution to break the problematic 40-year cycle of replacing harmful pesticides with other harmful pesticides.

The British Columbia Wireworm Task Force consists of NGOs, provincial and federal agencies, individual farmers, farmer organizations, and scientists. The Task Force assessed the science and recommended replacing fonofos with the less toxic chlorpyrifos, which has not been linked to raptor poisonings.

During the fonofos phase-out, AAFC started an education program, reaching out to local farmers to voluntarily stop using the chemical. The province’s pesticide disposal program, funded by government and industry groups, removed 33,000 kg of product from local sources.

Benefits to Canadians

Poisoned waterfowl were an easy and readily available food source for bald eagles in the region. As many as 30 raptors could be attracted to one carcass  | Photo: Environment CanadaThe coordinated response of the Task Force, the first group of its kind in Canada established in an agricultural context, led to a full understanding of the issue, and avoided decisions that could lead to pitfalls down the road. The unique collective efforts of the group helped secure the legal use of chlorpyrifos across Canada from the Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA), and provided the farming community with a timely solution that maintained production and reduced negative effects on wildlife.

Since the formulation of the Task Force, participants have been better able to pool their mandates, resources and funding, securing an additional $1.2 million for research into wireworm control methods, with $200,000 dedicated to monitoring wildlife exposure and effects of insecticides, mainly wireworm control agents. Collectively, they have begun to consider additional pest issues facing the local farming community, and by analyzing scientific findings, have found ways to apply pesticides to improve effectiveness.

Engaging stakeholders in an advisory capacity allows for clear identification of problems and research needs from a more comprehensive perspective and helps formulate consensus for solutions to combat pest problems. Cooperation and identification of safer and more appropriate strategies and tools allows farmers to maintain ecological integrity and long-term productivity of their land by monitoring pest levels and responding with actions in proportion to the problem. This includes applying safer chemicals, and only when and where needed, thus reducing the risk of exposure for non-target wildlife and humans alike. All Canadians benefit from agricultural productivity, healthy wildlife, reductions in pesticide exposure and a safer environment.

For more information:

Elliott, J.E., A.L. Birmingham, L.K. Wilson, M. McAdie, S. Trudeau and P. Mineau. 2007. Fonofos poisons raptors and waterfowl several months after granular application. Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 27(2): 452-460.

Elliott, J.E., L.K. Wilson, K.M. Langelier, P. Mineau and P.H. Sinclair. 1997. Secondary poisoning of birds of prey by the organophosphorus insecticide, phorate. Ecotoxicology 6: 219-231.

Elliott, J.E., K.M. Langelier, P. Mineau and L.K. Wilson. 1996. Poisoning of bald eagles and red-tailed hawks by carbofuran and fensulfothion in the Fraser Delta of British Columbia, Canada. Journal of Wildlife Diseases 32(3): 486-491.

Peterson, C.A., S.L. Lee and J.E. Elliott. 2001. Scavenging of waterfowl carcasses by birds in agricultural fields of British Columbia. Journal of Field Ornithology 72(1): 150-159.

Wilson, L.K., J.E. Elliott, R.S. Vernon, B.D. Smith and S.Y. Szeto. 2002. Persistence and retention of active ingredients in four granular cholinesterase-inhibiting insecticides in agricultural soils of the lower Fraser River Valley, British Columbia, Canada, with implications for wildlife poisoning. Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 21(2): 260-268.

Wilson, L.K., M. Harris and J.E. Elliott. 1999. Impact of agricultural pesticides on birds of prey in the Lower Fraser Valley, p. 101-108. In C. Gray and T. Tuominen (ed.), Health of the Fraser River Aquatic Ecosystem: A Synthesis of Research Conducted Under the Fraser River Action Plan. Environment Canada, BC DOE FRAP 1998-11.

Wilson, L.K., I.E. Moul, K.M. Langelier and J.E. Elliott. 1995. Summary of bird mortalities in British Columbia and Yukon, 1963-1994. Canadian Wildlife Service Technical Report Series No. 249. Environment Canada, Pacific and Yukon Region, Delta, B.C.

S&T Liaison | Tel 905 315 5228 | Fax 905 336 4420 | www.ec.gc.ca/scitech/S&Tintoaction
© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Environment, 2010.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Titre d'article
Auteur

Une nouvelle approche dans la gestion des pesticides : À la recherche de solutions de rechange plus sécuritaires à la suite des incidences observées sur les oiseaux

Par:  Courtney Price Liaison S-T

Télécharger le PDF (4.6 MB) | télécharger : lecteur gratuit

Le problème

La vallée du Bas-Fraser est la région agricole la plus productive de la Colombie-Britannique et un des plus importants habitats d'hivernage au Canada pour des milliers d'oiseaux qui s'alimentent dans les champs agricoles pendant leur migration. Les agriculteurs subissent d'énormes pressions pour demeurer concurrentiels et productifs dans une industrie agricole locale intensive de 700 millions de dollars, mais ils ont également besoin d'outils pour maintenir l'intégrité écologique des terres dont leur subsistance dépend.

Les pesticides ont servi pendant longtemps à améliorer le rendement des cultures dans la vallée du Fraser, mais les espèces non visées sont souvent exposées aux produits chimiques toxiques. Parmi les quelque 4000 décès d’oiseaux aquatiques, passereaux et oiseaux de proie dans le delta du fleuve Fraser qui ont fait l'objet d'une étude entre 1963 à 1994, 76 % ont été attribués à un empoisonnement par des pesticides.

Pygargue à tête blanche avec le talon recourbé, symptôme de l’exposition aux pesticides anticholinestérases | Photo : Environnement Canada

Au début des années 1990, on a signalé à Environnement Canada plusieurs cas de Pygargues à tête blanche et d'autres rapaces présentant des symptômes et des comportements n'ayant pas été observés auparavant dans la région; des oiseaux d'apparence saine avaient les serres fermées, de l'écume autour du bec, de petites pupilles et semblaient désorientés.

Un vétérinaire de la région, des toxicologues des espèces sauvages d'Environnement  Canada et d'autres chercheurs spécialisés dans le domaine de la faune ont soupçonné qu'il s'agissait d'un empoisonnement dû aux pesticides, mais la source était inconnue. Curieusement, les empoisonnements ont été observés en hiver, une période où il n'y avait peu ou aucune application de pesticides. La période inhabituelle, les symptômes bizarres et le grand nombre d'oiseaux touchés ont poussé les chercheurs à examiner le problème de plus près.

À la recherche de solutions au moyen des S et T

Sauvagine morte après l’ingestion de granules de pesticides anticholinestérases dans les champs de la vallée de la rivière Fraser | Photo : Environnement CanadaLes insecticides anticholinestérasiques ont été un outil simple et abordable pour tuer les organismes nuisibles, notamment la larve de taupin, qui s’attaque aux pommes de terre. Dès les années 1960, les agriculteurs appliquaient ces insecticides sous forme de granulés dans leurs champs. Au cours des 30 années suivantes, on a attribué à ces produits chimiques la mort d’environ 30 % des 12 600 oiseaux signalés morts dans la province, les oiseaux aquatiques et les passereaux représentant la majorité des espèces touchées.

En travaillant avec des spécialistes de la réadaptation des oiseaux sauvages et la collectivité agricole de la région dans les années 1990, les scientifiques d'Environnement Canada ont recueilli et examiné des centaines de rapaces morts ou blessés de la vallée et ils ont déterminé que l'empoisonnement par un insecticide anticholinestérasique était la cause principale des mortalités d’oiseaux signalées au cours des premières années de l'étude. Alors même que les fabricants raffinaient davantage la toxicité sélective des pesticides et que plusieurs pesticides anticholinestérasiques toxiques étaient remplacés par des pesticides moins nocifs, les insecticides anticholinestérasiques produits ultérieurement pouvaient toujours blesser ou tuer les espèces sauvages non visées, même lorsqu'ils étaient appliqués selon les directives indiquées sur les étiquettes des pesticides.

Des Pygargues à tête blanche se nourrissant de sauvagine morte | Photo : Environnement CanadaLes chercheurs ont supposé que les rapaces mouraient après avoir ingéré la sauvagine qui s'alimentait dans les champs traités avec les nouveaux produits chimiques soi-disant plus sécuritaires. Ils ont fait l’estimation prudente que chaque année de l’étude, plus de 560 espèces de sauvagine avaient subi un empoisonnement dû aux pesticides anticholinestérasiques. Représentant moins de la moitié d'un pour cent de la population locale totale, cette estimation n'était pas une menace pour les niveaux de population de la sauvagine, mais elle présentait un risque important pour les rapaces. Jusqu'à 30 rapaces peuvent être attirés par une carcasse de sauvagine, et puisque les populations de rapaces sont sensibles à la perte d'animaux en âge de reproduction, les niveaux de population de rapaces pourraient être touchés.

Les analyses du contenu de l'estomac et les analyses toxicologiques ont montré que les rapaces avaient consommé de la sauvagine contenant des concentrations létales de phorate, puis de fonofos, deux insecticides. Ces nouvelles formes de pesticides anticholinestérasiques moins toxiques ont été employées pour remplacer des pesticides plus toxiques, soit le carbofuran et le fensulfothion, retirés des marchés locaux à la fin des années 1980, parce qu'ils auraient empoisonné des espèces sauvages non visées. Toutefois, l’étude d'Environnement Canada montrait que les substances chimiques de substitution s’étaient avérées plus toxiques que ce que l'on pensait auparavant.

Les chercheurs savaient que l'empoisonnement pendant les mois d'hiver était un événement inhabituel, puisque les produits chimiques auraient dû se dégrader à la suite de leur application au printemps. D'autres études, en partenariat avec Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC), ont révélé que l'acidité élevée des sols de la vallée et leurs fréquentes inondations avaient contribué aux faibles taux de dégradation chimique. Les produits chimiques pouvaient conserver leur puissance jusqu'à neuf mois suivant l'application, ce qui est d’une durée supérieure de 50 % à celle des lignes directrices du fabricant. La sauvagine qui s'alimentait intensivement dans les champs du delta était exposée à l'application normale des produits chimiques, subissait un empoisonnement et devenait rapidement une source de nourriture pour les nombreux rapaces de la région.

Mettre les connaissances en application

La forme granulée de phorate a été étendue sur les champs comme mesure de contrôle des espèces nuisibles, mais était facilement ingérée par les espèces de sauvagine se nourrissant sur les champs traités. Avant les présentes études, le phorate était perçu comme étant une solution sécuritaire à l’utilisation antérieure de pesticides anticholinestérases | Photo : Environnement CanadaÀ la suite de cette recherche, le fabricant a volontairement retiré le phorate du marché local en 1994, et une interdiction pancanadienne est prévue en 2012. Il s'agissait de la première fois que les directives relatives aux pesticides étaient modifiées au Canada uniquement en raison du risque pour des espèces non visées. Toutefois, l'unique produit de remplacement pour les agriculteurs de la région semblait être une mauvaise solution; il a également été découvert que le fonofos tuait les oiseaux, et à la suite d'une décision ministérielle, il n'est plus fabriqué.

Puisque de moins en moins de produits étaient disponibles et que les problèmes liés à la lutte antiparasitaire persistaient, l'industrie agricole locale avait besoin d'une solution. À l'aide de chercheurs spécialisés dans le domaine de la faune d'Environnement Canada, AAC a formé un comité en 1999 afin de discuter des questions liées à la gestion générale des pesticides dans la vallée et de trouver une solution pour rompre le cycle problématique de 40 ans de remplacement de pesticides nocifs par d'autres pesticides nocifs.

Le Groupe de travail de la Colombie-Britannique sur la larve de taupin se compose d'organisations non gouvernementales, d'organismes provinciaux et fédéraux, d'agriculteurs individuels, d'organismes agricoles et de scientifiques. Le Groupe de travail a évalué les informations scientifiques et a recommandé de remplacer le fonofos par le chlorpyrifos, un insecticide moins toxique qui n'a pas été associé à l'empoisonnement des rapaces.

Pendant le retrait progressif du fonofos, AAC a mis sur pied un programme d'éducation pour sensibiliser les agriculteurs de la région à la cessation volontaire d’utilisation du produit chimique. Le programme d'élimination des pesticides de la province, financé par des groupes gouvernementaux et industriels, a permis de retirer 33 000 kg de produit des sources locales.

Avantages pour les Canadiens et Canadiennes

Les espèces de sauvagine empoisonnées étaient une source de nourriture facilement accessible pour les Pygargues à tête blanche de la région. Il peut y avoir autant que trente accipitridés attirés par une carcasse | Photo : Environnement CanadaL'intervention coordonnée du Groupe de travail, le premier groupe du genre au Canada à s’être établi dans un contexte agricole, a mené à la compréhension complète de l’enjeu et il a permis d’éviter des décisions qui auraient pu entraîner des pièges plus tard. Les efforts collectifs uniques déployés par le groupe ont aidé à garantir l'utilisation légale du chlorpyrifos partout au Canada par l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) et ont offert à la collectivité agricole une solution opportune qui a maintenu la production et qui a réduit les effets nocifs sur la faune.

Depuis la formation du Groupe de travail, les participants ont mieux réussi à mettre en commun leurs mandats, leurs ressources et leur financement, ce qui a permis d'obtenir 1,2 million de dollars de plus pour des recherches sur les méthodes de contrôle des larves de taupin, dont 200 000 $ consacrés à la surveillance de l'exposition de la faune aux insecticides et de ses effets sur celle-ci, plus particulièrement sa sensibilité aux agents de contrôle des larves de taupin. Les participants songent maintenant à se pencher sur d'autres problèmes liés aux organismes nuisibles auxquels est confrontée la collectivité agricole locale, et en analysant les constatations scientifiques, ils ont trouvé des moyens d'appliquer les pesticides afin d'améliorer la productivité des fermiers.

La participation des intervenants en tant que conseillers permet de déterminer clairement les problèmes et les besoins en matière de recherche d'un point de vue plus global et aide à trouver un terrain d’entente pour résoudre les problèmes liés à la lutte antiparasitaire. La coopération et la détermination de stratégies et d'outils plus sûrs et adéquats permettent aux agriculteurs de maintenir l'intégrité écologique et la productivité à long terme de leurs terres en surveillant la quantité d’organismes nuisibles et en réagissant à l'aide de mesures proportionnelles au problème. Ces mesures comprennent l'application de produits chimiques plus sécuritaires et seulement au moment et à l’endroit nécessaires, réduisant ainsi le risque d'exposition pour les espèces non visées et les êtres humains. Tous les Canadiens tirent profit de la productivité agricole, d'une faune saine, des réductions de l'exposition aux pesticides et d'un environnement plus sûr.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Elliott, J.E., A.L. Birmingham, L.K. Wilson, M. McAdie, S. Trudeau et P. Mineau. 2007. « Fonofos poisons raptors and waterfowl several months after granular application ». Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 27(2): 452-460.

Elliott, J.E., L.K. Wilson, K.M. Langelier, P. Mineau et P.H. Sinclair. 1997. « Secondary poisoning of birds of prey by the organophosphorus insecticide, phorate ». Ecotoxicology 6: 219-231.

Elliott, J.E., K.M. Langelier, P. Mineau et L.K. Wilson. 1996. « Poisoning of bald eagles and red-tailed hawks by carbofuran and fensulfothion in the Fraser Delta of British Columbia, Canada ». Journal of Wildlife Diseases 32(3): 486-491.

Peterson, C.A., S.L. Lee et J.E. Elliott. 2001. « Scavenging of waterfowl carcasses by birds in agricultural fields of British Columbia » Journal of Field Ornithology 72(1): 150-159.

Wilson, L.K., J.E. Elliott, R.S. Vernon, B.D. Smith et S.Y. Szeto. 2002. « Persistence and retention of active ingredients in four granular cholinesterase-inhibiting insecticides in agricultural soils of the lower Fraser River Valley, British Columbia, Canada, with implications for wildlife poisoning ». Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry 21(2): 260-268.

Wilson, L.K., M. Harris et J.E. Elliott. 1999. « Impact of agricultural pesticides on birds of prey in the Lower Fraser Valley, p. 101-108. Dans C. Gray et T. Tuominen (ed.), « Health of the Fraser River Aquatic Ecosystem: A Synthesis of Research Conducted Under the Fraser River Action Plan ». Environment Canada, BC DOE FRAP 1998-11.

Wilson, L.K., I.E. Moul, K.M. Langelier et J.E. Elliott. 1995. « Summary of bird mortalities in British Columbia and Yukon, 1963-1994 ». Canadian Wildlife Service Technical Report Series No. 249. Environment Canada, Pacific and Yukon Region, Delta, B.C.

Division de la liaison en S-T | Tél 905 315 5228 | Télécopieur 905 336 4420
www.ec.gc.ca/scitech/S-TauservicedesCanadiens
© Sa majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de l'environnement, 2010.