Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Great Lakes Surveillance Program

Program Overview

Specialized equipment is used for monitoring trace quantities of metals and organic contaminants that may be present in Great Lakes waters. Here, the ISOMET sampler, designed and constructed at Environment Canada, is used to sample trace metals in water. | © EC - Photo: Alice Dove
Specialized equipment is used for monitoring trace quantities
of metals and organic contaminants that may be present in
Great Lakes waters

Environment Canada conducts open lake cruises to provide information on water quality in the Great Lakes. The main objectives of the Great Lakes Surveillance Program are to ensure compliance with water quality objectives, evaluate water quality trends and identify emerging issues. The Surveillance Program is delivered as part of Canada’s commitment to the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement. The Program also responds to the needs of the binational Cooperative Science and Monitoring Initiative, the Lakewide Management Plans, the Binational Toxics Strategy and the Integrated Atmospheric Deposition Network.

The Great Lakes Surveillance Program, lead by scientists at the Ontario office of Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance, has monitored water quality in the Great Lakes for over 40 years. The program provides some of the most comprehensive, systematic and detailed information that is available in the world for large lakes.

In the on-board laboratory, samples for soluble nutrients are conducted immediately after sampling because it is known that the concentrations of these substances will change over time if kept in storage. Other samples are processed in the ship’s lab and later analyzed at the National Laboratory for Environmental Testing at the Canada Centre for Inland Waters in Burlington. | © EC - Photo: Alice Dove
In the on-board laboratory, samples for soluble
nutrients are conducted immediately after sampling

The first Great Lakes Surveillance cruises were conducted in 1962 on Lake Erie and 1965 on Lake Ontario, and the Surveillance Program was formally launched in 1968. Until 1974, data collection was of a research nature and the study objectives changed with each year. Since then, the surveillance program has been standardized, and monitoring is alternated between each of the Great Lakes (except for Lake Michigan, which is located entirely within the United States) so that each lake is generally monitored every second year, with multiple cruises conducted during the year (one spring cruise, one summer cruise and occasionally one fall cruise).

Water quality monitoring is conducted primarily from the CCGS Limnos, a research vessel with laboratory space and 24-hour sampling capacity. The monitored parameters include physical parameters (such as temperature, clarity, pH) nutrients, major ions, some biological parameters (such as chlorophyll-a), metals, and organic contaminants. Surveillance may also be conducted for selected compounds of emerging concern. The majority of the laboratory analyses are conducted by Environment Canada’s National Laboratory for Environmental Testing. The data are stored at the Canada Centre for Inland Waters in Burlington, Ontario, in the Storage And Retrieval Database and can be retrieved upon request.

The Rosette sampler is capable of sampling at up to six different depths per cast. Here, the water samples are drawn from the Rosette to containers for analysis in the laboratory | © EC - Photo: Alice Dove
The water samples are drawn from the Rosette to
containers for analysis in the laboratory

Monitored Parameters

Physical Parameters

  • Station depth
  • Dissolved oxygen and temperature depth profiles
  • Secchi disc depth

Major Ions and Nutrients (surface samples, depth profiles at selected stations)

  • Total phosphorus (filtered, unfiltered)
  • Alkalinity, pH
  • Magnesium, sodium, potassium, calcium
  • Dissolved silica, chloride, sulphate
  • Ammonia, nitrate-plus-nitrite, soluble reactive phosphorus (spring only)
  • Total Kjeldahl nitrogen

“Biological” Parameters (depth-integrated samples)

  • Chlorophyll a
  • Particulate organic carbon
  • Particulate organic nitrogen

Metals and Organics (spring cruises only, selected stations)

  • Trace metals (includes silver, aluminum, arsenic, boron, barium, beryllium, bismuth, cadmium, cobalt, chromium, copper, iron, gallium, lanthanum, lithium, manganese, molybdenum, nickel, lead, rubidium, antimony, selenium, strontium, thallium, uranium, vanadium, zinc)
  • Total mercury
  • Trace organics (including chlorinated benzenes, organochlorine pesticides, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons and polychlorinated biphenyls)
  • Current-use pesticides (at selected sites and on selected cruises only)

Monitoring Locations

Approximately 100 stations are monitored on Lake Ontario, 55 stations on Lake Erie, 68 stations on Lake Huron, and 26 stations on Georgian Bay. Approximately 73 stations were historically monitored on Lake Superior, but this has been reduced since the mid-1990s and currently approximately 50 stations are monitored. All regions of the lakes are monitored, including U.S. waters. The ship can access nearshore regions to a minimum depth of approximately seven metres.

Lake Superior Monitoring Locations

In Lake Superior, approximately 50 stations are currently sampled. Nutrients, major ions and physical parameters are monitored at all locations; additionally, organic contaminants and trace metals are monitored at the 14 stations shown in red. Monitoring stations are located on both sides of the international border. © Environment Canada

Lake Huron and Georgian Bay Monitoring Locations

In Lake Huron, approximately 68 stations are currently sampled, and 26 stations are monitored in Georgian Bay. Nutrients, major ions and physical parameters are monitored at all locations; in addition, organic contaminants and trace metals are monitored at the stations shown in red. Monitoring stations are located on both sides of the international border through Lake Huron. Georgian Bay is the large bay located to the east of Lake Huron; the North Channel is considered part of Lake Huron and is located at the top of the graphic, north of Manitoulin Island.© Environment Canada

Lake Erie Monitoring Locations

In Lake Erie, approximately 55 stations are currently sampled. Stations are located in three basins, demarcated by lines drawn through the lake: West, Central and East basins. Monitoring stations are located on both sides of the international border, and organic contaminants and trace metals are additionally monitored at the stations shown in red. Monitoring is conducted on both sides of the international border. © Environment Canada

Lake Ontario Monitoring Locations

In Lake Ontario, approximately 100 stations are currently sampled. Nutrients and major ions are monitored at all locations, and organic contaminants and trace metals are additionally monitored at the 23 stations shown in red. Monitoring stations are located on both sides of the international border, and also include stations in the Toronto Harbour (top inset) and Hamilton Harbour (bottom inset).© Environment Canada

Recent Publications

Struger, J., S. L’Italien and E. Sverko. In-use Pesticide Concentrations in Surface Waters of the Laurentian Great Lakes, 1994-2000. Ecosystem Health Division, Environmental Conservation Branch, Ontario Region, Burlington, Ontario, 2003. Report No.: EHD/ECB-OR/03-04/I.

Marvin, C., S. Painter, D. Williams, V. Richardson, R. Rossmann and P. Van Hoof. 2004. Spatial and temporal trends in surface water and sediment contamination in the Laurentian Great Lakes. Environmental Pollution 129: 131-144.

Holeck, K.T., J.M. Watkins, E.L. Mills, O. Johannsson, S. Millard, V. Richardson and K. Bowen. 2008. Spatial and long-term temporal assessment of Lake Ontario water clarity, nutrients, chlorophyll a, and zooplankton. Aquatic Ecosystem Health & Management 11(4): 377-391.

Chapra, S.C., A. Dove and D.C. Rockwell. 2009. Great Lakes chloride trends: Long-term mass balance and loading analysis. Journal of Great Lakes Research 35: 272-284.

Dove, A. 2009. Long-term trends in major ions and nutrients in Lake Ontario. Aquatic Ecosystem Health Management 12(3): 1-15.

Dove, A., S. L’Italien and D. Gilroy. Great Lakes Surveillance Program Field Methods Manual, Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance, Environment Canada, Burlington, Ontario, Canada. Report No. WQMS-09-001.

Malkin, S.Y., A. Dove, D. Depew, R.E. Smith, S.J. Guildford and R.E. Hecky. 2010. Spatiotemporal patterns of water quality in Lake Ontario and their implications for nuisance growth of Cladophora. Journal of Great Lakes Research, doi:10,1016/j.jglr.2010.06.007

Gao, H., J. Ma, Z. Cao, A. Dove and L. Zhang. Trend and climate signals in seasonal air concentrations of organochlorine pesticides over the Great Lakes. Journal of Geophysical Research – Atmospheres. In press.

Data

All Great Lakes Surveillance Program data are stored at the Canada Centre for Inland Waters in Burlington, Ontario, in the Storage And Retrieval Database and can be retrieved upon request.

Contact: GLSP-PSGL@ec.gc.ca

Binational.Net - Binational.net is a collaboration between the United States Environmental Protection Agency and Environment Canada, to provide a single window for information on joint Great Lakes programs.

Envrionment Canada: Great Lakes

United States Environmental Protection Agency: Great Lakes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Programme de surveillance des Grands Lacs

Aperçu du programme

De l’équipement spécialisé est utilisé pour contrôler les quantités traces de métaux et de contaminants organiques possiblement présents dans les eaux des Grands Lacs. Ici, l’échantillonneur ISOMET, conçu et construit chez Environnement Canada, est utilisé pour échantillonner les métaux traces dans l’eau. © EC - Photo : Alice Dove
De l’équipement spécialisé est utilisé pour contrôler les quantités
traces de métaux et de contaminants organiques possiblement
présents dans les eaux des Grands Lacs.

Environnement Canada effectue des croisières en eaux lacustres libres afin de fournir des renseignements sur la qualité de l’eau des Grands Lacs. Les objectifs principaux du programme sont d’assurer la conformité aux objectifs de la qualité de l’eau, d’évaluer les tendances en la matière et d’identifier les nouveaux enjeux. Le programme de surveillance est mis en œuvre dans le cadre de l’engagement du Canada à l’égard de l’Accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs auquel le Canada et les États-Unis sont parties prenantes. Ce programme répond aussi aux besoins de l’Initiative des sciences coopératives et de surveillance binationale, des Plans d’aménagement panlacustre, de la Stratégie binationale des toxiques et du Réseau de mesure des dépôts atmosphériques.

Le programme de surveillance des Grands Lacs, mené par des scientifiques du bureau de la surveillance de la qualité de l’eau de la région de l’Ontario, contribue à surveiller la qualité de l’eau des Grands Lacs depuis plus de 40 ans. Le programme fournit des renseignements parmi les plus complets, systématiques et détaillés qui soient disponibles au monde dans le domaine des grands lacs.

Les analyses pour les nutriments solubles sont effectuées dans le laboratoire à bord immédiatement après l’échantillonnage, parce que les concentrations de ces substances sont réputées changer au fil du temps si elles sont entreposées. Les autres échantillons sont traités dans le laboratoire du navire et sont plus tard analysés au Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux au Centre canadien des eaux intérieures à Burlington. © EC - Photo : Alice Dove
Les analyses pour les nutriments solubles sont effectuées
dans le laboratoire à bord immédiatement après
l’échantillonnage, parce que les concentrations de ces substances
sont réputées changer au fil du temps si elles sont entreposées

Les premières croisières de surveillance des Grands Lacs ont été menées en 1962 sur le lac Érié, et en 1965 sur le lac Ontario, et le programme de surveillance a été formellement lancé en 1968 (Kwiatkowski and Neilson, 1983). Jusqu’à 1974, cependant, la collecte de données a été orientée vers la recherche, et les objectifs d’étude ont ainsi changé à tous les ans. Depuis lors, le programme de surveillance a été normalisé, et le suivi alterne entre chacun des Grands Lacs (sauf pour le lac Michigan, qui est entièrement localisé à l’intérieur des États-Unis), de sorte que chacun des lacs soit généralement suivi à tous les deux ans, avec de multiples croisières conduites au cours de l’année (une au printemps, une à l’été, et occasionnellement une à l’automne).

La surveillance de la qualité de l’eau est effectuée principalement à partir du NGCC Limnos, un navire de recherche qui dispose d’espace de laboratoire et qui est en mesure de recueillir des échantillons 24 heures sur 24. On surveille notamment certains paramètres physiques (température, transparence, pH), les éléments nutritifs, les principaux ions, certains paramètres biologiques (concentration de chlorophylle-a), les métaux et les contaminants organiques. D’autres composés qui suscitent des préoccupations pourraient également être surveillés. Les analyses de laboratoire sont réalisées en majorité par la Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux d’Environnement Canada. Les données sont conservées dans la base de données Storage and Retrieval, au Centre canadien des eaux intérieures à Burlington (Ontario) et elles peuvent être extraites sur demande.

L’échantillonneur Rosette est capable d’échantillonner jusqu’à six différentes profondeurs par lancée. Ici, les échantillons d’eau sont transférés de la Rosette aux contenants pour l’analyse en laboratoire. © EC - Photo : Alice Dove
Les échantillons d’eau sont transférés de la Rosette
aux contenants pour l’analyse en laboratoire

Paramètres contrôlés

Paramètres physiques:

  • Profondeur de la station
  • Profils de l’oxygène dissous et de la température selon la profondeur
  • Profondeur d'après le disque de Secchi

Pricipaux ions et éléments nutritifs (échantillons de surface, profils selon la profondeur à des stations choisies) :

  • Phosphore total (filtré, non filtré)
  • Alcalinité, pH
  • Magnésium, sodium, potassium, calcium
  • Silice dissoute, chlorure, sulfate
  • Ammoniac, nitrites et nitrates, phosphore réactif soluble (au printemps seulement)
  • Azote kjeldahl total

Paramètres biologiques (échantillons intégrant la profondeur):

  • Chlorophylle-a
  • Carbone organique particulaire
  • Azote organique particulaire

Métaux et composés organiques (lors des croisières du printemps seulement, à des stations choisies):

  • Métaux traces (incluent l'antimoine, l’argent, l’aluminium, l’arsenic, le bore, le baryum, le béryllium, le bismuth, le cadmium, le cobalt, le chrome, le cuivre, le fer, le gallium, le lanthane, le lithium, le manganèse, le molybdène, le nickel, le plomb, le rubidium, le sélénium, le strontium, le thallium, l’uranium, le vanadium, le zinc)
  • Mercure total
  • Composés organiques traces (incluant les benzènes chlorés, les pesticides organochlorés, les hydrocarbures aromatiquespolycycliques et les biphényles polychlorés)
  • Les pesticides en usage courant (aux sites et croisières choisis seulement)

Stations de surveillance

Le lac Ontario compte environ 100 stations de surveillance, le lac Érié 55 stations, le lac Huron 68 stations et la baie Georgienne 26 stations. Par le passé, environ 73 stations de surveillance existaient sur le lac Supérieur, mais ce nombre a été réduit depuis le milieu des années 1990 et se chiffre actuellement à environ 50 stations. Toutes les régions des lacs sont contrôlées, incluant les eaux américaines. Le navire peut atteindre les zones à proximité des côtes jusqu’à une profondeur minimale d’environ sept mètres.

Localisation des stations de surveillance du lac Supérieur

Dans le lac Supérieur, environ 50 stations sont présentement échantillonnées. Les nutriments et les ions majeurs sont contrôlés à toutes les stations, et les contaminants organiques et les métaux traces sont contrôlés à 14 stations. Les stations de monitoring sont situées des deux côtés de la frontière internationale. © Environment Canada

Localisation des stations de surveillance du lac Huron et de la baie Georgienne

Dans le lac Huron, environ 68 stations sont présentement échantillonnées, et 26 stations dans la baie Georgienne. Les nutriments, les ions majeurs et les paramètres physiques sont contrôlés à toutes les stations; de plus, les contaminants organiques et les métaux traces sont contrôlés aux stations indiquées en rouge. Les stations de suivi sont situées des deux côtés de la frontière internationale traversant le lac Huron. La baie Georgienne est la grande baie située à l’est du lac Huron; le North Channel est considéré comme faisant partie du lac Huron et est situé au haut du graphique, au nord de l’île Manitoulin. © Environment Canada

Localisation des stations de surveillance du lac Érié

Dans le lac Érié, environ 55 stations sont présentement échantillonnées. Les stations sont situées dans les bassins Ouest, Central et Est du lac. Les nutriments et les ions majeurs sont contrôlés à toutes les stations, et les contaminants organiques et les métaux traces sont contrôlés à 20 stations, chaque bassin étant représenté. Les stations de monitoring sont situées des deux côtés de la frontière internationale. © Environment Canada

Localisation des stations de surveillance du lac Ontario

Dans le lac Ontario, environ 100 stations sont présentement échantillonnées. Les nutriments et les ions majeurs sont contrôlés à toutes les stations, et les contaminants organiques et les métaux traces sont contrôlés à 23 stations. Les stations de monitoring sont situées des deux côtés de la frontière internationale, et incluent les stations du havre de Toronto et du havre Hamilton. © Environment Canada

Publications récentes

STRUGER, J., S. L’ITALIEN et E. SVERKO. In-use Pesticide Concentrations in Surface Waters of the Laurentian Great Lakes, 1994-2000. Santé des écosystèmes, Conservation de l’environnement, région de l’Ontario, Environnement Canada. Rapport no EHD/ECB-OR/03-04/I.

MARVIN, C., S. PAINTER, D. WILLIAMS, V. RICHARDSON, R. ROSSMANN et P. VAN HOOF. Spatial and temporal trends in surface water and sediment contamination in the Laurentian Great Lakes, Environmental Pollution, no 129, 2004, p. 131-144.

HOLECK, K.T., J.M. WATKINS, E.L. MILLS, O. JOHANNSSON, S. MILLARD, V. RICHARDSON et K. BOWEN. Spatial and long-term temporal assessment of Lake Ontario water clarity, nutrients, chlorophyll a, and zooplankton, Aquatic Ecosystem Health and Management, vol. 11, no 4, 2008, p. 377-391.

CHAPRA, S.C., A. DOVE et D.C. ROCKWELL. Great Lakes chloride trends: Long-term mass balance and loading analysis, Journal of Great Lakes Research, no 35, 2009, p. 272-284.

DOVE, A. Long-term trends in major ions and nutrients in Lake Ontario. Aquatic Ecosystem Health and Management, vol. 12, no 3, 2009, p. 1-15.

DOVE, A., S. L’ITALIEN et D. GILROY. Great Lakes Surveillance Program Field Methods Manual. Surveillance de la qualité de l’eau, Environnement Canada. Rapport no WQMS-09-001.

MALKIN, S.Y., A. DOVE, D. DEPEW, R.E. SMITH, S.J. GUILDFORD et R.E. HECKY. Spatiotemporal patterns of water quality in Lake Ontario and their implications for nuisance growth of Cladophora, Journal of Great Lakes Research, 2010 doi:10,1016/j.jglr.2010.06.007 

GAO, H., J. MA, Z. CAO, A. DOVE et L. ZHANG. Trend and climate signals in seasonal air concentrations of organochlorine pesticides over the Great Lakes. Journal of Geophysical Research – Atmospheres. Sous presse.

Données

Toutes les données du programme de surveillance des Grands Lacs sont entreposées dans la base de données Storage and Retrieval, au Centre canadien des eaux intérieures de Burlington (Ontario) et peuvent être extraites sur demande.

Renseignements : GLSP-PSGL@ec.gc.ca

Liens connexes

Binational.Net - Le Binational.net est né de la collaboration entre l’Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis et Environnement Canada en vue de fournir un guichet unique d’information sur les programmes conjoints portant sur les Grands Lacs.

Environnement Canada : Grands Lacs

United States Environmental Protection Agency: Great Lakes