Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Article Title

Water Science News – Fall 2011

Science information for water professionals, policy and decision makers, and others interested in effective management of Canada’s water resources

For those interested in the conservation and management of Canada’s wildlife and habitats, click here to view and sign up for the quarterly Wildlife and Landscape Science News.

In this Issue:

Science Notes

Recent Publications

About this e-news


Science Notes

Items in this e-newsletter with hyperlinked titles have been published recently in Environmental Science News, a web-based update on new science and technology at Environment Canada. Subscribe to the RSS Feed

Bloody Red Shrimp - An Invasive Species in the Great Lakes Now Found in the St. Lawrence River

Bloody red shrimp | © J. Marty, St. Lawrence River InstituteThe bloody red shrimp (Hemimysis anomala) has invaded all of the Great Lakes except for Lake Superior. Sampling shows the highest numbers in Canadian waters are in the Port of Montréal.  Given its high level of activity, the port could represent a key ...


Testing of oil-spill chemical dispersants | © ECOil Spill Planning in the Canadian Beaufort Sea Region

A recent workshop, Dispersant Use in the Canadian Beaufort Sea, held in Inuvik (Northwest Territories), provided major stakeholders with an understanding of chemical oil spill dispersants and considered the environmental effects and benefits of using dispersants to respond to oil spills ...


Award Presented to Environment Canada Researchers for Work on Microbial Source Tracking

A Toronto-area beach occupied by numerous gulls, and cormorants | © EC, Tom EdgeDr. Tom Edge and Stephen Hill have been awarded a Scientific and Technical Achievement Award from the United States Environmental Protection Agency for their recent research publications on microbial source tracking.  Environment Canada and United States Environmental Protection Agency researchers applied genomics techniques to discover ...


Confocal Laser Scanning Microscopy image showing general live (green) and dead (red) cells associated with eroded floc (laboratory flume experiment) | © University of Guelph, Mahendran BasuvarajIdentifying Sources of Pathogens – Role of Sediments (Interactions between Sediment and Water)

Work completed in collaboration with scientists from McMaster, Guelph, and Ryerson universities has led Dr. Ian G. Droppo to conclude that river bed sediment can represent a significant source of pathogenic organisms to the water column ...


Photo showing three species that are representative of native species (the good: logperch), invaders (the bad: Round Goby), and parasites (the ugly: Acanthocephalan) | © EC, Andrée GendronNative Species, Invaders, and Parasites: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

Environment Canada scientists have discovered that populations of Round Goby (Neogobius melanostomus) recently introduced in the St. Lawrence River were considerably less parasitized than two indigenous fish species, whereas the Round Goby is highly infected with parasites in its native range...


Photo of researcher in the North | © EC, P. MarshPresenting Results of Five Years of Research in the North

Improved Processes and Parameterization for Prediction in Cold Regions (2006–2011) is a research network devoted to improving understanding of cold regions hydrometeorology ...


Algae and Omega-3 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids: A Double Edged Sword? Implications Scenic photo looking towards Lake Ontario | © Janet Jardinefor Fisheries, Foodwebs, and Foul Odours

... focused on compounds produced largely by golden algae, and showed that they can have significant and sometimes insidious socioeconomic and ecological impacts at several foodweb levels, and potentially affect recruitment success of commercially important fish species such as salmon ...


Recent Publications

State of Lake Winnipeg: 1997 to 2007 Report CoverRelease of State of Lake Winnipeg: 1999 to 2007 Report

Environment Canada and Manitoba Water Stewardship have released the State of Lake Winnipeg report, the first comprehensive assessment of the physical, chemical and biological characteristics of Lake Winnipeg since intensive monitoring began in the late 1990s. The report documents research and monitoring on Lake Winnipeg’s water quality, water levels, algae growth, climate conditions, and emerging issues, and will serve as an important reference to measure progress to restore the health of Lake Winnipeg. 

The report, a deliverable under EC's Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative, is a collaboration by researchers from government, universities and non-governmental organizations. Lucie Levesque, Malcolm Conly and John Lawrence led EC’s efforts. Technical and highlights reports are available in CD format or online from either EC's Publication Catalogue or Manitoba Water Stewardship. CD and printed copies are also available from Nancy Hnatiuk at the Lake Winnipeg Basin Office (204-983-4819; Nancy.Hnatiuk@ec.gc.ca).


Physical Processes in Natural Waters

A conference proceedings of the 15th International Workshop on Physical Processes in Natural Waters, held In July in Burlington is now available. Environment Canada, in collaboration with the University of Guelph, organized the meeting, which focused on physical processes and Physical Processes in Natural Waters group photo | © ECthe linkages to ecosystem processes and water quality in lakes. Water and atmospheric scientists presented recent work on management of taste and odour problems in drinking water; dispersion of wastewater in lakes; algal bloom development; sustainable aquaculture; the impact of river plumes on nearshore water quality and attached algae in the nearshore environment; and impacts of extreme climate conditions and episodic events in the lakes. Selected presentations will be published as a special issue of the Water Quality Research Journal of Canada.


Temporal Comparison of Benthic Conditions within Two Areas of Concern

Two new publications are available that compare benthic conditions in 2009 with those from 2003 in two Areas of Concern and are available in PDF from Danielle Milani, (Danielle.Milani@ec.gc.ca, 905-336-4760) of Aquatic Ecosystem Impacts Research:

Benthic invertebrate sampling in Nipigon Bay | © EC1. Nipigon Bay Area of Concern:

Milani, D., and L. Grapentine. 2011. Benthic Conditions in the Nipigon Bay Area of Concern in 2009 and Comparison to 2003. Environment Canada, National Water Research Institute, Burlington, Ontario, WSTD Contribution No. 11-076.

2. Spanish Harbour Area of Concern:

Milani, D. 2011. Benthic Conditions in the Spanish Harbour Area of Concern in 2009 and comparison to 2003. Environment Canada, National Water Research Institute, Burlington, Ontario, WSTD Contribution No. 11-070.


State of the Saint John River Report Now Available

View upstream along the Saint John River, NB | © Wendy MonkThe Canadian Rivers Institute's State of the Saint John River Report, which includes contributions from Environment Canada (Dr. Donald Baird and Dr. Wendy Monk [river habitats chapter), and Dr. Joseph Culp, Mr. Eric Luiker, and Mr. David Hryn [primary production chapter] of the Aquatic Ecosystem Impacts Research Division), is now available to download from the Canadian Rivers Institute website:

http://www.unb.ca/research/institutes/cri/_resources/pdfs/criday2011/cri_sjr_soe_final.pdf


About this e-News

To forge better links between water science and water policy, this free newsletter produced by S&T Liaison provides timely information on the research activities of Environment Canada's Water Science and Technology Directorate to water professionals, policy and decision makers, governments, and other groups involved with managing water resources effectively.

Privacy – Environment Canada will not sell or trade your email address.

Contact – Please send questions and comments to Janet Jardine, Science and Technology Liaison.

Subscribe | Unsubscribe To sign up for email notification of new issues, send an email message with subject and body left blank.

S&T Liaison | Tel 905 336-4780 | Fax 905 336-4420

Environment Canada | 867 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington, ON Canada L7R 4A6

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Titre d'article

Science de l'eau – Nouvelles : Automne 2011

Information scientifique destinée aux spécialistes de l'eau, décideurs et responsables despolitiques, et autres parties intéressées dans la gestion efficace des ressources hydriques du Canada

Si vous vous intéressez à la conservation et à la gestion de la faune et des habitats du Canada, cliquez ici pour consulter et pour vous abonner au bulletin trimestriel Nouvelles de la science faunique et paysagère.

Dans le présent numéro :

Notes sur la science

Publications récentes

Au sujet de ces nouvelles en direct


Notes sur la science

Les sujets contenus dans le présent bulletin électronique comprenant des titres hyperliés ont été communiqués récemment dans les Nouvelles en sciences de l'environnement, une mise à jour en ligne des nouveautés en sciences et en technologie à Environnement Canada. Inscrivez-vous au fil RSS.

Le mysidacé tacheté - une espèce envahissante de l'écosystème des Grands Lacs qui setrouve maintenant dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent

Le mysidacé tacheté | © J. Marty, St. Lawrence River InstituteLe mysidacé tacheté (Hemimysis anomala) a envahi tous les Grands Lacs, à l'exception du lac Supérieur. Selon l'échantillonnage dans les eaux canadiennes, cette espèce se trouve en plus grande abondance au port de Montréal. Étant donné son niveau d'activité élevé, le port pourrait représenter une source clé de ...


Lest tests des agents chimiques de dispersion des déversements d'hydrocarbures | © ECPlanification en cas de déversement d'hydrocarbures dans la région canadienne de la mer de Beaufort

Un récent atelier, intitulé « Dispersant Use in the Canadian Beaufort Sea » et tenu à Inuvik (Territoires du Nord-Ouest), a permis aux principaux intervenants de comprendre les agents chimiques de dispersion des déversements d'hydrocarbures et a examiné les conséquences et les avantages pour l'environnement de l'utilisation d'agents dispersants pour faire face aux déversements d'hydrocarbures ...


Prix présenté aux chercheurs d'Environnement Canada pour leur travail sur le dépistage des sources de pollution microbienne

Une plage de la région de Toronto occupé par les mouettes nombreuses, et les cormorans | © EC, Tom EdgeTom Edge, Ph. D., et Stephen Hill ont reçu un prix pour réalisations scientifiques et techniques que leur a décerné l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis pour leurs récentes publications de recherche sur le dépistage des sources de pollution microbienne. Les chercheurs d'Environnement Canada et de l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis ont utilisé des techniques de génomique afin de découvrir ...


Image par microscopie confocale à balayage montrant des cellules vivantes (vertes) et mortes (rouges) associées à un floc érodé (expérience de canal en laboratoire) | © Université de Guelph, Mahendran BasuvarajSources d'agents pathogènes : rôle des sédiments (Interactions entre les sédiments et l'eau)

Les travaux effectués en collaboration avec des scientifiques des universités McMaster et Ryerson et de l’Université de Guelph ont permis à Ian G. Droppo, Ph. D, de conclure que les sédiments du lit des rivières peuvent représenter une source importante d'organismes pathogènes dans la colonne d'eau...


Photo montrant trois espèces qui sont des exemples représentatifs des espèces indigènes (le bon : Percina caprodes), les envahisseurs (la brut : Neogobius melanostomus), et les parasites (l'inconnu: Acanthocepohalan) | © EC, Andrée GendronLes espèces indigènes, les envahisseurs et les parasites : les bons, les mauvais et les terribles…

Des scientifiques d’Environnement Canada ont découvert que les populations de gobie à taches noires (Neogobius melanostomus) récemment introduites dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent étaient considérablement moins parasitées que deux espèces de poissons indigènes, alors que le gobie à taches noires est fortement visé par les parasites dans sa zone d'habitat naturelle ...


Photo de chercheurs dans le Nord | © ECPrésentation des résultats de cinq années de recherche dans le Nord

L'Amélioration des processus et du paramétrage de prévisions dans les régions froides (2006–2011) est un réseau de recherche consacré à mieux faire comprendre l'hydrométéorologie des régions froides ...


La recherche sur les émissions de gaz d'échappement des navires soutient la prise de Photo panoramique en regardant vers le lac Ontario | © Janet Jardinedécisions réglementaire et stratégique aux échelles nationale et internationale

... axée sur les composés produits en grande partie par l'algue dorée, a montré que ces derniers pouvaient se répercuter grandement et parfois de façon insidieuse sur le plan tant socioéconomique qu’écologique, et ce, à plusieurs niveaux du réseau trophique ...


Publications récentes

La couverture du rapport sur l'état du lac Winnipeg de 1999 à 2007 Publication du rapport sur l'état du lac Winnipeg de 1999 à 2007

Environnement Canada et Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba ont publié un rapport sur l'état du lac Winnipeg intitulé État du lac Winnipeg. Il s’agit de la première évaluation complète des caractéristiques physiques, chimiques et biologiques du lac Winnipeg depuis le début de la surveillance intensive entreprise à la fin des années 1990. Le rapport décrit la recherche et la surveillance effectuées concernant la qualité de l'eau, les niveaux d'eau, la croissance des algues, les conditions climatiques et les problèmes émergents du lac Winnipeg. Il servira de référence importante pour mesurer les progrès en vue de restaurer la santé du lac Winnipeg.

Le rapport, bien livrable dans le cadre de l'Initiative du bassin du lac Winnipeg d'Environnement Canada, est une collaboration de chercheurs du gouvernement, d'universités et d’organisations non gouvernementales. Lucie Lévesque, Malcolm Conly et John Lawrence ont dirigé les efforts d'Environnement Canada. Le rapport, publié sous forme de document technique et de faits saillants, est disponible en format CD ou en ligne dans le Catalogue des publications d'Environnement Canada ou auprès de Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba. Des CD et des exemplaires peuvent aussi être obtenus auprès de Nancy Hnatiuk au Bureau du bassin du lac Winnipeg (204-983-4819; Nancy.Hnatiuk@ec.gc.ca).


Processus physiques dans les eaux naturelles

Un compte rendu du 15e atelier international sur les processus physiques dans les eaux naturelles (15th International Workshop on Physical Processes in Natural Waters), tenu en juillet à Burlington, est maintenant disponible. Environnement Canada, en collaboration avec l'Université de Guelph, a organisé la rencontre, qui était axée sur les processus physiques et les Photo de groupe participant à l’atelier sur les processus physiques dans les eaux naturelles | © Environnement Canadaliens avec les processus écosystémiques et la qualité de l'eau des lacs. Des scientifiques spécialisés dans les domaines de l'eau et de l'atmosphère ont présenté des travaux récents sur les problèmes de goût et d'odeur dans l'eau potable; la dispersion des eaux usées dans les lacs; la prolifération des algues; l'aquaculture durable; l'incidence des panaches fluviaux sur la qualité des eaux littorales et les algues fixées dans le milieu littoral, ainsi que les répercussions des conditions climatiques extrêmes et des événements épisodiques dans les lacs. Des présentations seront publiées à titre de numéro spécial du Water Quality Research Journal of Canada.


Comparaison temporelle des conditions benthiques dans deux secteurs préoccupants

Deux nouvelles publications qui comparent les conditions benthiques de 2009 à celles de 2003 dans deux secteurs préoccupants sont disponibles en format PDF auprès de Danielle Milani, (Danielle.Milani@ec.gc.ca, 905-336-4760) de la Division de la recherche sur les conséquences pour les écosystèmes aquatiques :

Échantillonnage d’invertébrés benthiques dans la baie Nipigon | © Environnement Canada1. Secteur préoccupant de la baie Nipigon :

Milani, D., et L. Grapentine. 2011. Benthic Conditions in the Nipigon Bay Area of Concern in 2009 and Comparison to 2003. Environnement Canada, Institut national de recherche sur les eaux, Burlington (Ontario), Collection de la Direction des sciences et de la technologie de l’eau (DSTE) no11-076.

2. Secteur préoccupant de port de Spanish :

Milani, D. 2011. Benthic Conditions in the Spanish Harbour Area of Concern in 2009 and comparison to 2003. Environnement Canada, Institut national de recherche sur les eaux, Burlington (Ontario), Collection de la DSTE no11-070.


Rapport sur l'état de la rivière Saint-Jean maintenant disponible

Vue en amont le long de la rivière Saint-Jean, au Nouveau-Brunswick | © Wendy MonkLe rapport du Canadian Rivers Institute sur l'état de la rivière Saint-Jean, intitulé State of the Saint John River Report, comprend des contributions de la Division de la recherche sur les conséquences pour les écosystèmes aquatiques d’Environnement Canada, soit plus précisément de Donald Baird, Ph. D., et de Wendy Monk, Ph. D. (chapitre sur les habitats fluviaux) ainsi que de Joseph Culp, Ph. D., d’Eric Luiker et de David Hryn (chapitre sur la production primaire). Le rapport peut être téléchargé dès maintenant à partir du site Web du Canadian Rivers Institute :

http://www.unb.ca/research/institutes/cri/_resources/pdfs/criday2011/cri_sjr_soe_final.pdf


Au sujet de ces nouvelles en direct

Pour tisser de meilleurs liens entre la science et la politique de l’eau, ce bulletin d’information gratuit produit par Liaison en sciences et technologie fournit aux professionnels de l’eau de l’information d’actualité sur les activités de recherche de la Direction des sciences et de la technologie de l’eau d’Environnement Canada aux professionnels de l’eau, aux décideurs et aux responsables des politiques, aux gouvernements, et aux autres groupes impliqués dans la gestion efficace des ressources en eau.

Respect de la vie privée – Environnement Canada ne fera pas la vente ni le commerce de votre adresse de courriel.

Contact – Veuillez faire parvenir vos questions et vos commentaires à Janet Jardine, Liaison avec la science et la technologie.

Abonner | Désabonner Pour recevoir l'avis par courriel annonçant les nouvelles publications, envoyez un courriel et laissez l'objet et le corps du message en blanc.

Liaison S-T | Tél 905 336-4780 | Téléc 905 336-4420

Environnement Canada | 867 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington (Ontario) Canada L7R 4A6