Article Title

July / August 2009

Science information for water professionals, policy and decision makers and others interested in effective management of Canada’s water resources

July / August 2009

 

Science Notes

EC’s Science & Technology RSS feed: An useful new tool for S&T users

  • The S&T Liaison Division of the S&T Strategies Directorate has just launched an RSS feed, “What’s new in Environment Canada S&T."  EC’s S&T website provides up-to-date information to users of S&T, including governments, environmental regulators, policy- and decision-makers, land-use planners, researchers, and industry. This RSS feed gives speedy access to new content.
  • Click here to subscribe to EC’s S&T RSS feed and stay up to date!

Overview of the State of the St. Lawrence River, 2008

  • Overview of the State of the St. Lawrence River - report cover The Quebec Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance Division and partners have released the latest results of the State of the St. Lawrence Monitoring Program through the most recent Overview of the State of the St. Lawrence River, 2008. This diagnosis showed that the St. Lawrence River is judged to be in good to moderately good health for most environmental indicators, including water and sediment quality, water levels, safety of potential swimming sites, and status of bird populations. However, the situation of shore erosion, freshwater fish communities, and toxic contamination of water in some agricultural tributaries is more worrisome, as is the case for emerging substances like polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs), whose concentrations are increasing in all compartments of the ecosystem.

Environment Canada’s S&T Expertise – Online

  • Scientists and technical professionals at Environment Canada work together and with external collaborators to produce data and knowledge essential for policies, regulations, enforcement, and federal and international codes and standards to protect the environment.  Read about their current research and other S&T activities, awards, affiliations, professional interests, and key publications, searchable by area of expertise, in S&T Expert; or view a listing focussing on EC’s Water S&T Experts.

Public Forum on Cyanobacteria (Blue-Green Algae) Blooms in Sudbury

  • Example of an algal bloom (Buffalo Pound Lake, SK) | Photo: Sue WatsonDr. Sue Watson gave an invited presentation, Harmful Algal Blooms (HABs): facts, fiction and fixes, at a recent public forum on cyanobacteria blooms in Sudbury, hosted by the Nickel District Conservation Authority. The meeting was organized in response to public concern and requests for information about an increased number of blooms reported from lakes in the Greater Sudbury Area including Ramsey Lake, one of the major sources of drinking water for the City.
  • The meeting was attended by the Ontario Ministry of the environment, City of Sudbury, Laurentian University, the Nickel District Conservation Authority and local property owners and source water protection groups. Dr. Watson provided information about the organisms responsible for these blooms, how to recognize them, their ecology, toxicology and impacts on aquatic ecosystems and aesthetics (including taste-odour), the risks to humans and animals, and the factors controlling these outbreaks. The talk highlighted the importance of risk reduction through vigilance, coupled with long-term nutrient management and stewardship–beginning at the individual and community levels.

Yukon Wetlands – a New Bioassessment Project

  • Scientists collecting information at a CABIN site in the NWT | Photo: Anita GueA workshop to develop a wetland bioassessment pilot project for Yukon wetlands using the Reference Condition Approach was held in Whitehorse in July, and was attended by Environment Canada researchers across the country, Yukon government, Ducks Unlimited, and interested others. Currently, several other wetland bioassessment projects are in development in the prairie pothole region (Emily Wallace, Nancy Glozier, and Malcolm Conly of Environment Canada in Saskatoon), and in the Montreal and Quebec City areas along the riparian marshes of the St. Lawrence River (Alain Armellin of Environment Canada in Montreal). These studies are being developed through the Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network (CABIN) and results will be used to provide a common national protocol for wetland bioassessment to evaluate water quality and ecosystem health.

News on the International Upper Great Lakes Study (IUGLS)

  • The International Joint Commission (IJC) established the IUGLS to update Lake Superior regulation rules and investigate whether physical changes to the St. Clair River may have caused lower water levels in lakes Michigan and Huron. To assess Lake Superior regulation rules, the IJC directed the Study Board to review operation of structures controlling Lake Superior outflow in relation to impacts on such operation on water levels and flows, and consequently affected interests.  Six interest categories that might be affected by changes in water levels/flows were identified, one of which is ecosystems.

  • Dr. Patricia Chambers was an independent scientific reviewer of the proposed methodology to assess impacts to ecosystems as a result of changes in Lake Superior regulation rules. She reviewed a strategy document outlining the technical plan for assessing impacts to coastal areas of lakes Superior, Huron, Michigan and Erie. Her comments and that of the other reviewer will be used to improve the study design. Findings from this study on potential ecosystem impacts caused by changes in regulation of Lake Superior are due back to the Study Board in March 2012. 

Why have so many of our beaches become so bad?

  • Beach closure sign | Photo: Tom EdgeBeaches along the shores of the Great Lakes have undergone considerable change for the worse during the past several years. Local residents and municipalities along the southern shore of Georgian Bay are concerned and have requested information about causes and solutions. The workshop, Caring for Our Beaches, was held in Midland, Ontario, in July 2009 to help these groups become better informed about issues affecting southern Georgian Bay's beaches. The workshop was attended by mayors, councillors and shoreline residents of the southern Georgian Bay communities.
  • Environment Canada’s Allan Crowe was an invited speaker at this conference. His presentation, Why have so many of our beaches become so bad?, focussed on both the natural and human causes of the current problems, and also on providing practical techniques that shoreline residents and municipalities can use to protect and restore the beaches. The key message was maintain/restore a natural beach-dune system (high dunes, beach grass, no lawns) to protect water quality and dry sandy conditions at beaches.

Papers and Reports

Innovative Approaches to Improving Stormwater Management in Canadian Cities

  • Street runoff management at the Silver Ridge Development, Greater Vancouver, BC | Photo: Kerr Wood Leidal Ltd.To “promote examples of successful innovative approaches to improving stormwater management in Canadian cities, [and] hoping that other practitioners will build on this experience and bring stormwater management practice to the next higher level,” Hans Schreier, University of British Columbia, Institute for Resources & Environment, and Jiri Marsalek, Environment Canada, proposed and co-edited this Special Issue of the Water Quality Research Journal of Canada. Produced by Janet Jardine, Managing Editor, the special issue features an overview written by the co-editors, and 10 papers by authors who presented the Water Quality Research Journal of Canadamost innovative concepts in a series of three regional conferences on innovative stormwater management practices. The conferences were held in Vancouver, Calgary and Toronto (2007-2008) under the sponsorship of the Canadian Water Network (CWN) and the Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC). Read the issue overview or the entire issue online.

About this e-news

To forge better links between water science and water policy, this free newsletter produced by S&T Liaison provides timely information on the research activities of Environment Canada's Water Science and Technology Directorate to water professionals, policy and decision makers, governments, and other groups involved with managing water resources effectively.

Privacy – Environment Canada will not sell or trade your email address.

Contact – Please send questions and comments to Leah Brannen, Science and Technology Liaison.

Subscribe | Unsubscribe

To sign up for email notification of new issues, send an email message with subject and body left blank.

S&T Liaison | Tel 905 336-4780 | Fax 905 336-4420

Environment Canada | 867 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington, ON Canada L7R 4A6

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Titre d'article

Julliet / août 2009

Information scientifique destinée aux spécialistes de l’eau, décideurs et responsables des politiques et autres parties intéressées dans la gestion efficace des ressources hydriques du Canada

Julliet / août 2009

 

Notes sur la science

Le fil RSS des sciences et technologie d’EC : un nouvel outil pour les utilisateurs de S et T

  • La Division de la liaison en S et T de la Direction des stratégies en S et T vient de lancer un fil RSS intitulé « Quoi de neuf dans les S et T d’Environnement Canada ». Le site Web des sciences et de la technologie d’Environnement Canada procure des renseignements à jour aux utilisateurs de S et T, y compris les gouvernements, les responsables de la réglementation environnementale, les décideurs, les planificateurs de l’aménagement du territoire, les chercheurs et l’industrie. Ce fil RSS donne un accès rapide au nouveau contenu.
  • Pour vous abonner au fil RSS des S et T d’EC, cliquez ici et restez au courant!

Portrait global de l’état du Saint-Laurent, 2008

  • La couverture du rapport - Portrait global de l’état du Saint-Laurent, 2008La Division de la surveillance et du contrôle de la qualité de l'eau du Québec et ses partenaires ont publié les derniers résultats du Programme Suivi de l'état du Saint-Laurent grâce au plus récent Portrait global de l’état du Saint-Laurent, 2008. Ce diagnostic a révélé que le fleuve Saint-Laurent est jugé être en santé bonne à moyennement bonne en ce qui a trait à la majorité des indicateurs environnementaux, y compris la qualité de l'eau et celle des sédiments, les niveaux d'eau, la salubrité des sites de nage éventuels, ainsi que l'état des populations d'oiseaux. Cependant, la situation de l'érosion littorale, des communautés de poissons en eau douce et de la contamination toxique de l'eau dans certains tributaires agricoles est plus inquiétante, tout comme le cas des substances émergentes telles que les éthers diphényliques polybromés (EDP), dont les concentrations augmentent dans toutes les composantes de l'écosystème.

L'expertise scientifique et technique (S et T) d'Environnement Canada – en ligne

  • Les professionnels scientifiques et techniques chez Environnement Canada travaillent ensemble et avec des collaborateurs externes pour produire des données et des connaissances essentielles aux politiques, aux règlements, à l'application de la loi et aux normes et aux codes fédéraux et internationaux pour protéger l'environnement. Lisez au sujet de leurs recherches actuelles et d'autres activités, prix, affiliations, intérêts professionnels et publications clés en sciences et technologie, le tout interrogeable par domaine d'expertise, dans Expert en S-T, ou visualisez un annuaire limité aux experts en S-T d’Environnement Canada spécialisés dans l’eau.

La tribune publique sur les fleurs d'eau de cyanobactéries (algues bleu-vert) à Sudbury

  • Exemple de prolifération d’algues (Buffalo Pound Lake, SK) | Photo : Sue WatsonMadame Sue Watson, Ph. D., conférencière, a offert une présentation, Harmful Algal Blooms (HABs): facts, fiction and fixes, lors d'une récente tribune publique sur les fleurs d'eau de cyanobactéries à Sudbury, organisée par la Commission de Conservation du District du Nickel. La rencontre a été organisée en réponse aux préoccupations et aux demandes de renseignements du public concernant un nombre accru d'efflorescences signalées dans les lacs dans la grande région de Sudbury, y compris le lac Ramsey, une des principales sources d'eau potable de la ville.

  • Des représentants du ministère de l’Environnement, de la ville de Sudbury, de l’Université Laurentienne, de la Commission de conservation du district du nickel, ainsi que des propriétaires locaux et des groupes de protection de l’eau de source ont participé à la rencontre. Madame Watson a fourni des renseignements sur les organismes responsables de ces efflorescences, la façon de les reconnaître, leur écologie, leur toxicologie et leurs incidences sur les écosystèmes aquatiques et leur esthétique (notamment leur goût et leur odeur), les risques pour les humains et les animaux, ainsi que les facteurs pouvant contrôler ces épidémies. La discussion a mis en évidence l’importance de la réduction des risques grâce à la vigilance et à une gestion et une intendance à long terme des nutriants, en commençant chaque personne et chaque communauté.

Terres humides du Yukon – un nouveau projet de bioévaluation

  • Scientifique recueillant des informations à un site du CABIN dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest  | Photo : Anita GueUn atelier pour élaborer un projet pilote de bioévaluation de terres humides pour les terres humides du Yukon au moyen de l'Approche des conditions de référence a eu lieu à Whitehorse en juillet, auquel ont participé les chercheurs d'Environnement Canada de l'ensemble du pays, des représentants du gouvernement du Yukon, des représentants de Canards Illimités Canada et d'autres parties intéressées. À l'heure actuelle, plusieurs autres projets de bioévaluation de terres humides sont en cours d'élaboration dans les fondrières de la région des Prairies (Emily Wallace, Nancy Glozier et Malcolm Conly d'Environnement Canada à Saskatoon), ainsi que dans les régions des villes de Montréal et de Québec le long des marais ripariens du fleuve Saint-Laurent (Alain Armellin d'Environnement Canada à Montréal). Ces études sont élaborées grâce au Réseau canadien de biosurveillance aquatique (RCBA) et les résultats serviront à offrir un protocole national commun pour la bioévaluation de terres humides afin d'évaluer la qualité de l'eau et la santé de l'écosystème.

Nouvelles sur le Groupe d'étude international des Grands Lacs d'amont (GEIGLA)

  • La Commission mixte internationale (CMI) a établi le Groupe d'étude international des Grands Lacs d'amont (GEIGLA) pour mettre à jour les règles de régulation du lac Supérieur et vérifier si les changements physiques de la rivière Sainte-Claire ont pu causer des niveaux d'eau plus bas dans les lacs Michigan et Huron. Pour évaluer les règles de la régulation du lac Supérieur, la Commission mixte internationale a demandé au Groupe d'étude d'examiner l'exploitation de structures contrôlant le débit sortant du lac Supérieur par rapport aux incidences de l'exploitation en question sur les niveaux et débits d'eau, ainsi que les intérêts touchés en conséquence. Six catégories d'intérêt qui pourraient être touchées par des changements dans les niveaux/débits d'eau ont été déterminées, dont une constitue les écosystèmes.

  • Dr. Patricia Chambers était une examinatrice scientifique de la méthodologie proposée pour évaluer les incidences sur les écosystèmes découlant des modifications des règles de la régulation du lac Supérieur. Elle a examiné un document de stratégie décrivant le plan technique d'évaluation des incidences sur les zones littorales des lacs Supérieur, Huron, Michigan et Érié. Ses commentaires et ceux de l'autre examinateur serviront à améliorer la conception de l'étude. Les conclusions de cette étude liées aux incidences éventuelles sur les écosystèmes causées par les changements dans la régulation du lac Supérieur sont attendues au Groupe d'étude en mars 2012.

Pourquoi tant de dommage à tant de nos plages?

  • Sign de fermature du plage | Photo : Tom EdgeLes plages le long du littoral des Grands Lacs ont subi d'importants changements pour le pire au cours des dernières années. Les municipalités et les résidents locaux le long du littoral sud de la baie Georgienne sont préoccupés et ont demandé des renseignements concernant les causes et les solutions. L'atelier, intitulé Prendre soin de nos plages, a eu lieu à Midland (Ontario) en juillet 2009 pour aider à mieux renseigner ces groupes concernant les enjeux touchant les plages du sud de la baie Georgienne. Des maires, des conseillers et des résidents du littoral des communautés du sud de la baie Georgienne ont participé à l'atelier.

  • Allan Crowe d'Environnement Canada était un invité participant lors de cette conférence. Son exposé, intitulé Pourquoi tant de dommage à tant de nos plages?, a mis l'accent sur les causes tant naturelles qu'humaines des problèmes actuels, ainsi que sur des techniques pratiques que les résidents et les municipalités du littoral peuvent utiliser pour protéger et restaurer les plages. Le message clé consistait à maintenir/restaurer un système naturel de plages et de dunes (dunes élevées, Ammophile à ligule courte, aucune pelouse) pour protéger la qualité de l'eau et les conditions sablonneuses sèches sur les plages.

Documents et rapports

Approches novatrices d'amélioration de la gestion des eaux de ruissellement dans les villes canadiennes

  • Gestion des eaux de ruissellement dans les rues de l’ensemble résidentiel Silver Ridge, dans la région de Vancouver, BC | Photo : Kerr Wood Leidal Ltd.Afin de « promouvoir des exemples d'approches novatrices réussies pour améliorer la gestion des eaux de ruissellement dans les villes canadiennes, [et] espérant que d'autres praticiens se serviront de cette expérience pour faire passer la pratique de la gestion des eaux de ruissellement au prochain niveau » [traduction], Hans Schreier, Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Institute for Resources & Environment, et Jiri Marsalek, Environnement Canada, ont proposé et copublié ce numéro spécial de la revue Water Quality Research Journal of Canada. Produit par Janet Jardine, rédactrice en chef, ce numéro spécial met enCourverture du Water Quality Research Journal of Canada vedette un aperçu rédigé par les corédacteurs, ainsi que 10 documents par des auteurs ayant présenté les concepts les plus novateurs lors d’une série de trois conférences régionales sur les pratiques novatrices de gestion des eaux de ruissellement. Les conférences ont eu lieu à Vancouver, à Calgary et à Toronto (2007-2008), parrainées par le Réseau canadien de l'eau (RCE) et la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL). Lisez l'aperçu du numéro ou le numéro au complet en ligne.

Au sujet de ces nouvelles en direct

Pour tisser de meilleurs liens entre la science et la politique de l’eau, ce bulletin d’information gratuit produit par Liaison en sciences et technologie fournit aux professionnels de l’eau de l’information d’actualité sur les activités de recherche de la Direction des sciences et de la technologie de l’eau d’Environnement Canada aux professionnels de l’eau, aux décideurs et aux responsables des politiques, aux gouvernements, et aux autres groupes impliqués dans la gestion efficace des ressources en eau.

Respect de la vie privée – Environnement Canada ne fera pas la vente ni le commerce de votre adresse de courriel.

Contact – Veuillez faire parvenir vos questions et vos commentaires à Leah Brannen, Liaison avec la science et la technologie.

Abonner | Désabonner

Pour recevoir l'avis par courriel annonçant les nouvelles publications, envoyez un courriel et laissez l'objet et le corps du message en blanc.

Liaison S-T | Tél 905 336-4780 | Téléc 905 336-4420

Environnement Canada | 867 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington (Ontario) Canada L7R 4A6