Article Title

March / April 2009

March / April 2009

 

Science Notes

Canadian Rivers Institute – “a great investment”

  • Image of a river | Photo: photos.comSince its creation in 1997, the Canadian Foundation for Innovation has committed approximately $4.5 billion in support to 129 research institutions across Canada, including investments in the Canadian Rivers Institute (CRI) at the University of New Brunswick (UNB).  Drs. Alex Bielak and Donald Baird participated in a recent Outcome Measurement Study (OMS) of CRI activities to assess the success of the Foundation’s investment. Dr. Baird spoke about his role as one of several federal scientists embedded within CRI, while Dr. Bielak presented data showing increased research linkages between CRI and Environment Canada since the inception of the Institute. He also spoke as part of a panel on impacts on local, regional and national innovation. As the OMS coordinator wrote: “…we already ‘suspected’ that our investment at UNB for research in river ecosystems and aquatic ecology was a good one. Now we know that it was a great investment…”

Ontario Source Water Protection Advisory Committee

  • Hamilton Harbour | Photo: Scott UngerOntario has recently put in place a new Clean Water Act and source water protection regime for drinking water across the province. Source water protection committees will be preparing assessment reports to identify vulnerable source water areas, including wellhead protection areas and surface water intake protection zones.  The assessment reports will identify threats to these vulnerable areas, and protection plans will then be developed by source water protection committees. Dr. Tom Edge has been invited to provide waterborne pathogen expertise as a member of the Risk Management Advisory Committee, which recently held a first meeting to review progress towards developing risk management measures for protecting source water for drinking.

Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) Initiative

  • Environment Canada has released the fourth annual results of the Water Quality Index under the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators (CESI) Initiative. CESI is produced by Environment Canada in partnership with Health Canada and Statistics Canada, supported by provincial and territorial contributions. Water quality at almost half of monitoring sites in southern Canada is rated as “good” or “excellent.” All the results can be accessed through the redesigned CESI Initiative website, which presents information in a more concise and less technical manner, identifies links to key social and economic pressures and drivers, enables viewing and searching of local and regional information via maps, and, for the first time, compares Canada’s performance with that of several other countries.

Northwest Territories Water Strategy Workshop, Yellowknife, NT

  • The Government of Northwest Territories and Indian and Northern Affairs Canada co-hosted a workshop in March to guide development of a territorial water strategy. This was the third of seven workshops to be held before the release of a strategy in fall 2009. Participants came from various federal and territorial government departments, as well as land and water boards, aboriginal self governments, industry, and environmental NGOs. They discussed current sources of, and gaps in, water-related information in the Northwest Territories, as well as procedures for accessing and sharing information needed for water management decisions.  Anita Gue presented on Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance activities in the Northwest Territories, including the baseline water quality monitoring network, automated water quality monitoring, and Canadian Aquatic Biomonitoring Network (CABIN) biomonitoring. Environment Canada’s Randy Wedel (Water Survey of Canada) and Jesse Jasper (Strategic Integration, Mackenzie River Basin Board Secretariat) also participated.

Supporting the Multi-Stakeholder Working Group for Environmental Management of Road Salts

  • A Multi-Stakeholder Working Group meeting was held in Ottawa in April to advance implementation of the Code of Practice on road salts. Group members shared knowledge from recent initiatives and research on road salts management from across the country, reviewed data on road salt practices submitted to Environment Canada, and initiated planning of preparation of the Status Report to be submitted in 2010. Dr. Jiri Marsalek presented an overview of best practices for snow storage, illustrated by a case study (J. Marsalek, K. Exall and Q. Rochfort; Best practices for snow storage: a case study of the Richmond Hill facility) and agreed to participate in preparation of the 2010 Status Report.

Black Brook Agricultural Pesticides – New Brunswick

  • Fish kills in Prince Edward Island rivers have drawn attention to the ecological risks posed by poor timing and application practices of pesticides in potato cropping systems. Hosted by New Brunswick’s Mark Boldon of the Department of the Environment and Sandi McGeachy of the Department of Aquaculture and Agriculture, a one-day workshop at the Potato Research Centre in Fredericton, New Brunswick, gave interested parties an opportunity to discuss research strategies to investigate pesticide impacts on surface waters and groundwater in the potato belt near Grand Falls, NB. Representatives from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), the Eastern Canada Soil & Water Conservation Centre, the Pesticide Management Regulatory Agency of Health Canada, and the PEI Department of the Environment participated.
  • Water Science and Technology staff made presentations: Bill Ernst spoke on pesticide hits and levels observed in surface waters in the potato production region of Grand Falls; Mark Hewitt focussed on fish health in the Black Brook and Little River watersheds; and Glenn Benoy gave a presentation on aquatic habitat and biological assessment techniques developed through the National Agri-Environmental Standards Initiative. A cooperative (Environment Canada/AAFC/Province of New Brunswick) strategy is being developed to interpret results and communicate findings of pesticides monitoring programs.

Research Consortium on Sediment in the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence Ecosystem

  • A new consortium of scientists from Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and Environment Canada (EC) was created in March to facilitate exchanges and collaborations between federal partners and promote integrated research and monitoring of sediment contamination in the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence ecosystem. At this stage, the following people are involved: Dr. Michel Lebeuf, DFO, Maurice Lamontagne Institute, Mont-Joli; Dr. Chris Marvin, EC, Canada Centre for Inland Waters, Burlington; and Bernard Rondeau and Magella Pelletier, EC, Quebec Water Quality Monitoring (QWQM), Montreal. The discussions led to a draft mandate and a list of activities that could be carried out by the consortium. The next meeting will be held in fall 2009 at the 36th Aquatic Toxicity Workshop.

State of the Lake Report:  Lake Winnipeg

  • Water Science and Technology staff (Malcolm Conly, Lucie Leveque and John Lawrence) met with representatives of Manitoba Water Stewardship in March to discuss development of a joint ‘State of Lake Winnipeg Report.’  Currently there are over ten years of water quality data available on Lake Winnipeg that have not been collectively compiled, analyzed and assessed in the context of other historic data for Lake Winnipeg.  Preparation of this State of the Lake Report will provide an important foundation for interpreting current research and studies supported by the Lake Winnipeg Basin Initiative. Compilation of this monitoring data on Lake Winnipeg over the past decade will be important in assessing the status and trends of nutrient contributions to the Lake, and will contribute to establishment of realistic and measurable nutrient objectives.

Canadian Mercury Science Assessment

  • Environment Canada’s Atmospheric Science and Technology Directorate organized a workshop in March to bring together government and university scientists involved in mercury research and monitoring in Canada, and start the process to develop a Canadian Mercury Science Assessment report for 2013. Two projects with major participation from Water Science and Technology, the CARA (Clean Air Regulatory Agenda) "FISHg" project and the CARA "Trends" projects, were among several presentations. FISHg, part of the CARA Ecological Mapping project (headed by Neil Burgess of Wildlife and Landscape Science Directorate), is being implemented by a national team from Water Quality Monitoring and Surveillance, including Taina Tuominen and Sean Backus. In 2008, the FISHg project sampled 17 water bodies across Canada for mercury in predatory and prey fish, as well as in water.

  • The CARA "Trends" project, headed by Derek Muir and including participation by Jane Kirk and Marlene Evans, involves collection and analysis of sediment cores, as well as fish and food web samples, from lakes near the metals smelter at Flin Flon Manitoba and near the coal fired power plants on Wabamun Lake, Alberta. Both projects have recently completed the first year of a three-year project to measure a baseline concentrations of mercury prior to the implementation of CARA regulations in 2011. The information generated by the FISHg and Trends projects will contribute directly to the Canadian Mercury Science Assessment report and to Canada's preparation for the global negotiations on an international mercury treaty to deal with world-wide mercury emissions.

Future of the Niagara River Toxics Management Plan (NRTMP)

  • The NRTMP has been called a model of international co-operation by the IJC.  In the 20 years since its inception, much progress has been made with significant reductions in the concentration of many historical pollutants. The Niagara River Secretariat (NRS) hosted a workshop/videoconference at the Canada Centre for Inland Waters, Burlington, to discuss and present options for the future of the NRTMP.  The workshop was well attended with representatives from various New York state agencies, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Environment Canada, the Ontario Ministry of the Environment and the local conservation authority.  Participants provided the NRS with feedback on the proposed options.  The results of these discussions and recommendations will be included in an Options Paper to be presented to the Coordinating Committee in the summer of 2009.

Papers and Reports

Recent Research from Environment Canada’s Water S&T

  • Blaise, C. and F. Gagné. 2009. Bioassays and biomarkers, two pillars of ecotoxicology: past, present and prospective uses. Fresenius Environ. Bull. 18(2): 135-139.
  • Chambers, P.A., G.A. Benoy, R.B. Brua and J.M. Culp. 2008. Eutrophication of agricultural streams: defining nutrient concentrations to protect ecological condition, p. 260-261. In Proceedings of the 12th International Conference on Integrated Diffuse Pollution Management (IWA DIPCON 2008), Khon Kaen, Thailand.
  • Clarence, S., S. Brown, M. McMaster, E. Dussault and J. Sherry. 2009. Are brown bullhead (Ameirus nebulosus) in the Cornwall Area of Concern exposed to environmental estrogens? Presented at the 44th Central Canadian Symposium on Water Quality Research, Feb. 23 and 24, CCIW, Burlington, Ontario.
  • Clarence, S., A. Muttray, C. Reinisch, S. St-Jean, S. Baldwin and J. Sherry. 2009. Cancer regulating proteins in neoplastic Mytilus edulis and Mytilus trossulus from contaminated sites in the Greater Vancouver Region. Poster presented at the 44th Central Canadian Symposium on Water Quality Research, Feb. 23 and 24, CCIW, Burlington, Ontario.
  • Couillard, Y., L.C. Grapentine, U. Borgmann, P. Doyle and S. Masson. 2008. The amphipod Hyalella azteca as a biomonitor in field deployment studies for metal mining. Environ. Pollut. 156: 1314-1324.
  • Creed, I.F., F.D. Beall, T.A. Clair, P.J. Dillon and R.H. Hesslein. 2008. Predicting export of dissolved organic carbon from forested catchments in glaciated landscapes with shallow soils. Global Biogeochemical Cycles 22: GB4024, doi:10.1029/2008GB003924.
  • Droppo, I.G., S.N. Liss, D. Williams, T. Nelson, C. Jaskot and B. Trapp. 2009. The dynamic existence of waterborne pathogens within river sediment compartments – Implications for water quality regulatory affairs.  Environmental Science and Technology 43(6): 1737-1743.
  • Dussault, E.B., M.E. McMaster, J.L. Parrott, J.P. Sherry and S.B. Brown. 2009. The use of principal component analysis for an assessment of the health status of wild fish from Wheatley Harbour, Ontario. Presented at the 44th Central Canadian Symposium on Water Quality Research, Feb. 23 and 24, CCIW, Burlington, Ontario.
  • Elsbury, K.E., A. Paytan, N.E. Ostrom, C. Kendall, M.B. Young, K. McLaughlin, M.E. Rollog and S. Watson. Using oxygen isotopes of phosphate to trace phosphorus sources and cycling in Lake Erie.  Environmental Science and Technology, Article ASAP Publication Date (Web): March 27, 2009.
  • Grapentine, L.C. 2009. Determining degradation and restoration of benthic conditions for Great Lakes Areas of Concern. Journal of Great Lakes Research 35: 36-44.  doi: 10.1016/j.jglr.2008.09.002
  • Hamblin, P.F. and W.M. Schertzer. 2008. Lake Erie hydrodynamics: regime, variability and potential changes, p. 45-77. In M. Munawar and R. Heath (ed.), Checking the Pulse of Lake Erie. Ecovision World Monograph Series, Aquatic Ecosystem Health and Management Society, Burlington, Ont., Canada.
  • Marcogliese, D.J., K.C. King, H. Sato, M. Fournier, P. Brousseau, P. Spear, L. Champoux, J.D. McLaughlin and M. Boily. 2009. Interactions between agriculture and parasitism: effects on biomarkers in the bullfrog, Rana catasbeiana. Aquat. Toxicol. 91: 126-134.
  • Marsh, P., M. Russell, S. Pohl, H. Haywood and C. Onclin. 2009. Changes in thaw lake drainage in the Western Canadian Arctic from 1950 to 2000. Hydrological Processes 23: 145-158.
  • McGoldrick, D.J., J. Metcalfe-Smith, M.T. Arts, D.W. Schloesser, T.J. Newton, G.L. Mackie, E.M. Monroe, J. Biberhofer and K. Johnson. 2009. Characteristics of a refuge for native freshwater mussels (Bivalvia: Unionidae) in Lake St. Clair. Journal of Great Lakes Research 35: 137-146. doi: 10.1016/j.jglr.2008.11.007
  • Resler, O. and W.M. Schertzer. 2009. Graphical representation of primary outputs from energy balance computations conducted on Lake Erie lakewide (1950-1997). Environment Canada, National Water Research Institute, Burlington, Ontario, NWRI Contribution No. 08-552.

About this e-news

To forge better links between water science and water policy, this free newsletter produced by S&T Liaison provides timely information on the research activities of Environment Canada's Water Science and Technology Directorate to water professionals, policy and decision makers, governments, and other groups involved with managing water resources effectively.

Privacy – Environment Canada will not sell or trade your email address.

Contact – Please send questions and comments to Leah Brannen, Science and Technology Liaison.

Subscribe | Unsubscribe

To sign up for email notification of new issues, send email message with subject and body left blank.

S&T Liaison | Tel 905 336-4780 | Fax 905 336-4420

Environment Canada | 867 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington, ON Canada L7R 4A6

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Titre d'article

Mars / avril 2009

Mars / avril 2009

Dans le présent numéro :

Notes sur la science

Documents et rapports

Au sujet de ces nouvelles en direct

 

Notes sur la science

Institut canadien des rivières - « un excellent investissement »

  • Image d'une rivière | Photo : photos.comDepuis sa création en 1997, la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation a consenti environ 4,5 milliards de dollars pour appuyer 129 institutions de recherche partout au Canada, y compris un investissement dans l'Institut canadien des rivières (ICR) de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (UNB). Alex Bielak, Ph. D., et Donald Baird, Ph. D., ont participé, dans le cadre des activités de l’ICR, à une récente étude sur les mesures d’impact afin d’évaluer le succès de l’investissement de la Fondation. M. Baird a discuté de son rôle en tant que l’un des nombreux scientifiques fédéraux œuvrant au sein de l’ICR, tandis que M. Bielak a présenté des données démontrant les liens de collaboration croissants entre l’ICR et Environnement Canada depuis la création de l’Institut. Il a aussi parlé au nom d’un groupe d’experts sur les impacts à l’échelle locale, régionale et nationale. Comme l’a écrit le coordonnateur de l’étude sur les mesures d'impact : « … nous 'soupçonnions’ déjà que notre investissement dans la recherche à l’UNB sur les écosystèmes fluviaux et l’écologie aquatique était judicieux. Maintenant, nous savons qu’il était excellent… »

Comité consultatif sur la protection de l’eau de source de l’Ontario

  • Le port de Hamilton | Photo : Scott UngerL’Ontario a récemment promulgué une nouvelle Loi sur l’eau saine et lancé un programme de protection de l’eau de source à l’échelle de la province. Les comités sur la protection de l’eau de source prépareront des rapports d’évaluation pour répertorier les secteurs où l’eau de source est vulnérable, y compris les zones de protection des têtes de puits et les zones de prises d’eau de surface. Les rapports d’évaluation signaleront les menaces pour ces secteurs vulnérables et des programmes de protection seront alors élaborés par les comités sur la protection de l’eau de source. Tom Edge, Ph. D., a été invité à partager son expertise en matière d’organismes pathogènes d’origine hydrique en tant que membre du comité consultatif sur la gestion des risques. Ce comité a récemment tenu une première réunion pour examiner le progrès lié à l’élaboration de mesures de gestion des risques afin de protéger la source d’eau potable.

Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement (ICDE)

  • Environnement Canada a dévoilé pour les quatrièmes résultats annuels de l’indice de la qualité de l’eau selon les Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement (ICDE). L’ICDE est réalisé par Environnement Canada en partenariat avec Santé Canada et Statistiques Canada, avec l’apport des provinces et des territoires. La qualité de l’eau à près de la moitié des sites de surveillance dans le sud du Canada est cotée « bonne » ou « excellente ». Tous les résultats peuvent être consultés dans le nouveau site Web de l’ICDE, qui présente l’information de façon plus concise et moins technique, répertorie leurs liens avec les pressions et les moteurs sociaux et économiques clés, permet de consulter et de chercher de l’information locale ou régionale à l’aide de cartes et, pour la première fois, compare le rendement du Canada par rapport à celui de nombreux autres pays.

Atelier sur la stratégie de l’eau des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Yellowknife (T. N.-O.)

  • En mars, le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Affaires indiennes et du nord Canada ont tenu un atelier afin d’encadrer l’élaboration d’une stratégie de l’eau territoriale. Il s’agissait du troisième de sept ateliers à avoir lieu d’ici le dévoilement d’une stratégie à l’automne 2009. Les participants provenaient de divers ministères territoriaux et fédéraux, ainsi que de commissions territoriales et des eaux, de gouvernements autochtones autonomes, de l’industrie et d’ONG environnementales. Ils ont discuté des sources actuelles et de l’insuffisance d’information sur l’eau dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ainsi que des procédures pour accéder à l’information nécessaire à la prise de décisions relatives à la gestion de l’eau et pour la partager. Anita Gue a discuté des activités de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, y compris du réseau de référence pour la surveillance de la qualité de l’eau, de la surveillance de la qualité de l’eau automatisée, et de la biosurveillance du Réseau canadien de biosurveillance aquatique (RCBA). Randy Wedel d’Environnement Canada (Relevés hydrologiques du Canada) et Jessy Jasper (Strategic Integration, Mackenzie River Basin Board Secretariat) y ont aussi participé.

Soutien au Groupe de travail multilatéral sur la gestion environnementale des sels de déglaçage

  • Une réunion du Groupe de travail multilatéral a eu lieu à Ottawa en avril 2009 afin de poursuivre la mise en œuvre du code de pratique sur les sels de déglaçage. Les membres du groupe ont partagé de l'information sur les récentes initiatives et recherches sur la gestion des sels de déglaçage au Canada, examiné les données sur les pratiques soumises à Environnement Canada et entamé la planification du rapport de situation qui doit être soumis en 2010. Jiri Marsalek, Ph. D., a présenté un survol des pratiques exemplaires concernant l'entreposage de la neige, illustré par une étude de cas (J. Marsalek, K. Exall and Q. Rochfort; Best practices for snow storage: a case study of the Richmond Hill facility). Ils ont également convenu de participer à la préparation du rapport de situation de 2010.

Pesticides agricoles dans le ruisseau Black – Nouveau-Brunswick

  • La mortalité des poissons dans les rivières de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard a attiré l’attention sur les risques écologiques engendrés par les moments mal choisis et les pratiques d’épandage de pesticides des systèmes de culture de pommes de terre. Animé par Mark Boldon du ministère de l’Environnement du Nouveau-Brunswick et Sandi McGeachy du ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Aquaculture, l’atelier d’un jour tenu au Centre de recherches sur la pomme de terre à Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick) a donné aux parties intéressées l’occasion de discuter des stratégies de recherche pour étudier les impacts des pesticides sur les eaux de surface et souterraines dans la région de la culture de la pomme de terre près de Grand Falls (N.-B.). Des représentants d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada (AAC), du Centre de conservation des sols et de l’eau de l’Est du Canada, de l’Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire de Santé Canada et du ministère de l’Environnement de l’Î.-P.-É. y ont participé.
  • Le personnel des sciences et des technologies de l’eau a donné des présentations : Bill Ernst a parlé des occurrences et des niveaux de pesticides observés dans l’eau de surface dans la région de la culture de la pomme de terre de Grand Falls; Mark Hewitt a discuté de la santé des poissons dans les bassins hydrographiques de Black Brook et de Little River; et Glenn Benoy a donné une présentation sur l'habitat aquatique et les techniques d’évaluation biologique élaborées dans le cadre de l’Initiative sur les normes agroenvironnementales nationales. Une stratégie concertée (Environnement Canada, AAC, Province du Nouveau-Brunswick) est en cours d’élaboration pour interpréter les résultats et communiquer les constatations découlant des programmes de surveillance des pesticides.

Groupe de recherche sur les sédiments dans l’écosystème des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent

  • Un nouveau groupe de scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada (POC) et d’Environnement Canada a été constitué en mars pour faciliter les échanges et la collaboration entre partenaires fédéraux et promouvoir la recherche et la surveillance intégrées sur les sédiments contaminés dans l’écosystème des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent. Pour l'instant, les personnes suivantes y participent : Michel Lebeuf, Ph. D., POC, l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne, Mont-Joli; Chris Marvin, Ph. D., Environnement Canada, Centre canadien des eaux intérieures, Burlington; et Bernard Rondeau et Magella Pelletier, Environnement Canada, Surveillance de la qualité de l’eau au Québec, Montréal. Les discussions ont mené à une ébauche de mandat et à la compilation d’une liste d’activités à réaliser par le groupe. La prochaine réunion se tiendra à l'automne 2009 lors du 36e Atelier annuel sur la toxicité aquatique.

Rapport sur l’état du lac :Lac Winnipeg

  • En mars, le personnel des sciences et des technologies de l'eau (Malcolm Conly, Lucie Lévesque et John Lawrence) a rencontré des représentants de la Manitoba Water Stewardship pour discuter de la préparation d'un « rapport conjoint sur l'état du lac Winnipeg ». Actuellement, des données sur la qualité de l'eau du lac Winnipeg recueillies depuis plus de dix ans n’ont pas encore été rassemblées pour ensuite être compilées, analysées et évaluées en fonction d’autres données historiques relatives au lac Winnipeg. La préparation de ce rapport sur l’état du lac servira de fondement essentiel à l’interprétation de la recherche et des études actuelles soutenues par l'Initiative du bassin du lac Winnipeg. La compilation des données de surveillance du lac Winnipeg au cours de la dernière décennie sera fondamentale pour l’évaluation de l’état et des tendances des charges de nutriments dans le lac, et contribuera à établir des objectifs de nutriments réalistes et mesurables.

Évaluation scientifique du mercure au Canada

  • En mars, la Direction de la science et de la technologie de l'atmosphère d’Environnement Canada a tenu un atelier dans le but de réunir des scientifiques des milieux gouvernementaux et universitaires qui participent à des activités de recherche et de surveillance sur le mercure au Canada en vue d’enclencher le processus d’élaboration d’un rapport d’évaluation scientifique sur le mercure au Canada, prévu pour 2013. Les exposés présentés lors de cet atelier incluaient deux projets auxquels prend part activement la Direction de la science et de la technologie de l’eau : le projet de surveillance du mercure chez les poissons « FISHg » (pour fish mercury monitoring) et le projet sur les tendances « Trends » du Programme de réglementation de la qualité de l'air (PRQA). Une équipe nationale de la Division du suivi et de la surveillance de la qualité de l'eau, qui comprend entre autres Taina Tuominen et Sean Backus, s’affaire à la mise en œuvre du projet FISHg, qui fait partie du projet de cartographie écologique (dirigé par Neil Burgess, Direction de la science de la faune et du paysage) du PRQA. En 2008, dans le cadre du projet FISHg, on a échantillonné 17 plans d’eau au Canada afin de détecter les concentrations de mercure chez les poissons prédateurs et proies, de même que dans l’eau.

  • Le projet sur les tendances du PRQA, dirigé par Derek Muir et comprenant la participation de Jane Kirk et de Marlene Evans, consiste à recueillir et à analyser des carottes de sédiments, ainsi que des échantillons de poissons et d’éléments du réseau alimentaire, dans des lacs situés à proximité de fonderies de métaux à Flin Flon, au Manitoba et près de centrales électriques alimentées au charbon dans le lac Wabamun, en Alberta. Les deux projets ont récemment terminé la première année de leur cycle de trois ans au cours desquels on mesurera la concentration de fond du mercure avant l’entrée en vigueur de la réglementation du PQRA en 2011. Les données ainsi recueillies contribueront directement à la préparation du rapport d’évaluation scientifique sur le mercure au Canada et à l’établissement de la position du Canada en vue des négociations mondiales visant à élaborer un accord international sur le mercure afin de réduire les émissions de mercure à l’échelle planétaire.

Avenir du Plan de gestion des toxiques de la Niagara (PGTN)

  • Le PGTN a été qualifié de modèle de coopération internationale par la CMI. Depuis sa création il y a vingt ans, d’importants progrès ont été réalisés, notamment des réductions substantielles dans la concentration de nombreux polluants historiques. Le Niagara River Secretariat (NRS) a tenu un atelier-vidéoconférence au Centre canadien des eaux intérieures, à Burlington, afin de discuter et de présenter des options pour l’avenir du PGTN. L’atelier très couru a attiré des représentants de divers organismes gouvernementaux de l’État de New York, de l’Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis, d’Environnement Canada, du ministère de l’Environnement de l’Ontario et de l’office de protection de la nature local. Les participants ont fait part de leurs commentaires au NRS sur les options proposées. Les résultats de ces discussions et recommandations seront compris dans un document sur les options qui sera présenté au comité de coordination à l’été 2009.

Documents et rapports

Études récentes de Sciences et technologie – Eau d’Environnement Canada

  • Blaise, C. et F. Gagné. 2009. « Bioassays and biomarkers, two pillars of ecotoxicology: past, present and prospective uses ». Fresenius Environ. Bull. 18(2): 135-139.
  • Chambers, P.A., G.A. Benoy, R.B. Brua et J.M. Culp. 2008. « Eutrophication of agricultural streams: defining nutrient concentrations to protect ecological condition », p. 260-261. Dans « Proceedings of the 12th International Conference on Integrated Diffuse Pollution Management (IWA DIPCON 2008), Khon Kaen, Thailand ».
  • Clarence, S., S. Brown, M. McMaster, E. Dussault et J. Sherry. 2009. « Are brown bullhead (Ameirus nebulosus) in the Cornwall Area of Concern exposed to environmental estrogens? Presented at the 44th Central Canadian Symposium on Water Quality Research, Feb. 23 and 24, CCIW, Burlington, Ontario ».
  • Clarence, S., A. Muttray, C. Reinisch, S. St-Jean, S. Baldwin et J. Sherry. 2009. « Cancer regulating proteins in neoplastic Mytilus edulis and Mytilus trossulus from contaminated sites in the Greater Vancouver Region. Poster presented at the 44th Central Canadian Symposium on Water Quality Research, Feb. 23 and 24, CCIW, Burlington, Ontario ».
  • Couillard, Y., L.C. Grapentine, U. Borgmann, P. Doyle et S. Masson. 2008. « The amphipod Hyalella azteca as a biomonitor in field deployment studies for metal mining ». Environ. Pollut. 156: 1314-1324.
  • Creed, I.F., F.D. Beall, T.A. Clair, P.J. Dillon et R.H. Hesslein. 2008. « Predicting export of dissolved organic carbon from forested catchments in glaciated landscapes with shallow soils ». Global Biogeochemical Cycles 22: GB4024, doi:10.1029/2008GB003924.
  • Droppo, I.G., S.N. Liss, D. Williams, T. Nelson, C. Jaskot et B. Trapp. 2009. « The dynamic existence of waterborne pathogens within river sediment compartments – Implications for water quality regulatory affairs ».  Environmental Science and Technology 43(6): 1737-1743.
  • Dussault, E.B., M.E. McMaster, J.L. Parrott, J.P. Sherry et S.B. Brown. 2009. « The use of principal component analysis for an assessment of the health status of wild fish from Wheatley Harbour, Ontario. Presented at the 44th Central Canadian Symposium on Water Quality Research, Feb. 23 and 24, CCIW, Burlington, Ontario ».
  • Elsbury, K.E., A. Paytan, N.E. Ostrom, C. Kendall, M.B. Young, K. McLaughlin, M.E. Rollog et S. Watson. « Using oxygen isotopes of phosphate to trace phosphorus sources and cycling in Lake Erie ».  Environmental Science and Technology, Article ASAP Publication Date (Web): 27 mars 2009.
  • Grapentine, L.C. 2009. « Determining degradation and restoration of benthic conditions for Great Lakes Areas of Concern ». Journal of Great Lakes Research 35: 36-44.  doi: 10.1016/j.jglr.2008.09.002
  • Hamblin, P.F. et W.M. Schertzer. 2008. « Lake Erie hydrodynamics: regime, variability and potential changes », p. 45-77. Dans M. Munawar et R. Heath (s. la dir. de), « Checking the Pulse of Lake Erie. Ecovision World Monograph Series, Aquatic Ecosystem Health and Management Society, Burlington, Ont., Canada ».
  • Marcogliese, D.J., K.C. King, H. Sato, M. Fournier, P. Brousseau, P. Spear, L. Champoux, J.D. McLaughlin et M. Boily. 2009. « Interactions between agriculture and parasitism: effects on biomarkers in the bullfrog, Rana catasbeiana ». Aquat. Toxicol. 91: 126-134.
  • Marsh, P., M. Russell, S. Pohl, H. Haywood et C. Onclin. 2009. « Changes in thaw lake drainage in the Western Canadian Arctic from 1950 to 2000 ». Hydrological Processes 23: 145-158.
  • McGoldrick, D.J., J. Metcalfe-Smith, M.T. Arts, D.W. Schloesser, T.J. Newton, G.L. Mackie, E.M. Monroe, J. Biberhofer et K. Johnson. 2009. « Characteristics of a refuge for native freshwater mussels (Bivalvia: Unionidae) in Lake St. Clair ». Journal of Great Lakes Research 35: 137-146. doi: 10.1016/j.jglr.2008.11.007
  • Resler, O. et W.M. Schertzer. 2009. « Graphical representation of primary outputs from energy balance computations conducted on Lake Erie lakewide (1950-1997) ». Environment Canada, National Water Research Institute, Burlington, Ontario, NWRI Contribution No. 08-552.

Au sujet de ces nouvelles en direct

Pour tisser de meilleurs liens entre la science et la politique de l’eau, ce bulletin d’information gratuit produit par Liaison en sciences et technologie fournit aux professionnels de l’eau de l’information d’actualité sur les activités de recherche de la Direction des sciences et de la technologie de l’eau d’Environnement Canada aux professionnels de l’eau, aux décideurs et aux responsables des politiques, aux gouvernements, et aux autres groupes impliqués dans la gestion efficace des ressources en eau.

Respect de la vie privée – Environnement Canada ne fera pas la vente ni le commerce de votre adresse de courriel.

Contact – Veuillez faire parvenir vos questions et vos commentaires à Leah Brannen, Liaison avec la science et la technologie.

Abonner | Désabonner

Pour recevoir l'avis par courriel annonçant les nouvelles publications, envoyez un courriel et laissez l'objet et le corps du message en blanc.

Liaison S-T | Tél 905 336-4780 | Téléc 905 336-4420

Environnement Canada | 867 Lakeshore Rd., Burlington (Ontario) Canada L7R 4A6