Migratory Birds Hunting Regulations, 2015–2016: New Brunswick

Migratory Birds Hunting Regulations, 2015–2016: New Brunswick (PDF; 305 KB)

Summary

The information presented here is a summary of the law. If there is a discrepancy between the law and this summary, the law prevails. For complete information on fines, general prohibitions, permitted hunting methods and equipment, the requirement to have adequate means to retrieve birds immediately, restrictions on the use of bait, the description of hunting zones, and other restrictions on hunting, please refer to the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and the Migratory Birds Regulations. These, along with other useful information for hunters, can be found on the Environment Canada website, or you may contact:

Environment Canada
Canadian Wildlife Service
17 Waterfowl Lane
P.O. Box 6227
Sackville, New Brunswick E4L 1G6
Tel.: 1-800-668-6767
enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

You are required to possess a valid federal Migratory Game Bird Hunting Permit with a Canadian Wildlife Habitat Conservation Stamp to hunt migratory birds in Canada. This permit and stamp are valid in all provinces and territories. Most provinces and territories have additional licence requirements for hunting migratory birds and/or to carry firearms. To know what you require, and if there are further restrictions for hunting migratory birds, please verify the applicable regulations for the province/territory where you will be hunting. Note that all required permits and licences must be in your possession while you are hunting.

Hunting Zones

Zone No. 1
Saint John County south of No. 1 Highway and west of Saint John Harbour, that part of Charlotte County lying south of No. 1 Highway, and the Grand Manan Islands and Campobello Island, except the following area, which is closed to hunting: the area in the Bay of Fundy known as The Wolves, including the surrounding waters.

Zone No. 2
The remainder of the Province of New Brunswick, except the following, which are closed to hunting: the estuary of the Tabusintac River; Bathurst Basin and most of Bathurst Harbour (two islands remain open, and signs have been posted to indicate their locations); and the Dalhousie shoreline from the eastern tip of Dalhousie Island to the mouth of the Miller Brook and extending one kilometre offshore.

Top of Page

Consultation Process and Migratory Birds Regulatory Reports

The hunting provisions of the Migratory Birds Regulations are reviewed by Environment Canada, with input from the provinces and territories, as well as a range of other interested stakeholders. Environment Canada has developed a consultation process for establishing hunting regulations for migratory birds, and publishes the Migratory Birds Regulatory Report Series that can be found on the Environment Canada website.

Use of bait prior to and during the migratory bird hunting season is restricted; please consult the Migratory Birds Regulations for restrictions regarding deposition of bait. Check your permit and provincial hunting regulations for additional restrictions, such as Sunday closures and minimum required distances from residences and businesses.

National Wildlife Areas located in New Brunswick are administered under the Wildlife Area Regulations of the Canada Wildlife Act. Refer to notices posted at entrances for area-specific rules.

Waterfowler Heritage Day provides young hunters under the age of majority (12 to 17 years) with the opportunity to practise hunting and outdoor skills, learn about wildlife conservation, and reinforce safety training in a structured, supervised environment. Licensed adult hunters who serve as mentors have an opportunity to pass on their considerable skills and knowledge by offering guidance and advice to younger hunters. The following rules are in effect:

  • to participate, young hunters under the age of majority do not require the federal Migratory Game Bird Hunting Permit;
  • young participants must comply with all existing safety and licensing requirements found in the Firearms Act and provincial hunting regulations;
  • participants must be accompanied by a licensed mentor over the age of majority; and
  • mentors may not hunt or carry a firearm, and may accompany no more than two young hunters.

In New Brunswick, non-toxic shot must be used to hunt migratory game birds, except for woodcock. Within National Wildlife Areas, the possession of lead shot is prohibited for all hunting, including the hunting of migratory birds and upland game birds. Hunters should consult provincial or territorial regulations for additional restrictions. For those birds still hunted with lead shot, remove the lead shot before cooking in order to reduce your exposure to contaminants.

Barrow’s Goldeneye is listed in the Species at Risk Act as a species of special concern, and the bag and possession limit of 1 remains in place.

Crime Stoppers

Environment Canada Wildlife Enforcement has joined forces with New Brunswick Crime Stoppers to address offences concerning migratory birds. Anyone wishing to report illegal hunting activities, illegal selling of birds or other offences related to migratory birds is asked to call Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-TIPS (8477). Your call is anonymous, and you may be eligible for a cash reward.

Top of Page

Open Seasons in New Brunswick (No open season for Harlequin Ducks)
AreaDucks (other than
Harlequin Ducks) and geese
(Waterfowler Heritage Day)
Ducks (other than Harlequin Ducks, Common and Red-breasted Mergansers, Long-tailed Ducks, eiders, and scoters), geese (other than Canada Geese
and Cackling Geese) and snipe
Canada Geese
and Cackling Geese
Common and Red-breasted Mergansers, Long-tailed Ducks, eiders, and scotersWoodcock
Zone No. 1Sept. 19, 2015Oct. 15, 2015, to Jan. 4, 2016Sept. 8 to Sept. 22, 2015, and Oct. 15, 2015, to
Jan. 4, 2016
Oct. 15, 2015, to Jan. 4, 2016, and Feb. 1 to Feb. 24, 2016Sept. 15 to
Nov. 30, 2015
Zone No. 2Sept. 19, 2015Oct. 1 to Dec. 18, 2015Sept. 8 to Sept. 22, 2015, and Oct. 1 to Dec. 18, 2015Oct. 1 to Dec. 18, 2015Sept. 15 to
Nov. 30, 2015

Top of Page

Bag and Possession Limits in New Brunswick
LimitsDucks (other than Common and Red-breasted Mergansers, Long-tailed Ducks, Harlequin Ducks, eiders, and scoters)Common and Red-breasted Mergansers, Long-tailed Ducks, eiders, and scotersGeeseWoodcockSnipe
Daily bag6Note a of Table6Note c of Table5Note e of Table810
Possession18Note b of Table12Note d of Table161620

Notes of Table: Bag and Possession Limits in New Brunswick

Note [a] of Table

Not more than 1 may be Barrow’s Goldeneye and not more than 3 may be American Black Ducks.

Return to note a referrer of table

Note [b] of Table

Not more than 1 may be Barrow’s Goldeneye.

Return to note b referrer of table

Note [c] of Table

Not more than 4 may be scoters; and in Zone No. 1 from February 1 to February 24, 2016, not more than 4 eiders may be taken daily.

Return to note c referrer of table

Note [d] of Table

Not more than 8 may be scoters; and in Zone No. 1 from February 1 to February 24, 2016, not more than 8 eiders may be possessed.

Return to note d referrer of table

Note [e] of Table

Up to 3 additional Canada Geese or Cackling Geese, or any combination of them, may be taken daily from September 8 to September 22, 2015, inclusive.

Return to note e referrer of table

Report Your Migratory Bird Bands

Call 1-800-327-BAND (2263) or go to the Report a bird with a Federal Band or Color Marker website

Top of Page

Règlement de chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs, 2015-2016 : Nouveau-Brunswick

Règlement de chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs, 2015-2016 : Nouveau-Brunswick (PDF; 269 ko)

Abrégé

Les renseignements contenus dans le présent dépliant constituent une version abrégée de la loi. S’il existe une différence entre la loi et le présent abrégé, la loi prévaut. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les amendes, les restrictions générales, les méthodes et le matériel de chasse autorisés, l’obligation d’avoir des moyens appropriés à la récupération immédiate des oiseaux, les restrictions concernant les appâts, la description des districts de chasse et d’autres restrictions sur la chasse, veuillez consulter la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et le Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs. Vous trouverez ces renseignements, ainsi que d’autres informations utiles pour les chasseurs, sur le site Web d’Environnement Canada, ou vous pouvez vous adresser à :

Environnement Canada
Service canadien de la faune
17 Waterfowl Lane
C.P. 6227
Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick) E4L 1G6
Tél. : 1-800-668-6767

enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Vous devez détenir un permis valide de chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs considérés comme gibier délivré par le gouvernement fédéral et portant un timbre sur la conservation des habitats fauniques du Canada pour pouvoir chasser des oiseaux migrateurs au pays. Le permis et le timbre sont valides dans l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires. La plupart des provinces et des territoires ont des exigences supplémentaires concernant la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs et le port d’armes. Pour connaître ces exigences et pour savoir s’il existe d’autres restrictions relatives à cette chasse, veuillez consulter les règlements applicables de la province ou du territoire où vous chasserez. Il est à noter que vous devez avoir en votre possession tous les permis requis lorsque vous chassez.

Zones de chasse

Zone n° 1
La partie du comté de Saint-Jean sise au sud de la route n° 1 et à l’ouest du port de Saint-Jean, la partie du comté de Charlotte sise au sud de la route n° 1, les îles Grand Manan et l’île Campobello, sauf l’endroit suivant qui est fermé à la chasse : la région de la baie de Fundy appelée The Wolves, y compris les eaux environnantes.

Zone n° 2
Le reste de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick, sauf dans les endroits suivants, où il est interdit de chasser : l’estuaire de la rivière Tabusintac, le bassin de Bathurst et la grande partie du havre de Bathurst (deux îles sont ouvertes à la chasse et des affiches indiquent où elles se trouvent), et le littoral de Dalhousie de la pointe est de l’île Dalhousie à l’embouchure du ruisseau Miller, s’étendant sur un kilomètre dans la zone extracôtière.

Haut de la page

Processus de consultation et rapports sur la réglementation concernant les oiseaux migrateurs

Environnement Canada passe en revue les dispositions concernant la chasse contenues dans le Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs, en tenant compte des commentaires des provinces et des territoires ainsi que d’une gamme d’autres intervenants intéressés. Le Ministère a élaboré un processus de consultation pour adopter les règlements sur la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs et publie une série de rapports sur la réglementation concernant les oiseaux migrateurs. Ces rapports peuvent être consultés sur le site Web d’Environnement Canada.

L’utilisation d’appâts avant et pendant la saison de chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs est limitée; veuillez consulter le Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs pour les restrictions sur le dépôt d’appâts. Consultez votre permis et la réglementation provinciale pour connaître les restrictions supplémentaires telles que la fermeture de la chasse le dimanche et la distance minimale requise par rapport aux résidences et aux entreprises.

Les réserves nationales de faune situées au Nouveau-Brunswick sont administrées en vertu du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages au Canada. Veuillez consulter les avis affichés à l’entrée des réserves pour connaître les règles spécifiques.

Les Journées de la relève offrent aux jeunes n’ayant pas l’âge de la majorité (de 12 à 17 ans) l’occasion d’exercer leurs habiletés de chasse, d’augmenter leurs connaissances sur la conservation des espèces sauvages et d’améliorer leur formation en matière de sécurité dans un milieu structuré et contrôlé. Des chasseurs adultes détenant un permis et agissant comme mentors ont l’occasion de transmettre leurs importantes habiletés et connaissances en donnant des conseils aux jeunes chasseurs et en les encadrant. Les règles suivantes sont en vigueur :

  • les jeunes chasseurs n’ayant pas l’âge de la majorité ne sont pas tenus de détenir le Permis de chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs considérés comme gibier du gouvernement fédéral pour participer;
  • les jeunes participants doivent se conformer à toutes les exigences en matière de sécurité et de permis prescrites par la Loi sur les armes à feu et par les règlements de chasse provinciaux;
  • les participants doivent être accompagnés d’un mentor qui détient un permis et qui a dépassé l’âge de la majorité;
  • les mentors ne peuvent pas chasser ou être en possession d’armes à feu et peuvent accompagner, au plus, deux jeunes chasseurs.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, l’utilisation de la grenaille non toxique est obligatoire pour la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs considérés comme gibier, sauf pour la chasse aux bécasses. Dans les réserves nationales de faune, il est interdit de posséder de la grenaille de plomb pour la chasse, y compris la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs et aux espèces d’oiseaux terrestres considérés comme gibier. Les chasseurs doivent consulter les règlements des provinces ou des territoires pour les restrictions supplémentaires. Afin de réduire l’exposition aux contaminants, il faut enlever la grenaille de plomb avant la cuisson des oiseaux qui ont été chassés avec ce type de grenaille.

Échec au crime

La Direction de l’application de la loi sur la faune d’Environnement Canada participe au programme Échec au crime du Nouveau-Brunswick pour traiter des infractions se rattachant aux oiseaux migrateurs. Toute personne qui voudrait signaler des activités de chasse illégale, de vente illégale d’oiseaux ou de toute autre infraction liée aux oiseaux migrateurs est priée de communiquer avec « Échec au crime » au 1-800-222-TIPS (8477). Votre appel est anonyme et vous pourriez obtenir une récompense en argent.

Haut de la page

Saisons de chasse au Nouveau-Brunswick (Aucune saison de chasse aux Arlequins plongeurs)
RégionCanards (autres qu’Arlequins plongeurs), et oies et bernaches
(Journée de la relève)
Canards (autres qu’Arlequins plongeurs, Grands harles, Harles huppés, Hareldes kakawis, eiders et macreuses), oies, bernaches (autres que Bernaches du Canada et Bernaches de Hutchins)
et bécassines
Bernaches du Canada et
Bernaches de Hutchins
Grands Harles, Harles huppés, Hareldes kakawis, eiders et macreusesBécasses
Zone n° 119 sept. 2015du 15 oct. 2015 au 4 janv. 2016du 8 au 22 sept. 2015 et du
15 oct. 2015 au 4 janv. 2016
du 15 oct. 2015 au 4 janv.
2016 du 1er au 24 févr. 2016
du 15 sept. au 30 nov. 2015
Zone n° 219 sept. 2015du 1er oct. au 18 déc. 2015du 8 au 22 sept. 2015 et
du 1er oct. au 18 déc. 2015
du 1er oct. au 18 déc. 2015du 15 sept. au 30 nov. 2015
Maximums de prises et maximums d'oiseaux à posséder au Nouveau-Brunswick
MaximumsCanards (autres que les Grands Harles, Harles huppés, Hareldes kakawis, Arlequins plongeurs, eiders et macreuses)Grands Harles, Harles huppés, Hareldes kakawis, eiders et macreusesOies et bernachesBécassesBécassines
Prises par jour6Note a du tableau6Note c du tableau5Note e du tableau810
Oiseaux à posséder18Note b du tableau12Note d du tableau161620

Note du tableau : Maximums de prises et maximums d'oiseaux à posséder au Nouveau-Brunswick

Note [a] du tableau

Dont un seul peut être un Garrot d’Islande et au plus trois peuvent être des Canards noirs.

Retour à la référence de la note a du tableau

Note [b] du tableau

Dont un seul peut être un Garrot d’Islande.

Retour à la référence de la note b du tableau

Note [c] du tableau

Dont quatre, au plus, peuvent être des macreuses et dans la zone no 1, du 1er au 24 février 2016, il n’est pas permis de prendre plus de quatre eiders par jour

Retour à la référence de la note c du tableau

Note [d] du tableau

Dont huit, au plus, peuvent être des macreuses et dans la zone no 1, du 1er au 24 février 2016, il n’est pas permis de posséder plus de huit eiders au total.

Retour à la référence de la note d du tableau

Note [e] du tableau

Au plus trois Bernaches du Canada ou Bernaches de Hutchins supplémentaires, ou une combinaison des deux, peuvent être prises par jour du 8 au 22 septembre 2015 inclusivement.

Retour à la référence de la note e du tableau

Pour signaler des bagues d'oiseaux migrateurs

Composer le 1-800-327-BAND (2263) ou consulter le site web de signaler un oiseau portant une bague du gouvernement fédéral ou un marqueur de couleur

Haut de la page