Migratory Birds Hunting Regulations, 2015-2016: Nunavut


Summary

The information presented here is a summary of the law. If there is a discrepancy between the law and this summary, the law prevails. For complete information on fines, general prohibitions, permitted hunting methods and equipment, the requirement to have adequate means to retrieve birds immediately, restrictions on the use of bait, the description of hunting zones, and other restrictions on hunting, please refer to the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and the Migratory Birds Regulations. These, along with other useful information for hunters, can be found on the Environment and Climate Change Canada website, or you may contact:

Environment and Climate Change Canada
Canadian Wildlife Service
5019, 52 Street
P.O. Box 2310
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2P7
Tel.: 1-800-668-6767
enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

You are required to possess a valid federal Migratory Game Bird Hunting Permit with a Canadian Wildlife Habitat Conservation Stamp to hunt migratory birds in Canada. This permit and stamp are valid in all provinces and territories. Most provinces and territories have additional licence requirements for hunting migratory birds and/or to carry firearms. To know what you require, and if there are further restrictions for hunting migratory birds, please verify the applicable regulations for the province/territory where you will be hunting. Note that all required permits and licences must be in your possession while you are hunting.

If you are hunting on private lands (Inuit Owned Lands), ensure you have permission from the Regional Inuit Association.

Consultation Process and Migratory Birds Regulatory Reports

The hunting provisions of the Migratory Birds Regulations are reviewed by Environment and Climate Change Canada, with input from the provinces and territories, as well as a range of other interested stakeholders. Environment and Climate Change Canada has developed a consultation process for establishing hunting regulations for migratory birds, and publishes the Migratory Birds Regulatory Report Series that can be found on the Environment and Climate Change Canada website.

In Nunavut, non-toxic shot must be used to hunt migratory game birds. Within National Wildlife Areas, the possession of lead shot is prohibited for all hunting, including the hunting of migratory birds and upland game birds.

Barrow’s Goldeneye is listed in the Species at Risk Act as a species of special concern, and the bag and possession limit of 1 remains in place.

Open Seasons in Nunavut
AreaDucks, geese, coots and snipe
Throughout NunavutSept. 1 to Dec. 10, 2015Note a of Table

Top of Page

Measures in Nunavut Concerning Overabundant Species
AreaPeriod during which Snow Geese and Ross's Geese may be killedAdditional hunting method or equipment
Throughout NunavutAug. 15 to Aug. 31, 2015Recorded bird callsNote b of Table
Throughout NunavutMay 1 to June 30, 2016Recorded bird callsNote b of Table

Note

Hunters interested in participating in the conservation harvest of Snow Geese should keep their 2015-2016 federal permits.

Top of Page

Bag and Possession Limits in Nunavut
LimitsDucks
(Residents of Canada)
Ducks
(Non-residents of Canada)
Canada Geese, Cackling Geese, White-fronted Geese and Brant
(Residents of Canada)
Canada Geese, Cackling Geese, White-fronted Geese and Brant
(Non-residents of Canada)
Snow Geese and Ross’s GeeseCootsSnipe
(Residents of Canada)
Snipe
(Non-residents of Canada)
Daily bag25Note c of Table8Note c of Table15Note e of Table5Note g of Table50Note i of Table251010
PossessionNo limitNote d of Table16Note d of TableNo limitNote f of Table10Note f of TableNote h of TableNo limitNo limitNo limit20

Top of Page

Note

No person shall hunt earlier than one half-hour before sunrise or later than one half-hour after sunset, except north of the 60th parallel, where no person shall hunt earlier than one hour before sunrise or later than one hour after sunset.

Report Your Migratory Bird Bands

Call 1-800-327-BAND (2263) or go to the Report a bird with a Federal Band or Color Marker website

Top of Page

Date modified:

Règlement de chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs, 2015-2016 : Nunavut


Abrégé

Les renseignements présentés ici constituent une version abrégée de la loi. S'il existe une différence entre la loi et le présent abrégé, la loi prévaut. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les amendes, les restrictions générales, les méthodes et le matériel de chasse autorisés, l'obligation d'avoir des moyens appropriés à la récupération immédiate des oiseaux, les restrictions concernant les appâts, la description des districts de chasse et d'autres restrictions sur la chasse, veuillez consulter la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et le Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs. Vous trouverez ces renseignements, ainsi que d'autres informations utiles pour les chasseurs, sur le site Web d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, ou vous pouvez vous adresser à :

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
Service canadien de la faune
5019, 52 Street
CP 2310
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) X1A 2P7
Tél. : 1-800-668-6767
enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Vous devez détenir un permis valide de chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs considérés comme gibier délivré par le gouvernement fédéral et portant un timbre sur la conservation des habitats fauniques du Canada pour pouvoir chasser des oiseaux migrateurs au pays. Le permis et le timbre sont valides dans l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires. La plupart des provinces et des territoires ont des exigences supplémentaires concernant la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs et le port d'armes. Pour connaître ces exigences et pour savoir s'il existe d'autres restrictions relatives à cette chasse, veuillez consulter les règlements applicables de la province ou du territoire où vous chasserez. Il est à noter que vous devez avoir en votre possession tous les permis requis lorsque vous chassez.

Si vous chassez sur des terres privées (terres inuites), assurez-vous d'avoir l'autorisation de l'association régionale inuite.

Processus de consultation et rapports sur la réglementation concernant les oiseaux migrateurs

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada passe en revue les dispositions concernant la chasse contenues dans le Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs, en tenant compte des commentaires des provinces et des territoires ainsi que d'une gamme d'autres intervenants intéressés. Le Ministère a élaboré un processus de consultation pour adopter les règlements sur la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs et publie une série de rapports sur la réglementation concernant les oiseaux migrateurs. Ces rapports peuvent être consultés sur le site Web d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Au Nunavut, l'utilisation de la grenaille non toxique est obligatoire pour la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs considérés comme gibier. Dans les réserves nationales de faune, il est interdit de posséder de la grenaille de plomb pour la chasse, y compris la chasse aux oiseaux migrateurs et aux espèces d'oiseaux terrestres considérés comme gibier.

Le Garrot d'Islande est inscrit dans la Loi sur les espèces en péril en tant qu'espèce préoccupante, et la quantité maximale d'oiseaux à prendre et à posséder demeure la même, soit 1.

Saisons de chasse au Nunavut
RégionCanards, oies et bernaches, foulques et bécassines
Partout au Nunavutdu 1er septembre au 10 décembre 2015Note a du tableau

Haut de la page

Mesures concernant les espèces surabondantes au Nunavut
RégionPériodes durant lesquelles l'Oie des neiges et l'Oie de Ross peuvent être tuéesMéthodes ou matériel de chasse supplémentaires
Tout le Nunavutdu 15 août au 31 août 2015Enregistrement d'appels d'oiseauxNote b du tableau
Tout le Nunavutdu 1er mai au 30 juin 2016Enregistrement d'appels d'oiseauxNote b du tableau

Nota

Les chasseurs intéressés à participer à la récolte de conservation des Oies des neiges et des Oies de Ross au printemps prochain devraient conserver leur permis fédéral 2015-2016.

Haut de la page

Maximums de prises et maximums d'oiseaux à posséder au Nunavut
MaximumsCanards
(Résidents du Canada)
Canards
(Non-résidents du Canada)
Bernaches du Canada, Bernaches du
Hutchins, Oies rieuses, Bernaches cravants
(Résidents du Canada)
Bernaches du Canada, Bernaches du Hutchins, Oies rieuses, Bernaches cravants
(Non-résidents du Canada)
Oies des neiges et Oies de RossFoulquesBécassines
(Résidents du Canada)
Bécassines
(Non-résidents du Canada)
Prises par jour25Note c du tableau8Note c du tableau15Note e du tableau5Note g du tableau50Note i du tableau251010
Oiseaux à posséderaucune limite Note d du tableau16Note d du tableauaucune limite Note f du tableau10Note f du tableauNote h du tableauaucune limiteaucune limiteaucune limite20

Haut de la page

Nota

Il est interdit de chasser plus tôt qu'une demi-heure avant le lever du soleil ou plus tard qu'une demi-heure après le coucher du soleil, sauf au nord du 60e parallèle, où il est interdit de chasser plus tôt qu'une heure avant le lever du soleil ou plus tard qu'une heure après le coucher du soleil.

Pour signaler des bagues d'oiseaux migrateurs

Composer le 1-800-327-BAND (2263) ou consulter le site web de signaler un oiseau portant une bague du gouvernement fédéral ou un marqueur de couleur

Haut de la page

Date de modification :