Managing Contaminated Sites

Federal contaminated sites are a legacy of past practices that have resulted in contamination. The Government of Canada has taken action through the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) and remains committed to the proper management of those contaminated sites for which it is responsible.

The Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) program assists federal departments, agencies and consolidated Crown corporations, called custodians, to manage their sites. The program's objective is to reduce environmental and human health risks and associated federal financial liabilities from known federal contaminated sites, while giving priority to higher risk sites.

Environment Canada has three roles under FCSAP

  • Housing the FCSAP Secretariat, which provides program guidance and leadership to custodians and is responsible for the administration of the program.  It is supported in this role by Treasury Board Secretariat.
  • Providing expert support to custodians, primarily on issues and questions related to ecological risks and more broadly on environmental matters related to contaminated sites.
  • Assessing and remediating its own sites.
Date modified:

Gestion des sites contaminés

Les sites contaminés fédéraux sont le résultat d'anciennes pratiques ayant causé une contamination. Le gouvernement du Canada est passé à l’action avec le Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) et demeure déterminé à gérer adéquatement les sites contaminés dont il a la responsabilité.

Le programme du Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) aide les ministères et agences fédéraux ainsi que les sociétés d’État consolidées à gérer leurs sites. L’objectif du programme est de réduire les risques pour la santé humaine et l’environnement posés par les sites contaminés fédéraux ainsi que le passif financier fédéral qui leur est associé. Les sites qui présentent les risques les plus élevés sont gérés en priorité.

Dans le cadre du PASCF, Environnement Canada joue trois rôles :

  • Former le Secrétariat du PASCF, lequel fournit des directives et du soutien aux gardiens et qui est responsable de l’administration du programme. Il est soutenu dans ce rôle par le Secrétariat du Conseil de Trésor.
  • Fournir un soutien expert aux gardiens, principalement sur des enjeux liés aux risques écologiques, mais également sur diverses questions environnementales en lien avec les sites contaminés
  • Évaluer et assainir ses propres sites.
Date de modification :