Managing Pollution

As hard as we try to prevent pollution, human activities, increasing industrial output and spreading urbanization produce a variety of harmful substances. These substances must be managed so their impact on human health and the environment is limited.

Within the Government of Canada, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 1999 is the primary tool to manage pollutants. Environment Canada enforces this and other protective laws and regulations.

In addition, departmental scientists strive to gain a better understanding of how we are affecting the environment. Based on this growing knowledge, new tools to limit harmful substances are introduced.

Environment Canada’s efforts to keep pollution in check include:

  • A science-based tool that helps protect ecosystem health by determining the impact of human activities.
  • Assessing all new substances for potential toxicity and controlling their introduction into the Canadian marketplace.
  • Learn how EC is managing contaminated sites under its responsibility and helping other departments deal with ecological issues and other environmental matters related to their contaminated sites.

Evaluating Existing Substances and the Chemicals Management Plan

The Existing Substances Program prioritizes, and assesses substances that have been or are currently used in Canada as commercial substances or products, or are released into the Canadian environment on their own or as effluents, mixtures or contaminants and that pose risks to the health of Canadians and the environment. Within Environment Canada and Health Canada it represents the Government of Canada's expertise for the risk assessment of existing substances under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act,1999 (CEPA 1999).

For information on risk assessment of existing substances under the Existing Substances Program, please consult the Chemical Substances Web site.

Gestion de la pollution

Même si nous tentons de prévenir la pollution, les activités humaines, la production industrielle croissante et l'urbanisation étendue produisent diverses substances nocives. Ces substances doivent être gérées de façon à limiter leurs répercussions sur la santé humaine et l'environnement.

Au sein du gouvernement du Canada, la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) est l'outil majeur de la gestion des polluants. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada applique cette loi, ainsi que d'autres lois et règlements de protection.

En outre, les scientifiques du Ministère s'efforcent de mieux comprendre les répercussions de nos actes sur l'environnement. À partir de ces connaissances de plus en plus développées, de nouveaux outils sont présentés afin de limiter les substances nocives.

Les efforts d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada pour maîtriser la pollution comprennent :

  • Il s'agit d'un outil scientifique qui aide à protéger la santé de l'écosystème en déterminant les répercussions des activités humaines.
  • Il s'agit de l'évaluation de toutes les nouvelles substances pour déterminer leur toxicité éventuelle et contrôler leur introduction sur le marché canadien.
  • Apprenez comment EC gère les sites contaminés sous sa responsabilité et aide d'autres ministères à faire face aux enjeux écologiques et autres questions environnementales liés à leurs sites contaminés.

Évaluation des substances existantes et le Plan de gestion des produits chimiques

Le Programme des substances existantes, détermine, priorise et évalue les risques pour la santé des canadiens et l'environnement provenant des substances qui ont été ou sont actuellement utilisées au Canada comme substances ou produits commerciaux ou sont rejetées dans l'environnement canadien seul ou sous forme d'effluent, de mélange ou de contaminant. au sein d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et de Santé Canada. Il représente l'expertise du Gouvernement du Canada en matière d'évaluation des risques des substances existantes aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].

Pour de l'information au sujet de l'évaluation des risques des substances existantes au sein du programme de substances existantes, veuillez consulter le site web Substances Chimiques.
Date de modification :