Polyurethane and Other Foam Sector (except Polystyrene) – Toluene Diisocyanates

Pollution Prevention Planning Notices

Notice Requiring the Preparation and Implementation of Pollution Prevention Plans in Respect of Specified Substances on Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, Related to the Polyurethane and Other Foam Sector (except Polystyrene)

On November 26, 2011, the Minister of the Environment published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, a Notice under Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) requiring persons within the polyurethane and other foam sector (except polystyrene) to prepare and implement pollution prevention plans in respect of specified substances on Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999 that are released from foam industries.

The first substances to be addressed by the Notice are Toluene Diisocyanates (TDIs), which refer to one or more of the following substances: 2,6-Toluene Diisocyanate (Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number [CAS RN] 91-08-7); 2,4-Toluene Diisocyanate (CAS RN 584-84-9); or the mixtures of 2,6-Toluene Diisocyanate and 2,4-Toluene Diisocyanate (CAS RN 26471-62-5). This sector-based Pollution Prevention Planning Notice will allow the addition of other substances on Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999, as may be required in the future, with substance-specific risk management objectives and requirements.

This Notice outlines the requirements to prepare and implement pollution prevention plans and includes related reporting schedules for TDIs, to be completed by persons subject to the Notice.

Notice Requiring the Preparation and Implementation of Pollution Prevention Plans in Respect of Specified Substances on Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, Related to the Polyurethane and Other Foam Sector (except Polystyrene) (HTML) (PDF; 3.97 MB)

The Notice was developed with consideration to all the comments received during consultations on the Working Document and on the Proposed Notice.

Contacts

For all technical inquiries regarding the content of this Notice, please contact:

Chemical Products Division
Environment and Climate Change Canada
351 St. Joseph Boulevard
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3
Telephone: 819-938-4209
Fax: 819-938-4218
Email: pgpc-cmp.dppc-cpd@canada.ca

For inquiries regarding reporting and pollution prevention practices, please contact:

Environment and Climate Change Canada
Regulatory Innovation and Management Systems
c/o Innovative Measures Section
351 St-Joseph Blvd., 20th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H3

Telephone (toll free): 1-844-580-3637
Fax: 819-420-7386 / 1-844-580-3638
Email: ec.planp2-P2Plan.EC@canada.ca

Results

Pollution Prevention Planning Notice Toolkit

Consultations (archived)

Risk Assessment and Risk Management

Related Material

Date modified:

Secteur des mousses de polyuréthane et autres mousses plastiques (à l'exception du polystyrène) Les diisocyanates de toluène

Avis de la planification de la prévention de la pollution

Avis obligeant l'élaboration et l'exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution à l'égard de certaines substances de l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 pour le secteur des mousses de polyuréthane et autres mousses plastiques (à l'exception du polystyrène)

Le 26 novembre 2011, le ministre de l'Environnement a publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada un avis en vertu de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 [LCPE (1999)] obligeant des personnes du secteur des mousses de polyuréthane et autres mousses plastiques (à l'exception du polystyrène) qu'elles élaborent et exécutent des plans de prévention de la pollution à l'égard de certaines substances de l'annexe 1 de la Loi, qui sont rejetées par les industries de fabrication de mousses.

Les premières substances visées par l'avis sont les diisocyanates de toluène (TDI), qui renvoient à l'une ou plusieurs des substances suivantes : le 2,6-diisocyanate de toluène (nº de registre du Chemical Abstracts Service [CAS] 91-08-7); le 2,4-diisocyanate de toluène (nº CAS 584-84-9); les mélanges de 2,6-diisocyanate de toluène et de 2,4-diisocyanate de toluène (nº CAS 26471-62-5). Cet avis sectoriel de planification de la prévention de la pollution permettra l'ajout d'autres substances de l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), selon les besoins à venir, avec des objectifs de gestion des risques et des exigences spécifiques à ces substances.

Cet avis précise les exigences en matière d'élaboration et d'exécution des plans de prévention de la pollution et comprend les formulaires sur les TDI devant être remplis par les personnes assujetties à l'avis.

Avis obligeant l'élaboration et l'exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution à l'égard de certaines substances de l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 pour le secteur des mousses de polyuréthane et autres mousses plastiques (à l'exception du polystyrène) (HTML) (PDF; 3,97 Mo)

Cet avis a été élaboré en tenant compte de tous les commentaires reçus durant les consultations sur le document de travail et sur le projet d'avis.

Personnes-ressources

Pour toute question technique concernant le contenu de cet avis, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la production des produits chimiques
Environnement Canada
200, boulevard Sacré Coeur
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3
Téléphone: 819-994-4404
Télécopieur : 819-994-5030
Courriel : pgpc-cmp.dppc-cpd@ec.gc.ca

Pour les questions concernant les pratiques de prévention de la pollution et la production de rapports, veuillez communiquer avec :

Section des mesures innovatrices
Innovation réglementaire et systèmes de gestion
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard St. Joseph
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 819-420-7796
Télécopieur : 819-420-7386
Courriel : LCPEPlansP2-CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca

Résultats

Boîte à outils de l'avis de planification de la prévention de la pollution

Consultations (archivées)

Évaluation et gestion des risques

Matériel connexe