Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Pollution Prevention Planning Consultations

Consultation (archived)

Working Document on Pollution Prevention Planning for Products Containing Nonlyphenol and its Ethoxylates

The following is a working document presenting the main elements that Environment Canada proposes to include in a section 56 notice requiring the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans for products containing Nonylphenol (NP) and its Ethoxylates (NPEs) under Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Comments received on this document will be used to develop a Proposed Notice that will be published under section 56 of CEPA 1999 in the Canada Gazette, Part I initiating a 60-day comment period. Following this, a final Notice requiring the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans will be published in the Canada Gazette, Part I.

More information on pollution prevention planning can be found in the Guidelines for the Implementation of the Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). These guidelines and other information related to pollution prevention and pollution prevention planning can be found at www.ec.gc.ca/planp2-p2plan/.

Objectives and timelines in the Working Document are based on the risk management objective and instrument for products containing NP and NPEs, proposed in the Risk Management Strategy for NP and NPEs and revised in the Revisions to the Proposed Risk Management Objective and Risk Management Instrument, and Response to Comments. These reports were distributed to stakeholders in June 2002 and January 2003 respectively and can be obtained by contacting the person listed above.

Since the distribution of the latter document in January 2003, the following revisions have been made to the proposed risk management instrument:

  • The threshold by which companies will determine if they meet the requirements to prepare and implement pollution prevention plans has been revised such that any person who purchases 1000 kg or more of NP and NPEs in one calendar year will be subject to the Notice. The threshold of NP and NPEs purchased per calendar year has been decreased from 2000 kg to 1000 kg to ensure that the majority of products containing NP and NPEs would be subject to the requirements of the pollution prevention plans while maintaining the objective of excluding companies using or importing small quantities of NP and NPEs.
  • Soap and cleaning products, processing aids used in textile wet processing, and pulp and paper processing aids manufactured or imported in Canada for export to another country have been excluded from the activities in relation to which pollution prevention plans are to be prepared. Exports have been excluded to be consistent with the environmental objective of reducing the environmental exposure of NP and NPEs in Canada.
  • Timelines for the reduction of NP and NPEs for persons who become subject to the Notice after the date of publication in the Canada Gazette have been shortened. The proposed reduction timelines are to achieve phase 1 reductions for the calendar year following the year that the person becomes subject to the Final Notice and phase 2 reductions for the subsequent calendar year.

Substances declared toxic under CEPA 1999 to be included in the Notice:
Nonylphenol (NP) and its Ethoxylates (NPEs)

1. Person or class of persons required to prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan:

(1) This notice applies to any person or class of persons who

(a) (i) owns or operates a facility that manufactures soap and cleaning products, or processing aids used in textile wet processing, or pulp and paper processing aids;

or

(ii) imports soap and cleaning products, or processing aids used in textile wet processing, or pulp and paper processing aids into Canada;

and

(b) purchases or otherwise acquires 1000 kg or more of NP and/or NPEs, including but not limited to, raw NP and/or NPEs, NP and/or NPEs in formulations, and NP and/or NPEs in final products in at least one calendar year between January 1, 2003 and December 31, 2012, to be used in any of the activities outlined in section 2;

(2) Despite subsection (1), this notice does not apply to any person or class of persons who

(a) has totally eliminated the use of NP and/or NPEs from the activities referred to in section 2 at the time of publication of the Final Notice in the Canada Gazette;

or

(b) is subject to the requirements of the Final Pollution Prevention Planning Notice, code P2TMENPE, targeting the wet processing textile industry.

2. Activities in relation to which the plan is to be prepared:

All persons identified in section 1 shall prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan in relation to the following activities involving NP and/or NPEs:

(a) the manufacture of soap and cleaning products, processing aids used in textile wet processing, and pulp and paper processing aids, excluding those for export to another country; and

(b) the import of soap and cleaning products, processing aids used in textile wet processing, and pulp and paper processing aids, excluding those for export to another country.

3. Factors to consider in preparing the plan:

When preparing the pollution prevention plan, all persons identified in section 1 shall consider the following factors:

(1) The Risk Management Objective for Products Containing NP and/or NPEs

A reduction of NP and/or NPEs in soap and cleaning products, processing aids used in textile wet processing, and pulp and paper processing aids manufactured in or imported into Canada as per the following reduction targets and timelines:

Reduction Targets and Timelines

Reduction Target
Reduction Timeline
Phase 1
For each person subject to the final Notice, a 50% reduction of the total mass of NP and/or NPEs used and/or imported annually, from base year levels.

If a person is subject to the final Notice on the date of publication in the Canada Gazette, phase 1 reductions should be achieved for the calendar year January 1 to December 31, 2007; or
If a person becomes subject to the Final Notice after the date of publication in the Canada Gazette, phase 1 reductions should be achieved for the calendar year (January 1 to December 31) following the year that the person becomes subject to the Final Notice. Such a person becomes subject to the Notice on January 1st of the year following the year that the criteria in Section 1 of the Notice are met.

 

 

Phase 2
For each person subject to the Final Notice, a 95% reduction of the total mass of NP and/or NPEs used and/or imported annually, from base year levels.

If a person is subject to the final Notice on the date of publication in the Canada Gazette, phase 2 reductions should be achieved for the calendar year January 1 to December 31, 2010; or
If a person becomes subject to the final Notice after the date of publication in the Canada Gazette, phase 2 reductions should be achieved for the calendar year (January 1 to December 31) following the year referred to above to achieve the phase 1 reductions.

 


The base year is 1998, or the first calendar year after 1998 where the person subject to the Final Notice has purchased or otherwise acquired 1000 kg or more of NP and/or NPEs, for the activities outlined in section 2.

(2) Nonylphenol and its ethoxylates were declared toxic under section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) and added to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 of the Act. Many acute and chronic toxic effects of Nonylphenol have been reported in a variety of aquatic biota, including fish, invertebrates and algae. Release of NP and/or NPEs in Canada can result in environmental concentrations that exceed the levels of concern.

(3) In preparing a plan, priority is to be given to pollution prevention activities, that is, the use of processes, practices, materials, products, substances or energy that avoid or minimize the creation of pollutants and waste and reduce the overall risk to the environment or human health.

(4) In order to achieve the risk management objective set out in subsection 3(1), persons subject to the Final Notice shall consider using the best available techniques economically achievable (BATEA). These techniques include, but are not limited to:

(a) for the manufacture of products containing NP and/or NPEs: product reformulation including substitution of NP and/or NPEs or reduction of NP and/or NPEs concentration in products to the maximum extent possible.

(b) for the import of products containing NP and/or NPEs: ensuring that imported products contain no NP and/or NPEs or contain only the minimum concentration of NP and/or NPEs necessary to achieve the desired result.

(5) Persons subject to the Final Notice shall consider including accurate concentrations of NP and/or NPEs remaining in products (if any) on each product’s label.

(6) Alternatives to NP and/or NPEs should be chosen to ensure that environmental risks are reduced or minimized. Considerations should include the following:

(a) the Priority Substance List Assessment Report for Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates indicates that Octylphenol (OP) and its Ethoxylates (OPEs) have similar toxicological properties and possibly greater estrogenic properties than NP and/or NPEs. Therefore, OP and/or OPEs should not be used as an alternative to NP and/or NPEs;

(b) the chosen alternatives should not have, through their degradation, the potential to produce NP and/or NPEs.

4. Period within which the plan is to be prepared:

(1) If a person is subject to the Final Notice on the date of publication in the Canada Gazette, the plan shall be prepared and implementation initiated no later than June 30, 2005

(2) If a person becomes subject to the Final Notice after the date of publication in the Canada Gazette, the plan shall be prepared and implementation initiated no later than 6 months of becoming subject to the Final Notice.

5. Period within which the plan is to be implemented:

(1) If a person is subject to the Final Notice on the date of publication in the Canada Gazette, the plan must be implemented by December 31, 2010.

(2) If a person becomes subject to the Final Notice after the date of publication in the Canada Gazette, the plan must be implemented within 36 months of becoming subject to the Final Notice.

6. Content of plan:

Persons preparing the plan are to determine the appropriate content of their own plan; however, all requirements of the Final Notice must be met, and the plan must contain and support the information to be filed in the Declarations and the Interim Progress Reports.

7. Requirement to keep plan:

All persons identified in section 1 must keep a copy of the plan at the place in Canada in relation to which the plan is prepared.

8. Declaration of Preparation:

A Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan Has Been Prepared and Is Being Implemented - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Subsection 58(1) of CEPA 1999) form is given in Schedule 1. This Declaration must be filed no later than 30 days after the end of the period within which the plan is to be prepared referred to in section 4.

9. Declaration of Implementation:

A Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan Has Been Implemented Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Subsection 58(2) of CEPA 1999) form is given in Schedule 5. This Declaration must be filed within 30 days after the completion of the implementation of the plan as specified in section 5.

10. Filing of amended Declarations:

Where a person has filed a Declaration of Preparation or Implementation, referred to in sections 8 and 9, and the Declaration contains information that at any time thereafter becomes false or misleading, that person shall file an amended Declaration within 30 days after that time.

11. Interim Progress Reports:

Persons identified in section 1 shall complete and file with the Minister of the Environment an Interim Progress Report – Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates, using the form given in Schedule 4 for the dates below. If a Declaration of Implementation is submitted before an Interim Progress Report is due, then the requirement to submit such an Interim Progress Report is nullified.

(1) If a person is subject to the Final Notice on the date of publication in the Canada Gazette,

  • Interim Progress Report No. 1 must be filed by January 31, 2007.
  • Interim Progress Report No. 2 must be filed by January 31, 2008.
  • Interim Progress Report No. 3 must be filed by January 31, 2010.

(2) If a person becomes subject to the Final Notice after the date of publication in the Canada Gazette,

  • Interim Progress Report No. 1 must be filed 13 months after becoming subject to the Final Notice.
  • Interim Progress Report No, 2 must be filed 25 months after becoming subject to the Final Notice.

12. Use of a plan prepared or implemented for another purpose:

Pollution prevention plans prepared or implemented for another purpose can be used to satisfy the requirements of the Final Notice as specified in subsection 57(1) of CEPA 1999. Under subsection 57(2) of CEPA 1999, where a person uses a plan that does not meet all the requirements of the Final section 56 Notice, the person can amend the plan so that it meets all of those requirements or prepare an additional plan that meets the remainder of those requirements. Persons using plans prepared for another purpose must still file the Declaration of Preparation referred to in section 8, Declaration of Implementation referred to in section 9, any amended Declarations referred to in section 10, where applicable, and Interim Progress Reports referred to in section 11.

13. Extension of time:

(1) Where the Minister is of the opinion that further time is necessary to prepare the plan as specified in section 4 or to implement the plan as specified in section 5, the Minister may extend the period for a person who submits a written Request for Time Extension - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Section 56(3) of CEPA, 1999) using the form given in Schedule 3 before the expiry of the date referred to in the applicable section 4 or section 5 or before the expiry of any extended period.

(2) Where the Minister is of the opinion that further time is necessary to file an Interim Progress Report under section 11, the Minister may extend the date on which the Interim Progress Report must be filed for a person who submits a written Request for Time Extension - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Subsection 56(3) of CEPA 1999) using the form given in Schedule 3 before the date referred to in section 11 or before the expiry of any extended period.

14. Application for waiver of factors to consider:

Where the Minister is of the opinion that it is not reasonable or practicable to consider a factor specified in the Final Notice, the Minister may waive the requirement to consider that factor for a person who submits a written Request for Waiver of the Requirement to Consider a Factor or Factors - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Subsection 56(5) of CEPA 1999) using the form given in Schedule 2, providing reasons for the request before the expiry of the period within which the plan is to be prepared referred to in section 4.

15. More information on pollution prevention planning:

Additional information and guidance on preparing pollution prevention plans may be obtained from the Canadian Pollution Prevention Information Clearinghouse (http://www.ec.gc.ca/cppic), the CEPA Registry (http://www.ec.gc.ca/CEPARegistry/plans/P2/), Environment Canada’s regional offices, and the Pollution Prevention Planning website (http://www.ec.gc.ca/planp2-p2plan).

Included are:

  • Schedule 1: Declaration That a Pollution Prevention Plan Has Been Prepared and Is Being Implemented - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Subsection 58(1) of CEPA 1999)
  • Schedule 2: Request for Waiver of the Requirement to Consider a Factor or Factors - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Subsection 56(5) of CEPA 1999)
  • Schedule 3: Request for Time Extension - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Subsection 56(3) of CEPA 1999)
  • Schedule 4: Interim Progress Report - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates
  • Schedule 5: Declaration That a Pollution Prevention Plan Has Been Implemented - Nonylphenol and its Ethoxylates (Subsection 58(2) of CEPA 1999)

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Consultations sur des avis de planification de la prévention de la pollution

Consultation (archivée)

Document de travail sur les plans de prévention de la pollution à l'égard des produits contenant du nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés

Ce document de travail est destiné à présenter les principaux éléments qu'Environnement Canada a l'intention d'inclure dans un avis exigeant l'élaboration et l'exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution à l'égard des produits contenant du nonylphénol (NP) et ses dérivés éthoxylés (NPE), en vertu de la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Les commentaires reçus sur ce document serviront à élaborer le projet d'avis qui sera publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada en vertu de l'article 56 de la Loi. Une période de commentaires d'une durée de soixante jours suivra. L'avis final sera publié suivant cette période de commentaires.

De plus amples renseignements sur les plans de prévention de la pollution sont disponibles dans le document : « Directives pour la mise en oeuvre des dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] ». Ces directives ainsi que des renseignements au sujet de la prévention de la pollution sont disponibles sur le site www.ec.gc.ca/planp2-p2plan/default.asp?lang=Fr&n=F7B45BF5-1.

Les objectifs et les échéances indiqués dans le document de travail sont établis en fonction de l'objectif et de l'instrument de gestion du risque à l'égard des produits contenant du NP et des NPE, proposés dans la Stratégie de gestion du risque pour le NP et les NPE et révisés dans Révision de l'objectif et de l'instrument de gestion du risque proposés et réponses aux commentaires Ces rapports ont été envoyés aux intervenants respectivement en juin 2002 et en janvier 2003 et on peut les obtenir en communiquant avec la personne susmentionnée.

Depuis la distribution du deuxième document en janvier 2003, les révisions suivantes ont été faites à l'instrument de gestion du risque proposé:

  • Le seuil indiquant aux entreprises si elles doivent élaborer et exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution a été révisé de façon telle que toute personne qui achète 1000 kg ou plus de NP et NPE au cours d'une année civile sera assujettie à l'avis. Le seuil pour le NP et les NPE achetés par année civile a été abaissé de 2000 kg à 1000 kg afin d'assurer qu'une grande partie des produits contenant du NP et des NPE aient à respecter les exigences concernant l'élaboration des plans de prévention de la pollution tout en gardant l'objectif d'exclure les entreprises qui utilisent ou importent de petites quantités de NP et NPE.
  • Les savons et produits de nettoyage, les auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de traitement au mouillé dans l'industrie textile et les auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers qui sont fabriqués ou importés au Canada pour exportation vers un autre pays ont été exclus des activités visées par le plan. Les exportations ont été exclues pour être cohérent avec l'objectif environnemental de réduire l'exposition dans l'environnement de NP et NPE au Canada.
  • Les échéanciers de réduction du NP et des NPE pour les personne qui deviennent assujetties à l'avis final après la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada ont été raccourcis. Les échéanciers de réduction proposés sont l'atteinte des cibles de réduction de la phase 1 pour l'année civile suivant l'année où la personne devient assujettie à l'avis final et l'atteinte des cibles de réduction de la phase 2 pour l'année civile suivante.

Substances déclarées toxiques aux termes de la LCPE (1999) inclus à l'avis :
Nonylphénol (NP) et ses dérivés éthoxylés (NPE)

1. Personnes ou catégories de personnes qui sont tenues d'élaborer et d'exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution:

1) Cet avis s'applique à toute personne ou catégorie de personnes qui

a) (i) possède ou exploite une installation qui fabrique des savons ou des produits de nettoyage, ou des auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de traitement au mouillé dans l'industrie textile ou des auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers;

ou

(ii) importe au Canada des savons ou des produits de nettoyage, ou des auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de traitement au mouillé dans l'industrie textile ou des auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers;

et

b) acquière, notamment par l'achat, un total d'au moins 1 000 kg de NP et/ou NPE, y compris le NP et/ou les NPE bruts, le NP et/ou les NPE dans les préparations et le NP et/ou le NPEdans les produits finaux, au cours d'une année civile ou plus entre le 1er janvier 2003 et le 31 décembre 2012, pour utilisation dans les activités décrites à l'article 2;

2) Malgré le paragraphe (1), cet avis ne s'applique pas à la personne ou à la catégorie de personnes qui

a) a éliminé totalement l'utilisation du NP et/ou des NPE des activités décrites à l'article 2 au moment de la publication de l'avis final;

ou

b) est visée par les exigences de l'avis final relatives au plan de prévention de la pollution, code P2TMENPE, visant les procédés de traitement au mouillé dans l'industrie textile.

2. Activités visées par le plan

Toute personne identifiée à l'article 1 doit élaborer et exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution relatif aux activités suivantes utilisant du NP et/ou des NPE :

a) la fabrication de savons et de produits de nettoyage, d'auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de traitement au mouillé dans l'industrie textile ou d'auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers, sauf ceux qui sont exportés vers un autre pays ; et

b) l'importation de savons et de produits de nettoyage, d'auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de traitement au mouillé dans l'industrie textile ou d'auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers, sauf ceux qui sont exportés vers un autre pays.

3. Facteurs à prendre en considération pour l'élaboration du plan

Au moment de l'élaboration du plan de prévention de la pollution, toute personne identifiée à l'article 1 doit considérer les facteurs suivants :

1) L'objectif de gestion du risque pour les produits contenant du NP et/ou des NPE

La réduction du NP et/ou des NPE dans les savons et les produits de nettoyage, les auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de traitement au mouillé dans l'industrie textile ou les auxiliaires de mise en œuvre des procédés de l'industrie des pâtes et papiers fabriqués ou importés au Canada selon les cibles et les échéanciers suivants :

Les cibles et les échéanciers

Cibles
Échéanciers
Phase 1
Pour chaque personne visée par l'avis final, réduction de 50 % de la quantité totale de NP et/ou NPE utilisée et/ou importée par année, par comparaison aux quantités de l'année de référence.

Si une personne est visée par l'avis final à la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada, les cibles de réduction de la phase 1 doivent être atteintes pour l'année civile du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2007; ou
Si une personne devient assujettie à l'avis final après la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada, les cibles de réduction de la phase 1 doivent être atteintes pour l'année civile (1er janvier au 31 décembre) suivant l'année à laquelle la personne devient visée par l'avis final. Une telle personne devient visée par l'avis le 1er janvier de l'année suivant l'année que les critères dans le paragraphe 1 de l'avis sont atteints.

 

Phase 2
Pour chaque personne visée par l'avis final, réduction de 95 % de la quantité totale de NP et/ou NPE utilisée et/ou importée par année, par comparaison aux quantités de l'année de référence.

Si une personne est visée par l'avis final à la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada, les cibles de réduction de la phase 2 doivent être atteintes pour l'année civile du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2010; ou
Si une personne devient assujettie à l'avis final après la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada, les cibles de réduction de la phase 2 doivent être atteintes pour l'année civile (1er janvier au 31 décembre) suivant l'année visée ci-dessus pour réaliser les réductions de la phase 1.

 


L'année de référence est 1998, ou la première année civile après 1998 au cours de laquelle la personne visée par l'avis final a acheté ou a autrement acquis un total d'au moins 1 000 kg de NP et/ou NPE pour les activités décrites à l'article 2.

2) Le nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés sont toxiques en vertu de l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] et ont été ajoutés à la liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe 1 de la Loi. Plusieurs effets toxiques aigus et chroniques du NP ont été documentés pour divers organismes aquatique, incluant les poissons, les invertébrés et les algues. Les rejets de NP et/ou NPE au Canada peuvent entraîner des concentrations supérieures aux concentrations préoccupantes pour l'environnement.

3) Au moment de l'élaboration d'un plan, il faut accorder une priorité aux activités de prévention de la pollution, c'est-à-dire à l'utilisation de méthodes, de pratiques, de matériels, de produits, de substances ou d'énergie qui évitent ou réduisent la production de polluants et de déchets et qui diminuent l'ensemble des risques pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine.

4) Dans le but d'atteindre l'objectif de gestion du risque précisé dans la paragraphe 3(1), les personnes visées par l'avis final doivent considérer les meilleures techniques existantes d'application rentable (MTEAR). Ces techniques comprennent notamment :

a) pour la fabrication de produits contenant du NP et/ou des NPE : la préparation des produits en remplaçant le NP et/ou les NPE ou la réduction maximale de la concentration de NP et/ou NPE dans les produits;

b) pour l'importation de produits contenant du NP et/ou des NPE : veiller à ce que les produits importés ne contiennent pas de NP et/ou NPE ou contiennent seulement les concentrations minimales de NP et/ou NPE nécessaires à l'atteinte de l'objectif.

5) Les personnes visées par l'avis final doivent considérer l'inclusion, sur les étiquettes des produits, des concentrations exactes de NP et/ou de NPE dans ces produits.

6) Les solutions de recharge doivent être choisies pour réduire au minimum les risques en matière d'environnement. Les considérations doivent inclure :

a) Le rapport d'évaluation de la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire pour le nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés révèle que l'octylphénol (OP) et ses dérivés éthoxylés (OPE) ont des propriétés toxicologiques semblables à celles du NP et/ou des NPE et des propriétés œstrogéniques potentiellement supérieures à celles du NP et/ou des NPE. En conséquence, l'OP et les OPE ne devraient pas servir de produit de remplacement au NP et/ou aux NPE.

b) Les solutions de recharge choisies ne devraient pas, suite à leur dégradation, avoir le potentiel de produire du NP et/ou des NPE.

4. Délai imparti pour l'élaboration du plan

1) Si une personne est visée par l'avis final à la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada, le plan doit être élaboré et son exécution commencée au plus tard le 30 juin 2005.

2) Si une personne devient assujettie à l'avis final après la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada, le plan doit être élaboré et sont exécution commencée dans les 6 mois après que la personne visée soit devenue assujettie à l'avis final.

5. Délai imparti pour l'exécution du plan

1) Si une personne est visée par l'avis final à la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada, le plan doit être exécuté avant le 31 décembre 2010.

2) Si une personne devient assujettie à l'avis final après la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada, le plan doit être exécuté dans les 36 mois après que la personne visée soit devenue assujettie à l'avis final.

6. Contenu du plan

Les personnes chargées de préparer le plan doivent déterminer le contenu de leur propre plan; celui-ci doit cependant satisfaire à toutes les exigences spécifiées dans l'avis final et contenir les informations requises dans les Déclarations et les Rapports provisoires à fournir.

7. Obligation de conserver une copie du plan:

Toute personne identifiée dans l'article 1 doit conserver une copie du plan sur les lieux où l'établissement pour lequel le plan est préparé se situe au Canada.

8. Déclaration confirmant l'élaboration:

Un formulaire de Déclaration confirmant qu'un plan de prévention de la pollution a été élaboré et qu'il est en cours d'exécution - nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés [paragraphe 58(1) de la LCPE (1999)] est présenté à l'Annexe 1. Cette Déclaration doit être soumise dans les 30 jours suivant la fin du délai d'élaboration du plan précisé à l'article 4.

9. Déclaration confirmant l'exécution:

Un formulaire de Déclaration confirmant qu'un plan de prévention de la pollution a été exécuté - nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés [paragraphe 58(2) de la LCPE (1999)] est présenté à l'Annexe 5. Cette Déclaration doit être soumise dans les 30 jours suivant la fin du délai d'exécution du plan précisé à l'article 5.

10. Dépôt de Déclaration corrective:

Lorsqu'une personne a déposé une Déclaration d'élaboration ou d'exécution du plan conformément à l'article 8 ou 9 et que la Déclaration comporte des renseignements qui, par la suite, sont devenus faux ou trompeurs, la personne en question doit déposer une Déclaration corrective dans les 30 jours qui suivent.

11. Rapports provisoires:

Les personnes identifiées à l'article 1 doivent remplir et déposer auprès du ministre de l'environnement un Rapport provisoire - nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés, à l'aide du formulaire présenté à l'annexe 4, aux dates ci-dessous. À noter que cette exigence tombe si toutefois une Déclaration confirmant l'exécution est soumise avant la date où le Rapport provisoire est exigé

1) Si une personne est visée par l'avis final à la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada,

  • Le Rapport provisoire no 1 doit être rempli avant le 31 janvier 2007.
  • Le Rapport provisoire no 2 doit être rempli avant le 31 janvier 2008.
  • Le Rapport provisoire no 3 doit être rempli avant le 31 janvier 2010.

2) Si une personne devient assujettie à l'avis final après la date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada,

  • Le Rapport provisoire no 1 doit être rempli dans les 13 mois après que la personne visée soit devenue assujettie à l'avis final.
  • Le Rapport provisoire no 2 doit être rempli dans les 25 mois après que la personne visée soit devenue assujettie à l'avis final.

12. Utilisation de plans déjà élaborés ou exécutés à d'autres fins:

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 57(1) de la LCPE (1999), une personne peut utiliser un plan de prévention de la pollution déjà élaboré ou exécuté à d'autres fins. En vertu du paragraphe 57(2) de la LCPE (1999), si une personne utilise un plan qui ne satisfait pas à toutes les exigences de l'avis final sous l'article 56, elle peut alors amender le plan de manière à ce qu'il satisfasse à toutes les exigences ou préparer un plan additionnel qui tienne compte de ces exigences. Les personnes qui utilisent un plan préparé à d'autres fins doivent néanmoins déposer une Déclaration confirmant l'élaboration conformément à l'article 8, une Déclaration confirmant l'exécution conformément à l'article 9, au besoin, toute Déclaration corrective conformément à l'article 10, et enfin tout Rapport provisoire requis conformément à l'article 11.

13. Prorogation du délai d'élaboration:

1) Lorsque le ministre estime que le délai d'élaboration du plan (précisé à l'article 4) ou d'exécution du plan (précisé à l'article 5) est trop court, il peut proroger ce délai pour une personne qui présente une demande de prorogation du délai - nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés, à l'aide du formulaire présenté à l'Annexe 3, avant la fin du délai mentionné à l'article 4 ou 5 selon le cas ou avant la fin de toute période de prorogation.

2) Lorsque le ministre est d'avis qu'il faut disposer d'un délai plus long pour la soumission d'un Rapport provisoire conformément à l'article 11, il peut proroger ce délai pour une personne qui présente une demande de prorogation du délai - nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés (paragraphe 56(3) de la LCPE (1999), à l'aide du formulaire présenté à l'annexe 3 avant la fin du délai précisé à l'article 11 ou avant la fin de toute période de prorogation.

14. Demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs:

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 56(5) de la LCPE (1999), lorsque le ministre estime qu'il est déraisonnable ou impossible de prendre en considération un facteur spécifié dans l'avis final, il peut exempter une personne de l'obligation de prendre en considération ce facteur à la condition que cette personne présente, avant la fin du délai mentionné à l'article 4, une demande écrite en utilisant le formulaire demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs - nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés, présentée à l'annexe 2, et en donnant les raisons d'une telle demande

15. Renseignements supplémentaires sur la planification de la prévention de la pollution:

Des renseignements supplémentaires et des directives pour la préparation de plans de prévention de la pollution peuvent être obtenus du Centre canadien d'information sur la prévention de la pollution (http://www.ec.gc.ca/cppic), du registre environnemental de la LCPE (http://www.ec.gc.ca/RegistreLCPE/plans/P2/default.cfm), des bureaux régionaux d'Environnement Canada et du site Planification de la prévention de la pollution (http://www.ec.gc.ca/planp2-p2plan/default.asp?lang=Fr&n=F7B45BF5-1).

Nous avons attaché au présent document :

  • Annexe 1 : Déclaration confirmant qu'un plan de prévention de la pollution a été élaboré et qu'il est en cours d'exécution - Nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés [paragraphe 58(1) de la LCPE (1999)]
  • Annexe 2 : Demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs - Nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés [paragraphe 56(5) de la LCPE (1999)]
  • Annexe 3 : Demande de prorogation du délai - Nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés [paragraphe 56(3) de la LCPE (1999)]
  • Annexe 4 : Rapport provisoire - Nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés
  • Annexe 5 : Déclaration confirmant l'exécution d‘un plan de prévention de la pollution - Nonylphénol et ses dérivés éthoxylés [paragraphe 58(2) de la LCPE (1999)]