Skip booklet index and go to page content

Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Frequently Asked Questions

Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Frequently Asked Questions (PDF; 1.94 MB)

Revised July 2008

FOREWORD

This document is designed to help persons understand their obligations under Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999)Footnote 1 which may require a person or group of persons to prepare and implement a pollution prevention (P2) plan. It describes, in a question and answer format, how the provisions under Part 4 of the Act are administered and what persons who are required to prepare and implement a plan must do.

This document was prepared primarily for those who are subject to a Pollution Prevention Planning Notice under Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.Footnote 2

Environment Canada has made every attempt to ensure that the information in this document is accurate; however, Environment Canada does not warrant the currency, quality, accuracy, or reliability or completeness of any information in this document. It is understood by the user of this document (the "user") that this document and the information within is provided "as is" without warranty or condition of any nature, including fitness for a particular purpose or non-infringement of proprietary rights regarding any information, materials or other documents that are referenced by and included within this document.

The guidance contained in this document should be relied upon for general information purposes only and should not be considered to be legal advice and may not reflect all legal requirements of the pollution prevention planning provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. Should a discrepancy between this document and the Act arise, the latter shall prevail.

For all purposes of interpreting and applying the law, users should consult:

The above-mentioned publications are available in most public libraries.

Environment Canada accepts no responsibility should any damages be caused to a person, directly or indirectly, as a result of the use that is made of information provided in, or taken from, this document, or as a result of reliance on the information available in this document.

For more information on pollution prevention (P2), P2 planning and Notices please visit the following websites:

For questions regarding the information contained in this document, or for other questions concerning the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, Part 4, contact:

Environment Canada
Regulatory Innovation & Management Systems
c/o Innovative Measures Section
351 St. Joseph Blvd.
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3
Email: LCPEPlansP2-CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca
Phone: 819-994-0186

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, S.C. 1999, c.33 (CEPA 1999)

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Section 56 of CEPA 1999 specifies that the Minister may publish in the Canada Gazette, a Notice requiring any person or class of person to prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan. For the purposes of this document, these requirements are called "Notices”.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Foreward

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Dispositions relatives à la planification de la prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) : Questions courantes

Dispositions relatives à la planification de la prévention de la pollution de la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) : Questions courantes (PDF; 1,94 Mo)

Révisé en juillet 2008

AVANT-PROPOS

Le présent document a été conçu pour aider les particuliers à comprendre leurs obligations en vertu de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].Note de bas de page 1 Celle-ci peut exiger qu'une personne ou un groupe de personnes élabore et exécute un plan de prévention de la pollution (P2). Le document décrit, sous forme de questions et de réponses, comment les dispositions de la partie 4 de la Loi sont administrées et ce que doivent faire les personnes responsables de l'élaboration et de l'exécution d'un plan.

Ce document a été rédigé surtout à l'intention des personnes qui sont visées par les exigences d'un avis de planification de la prévention de la pollution en vertu de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999).Note de bas de page 2

Environnement Canada a tout mis en oeuvre pour assurer l'exactitude des renseignements ci-inclus. Par contre, le Ministère n'en garantit pas l'actualité, la qualité, la précision, la fiabilité, ni l'exhaustivité. L'utilisateur du document (« l'utilisateur ») doit comprendre que ce texte et l'information qu'il renferme sont fournis tels quels, sans garantie ni condition de quelque nature que ce soit, comme l'application d'un objectif particulier ou le respect des droits de propriété de toute information, de matériaux ou d'autres documents qui y sont mentionnés.

Les conseils ci-inclus ne devraient être utilisés qu'à titre d'information générale seulement. Ils ne devraient pas être considérés comme des conseils juridiques; ils ne reflètent pas nécessairement toutes les exigences juridiques prévues aux termes de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) à l'égard de la planification de la prévention de la pollution. Advenant une incompatibilité entre le présent document et la LCPE (1999), cette dernière doit prévaloir.

Aux fins de l'interprétation et de l'application de la loi, les utilisateurs doivent consulter les documents suivants :

Les publications susmentionnées peuvent être consultées dans la plupart des bibliothèques publiques.

Environnement Canada dénie toute responsabilité quant aux dommages subis par une personne, directement ou indirectement, du fait de l'utilisation de l'information provenant de ce document-ci ou du recours à celle-ci.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la prévention de la pollution (P2), les plans de P2 et les avis, le lecteur peut consulter les sites suivants :

Pour toute question concernant l'information contenue dans le présent document, ou pour toute autre question sur la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), vous êtes prié de communiquer avec la :

Environnement Canada
Innovation réglementaire et systèmes de gestion
a/s Section des mesures innovatrices
351, boulevard St-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3
Courriel : LCPEPlansP2-CEPAP2Plans@ec.gc.ca
Téléphone : 819-994-0186

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), L.C. 1999, c. 33 [LCPE (1999)]

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

L'article 56 de la LCPE (1999) précise que le ministre peut publier, dans la Gazette du Canada, un avis obligeant une personne – ou une catégorie de personnes – à élaborer et à exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution. Aux fins du présent document, ces exigences sont désignées sous le mot « avis ».

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Avant-propos