Pollution Prevention Planning Notice for PREPOD: Working document for consultation ("Notice")

This working document presents the main elements that Environment and Climate Change Canada plans to include in a Notice to be issued under section 56 of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA). The Pollution Prevention (P2) Planning Notice will set the requirements for the preparation and implementation of Pollution Prevention Plans in respect of Reaction Products of 2-Propanone with Diphenylamine (PREPOD), which were added to Schedule 1 of CEPA on December 14, 2016.

Comments received through consultation on the approach outlined in this document will be used to develop a Proposed Notice that will be published under section 56 of CEPA, in the Canada Gazette, Part I. The publication of the Proposed Notice will initiate a 60-day comment period. Following the comment period and after review of the comments received, a Final Notice requiring the preparation and implementation of Pollution Prevention Plans will be published in the Canada Gazette, Part I.

More information on P2 planning can be found in the Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Guidelines for Implementation. These guidelines and other information related to P2 and P2 planning can be found in the Pollution Prevention Planning section.

Main elements of the Notice

1. Definitions

For the purpose of this Working Document,

"Act"
means the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA).
"DIPDMA"
means the substance with the common name "Diisopropyldimethylacridan". It is one of the components of PREPOD and is the only one that meets both the persistence and bioaccumulation criteria as decribed in the Screening Assessment ReportFootnote 1. DIPDMA is used as an indicator of PREPOD in water.
"Final point of discharge"
is an identifiable discharge point beyond which the facility owner or operator no longer exercises control over quality of the effluent.
"Level of Quantification" (LoQ)
means the lowest concentration that can be accurately measured using sensitive but routine sampling and analytical methods.
"Minister"
means the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Canada.
"Notice"
means the Proposed Notice requiring the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans in respect of the manufacture and use of PREPOD.
"Plan"
means a pollution prevention plan.
"PREPOD"
means the substance with the Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number (CAS RNFootnote 2) 68412-48-6, and the Schedule 1 name of "Reaction products of 2-propanone with diphenylamine".

2. Persons subject to the Notice

  1. The Notice applies to any person or class of persons who, from January 1st, 2013, to December 31st, 2018 :
    1. manufactured PREPOD in a quantity greater than 100 kg in any calendar year
    2. used PREPOD in a quantity greater than 100 kg in any calendar year
    3. used a mixture or compound containing PREPOD, if the total yearly quantity of PREPOD within the mixture or the compound is greater than 100 kg in any calendar year

3. Activities for which the Plan is to be prepared

The Notice will require those subject to the Notice to prepare and implement a Plan in relation to the manufacture and use of PREPOD.

4. Risk management objective and update on Risk Management Activities

  1. The Risk Management Objective (RMO) for PREPOD, as published in the Risk Management Approach (RMA) document dated September 2011, is to minimize releases of the substance from the manufacture of the substance to the greatest extent possibleFootnote 3
  2. In September 2013, the update on risk management activitiesFootnote 4 listed the activities to be conducted in order to be able to develop appropriate and efficient controls. The primary focus of these activities was:
    1. the development of an analytical test method to measure individual components of PREPOD in wastewater and in sediments
    2. the quantification of releases and environmental presence at manufacture and use sites to inform risk management development

In 2015, the analytical method developed by ECCC's scientists was used to analyze samples from different discharge points at facilities and municipal wastewater treatment plants. Results have shown release of DIPDMA slightly above the LoQ.

5. Factors to consider in preparing the Plan

Section 56 of Part 4 of CEPA requires those subject to a P2 Planning Notice to consider all the "factors to consider" during the preparation of a P2 Plan, and includes the risk management objective. A description of how the specified factors were addressed when preparing the P2 Plan is required in the declarations and the interim progress reports.

The Minister will require all those subject to the Notice to consider the following "factors to consider" in preparing their Plan:

  1. Final Screening Assessment Report:

    According to the Final Screening Assessment Report (fSAR), PREPOD is entering or may enter the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity. The fSAR for PREPOD was jointly published by Environment and Climate Change Canada and Health Canada on September 10, 2011.

  2. Risk Management Objective of the Notice

    The specific RMO for this Notice is to achieve and maintain a total DIPDMA concentration in effluent at final discharge point of the facility, through methods other than dilution, that is less than or equal to the specified LoQFootnote 5 of 0.12 ng/L, by no later than 42 months (see Annexe A) after the date of publication of the Final Notice in the Canada Gazette, Part I.

  3. Sampling and analysis of samples:

    1. Sampling location:

      1. Samples should be representative of the final discharge point of the facility
      2. Samples at a specific final discharge point are not required if the effluent is not wastewater from the industrial process or if the discharge point is not receiving wastewater that could be contaminated with PREPOD
    2. Sampling methodology:

      Sampling should be conducted in accordance with the methodology provided by the National Laboratory for Environmental Testing (NLET) in BurlingtonFootnote 6.

    3. Event sampling:

      Three sampling events should be performed between the preparation and the implementation of the plan. The sampling should be representative of normal operating conditions related to the manufacture or use of PREPOD. Samples should be collected as indicated below:

      1. the first sampling event should be conducted no later than 12 months from the date of publication of the Notice
      2. the second sampling event should be conducted between 12 to 24 months from the date of publication of the Notice
      3. the third sampling event should be conducted between 24 to 36 months from the date of publication of the Notice
    4. Analysis of samples:

      The analysis of DIPDMA, as an indicator of PREPOD releases, will be performed by NLET in Burlington. The laboratory analysis will be performed according to the analytical method that was developed by NLET.Results of the analysis will be submitted to the facility no later than 45 days after samples have been sent to the laboratory.

    5. Sampling and analysis related costs:

      All costs related to sampling, with the exception of the analysis of samples done at the NLET in Burlington, is the responsibility of the person or class of persons subject to the Notice.

  4. Priority to pollution prevention activities

    The use of P2 planning is a means of addressing the release to the environment of substances on Schedule 1 of CEPA, or other pollutants. In preparing a Plan, a person or class of persons subject to the Notice is to give priority to pollution prevention activities. "Pollution prevention", as defined in section 3 of CEPA, means "use of processes, practices, materials, products, substances or forms of energy that avoid or minimize the creation of pollutants and waste, and reduce the overall risk to the environment or human health".

A person may request that his or her requirement to consider a factor or factors be waived. To do so, a person must submit a written "Request for Waiver of the Requirement to Consider a Factor or Factors" (Schedule 2). For more information on requesting a waiver, see an example of a Schedule 2 within the Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Guidelines for Implementation.

6. Time provided to prepare the Plan

The Notice will require that all those subject to the Notice must prepare a P2 Plan no later than 18 months from the date of publication of the Notice, and submit a Declaration of Preparation to Environment and Climate Change Canada within 30 days after the end of that period.

A person may request an extension of time for preparing a P2 Plan by submitting a "Request for an Extension of Time to Prepare or Implement a Pollution Prevention Plan" (Schedule 3). The request must be received before the deadline to prepare the plan. See the Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Guidelines for Implementation for an example of a Schedule 3.

7. Interim Progress Report

The Notice will require that all those subject to the Notice submit an interim progress report (IPR) according to the following timeline (see also Annexe A):

  • Interim Progress Report No. 1 – deadline: 30 months from the date of publication of the Notice

The IPR will report data pertaining to the previous calendar year. Where a person has prepared a single Plan for several facilities, a separate IPR must be filed for each facility.

8. Time provided to implement the Plan

The Notice will require that all those subject to the Notice implement the P2 Plan no later than 42 months from the date of publication of the Notice, and submit a Declaration of Implementation to Environment and Climate Change Canada within 30 days after the end of that period.

A person may request an extension of time for implementing a P2 Plan by submitting a "Request for an Extension of Time to Prepare or Implement a Pollution Prevention Plan" (Schedule 3). The request must be received before the deadline to implement the plan. See the Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Guidelines for Implementation for an example of a Schedule 3.

9. Reporting

Persons subject to a P2 Planning Notice will not have to submit their entire P2 Plans to Environment and Climate Change Canada unless specifically asked to do so. They must, however, submit both a Declaration of Preparation (Schedule 1) and a Declaration of Implementation (Schedule 5), as well as the required IPR (Schedule 4), using online forms and addressing the content specified in the Notice, by the deadlines listed in sections 6, 7 and 8 of this document.

These declarations and the IPR will require all persons or class of person subject to the Notice to include information in regards to:

  • The location: address and contact information
  • A description and the location of all final discharge points as per Section 3(a)
  • A description of the factors (e.g. type of technology, human factor, accidental releases, type of manufacturing, daily use) that could increase the quantity or concentration of the substance in the facility's effluent
  • Nature of the activities at the facility and other information on the substance
  • Annual quantity of PREPOD manufactured or used
  • Results achieved to date, timelines, calculations and methods to reduce concentrations of PREPOD releases

Information submitted in Schedules 1, 4, and 5 will be made publicly available on Environment and Climate Change Canada's Web site. However, a request can be submitted to keep certain information confidential.

The Notice will include the following forms:

  • Schedule 1: Declaration That a Pollution Prevention Plan Has Been Prepared and Is Being Implemented [Subsection 58(1) of CEPA]
  • Schedule 2: Request for Waiver of the Requirement to Consider a Factor or Factors for Preparation of a Pollution Prevention Plan [Subsection 56(5) of CEPA]
  • Schedule 3: Request for Time Extension for Preparation or Implementation of a Pollution Prevention Plan [Subsection 56(3) of CEPA]
  • Schedule 4: Interim Progress Report Concerning the Implementation of a Pollution Prevention Plan
  • Schedule 5: Declaration That a Pollution Prevention Plan Has Been Implemented [Subsection 58(2) of CEPA]

Forms referred to in the Notice (Schedules 1 to 5) will be published as part of the Notice and can be filled out electronically using the Pollution Prevention Planning Online Reporting Tool.

10. The Pollution Prevention Plan

Environment and Climate Change Canada does not prescribe the content of the P2 Plan, nor techniques or technologies to be included in the Plan. The P2 Planning Notice allows for environmental protection innovation, because those subject to the Notice determine the appropriate content of their Plan; however, the Plan must meet all the requirements of the Notice.

Any person or class of persons subject to the Notice must keep a copy of the Plan at the facility for which the Plan was prepared. In addition, any related support documentation must be kept for a minimum of five years following the date the Plan was implemented.

Guidance on preparing P2 plans may be obtained from:

Additional information and guidance on pollution prevention can be found on:

Copies of Environment and Climate Change Canada's Pollution Prevention Planning Handbook, including a model Plan and other support tools, are available.

11. Evaluation

The Minister will evaluate the effectiveness of the Notice with respect to the risk management objective set out in subsection 4(1) of this document. This evaluation will determine whether other measures, including regulations, are needed to further prevent or reduce negative impacts on the environment from the releases of PREPOD.

12. Next Steps

A proposed Notice is expected to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part I in spring 2017 for a 60-day comment period. The Final Notice is expected to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part I in winter 2017-2018.

Annexe A: Period to prepare and implement the plan

Figure 1: Period to prepare and implement the plan

Figure 1: Description

The image represents a timeline pointing from left to right, from 0 to 42 months covering the period to prepare and implement the plan.

Texts are placed above and below the timeline at specific dates outlining the sequence of important events. The events are as follows:

  • Line 1:
    • Milestone 0: Final P2 Planning Notice Publication in CGI followed by increments of 6 months, 12 months, 18 months, 24 months, 30 months, 36 months finishing at 42 months
  • Line 2:
    • Period from 0 to 12 months: 1st sampling between 0 and 12 months
    • Period from 12 months to 24 months: 2nd sampling between 12 and 24 months
    • Period from 24 months to 36 months: 3rd sampling between 24 and 36 months
  • Line 3:
    • Period from 0 to 18 months: 18 months to prepare the plan
    • Period from 18 months to 42 months: 24 months to implement the Plan
  • Line 4:
    • Milestone 0: Person becomes subject to the Notice
    • Milestone 18: Deadline to prepare the P2 plan (Submit the Declaration of Preparation within 30 days after the end of that period, including 1st sampling results)
    • Milestone 30: Submit Interim Progress Report (including 2nd sampling results)
    • Milestone 42: Deadline to implement the P2 plan (Submit Declaration of implementation within 30 days after the end of that period, including 3rd sampling results)
Date modified:

Avis de planification de la prévention de la pollution pour PREPOD : Document de travail pour consultation («Avis»)

Le présent document de travail énonce les principaux éléments qu'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada prévoit inclure dans un avis qui sera émis en vertu de l'article 56 de la Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE). L'avis de planification de la prévention de la pollution (P2) établira les exigences relatives à la préparation et à l'exécution des plans de prévention de la pollution à l'égard des produits de la réaction entre l'acétone et la N-phénylaniline (PREPOD), qui ont été inscrits à l'annexe 1 de la LCPE le 14 décembre 2016.

Les commentaires reçus lors d'une consultation sur l'approche décrite dans ce document serviront à élaborer le Projet d'avis qui sera publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada en vertu de l'article 56 de la LCPE. La publication du Projet d'avis marquera le début d'une période de commentaires de 60 jours. Suivant cette période de consultation ainsi que la révision des commentaires reçus, un avis final exigeant l'élaboration et l'exécution d'un plan de prévention de la pollution sera publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada.

Il est possible de trouver de plus amples renseignements sur la planification de la P2 dans les Directives pour la mise en œuvre des dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution aux termes de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999. Ces directives et d'autres renseignements relatifs à la P2 et à la planification de la P2 se trouvent dans la section de la Planification de la prévention de la pollution.

Principaux éléments de l'avis :

1. Définitions

Aux fins du présent document de travail,

« Loi »
signifie la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE).
« DIPDMA »
signifie la substance portant le nom commun de « diisopropyldiméthyl-acridane ». Il s'agit de l'un des composants du PREPOD et le seul qui répond aux critères de la persistance et de la bioaccumulation définis dans le rapport d'évaluation préalableNote de bas de page 1. DIPDMA est utilisé à titre d'indicateur de la présence de PREPOD dans l'eau.
Le « point de rejet final »
correspond à un point de rejet déterminé au-delà duquel le propriétaire ou l'exploitant de l'installation industrielle n'exerce plus aucun contrôle sur la qualité de l'effluent.
La « limite de dosage » (LdD)
est la concentration la plus faible de la substance qui peut être mesurée avec exactitude au moyen de méthodes d'analyse et d'échantillonnage précises et courantes.
La « Ministre »
désigne la ministre d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.
L'« avis »
signifie le projet d'avis demandant la préparation et l'exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution à l'égard de la fabrication et de l'utilisation du PREPOD.
« Plan »
signifie un plan de prévention de la pollution.
« PREPOD »
signifie la substance portant le numéro d'enregistrement du Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS RNNote de bas de page 2) 68412-48-6, et le nom à l'Annexe 1 de la LCPE : « produits de la réaction entre l'acétone et la N-phénylaniline ».

2. Personnes visées par le présent avis

  1. L'avis s'applique à toute personne ou catégorie de personnes qui, du 1 janvier 2013 au 31 décembre 2018 :
    1. fabriquait du PREPOD en quantité supérieure à 100kg/par année civile
    2. utilisait du PREPOD en quantité supérieure à 100 kg/année civile
    3. utilisait un mélange ou un composé contenant du PREPOD, si la quantité annuelle de PREPOD contenue dans le mélange ou le composé dépassait 100 kg/année civile

3. Activités pour lesquelles un plan doit être préparé

En vertu de l'avis, les personnes visées doivent préparer et exécuter un plan pour la fabrication et l'utilisation de PREPOD.

4. Objectif de gestion des risques et mise à jour sur les activités de gestion des risques

  1. L'objectif de gestion des risques (OGR) pour le PREPOD, tel que publié dans l'Approche de gestion des risques (AGR) en septembre 2011, consiste à réduire le plus possible les rejets provenant de la fabrication de la substanceNote de bas de page 3.
  2. En septembre 2013, la Mise à jour sur les activités de gestion des risquesNote de bas de page 4 a présenté la liste des activités à réaliser pour pouvoir élaborer des mesures de contrôle appropriées et efficaces. Ces activités étaient essentiellement axées sur :
    1. la mise au point d'une méthode analytique pour mesurer les composantes individuelles du PREPOD dans les eaux usées et dans les sédiments
    2. la quantification des rejets et la présence de la substance dans l'environnement sur les lieux de production et d'utilisation, afin d'éclairer l'élaboration de la gestion des risques

En 2015, une méthode analytique mise au point par les scientifiques d'ECCC a permis d'analyser les échantillons des divers points de rejet dans les installations et les stations municipales de traitement des eaux usées. Les résultats ont démontré des émissions de DIPDMA dépassant légèrement la LdD.

5. Facteurs à prendre en considération au moment d'élaborer le plan

L'article 56 de la partie 4 de la LCPE requiert que les personnes visées par un avis de planification de la P2 prennent en considération « tous les facteurs à considérer » lors de la préparation du plan de la P2 et intègrent les objectifs de gestion des risques. Une description de la façon dont les facteurs précisés ont été pris en considération dans l'élaboration du plan de P2 doit être intégrée aux déclarations et au rapport provisoire.

La ministre exigera que toutes les personnes visées par l'avis prennent en considération, lors de la préparation de leur plan  les « facteurs à considérer » suivants:

  1. Rapport final d'évaluation préalable

    Selon le rapport final d'évaluation préalable, le PREPOD pénètre ou peut pénétrer dans l'environnement en une quantité ou une concentration ou dans des conditions qui ont, ou peuvent avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou sur la diversité biologique. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et Santé Canada ont conjointement publié le rapport final d'évaluation préalable pour le PREPOD le 10 septembre 2011.

  2. Objectif de gestion des risques de l'avis

    L'OGR spécifique pour cet avis vise à atteindre et maintenir, au plus tard dans les 42 mois (voir annexe A) après la date de publication de l'avis final dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, une concentration totale de DIPDMA ne dépassant pas la LdD spécifiéeNote de bas de page 5 de 0,12 ng/l dans les effluents au point de rejet final de l'installation par des méthodes autres que la dilution.

  3. Échantillonnage et analyse des échantillons :

    1. Lieu d'échantillonnage :

      1. les échantillons devront être représentatifs du point de rejet final de l'installation
      2. les échantillons du point de rejet final ne sont pas requis si l'effluent ne vient pas des eaux usées du procédé industriel ou si le point de rejet ne reçoit pas d'eaux usées susceptibles d'être contaminées par le PREPOD
    2. Méthode d'échantillonnage :

      Il faut procéder à l'échantillonnage selon la méthode fournie par le Laboratoire national des essais environnementaux (LNEE) de BurlingtonNote de bas de page 6.

    3. Échantillonnage :

      Il faut réaliser trois échantillonnages entre la préparation et l'exécution du plan. Ces échantillonnages doivent être représentatifs des conditions normales d'exploitation liées à la fabrication ou à l'utilisation du PREPOD. Il faut procéder à l'échantillonnage comme indiqué ci-dessous :

      1. Le premier échantillonnage doit être réalisé au plus tard 12 mois après la date de publication de l'avis
      2. Le deuxième échantillonnage doit être réalisé au plus tard entre 12 et 24 mois après la date de publication de l'avis
      3. Le troisième échantillonnage doit être réalisé au plus tard entre 24 et 36 mois après la date de publication de l'avis
    4. Analyse des échantillons :

      L'analyse de DIPDMA, en tant qu'indicateur d'émissions de PREPOD, sera réalisée par le LNEE de Burlington. L'analyse de laboratoire sera réalisée selon la méthode analytique mise au point par le LNEE. Les résultats de l'analyse seront transmis à l'installation dans un délai maximum de 45 jours après l'envoi des échantillons au laboratoire.

    5. Coûts reliés à l'échantillonnage et à l'analyse :

      La personne ou la catégorie de personnes visées par l'avis sera responsable de tous les coûts reliés à l'échantillonnage, à l'exception de l'analyse des échantillons effectuée par le LNEE de Burlington.

  4. Priorité aux activités de prévention de la pollution

    L'utilisation de l'avis de planification de la P2 est le moyen de gérer les émissions des substances de l'annexe 1 de la LCPE, ou les autres polluants. Lors de la préparation du plan, la personne ou la classe de personnes visées par l'avis doit donner priorité aux activités de prévention de la pollution. Telle que définie à l'article 3 de la LCPE, la « Prévention de la pollution » signifie «l'utilisation de procédés, pratiques, matériaux, produits, substances ou formes d'énergie qui, d'une part, empêchent ou réduisent au minimum la production de polluants ou de déchets, et, d'autre part, réduisent les risques d'atteinte à l'environnement ou à la santé humaine».

Une personne peut demander une dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération un ou plusieurs facteurs. Pour ce faire, elle doit soumettre par écrit une « Demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs » (annexe 2). Pour de plus amples renseignements sur une dérogation, consulter l'exemple de l'annexe 2 des Dispositions relatives à la planification de la prévention de la pollution à la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999.

6. Délai prévu pour élaborer le plan

L'avis exigera que toutes les personnes visées par l'avis élabore un plan de P2 au plus tard 18 mois à partir de la date de la publication de l'avis et soumettent une Déclaration confirmant l'élaboration à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada dans les 30 jours suivant la fin du délai.

Une personne peut demander une prorogation du délai pour la préparation d'un plan de P2 en présentant une « Demande de prorogation du délai pour l'élaboration ou l'exécution d'un plan de prévention de la pollution » (annexe 3). La demande doit être reçue avant la fin du délai pour élaborer le plan. Pour un exemple de l'annexe 3 consulter les Directives pour la mise en œuvre des dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999.

7. Rapport provisoire

L'avis exigera que toutes les personnes visées par l'avis soumettent un rapport provisoire selon le calendrier suivant (voir également annexe A) :

  • Premier rapport provisoire - échéance : 30 mois après la date de publication de l'avis

Le rapport provisoire contiendra les données relatives à l'année civile précédente. Lorsqu'une personne a élaboré un seul plan pour plusieurs installations, la personne doit soumettre un rapport distinct pour chaque installation.

8. Délai prévu pour l'exécution du plan

L'avis exigera que toutes les personnes visées exécutent le plan de la P2 au plus tard 42 mois à partir de la date de la publication de l'avis et soumettent dans les 30 jours suivant la fin du délai une Déclaration confirmant l'exécution à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada.

Une personne peut demander une prorogation du délai pour l'exécution d'un plan de P2 en présentant une « Demande de prorogation du délai pour l'élaboration ou l'exécution d'un plan de prévention de la pollution » (annexe 3). La demande doit être reçue avant la fin du délai pour exécuter le plan. Pour un exemple de l'annexe 3 consulter les Directives pour la mise en œuvre des dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999.

9. Établissement de rapports

Les personnes visées par un avis de planification de la P2 n'ont pas à soumettre à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada leur plan de P2 dans son intégralité, sauf si on leur a demandé. Elles devront, toutefois soumettre, au moyen des formulaires pertinents en ligne, la déclaration confirmant l'élaboration (annexe 1) et celle confirmant l'exécution (annexe 5), de même que le rapport provisoire (annexe 4), de manière à répondre aux exigences de l'avis, et ce, avant les dates d'échéance précisées aux sections 6, 7 et 8 du présent document.

Ces déclarations et le rapport provisoire exigeront que toutes les personnes visées par l'avis ajoutent les renseignements sur :

  • le lieu, l'adresse et les coordonnées de la personne-ressource
  • une description et la localisation de tous les points de rejet final tel que décrit à la section 3(a)
  • une description des facteurs (p. ex., le type de technologie, le facteur humain, les émissions accidentelles, le type de fabrication et l'utilisation quotidienne) susceptibles d'augmenter la quantité ou la concentration des effluents dans l'installation
  • la nature des activités dans l'installation et les autres renseignements relatifs à la substance
  • la quantité annuelle de PREPOD fabriquée ou utilisée
  • les résultats obtenus à ce jour, les délais, les calculs et les méthodes de réduction des rejets de PREPOD

Les renseignements soumis dans les annexes 1, 4 et 5 seront publiés sur le site Web d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Cependant, il est possible de demander par écrit que certains renseignements soient tenus confidentiels.

L'avis comportera les formulaires suivants :

  • Annexe 1 : Déclaration confirmant qu'un plan de prévention de la pollution a été élaboré et qu'il est en cours d'exécution [paragraphe 58(1) de la LCPE]
  • Annexe 2 : Demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs pour l'élaboration d'un plan de prévention de la pollution [paragraphe 56(5) de la LCPE]
  • Annexe 3 : Demande de prorogation du délai pour l'élaboration ou l'exécution d'un plan de prévention de la pollution [paragraphe 56(3) de la LCPE]
  • Annexe 4 : Rapport provisoire concernant l'exécution d'un plan de prévention de la pollution
  • Annexe 5 : Déclaration confirmant qu'un plan de prévention de la pollution a été exécuté [paragraphe 58(2) de la LCPE]

Les formulaires mentionnés dans l'avis (annexes 1 à 5) doivent être remplis électroniquement à l'aide de l'outil de déclaration en ligne pour les avis de prévention de la pollution.

10. Le plan de prévention de la pollution

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ne formule pas d'exigences sur le contenu du plan de la P2, ni sur les techniques ou technologies qui doivent être incluses dans le plan. L'avis de planification de P2 permet l'innovation en matière de protection de l'environnement puisque ce sont les personnes visées par l'avis qui déterminent le contenu de leur plan. Toutefois, le plan doit satisfaire à toutes les exigences de l'avis.

Toute personne ou catégorie de personnes doit conserver un exemplaire du plan à l'installation pour laquelle le plan a été préparé. En outre, tout document de soutien connexe doit être conservé pendant au moins cinq ans après la date à laquelle le plan a été exécuté.

Des renseignements relatifs à l'élaboration de plans de P2 peuvent être obtenus en consultant :

Il est possible de trouver de plus amples renseignements sur la planification de la prévention de la pollution sur :

Des exemplaires du Guide de planification de la prévention de la pollution, y compris un plan modèle de prévention de la pollution, sont disponibles.

11. Évaluation

La ministre évaluera l'efficacité de l'avis par rapport aux objectifs de gestion des risques précisés au paragraphe 4(1) du présent document. Cette évaluation déterminera si d'autres mesures, y compris un règlement, sont nécessaires pour prévenir ou réduire encore davantage les effets des émissions de PREPOD sur l'environnement.

12. Prochaines étapes

Un projet d'avis devrait être publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada au printemps 2017 pour une période de commentaires de 60 jours. L'avis final devrait être publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada durant l'hiver 2017-2018.

Annexe A: Période d'élaboration et d'exécution du plan

Figure 1 : Période d'élaboration et d'exécution du plan

Figure 1 : Description

L'image représente une ligne du temps allant de gauche à droite de 0 à 42 mois couvrant la période d'élaboration et d'exécution du plan.

Du texte est placé à des dates précises sur la ligne du temps et décrit les évènements importants. Ces évènements sont :

  • Ligne 1 :
    • Jalon 0 : Publication de l'avis final de planification de la P2 dans la CGI suivi des incréments de 6 mois, 12 mois, 18 mois, 24 mois, 30 mois, 36 mois se terminant à 42 mois
  • Ligne 2 :
    • Période de 0 à 12 mois : 1er échantillonnage entre 0 et 12 mois
    • Période de 12 mois à 24 mois : 2e échantillonnage entre 12 et 24 mois
    • Période de 24 mois à 36 mois : 3e échantillonnage entre 24 et 36 mois
  • Ligne 3 :
    • Période de 0 à 18 mois : 18 mois pour élaborer le plan
    • Période de 18 mois à 42 mois : 24 mois pour exécuter le plan
  • Ligne 4 :
    • Jalon 0 : Personne qui devient visée par le présent avis
    • Jalon 18 : Délai pour élaborer le plan (Soumettre une Déclaration confirmant l'élaboration dans les 30 jours suivant la fin du délai, incluant les premiers résultats d'échantillonnage)
    • Jalon 30 : Soumettre le rapport provisoire, Rapport d'étape (incluant les deuxièmes résultats d'échantillonnage)
    • Jalon 42 : Délai pour exécuter le plan (Soumettre une Déclaration confirmant l'exécution dans les 30 jours suivant la fin du délai, incluant les troisièmes résultats d'échantillonnage)
Date de modification :