Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Application Form and Instructions - Application for Appraisal Review and Determination of the Fair Market Value of an Ecological Gift

APP-04/09

Full EGP Application_Apr 2009 (PDF Version 40 KB)

  1. Instructions
  2. Donors: Is your ecological gift a gift?
  3. Application for Appraisal Review and Determination of the Fair Market Value of an Ecological Gift
  4. Contact Us

Instructions

Thank you for your interest in the Ecological Gifts Program. After Environment Canada receives a completed Application for Appraisal Review and Determination and appraisal report that meets our guidelines, the Minister of the Environment will make a determination of the fair market value of your donation. This determination is required for you to claim the appropriate income tax deduction or credit for ecological gifts. If you need information about the process, please contact Environment Canada's regional coordinator nearest to you.

The process of determining and certifying the donation's fair market value includes the following steps:

  1. Please complete this application form and send it, along with three copies of an appraisal report completed by a qualified appraiser (see Guidelines for Appraisals) to your Environment Canada regional coordinator. If there are multiple donors, each donor should sign the application or complete separate but identical applications. Please ensure that the names of the donor(s) identified on the application form match those on the property title.
  2. In most cases, within 90 days of receiving your complete application package (outlined above) Environment Canada will issue a Notice of Determination of Fair Market Value informing you of the value the Minister of the Environment is prepared to certify with respect to your donation. This value may be the same as the original appraised value, or a different value recommended to the Minister of the Environment by Environment Canada's Appraisal Review Panel. While reviewing your application, we will contact you if we require additional information. Also if you authorize us to contact the recipient or the appraiser directly, we will do so where it is necessary to obtain additional information.
  3. Within 90 days of being notified of your Notice of Determination of Fair Market Value, you must notify Environment Canada whether you: 1) accept the value, 2) request a redetermination, or 3) withdraw your donation from the Program. If you accept the fair market value indicated on the Notice, you should proceed to finalize the appraised donation with the recipient organization, if the donation has not already been made.
  4. The fair market value listed on the Notice of Determination of Fair Market Value will apply to the appraised property for all income tax purposes related to charitable gifts for a period of two years from the Notice Date even if you withdraw your donation from the Program.
  5. Once your donation is completed, send Environment Canada evidence that the appraised donation has been made (such as a copy of the registered transfer/deed and the registered easement, covenant, or servitude agreement if applicable). Upon receiving evidence that the appraised donation was made, Environment Canada will send you the Statement of Fair Market Value, after which the recipient of your donation should provide you with the official donation receipt.

The Statement of Fair Market Value, the Certificate of Ecologically Sensitive Land, Recipient Identification, and Registered Charity Approval Pursuant to the Income Tax Act of Canada (or in Quebec, the Visa pour dons de terrains ou de servitudes ayant une valeur écologique) and your donation receipt (from the recipient of your ecological gift) should be included with your income tax return to claim ecological gifts tax benefits.

Please note: If donors are not satisfied with the fair market value of their ecological gift as certified by the Minister of the Environment after a redetermination, they have 90 days after the day on which the Statement of Fair Market Value is issued to appeal that value to the Tax Court of Canada (and the Court of Québec if the gift is in Quebec).

If you have questions, please contact an Environment Canada regional coordinator nearest to you. Additional information is also available from:

National Ecological Gifts Program Secretariat
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Blvd
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1-800-668-6767
Fax.: 819-953-3575
E-mail

Please submit three copies of the appraisal to Environment Canada

Donors: Is your ecological gift a gift?

While the federal Minister of the Environment or a designate certifies the ecological sensitivity, approves the charitable recipients and certifies fair market value of ecological gifts, it is up to donors to ensure that their donations meet the definition of a gift under Canadian tax law. In certifying the ecological sensitivity of land, approving the recipient and certifying the fair market value of the property none of the Minister of the Environment, Environment Canada, nor any delegated Certification Authority assess whether or not the transfer of land or of an easement, covenant or servitude qualifies as a gift for the purposes of the Income Tax Act.

Therefore, it is important for donors to satisfy themselves that the transfer of land or of the easement, covenant or servitude qualifies as a gift for the purposes of the Income Tax Act. It is strongly recommended that donors obtain independent tax and legal advice in connection with all implications of the proposed donation.

The following additional information is available from the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA):

The following additional information is available from Environment Canada:

Please submit three colour copies of the appraisal to Environment Canada.


Application for Appraisal Review and Determination of the Fair Market Value of an Ecological Gift (PDF Verison, 71 KB)

Donor(s) Identification
(provide full names and contact details for all donors on the title of the donation)

Name(s):
Address(es):
Province:
Postal Code:
Telephone:
Fax:
E-mail:
Contact Name(s) if donor is a corporation:

Property Identification

Type of Donation: Land / Covenant / Easement / Servitude
Area of Donation: __ hectares / acres
Legal Description:
Has the property transfer already occurred? No / Yes. If yes, indicate Date of Registration:
Please include a copy of the registered transfer documents and agreements (if applicable).

Appraiser Identification

Name:
Company:
Appraiser’s qualifications: AACI / CRA / ÉA / Other(s): (Specify)
Has the appraiser attended an AIC or OEAQ Ecological Gifts Seminar? Yes / No / Unknown

Appraisal Report Summary

If the donation is a partial interest in land (easement, covenant, servitude), please provide:

  • Value of land before donation (unencumbered): $__
  • Value of land after donation (encumbered): $__

Whether donation is partial interest or land (title/fee simple), please provide:

Appraised Fair Market Value of donation to be reviewed: $__

Effective date of the appraisal:
Were other experts involved in this appraisal (e.g., timber valuation expert)?: No / Yes. (Specify):

Authorizations

Do you authorize Environment Canada to communicate with the recipient of your donation about your proposed ecological gift, the content of this Application, the appraisal and any other documents submitted in support of this Application to obtain additional information? Yes / No

Do you authorize Environment Canada and Environment Canada’s Appraisal Review Panel to communicate with the parties who prepared the appraisal (and any other documents submitted in support of this Application) concerning your proposed ecological gift, the appraisal and other documents submitted with it to obtain additional information? Yes / No

Do you authorize Environment Canada to communicate the determination of the fair market value with respect to the appraisal review and determination process to the recipient of your proposed ecological gift? Yes / No


I have read the application instructions and understand the appraisal review and determination process as described.

Date:

Donor(s) Signature(s):

Note: All donors identified above must sign the same Application, or separate yet identical Applications. By signing the Application for Appraisal Review you are confirming the fair market value estimate you wish to be reviewed by Environment Canada.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Demande d'examen d'une évaluation et de détermination de la juste valeur marchande d'un don écologique

APP-04/09

Demande d'examen d'une évaluation_Avril2009 [PDF, 40 Ko]

Directives

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à l'égard du Programme des dons écologiques. Après réception de la Demande d'examen d'une évaluation et de détermination remplie et d'un rapport d'évaluation conforme à nos lignes directrices, le ministre de l'Environnement déterminera la juste valeur marchande de votre don. Cette détermination est nécessaire afin que vous puissiez obtenir la déduction ou le crédit d'impôt pour don écologique approprié. Pour obtenir plus d'information concernant ce processus, communiquez avec le coordonnateur régional d'Environnement Canada le plus près de chez vous.

Le processus de détermination et d'attestation de la juste valeur marchande de votre don comporte les étapes suivantes :

  1. Veuillez remplir le formulaire de demandeet le retourner, accompagné de trois exemplaires d'un rapport d'évaluation réalisé par un évaluateur qualifié (voir les Lignes directrices relatives aux évaluations),à votre coordonnateur régional d'Environnement Canada. En cas de donateurs multiples, chacun doit signer la demande ou remplir un formulaire de demande distinct, mais identique. Veuillez vous assurer que le nom du(des) donateur(s) identifié(s) sur le formulaire de demande correspond à celui inscrit au titre de propriété.
  2. Dans la plupart des cas, dans les 90 jours suivant la réception de votre dossier de demande dûment rempli (selon les indications qui précèdent), Environnement Canada émettra un Avis de détermination de la juste valeur marchande vous informant de la valeur que le ministre de l'Environnement entend attester pour votre don. Cette valeur peut être la même que la valeur évaluée à l'origine ou une valeur différente, tel que recommandée au ministre de l'Environnement par le Comité d'examen des évaluations d'Environnement Canada. Au moment de l'examen de votre demande, nous communiquerons avec vous si d'autres renseignements sont nécessaires. Au besoin, avec votre autorisation, nous contacterons directement le bénéficiaire ou l'évaluateur pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires.
  3. Dans un délai de 90 jours suivant la prise de connaissance de votre Avis de détermination de la juste valeur marchande, vous devez informer Environnement Canada : 1) que vous acceptez cette valeur; 2) que vous demandez une nouvelle détermination ou 3) que vous retirez votre don du Programme. Si vous acceptez la juste valeur marchande indiquée sur l'Avis, vous devrez compléter le don évalué avec votre organisme bénéficiaire si le don n'a pas déjà été effectué.
  4. Même si vous retirez votre don du Programme, la juste valeur marchande figurant sur l'Avis de détermination de la juste valeur marchande s'appliquera à cette propriété, aux fins du calcul de l'impôt sur le revenu afférent aux dons de bienfaisance, pour une période de deux ans à partir de la date de l'Avis.
  5. Une fois le don complété, veuillez envoyer à Environnement Canada une preuve selon laquelle le don évalué a été effectué, par exemple une copie enregistrée de l'acte de transfert du titre de propriété ou de l'entente de servitude ou de convention, le cas échéant. Cette étape franchie, Environnement Canada vous enverra la Déclaration de la juste valeur marchande, après quoi l'organisme bénéficiaire de votre don devrait vous émettre un reçu officiel de don.

La Déclaration de la juste valeur marchande, l'Attestation de don de terre écosensible, identification du bénéficiaire et approbation de l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu du Canada (ou au Québec, le Visa pour dons de terrains ou de servitudes ayant une valeur écologique) ainsi que votre reçu de don (émis par le bénéficiaire de votre don écologique) devront être joints à votre déclaration de revenu afin que vous puissiez bénéficier des avantages fiscaux afférents aux dons écologiques.

Nota : Si les donateurs ne sont pas satisfaits de la juste valeur marchande de leur don écologique telle qu'attestée par le ministre de l'Environnement à la suite d'une nouvelle détermination, ils disposent de 90 jours suivant la date de l'émission de la Déclaration de la juste valeur marchande pour en appeler de cette valeur auprès de la Cour canadienne de l'impôt (et de la Cour du Québec, si le don est fait au Québec).

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur régional d'Environnement Canada le plus près de chez vous. Des renseignements supplémentaires peuvent aussi être obtenus auprès du :

Secrétariat national du Programme des dons écologiques

Environnement Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767
Télécopieur : (819) 953-3575
Courriel

Veuillez soumettre trois copies du rapport d'évaluation à Environnement Canada.

Demande d’examen d’une évaluation et de détermination de la juste valeur marchande d’un don écologique

[PDF, 81 Ko]

Identification du(des) donateur(s)

(indiquez le nom complet et les coordonnées de tous les donateurs qui figurent sur le titre de propriété)

Nom(s) :
Adresse(s) :
Province :
Code postal :
Téléphone :
Télécopieur :
Courriel :
Personne-ressource si le donateur est une entreprise :

Identification de la propriété

Type de don : Terre / Convention / Servitude
Superficie du don :__Hectares / Acres
Description légale:
La propriété a-t-elle déjà été transférée? Non / Oui. Si oui, indiquez la date de l’enregistrement :
Veuillez joindre une copie des documents de transfert enregistrés et des ententes (le cas échéant).

Identification de l’évaluateur

Nom :
Entreprise :
Qualifications de l’évaluateur : AACI / CRA / ÉA / Autres : (Précisez)
L'évaluateur a-t-il suivi une formation sur les dons écologiques offerte par l'AIC ou OEAQ ? Oui / Non / Ne sais pas

Résumé du rapport d’évaluation

Si le don est un intérêt foncier partiel (convention, servitude), veuillez indiquer :

Qu’il s’agisse du don d’une terre (titre de propriété) ou d’un intérêt foncier partiel, veuillez indiquer :

La juste valeur marchande du don à examiner :__$

Date d’entrée en vigueur de l’évaluation :
D’autres experts ont-ils participé à l’évaluation (p. ex. un évaluateur forestier) : Non Oui. (Précisez) :

Autorisations

Autorisez-vous Environnement Canada à communiquer avec le bénéficiaire pour discuter du don écologique proposé, du contenu de la présente demande, de l’évaluation ou de tout autre document présenté à l’appui de la présente demande ou pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires? Oui / Non

Autorisez-vous Environnement Canada et le Comité d’examen des évaluations d’Environnement Canada à communiquer avec les auteurs du rapport d’évaluation et de tout autre document présenté à l’appui de la présente demande pour discuter de votre proposition de don écologique, de l’évaluation et des autres documents qui l’accompagnent ou pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires? Oui / Non

Autorisez-vous Environnement Canada à communiquer au bénéficiaire de votre proposition de don écologique la juste valeur marchande qui a été déterminée dans le cadre du processus d'examen de l’évaluation et de détermination? Oui / Non

J’ai lu les directives de demande et je comprends le processus d’examen d’une évaluation et de détermination tel qu’il est décrit.

Date:
Signature(s) du(des) donateur(s) :

Remarque : Tous les donateurs identifiés à la première section doivent signer le même formulaire ou des formulaires distincts, mais identiques. En signant la Demande d’examen d’une évaluation et de détermination, vous confirmez l’estimation de la juste valeur marchande que vous soumettez à l’examen d’Environnement Canada

Date de modification :