Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Small- and Medium-sized Enterprises

Construction worker and a business womanSmall- and Medium-sized Enterprises, commonly referred to as SMEs, collectively represent a very large portion of Canada's economy. There are nearly two million of these companies that employ six out of every ten working Canadians. Because there are so many SMEs in Canada, their total pollution and waste outputs have a significant effect on the environment. For this reason, it is important to effectively engage SME business owners, managers and workers in protecting the environment, while improving their economic performance.

 

Do you operate a small- or medium-sized business and are interested in implementing a pollution prevention project?

Try doing a sector search of the Canadian Pollution Prevention Information Clearinghouse (CPPIC) database to see what kind of options are available for your specific industry sector and business size. Select your category and sector and then refine your search with options to search by activity, information type, medium, subject, substance/issue, audience type, and type of pollution prevention (P2) on the "Sector Search – Criteria" page. To find documents that will be useful for your size of business or organization, select "Business or Organization – Small and Medium" in the "Audience Type" drop down menu.

Better yet, the CPPIC sector search option allows you to search the database for case studies documenting tried and tested pollution prevention projects implemented by SMEs. To search for case studies with application to your industry sector and business size, select your category and sector and then select "Case Studies/Research" in the "Information Type" drop down menu and "Business or Organization – Small and Medium" in the "Audience Type" drop down menu on the "Sector Search – Criteria" page.

Petites et moyennes entreprises

Ouvrier de construction et une femme d'affairesLes petites et moyennes entreprises, communément appelées PME, représentent collectivement un segment important de l'économie canadienne. On compte près de deux millions de ces entreprises, qui emploient six travailleurs canadiens sur dix. En raison du grand nombre de PME au Canada, la production globale d'agents polluants et de déchets de ces entreprises a des répercussions importantes sur l'environnement. Pour cette raison, il est important d'amener les propriétaires, les gestionnaires et les travailleurs des PME à participer réellement à la protection de l'environnement, tout en améliorant leur rendement économique.

Gérez-vous une petite ou moyenne entreprise et êtes-vous intéressé à mettre en œuvre un projet de prévention de la pollution?

Effectuez une recherche par secteur de la base de données du Centre canadien d'information sur la prévention de la pollution (CCIPP) pour retrouver des activités de prévention de la pollution (P2) qui sont disponibles pour votre secteur industriel et taille d'entreprise. Il faut d'abord choisir votre catégorie et votre secteur et ensuite précisez votre recherche à la page « Recherche par secteur – critères ». Vous y retrouverez des options pour une recherche par activité, par type de renseignements, par format, par sujet, par substance/question, par type d'intervenants, et sorte de P2. Pour accéder à des documents utiles à votre taille d'entreprise ou organisation, choisissez « Entreprise ou organisation – petite ou moyenne » du menu déroulant intitulé « Type d'intervenants ».

En plus, l'option pour une recherche par secteur vous permet de faire une recherche dans la base de données CCIPP pour des études de cas sur des projets de prévention de la pollution relatifs aux entreprises – petites ou moyennes. Pour retrouver les études de cas qui se rapportent à votre secteur industriel et taille d'entreprise, il faut d'abord choisir la catégorie et le secteur qui vous intéresse et ensuite choisir « Étude de cas/Recherche » du menu déroulant intitulé « Type de renseignements », et « Entreprise ou organisation – petite ou moyenne » du menu déroulant intitulé « Type d'intervenants » à la page « Recherche par secteur - critères ».