Supply Chain

Environmentally Preferable Purchasing (EPP)

Environmentally Preferable Purchasing (EPP) involves the procurement of products or services that are less-toxic and less harmful to our health and environment than other products or services on the market. There are many benefits to adopting EPP, including improved employee health and working conditions and a decrease in toxic waste generation. North American labelling programs have been developed to assist companies and households in EPP, such as the EcoLogo™ and EnerGuide.

For more information, conduct a keyword search of the Canadian Pollution Prevention Information Clearinghouse (CPPIC) database using the search term environmentally preferable purchasing, or visit the following web sites:

Supply Chain Management (SCM)

Supply Chain Management (SCM) is a technique used by business managers to increase the efficiency of each aspect of their operation, from product design and procurement, to the delivery of goods, services, and information. The underlying premise of SCM is for managers to get the right goods and services to the right place in a timely fashion at acceptable costs to the customer. In order for SCM to be successful, managers must develop relationships with their suppliers and customers, monitor their inventory, and anticipate changes in their customers' demand for products and services.

For more information, conduct a keyword search of the CPPIC database using the search terms supply chain or supply chain management.

The sector search option is also available allowing you to search the CPPIC database by industry sector. To conduct a sector search for supply chain management, first select a category and sector and then choose items such as product stewardship, purchasing/procurement, and raw material management from the "Subject" drop down menu on the "Sector Search – Criteria" page.

Toxic Substances

There are many definitions of toxic, but under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), a substance is deemed to be toxic if it is entering or may enter the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that:

  1. have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity;
  2. constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which life depends; or
  3. constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health (Section 64).

Part 5 of CEPA 1999 focuses on understanding and reducing the risks posed by new and existing substances by providing the authority to determine which of these substances should be evaluated to determine whether they are "toxic", and, if appropriate, the authority to implement preventive or control measures to relevant aspects of the substance life cycle. Environment Canada shares with Health Canada the task of conducting risk assessments as well as the management associated with toxic substances.

Substances that are determined to be "toxic" under CEPA 1999 are recommended for addition to the List of Toxic Substances (Schedule 1) of the Act. Preventive or control actions such as regulations, guidelines or codes of practice, are then considered for any aspect of the substance's life cycle from the research and development stage through manufacture, use, storage, transport and ultimate disposal or recycling.

For more information, visit the Chemical Substances Portal.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Chaine d'approvisionnement

L'Achat écologique

L'achat écologique consiste à acquérir des produits ou des services moins toxiques et nocifs, pour notre santé et pour l'environnement que d'autres produits et services disponibles sur le marché. L'achat écologique présente de nombreux avantages, dont l'amélioration de la santé des employés et des conditions de travail, et la diminution de la quantité de déchets produits. On a mis au point, afin d'aider les entreprises et les ménages à effectuer des achats écologiques, des programmes d'étiquetage nord-américains tels que le Programme ÉcoLogo™ et ÉnerGuide.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, effectuez une recherche par mot-clé de la base de données du Centre canadien d'information sur la prévention de la pollution (CCIPP) en inscrivant le terme achats écologique dans la case, ou visiter les sites Web suivants :

La Gestion de la chaîne logistique

Les dirigeants d'entreprise ont recours à la technique de la gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement pour accroître l'efficacité de chaque aspect de leurs activités, de la conception et de l'acquisition des produits jusqu'à la distribution des biens, des services et de l'information. La prémisse fondamentale de la gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement réside en ceci que les gestionnaires doivent obtenir les bons produits et les bons services au bon endroit, en temps opportun et à des prix acceptables pour les consommateurs. Pour en arriver à une gestion fructueuse de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, les gestionnaires doivent établir des rapports avec leurs fournisseurs et leurs clients, surveiller leurs stocks et prévoir l'évolution de la demande de leurs clients pour des produits et des services.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, effectuez une recherche par mot-clé de la base de données CCIPPen inscrivant les termes chaîne d'approvisionnement ou gestion de la chaîne logistique dans la case.

L'option d'une recherche par secteur est aussi disponible. Elle vous permet de faire une recherche dans la base de données CCIPPpar secteur industriel. Pour effectuer une recherche par secteur sur la gestion de la chaîne logistique, vous devez d'abord choisir la catégorie et le secteur appropriés et ensuite choisir gérance des produits, approvisionnement, et gestion des matières premières du menu déroulant intitulé « Sujet » qui apparaît à la page « Recherche par secteur – critères ».

Les Substances toxiques

Il existe de nombreuses définitions du terme « toxique », mais selon la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], est toxique toute substance qui pénètre ou peut pénétrer dans l'environnement en une quantité ou concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à :

  1. avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou sur la diversité biologique;
  2. mettre en danger l'environnement essentiel pour la vie; ou
  3. constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaine (article 64).

La partie 5 de la LCPE (1999) met l'accent sur la compréhension et la réduction des risques posés par les substances nouvelles et existantes en conférant le pouvoir de déterminer quelles substances sont « toxiques » et, le cas échéant, d'appliquer des mesures préventives ou de contrôle lorsque cela est utile dans le cycle de vie d'une substance. Environnement Canada partage avec Santé Canada la tâche de réaliser des évaluations des risques et de faire la gestion des substances toxiques.

On recommande d'ajouter à la Liste des substances toxiques (l'Annexe 1) les substances déclarées « toxiques » selon la loi. Des mesures de gestion des risques telles que, des règlements, des lignes directrices ou des codes de pratique sont considérées afin de faire un contrôle à tous les stades du cycle de vie d'une substance, de la recherche et développement à la fabrication, l'utilisation, l'entreposage, le transport et l'élimination finale ou le recyclage.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le portail des Substances chimiques.