Skip booklet index and go to page content

Pollution Prevention: A Federal Strategy for Action


The shift in attitude and behaviour that is needed to implement pollution prevention is developing in Canada. The overall task, however, is large. This strategy sets direction.

Legislative change, such as the creation of a Commissioner of Environment and Sustainable Development, will provide the tools for accountability and implementation of this strategy by federal government departments. Departmental sustainable development planning, which will include pollution prevention, has commenced. These plans, to be developed for each department with public input, are to be submitted to the Commissioner within two years after the enactment of changes to the Auditor General Act.

In its review of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA), the Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development is providing advice on federal legislative requirements for pollution prevention throughout Canada. A government response, including possible amendments to CEPA, is being developed.

Federal initiatives such as the Toxic Substances Management Policy, Greening of Government Operations, and the National Pollutant Release Inventory help lay the foundation for the more detailed policy, operational, and measurement frameworks needed for success in delivering on preventative environmental care.

Decisions to consider amending other policies, programs and legislation to reflect the pollution prevention approach will be made by individual departments during the development of their sustainable development strategies. Pollution prevention objectives, goals, targets and timelines will form part of that larger planning exercise.

Page 8
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

La prévention de la pollution: Une stratégie fédérale de mise en œuvre

La mise en oeuvre

On constate chez les Canadiens un changement d'attitude et de comportement qui est le préalable à la prévention de la pollution. Toutefois, la tâche est très lourde. Cette stratégie indique la marche à suivre.

Les modifications législatives, comme la désignation d'un commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable, fourniront aux ministères les instruments dont ils ont besoin pour rendre compte de leurs progrès et mettre en œuvre la stratégie. Les ministères ont entamé la planification du développement durable, ce qui englobe la prévention de la pollution. Ils établiront ces plans avec la collaboration de la population, puis ils les soumettront au commissaire dans un délai de deux ans suivant les modifications à la Loi sur le vérificateur général.

Dans son examen de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (LCPE), le Comité permanent de l'environnement et du développement durable conseille au gouvernement fédéral certaines prescriptions législatives en faveur de la prévention de la pollution au Canada. La réponse du gouvernement suivra, outre des modifications possibles à la LCPE.

Certaines initiatives fédérales, comme la Politique de gestion des substances toxiques, l'Écologisation des opérations gouvernementales et l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants, jetteront les bases d'une politique plus détaillée et des cadres d'opération et de mesure nécessaires pour prodiguer avec succès les soins préventifs à l'environnement.

Il appartiendra aux divers ministères, au cours de l'élaboration de leur plan de développement durable, de décider s'ils veulent envisager la modification d'autres lois, politiques et programmes pour tenir compte de l'approche de la prévention de la pollution. Les objectifs, les buts, les échéances et les calendriers s'inscriront dans l'opération générale de planification du développement durable.