Fact Sheet No. 2009-02: Phase-out and Disposal of Halons in Fire-extinguishing Systems in Canada


Content


This fact sheet aims to inform owners of halon fire-extinguishing systems and personnel servicing these systems of the phase-out requirements and disposal options for these systems in Canada.

Controls on Manufacture, Import and Export of Halons

The federal Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations, 1998 (ODSR 1998) regulate the manufacture, import and export of ozone-depleting substances (ODS), including halons, in Canada. With respect to halons, the ODSR 1998 reaches its objective of reducing the production and consumption of ODS by:

  • banning the manufacture, import and export of bulk new halon
  • not allowing the import, for use in Canada, of bulk used, recovered, recycled, or reclaimed halon 
  • not allowing the export of halons to another country except for essential purposes, reclamation or destruction
  • prohibiting the manufacture and import of products that contain or are designed to contain halons (such as fire-extinguishing systems) except for use in aircraft, military ships or military vehicles

The ODSR 1998 allows for some exceptions to the first three prohibitions described above, however only if authorized under a permit issued by Environment Canada. Further information on these exceptions, the permitting process, and importing and exporting halons and halon-containing products may be obtained by contacting Environment Canada’s Ozone Protection Programs (contact information is found below, under Further Information).


Controls on Use and Handling of Halons

In addition to being ozone-depleting substances, halons are greenhouse gases. In order to reduce and prevent emissions of halons in Canada, the use and handling of halons are regulated by the provinces/territories in their respective jurisdictions, and through the Federal Halocarbon Regulations, 2003 (FHR 2003) for systems under federal jurisdiction. If a halon fire-extinguishing system is not subject to the FHR 2003, it falls under provincial/territorial jurisdiction and is subject to the applicable provincial or territorial regulations.

  • Important note for fire-extinguishing systems regulated under the FHR 2003:

    The Federal Halocarbon Regulations 1999, which preceded the FHR 2003, prohibited the installation of halon fire-extinguishing systems, unless authorized to do so by a permit issued by Environment Canada. The FHR 2003 include a similar prohibition. Halon fire-extinguishing systems that were installed before these prohibitions were put in place can continue to operate, however there are restrictions on recharging these systems:

    • Portable systems: It is prohibited to charge a portable system with halon, except for use on an aircraft, military vehicle or military ship, or unless authorized to do so by a permit issued under the FHR 2003.

    • Non-portable (i.e. fixed) systems:After December 31st, 2009, the one-time charging allowance provided for in s.30 of the FHR 2003 for fixed systems no longer applies, and therefore a fixed system cannot be charged with halon, except for use on aircraft, military vehicle or military ship, or unless authorized to do so by a permit under the FHR 2003.

    For information regarding requirements for fire-extinguishing systems under the federal jurisdiction, contact Environment Canada’s Ozone Protection Programs (contact information is found below, under Further Information).

    View full text of consolidated Federal Halocarbon Regulations, 2003 in HTML
    or View full text of consolidated Federal Halocarbon Regulations, 2003 in PDF

  • Fire-extinguishing systems regulated under the provinces/territories:

    Provincial/territorial requirements may differ from those prescribed in the FHR 2003.

    For information regarding requirements for systems under provincial or territorial jurisdiction, please contact the appropriate authority in your region (contact information is found below, under Further Information).

    Links to Provincial and Territorial Acts and Regulations on halocarbons

The following chart will help you determine what provisions regarding phase-out of halons apply to your halon fire-extinguishing system(s) (section nos. refer to the applicable FHR 2003 provisions):

Flow Chart regarding phase-out of halons


Requirements for Decommissioning Halon Fire-Extinguishing Systems and Recovery of Halons

Halons must be properly recovered from decommissioned systems to prevent releases
Extreme care must be taken when decommissioning a halon fire-extinguishing system to prevent releases. Before a system is decommissioned, dismantled or destroyed, the halon must be recovered in accordance with the standard Halocarbon Clean Agent Recovery and Reconditioning Equipment (ULC/ORD-C1058.5-2004). Additionally, work performed on halon fire-extinguishing systems must be done according to the standard The Servicing of Halon and Clean Agent Extinguishing Systems (ULC/ORD-C1058.18-2004).

The FHR 2003 requires that halons be recovered, stored and transported in containers designed and manufactured to be refilled and to contain that specific type of halon. If halons are stored, they must be contained in appropriate containers that are stored in a dry, clean environment to prevent corrosion. It is strongly recommended that storage containers be visually inspected regularly, as an additional measure to prevent releases. Containers must be stored in compliance with applicable occupational health and safety regulations and fire and building codes. Storing unwanted halons is not advised. Refer to the next section for disposal options.

Be advised that additional requirements concerning transportation and shipping of surplus halons may apply, including but not limited to the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Regulations. Halons designated as hazardous waste are subject to further shipping requirements. It is highly recommended that Transport Canada’s Transport Dangerous Goods Directorate be contacted, as well as the applicable provincial and territorial authorities (see Further Information, below), prior to shipping surplus halons.


Guidance on Disposal of Halons

Disposal options in Canada
Halon-containing fire-extinguishing systems must be properly disposed of at the end of their useful life. Proper disposal means having the system decommissioned and any halon recovered by a technician operating in accordance with ULC standards C1058.18-2004 and C1058.5-2004. Halon recovered from decommissioned systems is typically either:

  • Recycled or reclaimed for use in Canada in existing fire-extinguishing systems that are exempt from the charging prohibition (aircraft, military vehicles and military ships)
  • Exported to the United States for destruction; or
  • Exported to the United States for halon banking, which assists sellers wishing to dispose of halon in a responsible manner, and helps buyers with "critical uses" locate supplies of Halon 1301 and Halon 1211 for recharging their existing systems. For information on halon banking in the US, contact the US Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) Stratospheric Ozone Information Hotline at 1-800-296-1996.

Halon fire-extinguishing service companies or halon recovery/recycling operations certified to ULC standards can assist in determining available disposal options, mentioned above. For information on ULC certified companies in your area please contact the Underwriters Laboratories of Canada (ULC) Customer Service:
Tel.: 1-866-937-3852
Email: customerservice@ulc.ca

Note: A permit to export the halons to the United States is required under the federal Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations, 1998.  Please contact Environment Canada’s Ozone Protection Programs for a permit application form. Export of halons may also be subject to other federal and/or provincial regulations related to hazardous waste management.

Alternatives to halon fire-extinguishing agents
Alternative agents and technologies for halon fire-extinguishing systems are available for most applications. When choosing an alternative, one should consider suitability, other applicable Canadian legislation on fire protection, as well as the environmental risks involved, including the ozone-depleting potential and the global warming potential of the fire-extinguishing agent. Environment Canada does not approve or prescribe alternatives to halons. Please contact the applicable provincial or territorial fire code authorities to learn more about how these fire codes apply to halon-alternative fire-extinguishing agents and technologies. A list of these authorities is available at the ULC website.
Additionally, the United States Environmental Protection Agency website provides a list containing information on some alternatives that exist on the market.

Note:Fire-extinguishing systems containing halocarbon alternatives to halons, namely HCFCs and HFCs, are regulated under the provincial/territorial ODS and halocarbon regulations in their respective jurisdictions, and through the Federal Halocarbon Regulations, 2003 (FHR 2003) for systems under federal jurisdiction.


Further Information

Requests for further information on the ODSR 1998 and FHR 2003 can be forwarded to:


Ozone Layer Protection and Export Controls
Chemical Production Division
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Blvd., 11th floor
Gatineau, Quebec  K1A 0H3
Tel.: 819-938-4228
Fax: 819-938-4218
Email: OzoneProtectionPrograms@ec.gc.ca

or please visit Environment Canada’s Stratospheric Ozone website.

Viewfull text of consolidated Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations, 1998 (PDF)
View full text of consolidated Federal Halocarbon Regulations, 2003 (PDF)

Links to Provincial and Territorial Acts and Regulations on halocarbons (page also provides contacts for Provincial and Territorial authorities)

Fiche d'information no 2009-02: Retrait progressif et élimination des halons des systèmes d'extinction d'incendie au Canada


Sujets


Cette fiche d'information a pour but d’informer les propriétaires de système d'extinction d'incendie au halon et le personnel chargé de l'entretien de ces systèmes des exigences concernant le retrait progressif et les options d'élimination de ces systèmes au Canada.

Contrôle de la fabrication, de l'importation et de l'exportation des halons

Le Règlement sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (1998) [RSACO (1998)] fédéral contrôle la fabrication, l'importation et l'exportation au Canada des substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone, y compris les halons. En ce qui concerne les halons, le RSACO (1998) atteint son objectif en réduisant la production et la consommation des substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone par :

  • l'interdiction de la fabrication, de l'importation et de l'exportation de nouveaux halons en vrac;
  • l'interdiction de l'importation, aux fins d'utilisation au Canada, de halons en vrac déjà utilisés, récupérés, recyclés ou régénérés;
  • l'interdiction de l'exportation des halons vers un autre pays, excepté pour une fin essentielle, pour régénération ou pour destruction;
  • l'interdiction de la fabrication et de l'importation de produits contenant ou conçus pour contenir des halons (comme les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie), sauf pour l'utilisation dans les aéronefs, les navires militaires ou les véhicules militaires.

Le RSACO (1998) permet quelques exceptions aux trois premières interdictions susmentionnées, à condition qu'elles soient autorisées au moyen d'un permis délivré par Environnement Canada. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur ces exceptions, sur le processus de délivrance de permis et sur l'importation et l'exportation des halons et des produits contenant des halons peuvent être obtenus en communiquant avec les programmes de protection de la couche d'ozone d'Environnement Canada (les coordonnées sont indiquées ci-dessous, voir la section Renseignements Supplémentaires).


Contrôle de l'utilisation et de la manipulation des halons

En plus d'être des substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone, les halons sont des gaz à effet de serre. Afin de réduire et de prévenir les émissions de halons au Canada, l'utilisation et la manipulation des halons sont réglementées par les provinces et territoires dans leurs juridictions respectives, et par le Règlement fédéral sur les halocarbures (2003) [RFH (2003)] pour les systèmes qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale. Lorsqu'un système d'extinction d'incendie n'est pas assujetti au RFH (2003), il relève de la juridiction provinciale/territoriale et est alors assujetti aux règlements provinciaux ou territoriaux applicables.

  • Note importante concernant les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie réglementés par le RFH (2003) :

    Le Règlement fédéral sur les halocarbures (1999), qui précédait le RFH (2003), interdisait l'installation de systèmes d'extinction d'incendie aux halons, à moins qu'elle soit autorisée au moyen d'un permis délivré par Environnement Canada. Le RFH (2003) contient une interdiction similaire. Les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie aux halons installés avant la mise en place de ces interdictions peuvent continuer à opérer mais, cependant, il existe des restrictions liées à la recharge de ces systèmes :

    • Les systèmes portatifs : Il est interdit de charger un système portatif avec des halons, sauf pour l'utilisation dans les aéronefs, les navires militaires ou les véhicules militaires, ou à moins que ce soit autorisé au moyen d'un permis délivré en vertu du RFH(2003).

    • Les systèmes non portatifs (p. ex. fixes) : Après le 31 décembre 2009, la possibilité de recharge unique des systèmes fixes stipulée à l'article 30 du RFH  (2003) ne sera plus en vigueur. De ce fait, un système fixe ne pourra plus être chargé aux halons, sauf pour l'utilisation dans les aéronefs, les navires militaires ou les véhicules militaires, ou à moins que ce soit autorisé au moyen d'un permis délivré en vertu du RFH(2003).

    Pour des renseignements concernant les exigences des systèmes d'extinction d'incendie relevant de la juridiction fédérale, veuillez communiquer avec les programmes de protection de la couche d'ozone d'Environnement Canada (voir la section Renseignements Supplémentaires, ci-dessous).

    Consulter le texte intégral du Règlement fédéral sur les halocarbures (2003) codifié en HTML
    ou Consulter le texte intégral du Règlement fédéral sur les halocarbures (2003) codifié en PDF

  • Les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie assujettis aux règlements provinciaux/territoriaux :

    Les exigences provinciales et territoriales pourraient être différentes de celles mentionnées dans le RFH (2003).

    Pour des renseignements concernant les exigences des systèmes de la compétence provinciale ou territoriale, veuillez communiquer avec l'autorité appropriée de votre région (les coordonnées sont indiquées ci-dessous, voir la section Renseignements Supplémentaires).

    Des liens vers les lois et les règlements provinciaux et territoriaux sur les halocarbures

Le tableau suivant vous aidera à déterminer quelles sont les dispositions relatives au retrait progressif des halons qui s'appliquent à vos systèmes d'extinction d'incendie aux halons (les numéros d'articles font référence aux dispositions du RFH (2003) applicables) :

Tableau sur les dispositions relatives au retrait progressif des halons


Exigences relatives à la mise hors service des systèmes d'extinction d'incendie aux halons et à la récupération des halons

Les halons doivent être récupérés des systèmes mis hors service de manière adéquate pour éviter des rejets
Afin d'éviter des rejets, il faut être très prudent pour mettre hors service un système d'extinction d'incendie aux halons. Avant que le système soit mis hors service, désassemblé ou détruit, le halon doit être récupéré conformément à la norme Matériel de récupération et de remise en état des agents propres à l'halocarbure et au halon (ULC/ADR-C1058.5-2004). De plus, l'intervention sur les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie aux halons doit être effectuée conformément à la norme Entretien des systèmes d'extinction au halon et aux agents propres (ULC/ADR-C1058.18-2004).

Le RFH (2003) exige que les halons soient récupérés, entreposés et transportés dans des contenants conçus et fabriqués pour être remplis et pour contenir ce type précis de halon. Lorsque les halons sont entreposés, ils doivent être placés dans des contenants appropriés puis entreposés dans un environnement sec et propre pour éviter la corrosion. Il est fortement conseillé que les contenants d'entreposage soient inspectés visuellement de façon régulière, ce qui constitue une mesure supplémentaire pour éviter des rejets. Les contenants doivent être entreposés conformément aux règlements en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail et aux codes du bâtiment et de prévention des incendies applicables. Il est déconseillé d'entreposer des halons indésirables. Veuillez consulter l'article suivant traitant des options d'élimination.

Sachez que des exigences supplémentaires en matière de transport et d'expédition de quantités excédentaires de halons pourraient s’appliquer, y compris, sans toutefois s'y limiter, le Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses. Les halons considérés comme déchets dangereux sont assujettis à des exigences supplémentaires en matière d'expédition. Il est fortement conseillé de communiquer avec la Direction générale du transport des marchandises dangereuses de Transports Canada et avec les autorités provinciales et territoriales compétentes (consulter Renseignements Supplémentaires, ci-dessous), avant d'expédier des quantités excédentaires de halons.


Directives sur l'élimination des halons

Options d'élimination au Canada
Les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie aux halons doivent être éliminés de manière appropriée à la fin de leur durée de vie utile. L'élimination appropriée signifie que le système doit être mis hors service et que tout halon doit être récupéré par un technicien, conformément aux normes ULC C1058.18-2004 et C1058.5-2004. En général, le halon récupéré des systèmes mis hors service est :

  • Recyclé ou régénéré aux fins d'utilisation au Canada dans les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie existants exemptés de l'interdiction de recharge (aéronefs, navires militaires et véhicules militaires).
  • Exporté aux États-Unis aux fins de destruction.
  • Exporté aux États-Unis pour la mise en banque des halons, ce qui aide les vendeurs souhaitant éliminer des halons de manière responsable, et aide les acheteurs ayant une « utilisation critique » à localiser les points de ravitaillement en halon 1301 et halon 1211 pour recharger leurs systèmes existants. Pour des renseignements sur la mise en banque des halons aux États-Unis, veuillez communiquer avec la Stratospheric Ozone Information Hotline de l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis en composant le
    1-800-296-1996.

Les entreprises utilisant les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie aux halons ou effectuant les activités de récupération/recyclage homologuées ULC peuvent aider à déterminer les options d'élimination disponibles, parmi celles mentionnées précédemment. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les entreprises homologuées ULC dans votre région, veuillez communiquer avec les Laboratoires des assureurs du Canada (ULC) :
Téléphone : 1-866-937-3852
Courriel : customerservice@ulc.ca
Site web : Laboratoires des assureurs du Canada, Service à la clientèle (En anglais seulement)

Remarque : Un permis d'exportation des halons vers les États-Unis est requis en vertu du Règlement sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (1998) fédéral. Veuillez communiquer avec les programmes de protection de la couche d'ozone d'Environnement Canada pour obtenir un formulaire de demande de permis. L'exportation des halons peut également être assujettie à d'autres règlements fédéraux et provinciaux concernant la gestion des déchets dangereux.

Alternatives aux agents d'extinction d'incendie aux halons
Des agents et des technologies de substitution aux systèmes d'extinction d'incendie aux halons sont disponibles pour la plupart des applications. Au moment de choisir une solution de rechange, il faudrait tenir compte de la pertinence, des autres lois canadiennes sur la protection contre les incendies et des risques environnementaux en jeu, y compris le potentiel d'appauvrissement de la couche d'ozone et le potentiel de réchauffement climatique de l'agent d'extinction d'incendie. Aucune approbation ou prescription n'a été faite par Environnement Canada concernant les substituts aux halons. Veuillez communiquer avec les autorités provinciales ou territoriales compétentes en matière de Code de prévention des incendies pour mieux comprendre comment ces codes s'appliquent aux agents et aux technologies de substitution de systèmes d'extinction d'incendie. Une liste de ces autorités peut être consultée sur le site web d’ULC.
De plus, la liste suivante, disponible sur le site Web de l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis, offre des renseignements sur certaines solutions de rechange disponibles sur le marché.

Remarque : Les systèmes d'extinction d'incendie contenant des halocarbures comme substituts aux halons, notamment les hydrochlorofluorocarbures (HCFC) et les hydrofluorocarbures (HFC), sont assujettis aux règlements provinciaux/territoriaux concernant les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone et les halocarbures dans leurs juridictions respectives, et au Règlement fédéral sur les halocarbures (2003) pour les systèmes qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale.


Renseignements supplémentaires

Les demandes de renseignements supplémentaires concernant le RSACO (1998) et le RFH (2003) peuvent être envoyées à l'adresse suivante :

Protection de la couche d'ozone et contrôles d'exportation
Division de la production des produits chimiques
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard St-Joseph, 11e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 819-938-4228
Télécopieur : 819-938-4218
Courriel : OzoneProtectionPrograms@ec.gc.ca

ou consulter le site Web de l'ozone stratosphérique d'Environnement Canada.

Consulter le texte intégral du Règlement sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (1998) codifié en format PDF
Consulter le texte intégral du Règlement fédéral sur les halocarbures (2003) codifié en format PDF

Liens vers les lois et les règlements provinciaux et territoriaux (les personnes-contacts dans les autorités provinciales et territoriales sont également indiquées)