Ozone-Depleting Substances

Content

Overview

Ozone-depleting substances (ODS) generally contain chlorine, fluorine, bromine, carbon, and hydrogen in varying proportions and are often described by the general term halocarbons. Chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), carbon tetrachloride, and methyl chloroform are important human-produced ozone-depleting gases that have been used in many applications including refrigeration, air conditioning, foam blowing, cleaning of electronics components, and as solvents. Another important group of human-produced halocarbons is the halons, which contain carbon, bromine, fluorine, and (in some cases) chlorine and have been mainly used as fire extinguishers.

These substances are effective ozone-depleters for two reasons. The first is that they do not break down in the lower atmosphere - they can remain in the atmosphere from 20 to 120 years or more. Unlike most chemicals released into the atmosphere at the Earth's surface, ozone-depleting substances are not "washed" back to Earth by rain or destroyed by other chemicals, which means they drift up into the stratosphere. The second is that they contain either/both chlorine and/or bromine and thus help the natural reactions that destroy ozone. Once they reach the stratosphere, ultraviolet (UV) radiation breaks up these molecules into chlorine (for example, from CFCs, methyl chloroform, or carbon tetrachloride) or bromine (for example, from halons or methyl bromide) which, in turn, break up ozone (O3).

Chlorofluorocarbons

Chlorofluorcarbons (CFCs) are a group of chemical substances that contain one, two or three carbon atoms and at least one atom each of chlorine and fluorine. CFCs were first developed in the 1920s to replace sulphur dioxide as a coolant gas. In the 1930s they began to replace ammonia for cooling uses. Their non-toxicity, non-flammability, stability and heat-absorption effectiveness earned them early respect as wonder chemicals of the 20th Century. In the late 1940s they began to be used as the propellant in aerosols. This use hit its peak in the late 1970s, when CFC was identified as an ODS and aerosols became the main target of public action. CFCs were also used in the production of packaging, insulation and other foams. In the 1980s they were widely used as coolants in refrigerators and air conditioners, as solvents in degreasers and cleaners and to dilute sterilant gas mixtures, and as blowing agents in the production of foams.

The manufacture and use of CFCs in industry has been severely curtailed following the Montreal Protocol. They have been almost completely phased-out in developed countries, with remaining uses limited to metered-dose inhalers. Starting in 2010, developing countries need to completely phase out CFCs.

Chlorofluorocarbons
Chemical NameLifetime
(years)
FormulaODP[1]GWP[2]
(100 yr)
CFC-11
Trichlorofluoromethane
45.0CCl3F1.04600
CFC-12
Diclorodifluoromethane
(R-12)
100.0CCl2F21.010600
CFC-113
Trichlorotrifluoroethane
85.0C2Cl2F30.86000
CFC-114
Dichlorotetrafluoroethane
300.0C2Cl2F41.09800
CFC-115
Chloropentafluoroethane
1700.0CClF2-CF30.67200

Find Out About ...

Hydrochlorofluorocarbons

Hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs) are a group of chemical substances that contain one, two or three carbon atoms and at least one atom each of hydrogen, chlorine and fluorine. The hydrogen makes them less stable and therefore less damaging to the ozone layer. Except for a few HCFCs already in use in Canada - mainly used as refrigerants - most HCFCs have been developed for use as transitional chemicals to replace the more damaging ozone-depleting substances, mainly CFCs. HCFCs have only two to five per cent of the ozone-depleting potential of CFCs, which makes them a good temporary replacement for applications where alternatives completely safe for the ozone layer are not yet available.

HCFCs are mainly used for foam blowing, refrigeration and air conditioning, solvent cleaning and to a lesser extent, aerosols and fire protection. At the 19th Meeting of the Montreal Protocol, it was agreed to accelerate the phase-out of HCFCs in both developed and developing countries. Developed countries agreed to phase-out the production and consumption of HCFCs by 75% in 2010, by 90% in 2015, and complete this accelerated phase-out by 2020, while allowing for the continued use of 0.5% for servicing until 2030.

Hydrochlorofluorocarbons
Chemical NameLifetime
(years)
FormulaODP[1]GWP[2]
(100 yr)
HCFC-22
Chlorodifluoromethane
11.8CHClF20.0551700
HCFC-123
2,2-dichloro-1,1,1-trifluoroethane
1.4CF3-CHCl20.02-
HCFC-124
2-chloro-1,1,1,2-tetrafluoroethane
6,1CF3-CHClF0,022620
HCFC-141b
1,1-dichloro-1-fluoroethane
9.2CCl2-CH30.11700
HCFC-142b
1-chloro-1,1-difluoroethane
18.5CClF2-CH30.0652400
HCFC-225ca
1,1-dichloro-2,2,3,3,3-pentafluoropropane
2.1CHCl2-CF2-CF30.025-
HCFC-225cb
1,3-dichloro-1,1,2,2,3-pentafluoropropane
6.2CClF2-CF2-CHClF0.033-

Halons

Halons are a group of chemical compounds containing bromine, chlorine, fluorine or carbon in its structure. Halons are very effective for extinguishing fires. They do not leave a solid residue and are not a threat to people when used at the recommended concentrations. The combined characteristics of halons make them suitable for all types of fire-extinguishing equipment, ranging from industrial/commercial total-flooding equipment to the hand-held fire extinguishers popular for office and home use.

Although halons do not present a direct hazard to people, they have a very high ozone-depleting potential (ODP) because they contain bromine. In fact, halon 1301 - which is largely used in total-flooding systems - has the highest ODP of all known ozone-depleting substances (10 times greater than that of CFC-11).

Canada has never produced halons but has imported some to satisfy its domestic needs. The importation of newly produced halons has been banned since January 1, 1994. Developed countries no longer produce new halons but use from stockpiles for airplanes and military applications is still allowed and continues. Developing countries must completely phase-out halons by 2010.

Halons
Chemical NameLifetime
(years)
FormulaODP[1]GWP[2]
(100 yr)
Halon 1211
Bromochlorodifluoromethane
11.0CBrClF23.01300
Halon 1301
Bromotrifluoromethane
(R-12B1)
65.0CBrF310.06900
Halon 2402
1,2-dibromotetrafluoroethane
(R114B2)
-CBrF2-CBrF26.0-

Bromochloromethane

Bromochloromethane is a chemical substance that contains chlorine, bromine, carbon and hydrogen. It is also known as Halon 1011 or Chlorobromomethane. Total elimination of consumption and production of bromochloroethane has been in place since January 1st, 2002.

Bromochloromethane
Chemical NameLifetime
(years)
FormulaODP[1]GWP[2]
(100 yr)
Bromochloromethane
Halon 1011
-CH2BrCl0.12-

Carbon Tetrachloride

Carbon tetrachloride is a chemical substance consisting of one carbon atom and four chlorine atoms. It was widely used as a raw material (feedstock) in the production of CFCs. CFCs are no longer produced in Canada, eliminating the leading use of carbon tetrachloride in Canada. Carbon tetrachloride is also used in the manufacture of other chemicals that do not deplete the ozone layer. Smaller quantities of carbon tetrachloride were used in fire extinguishers, as a dry cleaning agent, and as an ingredient in pesticides, pharmaceuticals, paints and solvents.

Total elimination of consumption and production of carbon tetrachloride has been in place since January 1, 1996, with the exception of feedstock for manufacturing substances that do not deplete the ozone layer - this use not being controlled by the Montreal Protocol. Developing countries are due to achieve the same phase-out in 2010.

Carbon Tetrachloride
Chemical NameLifetime
(Years)
FormulaODP[1]GWP[2]
(100 yr)
CTC
Carbon tetrachloride
Tetrachloromethane
35.0CCl41.11800

Methyl Bromide

Methyl bromide is a chemical substance containing bromine, hydrogen and carbon and is an important contributor to ozone depletion. This substance has a wide variety of agricultural uses as a fumigant. It is used for soil fumigation and fumigation of some food production facilities. Methyl bromide is also used in quarantine applications and pre-shipment applications for commodities in trade. This use of methyl bromide is not controlled under the Montreal Protocol.

Methyl bromide is not manufactured in Canada, but is registered for use under the Pest Control Products Act. Developed countries were to achieve the phase-out of agricultural uses by 2005. However, alternatives are often either not well known, developed, accepted or allowed by regulatory authorities. Therefore, there are still a number of critical use exemptions under the Protocol, meaning that significant volumes of methyl bromide continue to be used. Developing countries are scheduled to phase-out methyl bromide by 2015.

Methyl Bromide
Chemical NameLifetime
(years)
FormulaODP[1]GWP[2]
(100 yr)
MBr
Methyl Bromide
0.7CH3Br0.6-

Methyl Chloroform

Methyl chloroform is a chemical compound consisting of carbon, hydrogen, and chlorine. It was popular because of its versatility and efficiency as a solvent in cleaners, degreasers and adhesives. It first appeared as a substitute for carbon tetrachloride in the mid-1950s, and by the 1980s was widely used by the electronics and equipment manufacturing industries. Under the Montreal Protocol, its use has been phased-out in developed countries since January 1, 1996 and developing countries have until 2015 to do the same.

Methyl Chloroform
Chemical NameLifetime
(years)
FormulaODP[1]GWP[2]
(100 yr)

Methyl Chloroform
1,1,1-trichloroethane
4.8C2H3Cl20.1140

Hydrobromofluorocarbons

Hydrobromofluorocarbons are a group of chemical substances that contain one, two or three carbon atoms and at least one atom each of hydrogen, bromine and fluorine. HBFCs were never commercialized in Canada. They were banned in 1996 in all countries.

Hydrobromofluorocarbons
Chemical NameLifetime
(years)
FormulaODP[1]GWP[2]
(100 yr)
Hydrobromofluorocarbons
HBFC
-C, H, BR, F0.02 to 7.5-

[1] Ozone Depleting Potential. A measure of the capability of a particular chemical to destroy ozone, measured against CFC-11 which has an ozone-depleting potential of 1.

[2] Global Warming Potential. A relative measure of the warming effect that the emission of a gas might have on the surface troposphere. It is measured as a factor relative to CO2.

Date modified:

Substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone

Sujets

Aperçu

Les substances appauvrissant la couche d’ozone (SACO) contiennent généralement du chlore, du fluor, du brome, du carbone et de l’hydrogène dans des proportions variables, et sont souvent regroupées sous l’appellation générique d’hydrocarbures halogénés. Les chlorofluorocarbures (CFC), le tétrachlorure de carbone et le méthyl chloroforme sont d’importants gaz anthropiques destructeurs de l’ozone utilisés pour de nombreuses applications, notamment la réfrigération, la climatisation, le gonflement des mousses, le nettoyage des composants électroniques et comme solvants. Un autre groupe important d’hydrocarbures halogénés anthropiques est constitué des halons, qui contiennent du carbone, du brome, du fluor et, dans certains cas, du chlore; ces produits sont principalement utilisés dans les extincteurs d'incendie.

Ces substances sont de puissants destructeurs de l’ozone pour deux raisons. Premièrement, elles ne se décomposent pas dans la basse atmosphère. Elles peuvent ainsi rester dans l’atmosphère entre 20 et 120 ans, voire plus longtemps. Contrairement à la plupart des autres produits chimiques émis dans l’atmosphère à la surface de la Terre, les substances appauvrissant la couche d’ozone ne sont pas « lavées » par la pluie ni détruites par d’autres produits chimiques. Elles peuvent donc poursuivre leur ascension jusqu'à la stratosphère. Deuxièmement, elles contiennent du chlore et/ou du brome, et peuvent donc contribuer aux réactions naturelles qui détruisent l’ozone. Une fois parvenues dans la stratosphère, ces molécules sont dissociées par le rayonnement UV qui libère le chlore (à partir par exemple des CFC, du méthyl chloroforme ou du tétrachlorure de carbone) ou le brome (à partir par exemple des halons ou du bromure de méthyle). Ces deux éléments, le chlore et le brome, sont capables de dissocier l’ozone (O3).

Chlorofluorocarbures

Les chlorofluorocarbures (CFC) sont un groupe de substances chimiques qui contiennent un, deux ou trois atomes de carbone et au moins un atome de chlore et un atome de fluor. Les CFC ont commencé à être développés dans les années 1920 pour remplacer le dioxyde de soufre comme gaz réfrigérant. Dans les années 1930, on commença à les utiliser à la place de l’ammoniac pour la réfrigération. Leur toxicité nulle, leur inflammabilité, leur stabilité et leur grande capacité d’absorption de la chaleur leur ont valu très tôt une solide réputation de produits chimiques miracles du 20e siècle. À la fin des années 1940, on commença à les utiliser comme propulseurs dans les aérosols. Cette utilisation est allée croissant jusqu’à la fin des années 1970, lorsque les CFC ont été reconnus comme SACO, et que les aérosols sont devenus la cible principale du public. Les CFC étaient également utilisés pour la fabrication d’emballages, de matériaux pour l’isolation et de mousses. Dans les années 1980, ils étaient utilisés à grande échelle comme fluide de refroidissement dans les réfrigérateurs et les climatiseurs, comme solvants dans les dégraissants et les nettoyants, comme diluants de mélanges gazeux stérilisants et comme agents de gonflement pour la production des mousses.

Le Protocole de Montréal a entraîné l’élimination progressive mais complète de tous les CFC dans le monde entier, avec quelques exceptions limitées aux aérosols-doseurs. À partir de 2010, les pays en développement doivent avoir complètement éliminé les CFC.

Chlorofluorocarbures
Nom chimiqueVie
(année)
FormulePACO[1]PRG[2]
(100 ans)
CFC-11
Trichlorofluorométhane
45.0CCl3F1.04600
CFC-12
Diclorodifluorométhane
(R-12)
100.0CCl2F21.010600
CFC-113
Trichlorotrifluoroéthane
85.0C2Cl2F30.86000
CFC-114
Dichlorotetrafluoroethane
300.0C2Cl2F41.09800
CFC-115
Chloropentafluoroéthane
1700.0CClF2-CF30.67200

Pour en savoir plus...

Hydrochlorofluorocarbures

Les hydrochlorofluorocarbures (HCFC) constituent un groupe de substances chimiques qui contiennent un, deux ou trois atomes de carbone et au moins un atome d’hydrogène, de chlore et de fluor. La présence d’hydrogène diminuant leur stabilité, ils sont moins susceptibles d’endommager la couche d’ozone. À l’exception d’un petit nombre de HCFC utilisés au Canada comme réfrigérants, la plupart de ces substances ont été développées pour servir de produits chimiques de transition dans le cadre du remplacement des substances appauvrissant la couche d’ozone, au potentiel plus destructeur, principalement les CFC. Les HCFC ne possédant que 2 à 5 % du potentiel d'appauvrissement de la couche d’ozone des CFC, ils remplacent avantageusement ces derniers les applications pour lesquelles aucun produit complètement inoffensif pour la couche d’ozone n’est encore disponible.

Les HCFC sont principalement utilisés pour le gonflement des mousses, la réfrigération et la climatisation, le nettoyage à l’aide de solvants et, dans une moindre mesure, dans les aérosols et pour la protection contre les incendies. Lors de la 19e Rencontre du Protocole de Montréal, il a été convenu d’accélérer l’élimination progressive des HCFC dans les pays développés comme dans les pays en développement. Les pays développés ont accepté de diminuer la production et la consommation des HCFC de 75 % en 2010, de 90 % en 2015 et de conclure cette élimination accélérée d’ici 2020 tout en autorisant une utilisation pour l’entretien à 0,5 % des niveaux actuels jusqu’en 2030.

Hydrochlorofluorocarbures
Nom chimiqueVie
(année)
FormulePACO[1]PRG[2]
(100 ans)
HCFC-22
Chlorodifluorométhane
11.8CHClF20.0551700
HCFC-123
2,2-dichloro-1,1,1-trifluoroéthane
1.4CF3-CHCl20.02-
HCFC-124
2-chloro-1,1,1,2-tétrafluoroéthane
6,1CF3-CHClF0,022620
HCFC-141b
1,1-dichloro-1-fluoroéthane
9.2CCl2-CH30.11700
HCFC-142b
1-chloro-1,1-difluoroéthane
18.5CClF2-CH30.0652400
HCFC-225ca
1,1-dichloro-2,2,3,3,3-pentafluoropropane
2.1CHCl2-CF2-CF30.025-
HCFC-225cb
1,3-dichloro-1,1,2,2,3-pentafluoropropane
6.2CClF2-CF2-CHClF0.033-

Halons

Les halons sont un groupe de produits chimiques qui contiennent du brome, du chlore, du fluor ou du carbone. Ces produits sont extrêmement efficaces pour la lutte contre les incendies. Ils ne laissent aucun résidu solide et ne présentent pas de risques pour les humains lorsqu'ils sont utilisés aux concentrations recommandées. C’est pourquoi ils ont été longtemps préférés comme agent principal pour toutes sortes d’équipement de lutte contre les incendies, allant des systèmes industriels et commerciaux de « noyage total » aux extincteurs à main communément utilisés dans les bureaux et chez les particuliers. Cependant, même si les halons ne sont pas directement nocifs pour les personnes, ils ont un haut potentiel d'appauvrissement de la couche d'ozone (PACO) à cause du brome qu’ils contiennent. En fait, le halon 1301 – que l'on retrouve le plus souvent dans les systèmes d'extinction par saturation – possède un PACO le plus élevé de toutes les SACO connues (10 fois plus élevé que celui du CFC-11). Ce PACO élevé a entraîné, au Canada, la mise en place de restrictions aux niveaux fédéral, provincial et territorial pour ce qui est de l’installation et de l’usage des systèmes de lutte contre les incendies à base de halons. Des agents de remplacement pour les extincteurs, à impact moindre sur la couche d’ozone, ont été développés pour la plupart des applications.

Le Canada n’a jamais produit de halons, mais en a importé pour satisfaire à ses besoins domestiques. L'importation de halons nouvellement produit est interdite dans les pays développés depuis le 1er janvier 1994. Bien que la production de halons ait complètement stoppé, certains pays continuent à utiliser leurs réserves pour des applications aéronautiques et militaires. Les pays en développement doivent complètement éliminer tous les halons pour le 1er janvier 2010.

Halons
Nom chimiqueVie
(année)
FormulePACO[1]PRG[2]
(100 ans)
Halon 1211
Bromochlorodifluorométhane
11.0CBrClF23.01300
Halon 1301
Bromotrifluorométhane
(R-12B1)
65.0CBrF310.06900
Halon 2402
1,2-dibromotétrafluoroéthane
(R114B2)
-CBrF2-CBrF26.0-

Bromochlorométhane

Le bromochlorométhane est une substance chimique qui contient du chlore, du brome, du carbone et de l’hydrogène. Il est également appelé halon 1011 ou chlorobromométhane. L'arrêt total de la consommation et la production de bromochlorométhane est en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 2002.

Bromochlorométhane
Mon chimiqueVie
(année)
FormulePACO[1]PRG[2]
(100 ans)
Bromochlorométhane
Halon 1011
-CH2BrCl0.12-

Tétrachlorure de carbone

Le tétrachlorure de carbone est une substance chimique formée d’un atome de carbone et de quatre atomes de chlore. Il était utilisé à grande échelle comme matière première pour la synthèse des CFC. Les CFC n’étant plus produits au Canada, le tétrachlorure de carbone a perdu son principal débouché. Le tétrachlorure de carbone est également utilisé pour la fabrication d’autres produits chimiques qui n’appauvrissent pas la couche d’ozone. Des quantités moindres de tétrachlorure de carbone ont été utilisées dans des extincteurs d'incendie, le nettoyage à sec et la fabrication de pesticides, de produits pharmaceutiques, de peintures et de solvants.

L’arrêt total de la consommation et la production de tétrachlorure de carbone est en vigueur depuis le 1er janvier 1996 dans les pays développés, à l’exception d’une certaine quantité réservée à la fabrication de substances qui ne détruisent pas la couche d’ozone, ce type d’usage n’étant pas restreint par le Protocole de Montréal. Les pays en développement doivent avoir complètement éliminé la consommation et la production de tétrachlorure de carbone le 1er janvier 2010.

Tétrachlorure de carbone
Nom chimiqueVie
(année)
FormulePACO[1]PRG[2]
(100 ans)
TCC
Tétrachlorure de carbone
Tétrachlorométhane
35.0CCl41.11800

Bromure de méthyle

Le bromure de méthyle est un produit chimique composé de brome, d’hydrogène et de carbone. Il contribue largement à l'appauvrissement de la couche d’ozone. Cette substance fait l’objet d’une grande variété d’utilisations dans l’agriculture en tant que fumigant, pour la fumigation des sols et de certaines installations de production alimentaire. Il est également utilisé pour les mises en quarantaine et certaines mesures de pré-expédition de marchandises commerciales. Ces utilisations du bromure de méthyle ne sont présentement pas assujetties au Protocole de Montréal.

Le bromure de méthyle n’est pas fabriqué au Canada, mais son utilisation est homologuée en vertu de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires. Les pays développés ont amorcé l’élimination progressive des utilisations agricoles du bromométhane en 2005. Pour certaines utilisations, les solutions de rechange ne sont cependant pas bien connues, développées, acceptées ou autorisées par les organismes de réglementation. Il existe des dispositions concernant les exemptions pour utilisation essentielle sous le régime du Protocole de Montréal, assorties de critères stricts à satisfaire avant toute approbation. Il en résulte que le bromométhane continue à être utilisé pour certaines applications particulières, y compris au Canada. Les pays en développement doivent éliminer le bromure de méthyle d’ici 2015.

Bromure de méthyle
Nom chimiqueVie
(année)
FormulePACO[1]PRG[2]
(100 ans)
Bromure de méthyle0.7CH3Br0.6-

Méthyl chloroforme

Le méthyl chloroforme est un produit chimique composé de carbone, d’hydrogène et de chlore. Il a été beaucoup utilisé à cause de sa polyvalence et de son efficacité comme solvant dans les produits de nettoyages, les dégraissants et les adhésifs. Il est apparu pour la première fois sur le marché dans le milieu des années 1950, comme substitut du tétrachlorure de carbone et, dès les années 1980, il était déjà largement utilisé dans les secteurs de la fabrication de matériel et de composantes électroniques. Sous le Protocole de Montréal, son utilisation a été progressivement éliminée dans les pays développés à partir du 1er janvier 1996, et les pays en développement devront faire de même d’ici 2015.

Méthyl Chloroforme
Nom chimiqueVie
(année)
FormulePACO[1]PRG[2]
(100 ans)
Méthyl Chloroforme
1,1,1-trichloroéthane
4.8C2H3Cl20.1140

Hydrobromofluorocarbures

Les hydrobromofluorocarbures constituent un groupe de substances chimiques qui contiennent un, deux ou trois atomes de carbone et au moins un atome d’hydrogène, de brome et de fluor. Les HBFC, qui n’ont jamais été commercialisés au Canada, ont été interdits en 1996 dans tous les pays.

Hydrobromofluorocarbures
Nom chimiqueVie
(année)
FormulePACO[1]PRG[2]
(100 ans)
Hydrobromofluorocarbures
HBFC
-C, H, BR, F0.02 à 7.5-

[1] Potentiel d'appauvrissement de la couche d'ozone. Il s’agit d’une mesure relative de la capacité d’un produit chimique à détruire l’ozone, normalisée par rapport au potentiel destructeur du CFC-11, qui a par convention un PACO de 1.

[2] Potentiel de réchauffement du globe. Il s’agit d’une mesure relative de l’effet réchauffant que l’émission du gaz en question pourrait avoir sur la troposphère. Le potentiel est normalisé par rapport au CO2.

Date de modification :