Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

The Science of Hurricane Juan - Classifying Hurricane Juan

Prepared by Peter Bowyer, October 10, 2003

  • "Why was Juan downgraded to a Category 1 hurricane when we have had Category 3 damage in Halifax?"
  • "Why was Juan downgraded to a tropical storm before it reached Prince Edward Island; it's obvious that we were hit with a hurricane?"
  • "If Hortense (1996) was a Category 1 hurricane when it hit us then isn't it obvious that Juan should be a Category 2-3 hurricane given the more extensive damage?"

These are just a few of the questions that have been asked in the countless emails that I have received since Hurricane Juan hit the Maritimes at the end of September. A power-denied and hurricane-wary public is looking for someone or something to blame and the storm that hit us, "had better be more than just a Category 1 hurricane!"

So what is the classification of Juan at landfall? In many ways, the answer is straightforward. The Saffir-Simpson scale is a 1-5 rating based on a hurricane's present intensity. The scale is used to give an estimate of the potential property damage and flooding expected along the coast from a hurricane landfall. Wind speed is the determining factor in the scale, as storm surge values are highly dependent on the slope of the continental shelf in the landfall region. Note that all winds are a 1-minute average.

  • Category 1: 64-82 knots (119-153 km/h)
  • Category 2: 83-95 knots (154-177 km/h)
  • Category 3: 96-113 knots (178-209 km/h)
  • Category 4: 114-135 knots (210-249 km/h)
  • Category 5: Winds more than 135 knots (249 km/h)

The extensive wind damage (especially to trees) seems to indicate that something stronger than a category 1 hurricane hit the Maritimes. However, it is difficult to use trees to make an assessment because their vulnerability to toppling depends on their type and the depth of their roots. As well, the severe wind shear (strong changes in wind through small changes in elevation) associated with tropical cyclones in higher latitudes could result in winds that are 20-30 km/h higher at the tops of trees than at their base. Wind shear of this magnitude can be a large factor in significant tree blow-downs. In keeping with these findings, the United States National Hurricane Centre cautions that wind speeds at the top of tall office buildings may be as much as 1 Saffir-Simpson category higher than at the surface. In addition, small-scale vortices and wind maxima within the storm can create areas of locally higher winds, and greater damage.

Wind Data

Surface wind reports, whether they be from land stations, ships, rigs or buoys, are invaluable in measuring the strength of a severe storm like a hurricane.

In the absence of wind data from near the surface, satellite imagery is diagnosed and the hurricane compared to analogous satellite signatures from known storms of the past. This diagnostic technique, known as the Dvorak technique, becomes more unreliable as hurricanes leave the tropics and move into our latitudes.

Doppler radar data provides another perspective as it remotely estimates the winds throughout the core of the storm. Radar echoes reflect back from the rain within the storm and a comparison of subsequent echoes allows for a calculation of rainfall motion, and hence, the wind. While Doppler radar gives only an estimate of wind speeds, it provides a glimpse at winds throughout the entire storm all at once.

In addition to surface, satellite, and radar data, reconnaissance aircraft may also be sent into a storm to help determine its intensity. Flight-level winds are converted to representative surface winds through known reduction factors. During three of the last four hurricane seasons, Environment Canada's Meteorological Service of Canada (MSC), in collaboration with the National Research Council (NRC), has used the Convair 580 aircraft to fly into tropical cyclones to deploy data-gathering instruments called dropsondes. These instruments, analogous to radiosondes (weather balloons), are released from the aircraft while it flies through the storm. As the dropsonde descends, it measures temperature, pressure, humidity and wind, and transmits these data back to the ground station.

Regardless of the data source, winds must be converted to a 1-minute average at the 10-metre level (the standard level established by international standards). These converted winds are referred to by meteorologists as "surface winds."

The Strongest Winds in Juan

The Convair aircraft flew into Juan just prior to landfall and deployed a number of dropsondes. The most notable winds were from the dropsonde released about 28 kilometres south southeast of Clam Harbour, Nova Scotia, at 11:54 p.m. ADT (taking 8 minutes to reach the surface). It is likely that this was just east of the strongest winds in Juan. The dropsonde reported winds of 154 km/h at 240 metres above the surface, 174 km/h at 630 metres, and 182 km/h at just over 1 kilometre. Conversion of the strongest of these winds to surface winds gives 143 km/h.

The Doppler radar at Gore, Nova Scotia, estimated the strongest winds between 206 and 213 km/h about 1 kilometre above the surface. Using a similar rate of change of winds in the lower level of the atmosphere recorded by the dropsondes gives surface winds of 133 km/h.

The McNab's Island autostation (anemometer located atop the 19-metre high lighthouse on Maugher's Beach) reported a 2-minute sustained wind of 151 km/h with gusts to 176 km/h. This converts to a surface wind of 152 km/h.

McNabs Island NS - Wind Speed and Direction - Hurricane Juan
McNabs Island NS - Wind Speed and Direction - Hurricane Juan

The Eirik Raude (a semi-submersible drill ship) located about 37 kilometres south of Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia, reported a wind of 183.35 km/h (the anemometer was pinned at the top of its range for 30-60 seconds, indicating that the winds were actually higher). This converts to a surface wind of 147 km/h.

The Earl Grey recorded a peak wind gust (at 20 metre elevation) of 234 km/h while at anchor in the Bedford Basin (the head of Halifax Harbour). This converts to surface winds of 159 km/h.

There were also a number of anemometers which were destroyed during the hurricane and were, therefore, unable to capture the highest winds. The Marine Traffic Control Centre for Halifax Harbour reported that both of their instruments broke (Shannon Hill and Chebucto Head). The MacDonald Bridge between Halifax and Dartmouth recorded a sustained wind of 91 km/h with gusts to 126 km/h before it stopped reporting at 11:40 p.m. ADT (perhaps a power failure). The Sambro Light Boat Station anemometer was torn out by the storm even though it had survived a previous storm in which it had logged a peak wind of 198 km/h.

Other notable wind reports include:

  • Halifax International Airport–new record extreme gust of 143 km/h
  • Charlottetown Airport–sustained 95 km/h, gusting to 139 km/h
  • Confederation Bridge–sustained 111 km/h, gusting to 135 km/h
  • Hurricane force wind gusts (119 km/h) extended up to 140 kilometres east of the storm (such as Beaver Island, Nova Scotia, with 132 km/h gusts; and Caribou Point, Nova Scotia, with gusts to 119 km/h).

Conclusions

Juan was a Category 2 hurricane at landfall

The available wind data objectively suggests that the storm was right on the line between category 1 and 2. The fact that it carried sustained hurricane force winds all through Nova Scotia and was possibly still at marginal hurricane strength as it was about to enter Prince Edward Island, indicates that it was a very strong storm at landfall. The storm surge data also suggest that Juan was more likely a category 2 than a category 1.

As is the practice within meteorology, re-analysis of the data from Juan will be ongoing as after-the-fact information becomes available. The methodologie for converting upper level winds to surface values in a hurricane is well documented for more southerly latitudes but clearly requires refinement for storms approaching Atlantic Canada. Also, the practice of categorizing hurricanes by 10-metre winds (which is done for the purpose of assigning an expectation of damage) may be problematic for hurricanes in our latitudes: damaging winds at 20-30 metres may be considerably higher than those at the 10-metre level of classification. This is true everywhere, but even more pronounced in more northern latitudes where the underlying coastal water temperatures are much lower.

Hurricane categorization can be very complex; Hurricane Andrew (1992) was upgraded to a Category 5 hurricane this past year, ten years after making landfall in Florida. It is hoped that we will be aided by wind/structural engineers regarding the damage from Juan to buildings and man-made structures and that this will help to polarize our findings to a single confident conclusion.

As to our certainties

  • Juan claimed more lives (at least 8) in Atlantic Canada than any other tropical cyclone since the "Escuminac Disaster" killed over 30 fishermen in the southwestern Gulf of St. Lawrence in June 1959
  • Juan is the first hurricane since 1893 to bring its worst winds over the city of Halifax
  • Even if Juan had been weaker and of comparable strength to Hortense (1996), it would have been perceived as a worse storm because the worst conditions in the storm affected a greater portion of the population.

Acknowledgements

I would like to thank the following people for helping pull together this report:

  • Bill Richards, Robert Brannen, and Michel Desjardins of the Atlantic Climate Centre for providing the hourly observational data, and in particular, for extracting the winds from the McNab's Island station despite its communication failure during the storm.
  • Doug Mercer of the Maritimes Weather Centre for making contacts with various vessel operators and obtaining the data to help in our analysis.
  • Bridget Thomas of the Climate Research Branch of MSC for converting the wind observations to standard 1-minute 10-metre values and providing data interpretation.
  • Chris Fogarty of the Canadian Hurricane Centre for extracting the dropsonde data and providing data interpretation.
  • The crew of the Convair 580 for flying into another hurricane to obtain this data.

<<Back to The Science of Hurricane Juan

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

L'aspect scientifique de l'ouragan Juan - Classification de l'ouragan Juan

Préparé par Peter Bowyer, 10 octobre 2003

  • Pourquoi a t on déclassé Juan au niveau d'ouragan de catégorie 1 alors qu'Halifax a subi des dégâts de catégorie 3?
  • Pourquoi a t on déclassé Juan au niveau de tempête tropicale avant qu'il touche l'Île du Prince Édouard, alors qu'il est évident que nous avons eu affaire à un ouragan?
  • Si Hortense (1996) était un ouragan de catégorie 1 lorsqu'il nous a touchés, n'est il pas évident que Juan devait être classé ouragan de catégorie 2 ou 3, puisqu'il a fait plus de dégâts?

Ce ne sont là que quelques unes des questions qui étaient posées dans les innombrables courriels que j'ai reçus depuis que l'ouragan Juan a touché les Maritimes à la fin du mois de septembre. Des gens privés d'électricité et en proie au doute suite au passage de l'ouragan cherchent à mettre la faute sur quelque chose ou sur quelqu'un. Dans leur esprit, la tempête qui s'est abattue sur les Maritimes doit être plus qu'un ouragan de catégorie 1.

Alors qu'en est-il réellement de la classification de Juan au moment où il a touché les côtes? À bien des égards, la réponse est claire. L'échelle de Saffir-Simpson classe les ouragans en 5 catégories selon leur intensité du moment. L'échelle permet d'estimer les éventuels dégâts matériels et l'étendue possible des inondations au moment où l'ouragan touchera le littoral. La vitesse du vent est un facteur essentiel de l'échelle, puisque les valeurs des ondes de tempête varient largement en fonction de la pente du plateau continental dans la région où l'ouragan arrive sur les côtes. Remarque : la vitesse des vents est calculée sur une période moyenne de 1 minute.

  • Catégorie 1 - 64-82 nœuds (119-153 km/h)
  • Catégorie 2 - 83-95 nœuds (154-177 km/h)
  • Catégorie 3 - 96-113 nœuds (178-209 km/h)
  • Catégorie 4 - 114-135 nœuds (210-249 km/h)
  • Catégorie 5 - vents de plus de 135 nœuds (249 km/h)

Les dégâts importants causés par le vent (particulièrement aux arbres) semblent indiquer que les Maritimes ont été frappées par un système plus fort qu'un ouragan de catégorie 1. Toutefois, il est difficile de classer un ouragan en se fondant sur les dégâts causés aux arbres car ceux-ci sont plus ou moins vulnérables selon leur type et la profondeur de leurs racines. De plus, l'extrême cisaillement du vent (changement sur une faible distance verticale de la vitesse et de la direction du vent) qui accompagne les cyclones tropicaux dans les zones de latitude élevée pourrait se traduire par des vents, à la cime des arbres, supérieurs de 20 à 30 km/h à ceux enregistrés au pied. Un cisaillement du vent d'une telle intensité peut être un facteur important dans la chute de nombreux arbres. De même, le US National Hurricane Centre prévient que la vitesse des vents au sommet d'un immeuble élevé peut être d'une catégorie supérieure de 1 degré sur l'échelle de Saffir-Simpson à celle des vents au sol. En outre, la présence de vortex localisés et la vitesse maximale du vent au sein de la tempête peuvent se traduire par des vents plus forts et des dégâts plus élevés dans certaines zones.

Données concernant les vents

Les rapports sur la vitesse des vents de surface, qu'ils proviennent de stations à terre, de navires, de plateformes ou de bouées, sont des outils précieux pour mesurer la force d'une tempête intense telle qu'un ouragan.

En l'absence de relevés sur les vents de surface, les images-satellite de l'ouragan sont analysées et comparées à des images semblables de tempêtes précédemment étudiées. Cette méthode de diagnostic, connue sous le nom de technique Dvorak, est de moins en moins fiable à mesure que les ouragans s'éloignent des tropiques et s'approchent de nos latitudes.

Les données relevées au radar Doppler fournissent une autre perspective puisque ce dernier peut estimer à distance la vitesse des vents au coeur de la tempête. Les échos radar se reflètent sur la pluie causée par la tempête et, en comparant les échos successifs, on peut calculer le déplacement des pluies et, par conséquent, la vitesse du vent. Si le radar Doppler ne peut donner qu'une estimation de la vitesse du vent, il fournit une vue d'ensemble des vents de la tempête à un moment donné.

Outre les données recueillies en surface, par satellite et par radar, on peut également envoyer des aéronefs de reconnaissance au coeur d'une tempête afin d'évaluer son intensité. On établit alors une correspondance, à l'aide de facteurs de réduction connus, entre la vitesse des vents à l'altitude de vol et la vitesse des vents de surface. Lors de trois des quatre dernières saisons d'ouragans, le Service météorologique du Canada (SMC) d'Environnement Canada, en collaboration avec le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) a envoyé, au sein de cyclones tropicaux, des avions Convair-580, pour déployer des instruments de collecte de données, à savoir des radiosondes parachutées. Ces instruments, analogues aux radiosondes (ballons sondes), sont lâchés à partir de l'avion lorsque ce dernier traverse la tempête. À mesure qu'elle descend, la radiosonde parachutée mesure la température, la pression, le degré d'humidité et la vitesse du vent, et retransmet ces données à une station au sol.

Quelle que soit la source des données, la vitesse des vents doit être convertie sur une période moyenne de 1 minute à une altitude de 10 mètres (le niveau standard des normes internationales). Une fois convertis, ces vents deviennent, pour les météorologues, les " vents de surface ".

Les vents les plus forts de l'ouragan Juan

Le Convair a traversé l'ouragan Juan juste avant que ce dernier touche terre et a parachuté plusieurs radiosondes. Les vents les plus forts ont été enregistrés par la radiosonde lâchée à environ 28 kilomètres au sud-sud-est de Clam Harbour, en Nouvelle Écosse, à 23 h 54 HAA (cette sonde a atteint la surface au bout de 8 minutes). Cette sonde a très probablement été lâchée immédiatement à l'est de la zone des vents les plus forts de l'ouragan. Elle a enregistré des vents de 154 km/h à 240 mètres au dessus de la surface, de 174 km/h à 630 mètres et de 182 km/h juste au dessus de 1 000 mètres. Les vents les plus forts correspondent, une fois convertis, à des vents de 143 km/h.

Le radar Doppler installé à Gore (N.-É.) a estimé les vents les plus forts entre 206 et 213 km/h à environ 1 000 m au dessus du sol. En utilisant la même méthode de conversion pour les vents enregistrés par la radiosonde dans les couches les plus basses de l'atmosphère, on obtient des vents de surface de 133 km/h.

La station automatisée de l'île McNab's (anémomètre situé au sommet du phare de 19 mètres de hauteur de Maugher's Beach) a enregistré un vent soutenu pendant 2 minutes de 151 km/h avec des rafales à 176 km/h, ce qui représente un vent de surface de 152 km/h.

Ile McNabs, Nouvelle-Ecosse - Vitesse et direction du vent -Ouragan Juan
Ile McNabs, Nouvelle-Ecosse - Vitesse et direction du vent -Ouragan Juan

L'Eirik Raude, une plateforme semisubmersible située à environ 37 kilomètres au sud de Lawrencetown (N.-É.), a enregistré des vents de 99 nœuds (l'anémomètre était bloqué à son maximum pendant 30 à 60 secondes, ce qui signifie que les vents étaient en réalité plus forts). Cela représente, après conversion, des vents de surface de 147 km/h.

Le navire Earl Grey a enregistré (à 20 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer) une pointe à 125 nœuds (234 km/h) alors qu'il était ancré dans le bassin de Bedford (à l'entrée du port d'Halifax). Cela représente, après conversion, un vent de surface de 159 km/h.

Plusieurs anémomètres ont toutefois été détruits durant l'ouragan et n'ont donc pu enregistrer la vitesse des vents les plus forts. Le Centre de contrôle de la circulation maritime dans le port d'Halifax a signalé la destruction de ses deux instruments (situés respectivement à Shannon Hill et à Chebucto Head). Sur le pont MacDonald, qui relie Halifax à Dartmouth, on enregistrait un vent soutenu de 91 km/h avec des rafales à 126 km/h avant l'interruption de la transmission des données à 23 h 40 HAA (peut être due à une panne d'électricité). L'anémomètre installé à la station de petites embarcations de Sambro a été détruit par la tempête, bien qu'ayant survécu à une tempête précédente lors de laquelle il avait enregistré une pointe de vent à 198 km/h.

Autres chiffres dignes de mention :

  • Aéroport international d'Halifax - nouveau record : pointe à 143 km/h
  • Aéroport de Charlottetown - vents soutenus de 95 km/h, rafales à 139 km/h
  • Pont de la Confédération - vents soutenus à 111 km/h, rafales à 135 km/h

On a enregistré des rafales de vent de la force d'un ouragan (119 km/h) jusqu'à 150 kilomètres à l'est de la tempête (comme à Beaver Island et à Caribou Point, en N.-É., où on a enregistré respectivement des rafales à 132 km/h et à 119 km/h).

Conclusions

Juan a touché terre en tant qu'ouragan de catégorie 2

Selon les données sur les vents dont on dispose, on peut dire en toute objectivité que la tempête se situait à la limite entre les catégories 1 et 2. Le fait qu'on ait enregistré des vents d'ouragan tout au long de sa traversée de la Nouvelle Écosse, et que la tempête était toujours à la limite de l'ouragan juste avant d'atteindre l'Île du Prince Édouard, indique que le système était très intense au moment de son arrivée sur les côtes. Les données concernant les marées de tempête portent aussi à croire que Juan était plus probablement de catégorie 2 que de catégorie 1.

Comme il est courant dans le domaine de la météorologie, on continuera d'analyser les données sur Juan à mesure qu'on obtiendra de nouvelles informations. Si les méthodes de conversion de la vitesse des vents en altitude lors d'un ouragan sont fiables aux basses latitudes, on ne peut en dire autant des tempêtes qui atteignent le Canada atlantique. De même, la pratique de classification des ouragans en fonction de la vitesse des vents à 10 mètres du sol (dans le but d'obtenir une idée des dégâts possibles), peut s'avérer problématique pour les ouragans qui atteignent nos latitudes. En effet, les vents destructeurs enregistrés à 20 ou 30 mètres au-dessus du sol peuvent être considérablement plus forts que ceux enregistrés au niveau de classification de 10 mètres. Cela est valable partout, mais c'est encore plus vrai sous les latitudes plus élevées, où la températures des eaux côtières en profondeur est beaucoup plus basse.

Le classement des ouragans peut être très complexe; l'ouragan Andrew (1992) a été reclassé ouragan de catégorie 5 au cours de l'année passée, soit 10 ans après avoir touché les côtes de la Floride. On espère que des aérodynamiciens et des ingénieurs en structures nous aideront, en étudiant les dégâts causés par Juan aux bâtiments et aux structures érigées par l'homme, à en arriver à une conclusion consensuelle et fiable.

Ce dont nous sommes certains

  • Juan a causé plus de décès (au moins 8) au Canada atlantique que n'importe quel autre cyclone tropical depuis le désastre d'Escuminac, en juin 1959, qui a tué plus de 30 pêcheurs dans le sud-ouest du golfe du Saint Laurent
  • Juan est le premier ouragan depuis 1893 à frapper de toute sa force la ville d'Halifax
  • Même si Juan avait été de moindre intensité et comparable à Hortense (1996), il aurait été considéré comme plus intense car les pires conditions de la tempête ont touché une plus grande partie de la population.

Remerciements

Je tiens à remercier les personnes suivantes pour leur contribution au présent rapport :

  • Bill Richards, Robert Brannen et Michel Desjardins, du Centre de climatologie de l'Atlantique, qui ont transmis, heure par heure, les observations des stations et les données provenant des satellites et des radars et surtout, qui ont réussi à extraire les données de la station de l'île McNab's malgré la panne de communication qui s'est produite durant la tempête.
  • Doug Mercer, du Centre météorologique des Maritimes, qui a communiqué avec plusieurs capitaines de navires pour obtenir des données pouvant étayer notre analyse.
  • Bridget Thomas, de la Direction de la recherche climatologique du SMC, qui a gardé de nombreux contacts pour obtenir des données et qui a converti les observations sur les vents en valeurs standard sur une moyenne de 1 minute à 10 mètres et donné une interprétation des données.
  • Chris Fogarty du Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans qui a extrait et interprété les données de la radiosonde parachutée.
  • L'équipage du Convair 580 qui une fois de plus, a effectué un vol en plein ouragan pour recueillir ces données.

<<Retour à L'aspect scientifique de l'ouragan Juan