Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Canadian Tropical Cyclone Season Summary for 1998

Prepared by: Craig Clarke

After the relatively quiet tropical cyclone season of 1997, the 1998 season saw thirteen named storms, despite a late start; of these, nine became hurricanes.

1998 Storm Tracks Image
1998 Storm Tracks Image

Two storms entered the Canadian Hurricane Centre (CHC) Area of Responsibility (AOR). Although this was but half the total from 1997, the nature of these storms kept the CHC very busy, with 87 bulletins issued. In addition, the Maritimes Weather Centre (MWC) and the Newfoundland Weather Centre (NWC) issued numerous marine warnings and advisories. Some inland warnings and advisories were also issued.

Bulletin Summaries for 1997-1998
Bulletin Summaries1998 Bulletin1997 Bulletin
Prognostic Messages
(FXCN05 CWHX)
45
26
Hurricane Information Statements
(WTCN31/71 CWHX)
42
26
Total
87
52

 

Bonnie (August 19–30)

After briefly making landfall over North Carolina on August 27, Hurricane Bonnie fell under the influence of the mid-latitude upper-level westerlies and turned towards the northeast, entering the CHC Response Zone (RZ) during the afternoon of August 28. At that time, Bonnie was downgraded to a tropical storm. Thereafter, Bonnie tracked east-northeastward, entering the CHC AOR during the afternoon of August 29. During the next 24–36 hours, the centre of the storm passed about 120 nanometres (222 kilometres) southeast of Nova Scotia and about 100 nanometres (185 kilometres) south of Cape Race, Newfoundland. Bonnie remained a tropical storm throughout its time in the CHC AOR.

The first CHC bulletin for the 1998 hurricane season was issued during the morning of August 25. Gale and storm warnings were issued for offshore waters by both the MWC and the NWC. Inland wind and rainfall warnings were also issued by the MWC.

Along the coast of Nova Scotia, rainfall amounts were 15–25 mm. Maximum wind speeds were 30–40 knots (56–74 km/h) with gusts of 40–50 knots (74–93 km/h). Over the Cape Breton Highlands of Nova Scotia, a gust of 55 knots (102 km/h) was reported. Offshore, a maximum wind speed of 55 knots (93 km/h) with a gust to 62 knots (115 km/h) was recorded at the West Scotian Slope buoy. At Sable Island, closer to Bonnie’s track, 33 mm of rain were reported. The highest significant wave height was 10.8 metres at the East Scotian Slope buoy. A maximum wave height of 17.9 metres was recorded at the Laurentian Fan buoy. Reports throughout the area suggested a minimum sea level pressure of about 987 hPa.

As Bonnie passed south of Newfoundland, its minimum central pressure had risen to about 995 hPa. The effects on land were minimal as most of the precipitation and strong winds remained just off the southeast coast of the Avalon Peninsula. Offshore, a maximum wind speed of 40 knots (74 km/h) with a gust to 54 knots (100 km/h) was recorded at the Southwestern Grand Banks buoy. The maximum significant wave height from the same buoy was 14.4 metres.

Danielle (August 24–September 4)

Moving northeastward, well off the North American seaboard, Hurricane Danielle entered the CHC RZ during the morning of September 3. Thereafter, Danielle continued northeastward, with its centre passing about 300 nanometres (555 kilometres) southeast of Nova Scotia before turning east-northeastward, passing about 150 nanometres (278 kilometres) south of Cape Race, Newfoundland. Hurricane Danielle was analyzed as post-tropical during the evening of September 3 and moved out of the CHC AOR during the morning of September 4.

The CHC began issuing bulletins on Danielle during the morning hours of August 31. Gale and storm warnings were issued for offshore waters by both the MWC and the NWC. A hurricane‑force wind warning was also issued by the NWC for the Southern Grand Banks areas.

The effects of Danielle on the mainland of Nova Scotia were minimal. No inland warnings or advisories were issued for the Maritime provinces. The track of Danielle brought the storm almost directly over the Laurentian Fan buoy, where a maximum wind speed of 56 knots (104 km/h) with a gust to 77 knots (142 km/h) was recorded. Maximum wave heights due to Danielle were reported as 26.9 metres by the Laurentian Fan buoy. Also from this buoy, a minimum sea level pressure of 962.5 hPa was recorded.

As Danielle passed south of Newfoundland, a maximum offshore wind speed of 46 knots (85 km/h) with a gust to 62 knots (115 km/h) was recorded at the Southwest Grand Banks buoy. This same buoy recorded a minimum central pressure of less than 972 hPa. Also, a maximum wind speed of 50 knots (93 km/h) was reported at the Hibernia drilling site located about 90 nanometres (167 kilometres) north of the storm’s track. A rainfall advisory was issued by the NWC for both the Avalon and Burin peninsulas of Newfoundland. Rainfall amounts, however, for the most affected area (extreme southeastern portion of the Avalon Peninsula of Newfoundland), are unavailable.

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Résumé de la saison de cyclones tropicaux au Canada de 1998

Préparé par Craig Clarke

À la suite d’une saison de cyclones tropicaux relativement tranquille en 1997, la saison de 1998 a connu treize tempêtes qui ont été baptisées, en dépit du fait que la première ait frappé tard dans la saison. Neuf de ces tempêtes sont devenues des ouragans.

Trajectoires des tempêtes de 1998. Quatre cyclones tropicaux ont pénétré dans la zone d’intervention du Centre canadien de prévision des ouragans : Bonnie, Earl, Danielle et Mitch.

Deux tempêtes ont pénétré dans la zone de responsabilité du Centre canadien de prévisions d’ouragan (CCPO). Bien que ce nombre ne représente que la moitié du total de 1997, la nature de ces tempêtes a gardé le CCPO très occupé; il a diffusé 87 bulletins. En outre, les centres météorologiques des Maritimes et de Terre-Neuve ont diffusé de nombreux avertissements et avis d’ouragan pour les secteurs maritimes, de même que certains autres pour les régions intérieures.

Résumés des bulletins de 1997 à 1998
Statistiques Sur Les Bulletins19981997
Prognostic Messages
(FXCN05 CWHX)
45
26
Hurricane Information Statements
(WTCN31/71 CWHX)
42
26
Total
87
52

 

Bonnie (du 19 au 30 août)

Après avoir brièvement touché terre en Caroline du Nord le 27 août, l’ouragan Bonnie est tombé sous l’influence de vents d’ouest des latitudes tempérées et a viré vers le nord-est, entrant dans la zone d’intervention (ZI) du CCPO dans l’après-midi du 28 août. À ce moment, Bonnie a été déclassée au stade de tempête tropicale. Par la suite, elle a continué sa trajectoire en direction de l’est-nord-est, entrant dans la zone de responsabilité du CCPO dans l’après-midi du 29 août. Au cours des 24 à 36 heures qui ont suivi, l’œil de la tempête est passé à environ 120 nanomètres (222 kilomètres) au sud-est de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et à environ 100 nanomètres (185 kilomètres) au sud du cap Race (Terre‑Neuve). Bonnie a conservé la force d’une tempête tropicale tout le temps qu’elle était dans la zone de responsabilité du CCPO.

Le premier bulletin du CCPO pour la saison des ouragans de 1998 a été diffusé dans la matinée du 25 août. Les centres météorologiques des Maritimes et de Terre-Neuve ont diffusé des avertissements de coup de vent et de tempête pour le large. Le Centre météorologique des Maritimes a également diffusé des avertissements de vent et de pluie pour les régions intérieures.

Sur la côte de la Nouvelle-Écosse, il est tombé de 15 à 25 mm de pluie. La vitesse maximale des vents était de 30 à 40 nœuds (56 à 74 km/h), avec des rafales de 40 à 50 nœuds (74 à 93 km/h). Dans les hautes-terres du cap Breton (Nouvelle-Écosse), une rafale de 55 nœuds (102 km/h) a été observée. En mer, des vents d’une vitesse maximale de 55 nœuds (93 km/h) avec des rafales de 62 nœuds (115 km/h) ont été enregistrés par la bouée du talus Scotian Ouest. À l’île de Sable, plus près de la trajectoire de Bonnie, il est tombé 33 mm de pluie. La hauteur significative de vague maximale était de 10,8 mètres à la bouée du talus Scotian Est. La bouée du Cône Laurentien a enregistré une hauteur de vague de 17,9 mètres. Des observations faites dans toute la région ont révélé une pression au niveau de la mer minimale de 987 hPa.

Lorsque Bonnie est passée au sud de Terre-Neuve, la pression minimale au centre de la tempête avait augmenté jusqu’à environ 995 hPa. Les effets ressentis sur la terre ferme étaient minimes, la majeure partie des précipitations et des vents violents étant restée en mer, au large de la côte sud‑est de la presqu’île Avalon. En mer, la bouée du sud-ouest des Grands Bancs a enregistré des vents d’une vitesse maximale de 40 nœuds (74 km/h) avec des rafales de 54 nœuds (100 km/h), ainsi qu’une hauteur significative de vague maximale de 14,4 mètres.

Danielle (du 24 août au 4 septembre)

Se déplaçant en direction du nord-est, au large du littoral de l’Amérique du Nord, l’ouragan Danielle a pénétré dans la ZI du CCPO dans la matinée du 3 septembre. Ensuite, il a continué à se déplacer vers le nord-est, son centre passant à 300 nanomètres (555 kilomètres) au sud-est de la Nouvelle‑Écosse, avant de virer en direction est-nord-est, passant à environ 150 nanomètres (278 kilomètres) au sud du cap Race (Terre-Neuve). Le soir du 3 septembre, l’ouragan Danielle a été classé au stade post-tropical et a quitté la zone de responsabilité du CCPO le matin du 4 septembre.

Le CCPO a commencé à diffuser des bulletins sur l’ouragan Danielle pendant la matinée du 31 août. Les centres météorologiques des Maritimes et de Terre-Neuve ont diffusé des avertissements de coup de vent et de tempête pour les eaux du large. Le Centre météorologique de Terre-Neuve a également diffusé un avertissement d’ouragan pour le secteur sud des Grands Bancs.

En Nouvelle-Écosse, les effets à terre de Danielle ont été minimes. Aucun avertissement ni avis n’a été diffusé pour les régions intérieures des provinces Maritimes. La trajectoire suivie par l’ouragan Danielle a mené la tempête presque directement au-dessus de la bouée du Cône Laurentien, qui a enregistré des vents d’une vitesse maximale de 56 nœuds (104 km/h) avec des rafales de 77 nœuds (142 km/h), une hauteur de vague maximale de 26,9 mètres et une pression au niveau de la mer minimale de 962,5 hPa.

Lorsque l’ouragan Danielle est passé au sud de Terre-Neuve, la bouée du sud-ouest des Grands Bancs a enregistré des vents en haute mer d’une vitesse maximale de 46 nœuds (85 km/h) accompagnés de rafales de 62 nœuds (115 km/h), ainsi qu’une pression au centre minimale de moins de 972 hPa. Par ailleurs, des vents d’une vitesse maximale de 50 nœuds (93 km/h) ont été enregistrés au site de forage Hibernia, situé à environ 90 nanomètres (167 kilomètres) au nord de la trajectoire de la tempête. Le Centre météorologique de Terre-Neuve a diffusé un avis de pluie pour la presqu’île Avalon et la péninsule Burin (Terre-Neuve). Toutefois, la hauteur de pluie pour le secteur le plus touché (l’extrémité sud-est de la presqu’île Avalon) n’est pas disponible.

Date de modification :